Audi Sportback Concept pre-Detroit leaked images preview upcoming Audi A7 four-door coupe

Audi A7
Click for enlarged image

First hi-res images of the Audi A7 Sportback Concept (the nameplate on the car seems to say Audi Sportback Concept) set to be displayed at the Detroit Auto Show tomorrow have been unveiled on the internet. The front-end looks alot like the ones shown on the Audi metroproject quattro and its evolution, the Audi A1 Sportback Concept, except the front grille loses the vertical slats, leaving only the horizontal ones.

It has a fastback roofline, more like the Porsche Panamera rather than the Aston Martin Rapide, which might lead some to think its going to have a hatchback boot, but a look an image of the rear after the jump and you can see the bootlid’s lines do not really meet the rear glass in a way that a hatch would, but then again Audi could also be doing a hatchback-sedan dual bootlid combo much like Skoda’s new Superb.

The Audi A7 is said to be larger than the Audi A6 and built on the new Audi MLP platform, which is modular in terms of length and width to suit different sizes of cars while retaining many components in the interests of economies of scale.

4 more images after the jump!

Audi A7
Click for enlarged image

Audi A7
Click for enlarged image

Audi A7
Click for enlarged image

Audi A7
Click for enlarged image

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 3:51 pm

The butt, looks “sad”, droopey eyes…

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 3:56 pm

the rear perspective n sideview somehow remind me of the Lambo Estoque, which is good…

• vivio (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 4:04 pm

maker getting crazy about this 4doors coupe..like it=)

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 5:02 pm

The eye is quite similar to new mitsu lancer eye ..can i imagine it as hybrid eye to lancer;)
    Hey Theopilus,i got an idea..how about if u photoshop this audi and relate it with our new soon waja..can lar can lar..

anyway,it’s a superb gentlement car..

• bolo (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 5:04 pm

the head lamps reminds of the the chronically depressed robot in “hitch hiker’s guide to the galaxy” movie :)

• calvin_ngan (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 5:20 pm

the outline of the side elevation resemble Porsche 911, eye for Mitsubishi Lancer… overall 5/10.

Hey paul, maybe you should install the post-rating thing for people to rate/vote new cars.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 5:22 pm

i already chop the Lancer as our next Waja

• ragnahse (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 5:46 pm

paul, in detroit nw?

• red7 (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 6:01 pm

4door coupe? seems interesting for me =)

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 7:28 pm

………..audi loosing its face now

• Ralliace (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 8:11 pm

Aren’t the rims are a total copy of their rival’s (BMW)?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 8:43 pm

looking at this car, merc should feel ashamed of their e-no klasse

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 9:45 pm

I’m in love again. My new gal’s name is AUDI A7. Need I say more?

• DRC (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Angular and muscular. Nice+++. Cheaper version will be Proton Lancer, hopefully below 80k. Then I may want to buy.

• the stik (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 7:12 am

audi front grill macam nak makan orang.. besar giler babeng…! grrr grr..

• jamsbong (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 8:17 am

I’ve just saw the new Legacy post and i said it is very ugly. To my relieve, there are still carmakers out there who can make good looking cars.

This Audi is cool. It feels like your super awesome Gillette Shaving blades, Sleek, Sharp and built for the toughest men only!

• layman (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 10:38 am

An elongated X6.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 1:46 pm

this car reminds me of a cheap lamborghini estoque, which is a very good thing

• charles27 (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 4:56 pm

i will like this one if its in black. hehe

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 6:46 pm

i’d have mine in chrome

• c14man on Feb 16, 2009 at 12:56 pm

too much rear overhang…

• sheilap on Jul 30, 2010 at 3:45 am

Just want you to know I WILL have this car!! It is sleek and sophisticated sexy and stylish must I go on!! It’s a females car and I’d look fantabulous in it!!!!! lololol