Ford Fiesta RS WRC – Ford’s 2012 WRC entry

We’ve shown you the new MINI WRC set to take on the World Rally Championship in 2012. Now feast your eyes on Ford’s entry into the downsized category of the WRC, the Fiesta RS WRC. In keeping with Ford design, the showcar is enveloped in blue and grey livery complementing the company’s kinetic design styling cues.

After Paris, the next official debut of the car will be the Rally Sweden in February 2011. The four-wheel drive Fiesta RS will house a 1.6-litre turbocharged EcoBoost engine.

This has been developed in association with their rally partner M-Sport and French tuners Pipo Moteur, which has created a powerplant that is capable of producing 300hp. Unfortunately, apart from this not much else has been revealed in terms of performance figures.

Keeping it up to scratch with the rest of the pack, the car has completed 3000 kilometres of testing, but is still in development, with a major test on gravel roads in Spain next week. Thus major changes could be made before its debut in Sweden. Drivers for Ford will be Mikko Hirvonen and Jarmo Lehtinen, along with teammates, Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila.

High resolution press photos are available after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1573]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• fridaylover on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:54 pm

nice strips… nice rims slurp..

• remind me of adidas

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Oct 01, 2010 at 3:20 pm

what a car … impressive masterpiece …

• Jaybond on Oct 01, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Hopefully the new regs will temp the Japanese to enter WRC again, and of course other manufacturers as well.

• pehhh... on Oct 01, 2010 at 3:32 pm

awesome..i can imagine this car on hillside road…

• Mancini on Oct 01, 2010 at 3:36 pm

bila letak gambar sponser dah jadi tak chun. abu dhabi wth

• sarip_dol on Oct 01, 2010 at 3:52 pm

handsome…….

• facebook.com/protonlotusiast on Oct 01, 2010 at 5:22 pm

will ken block hve this next?

• Ford_GT on Oct 01, 2010 at 11:26 pm

Next year full campaign, they planned to field 2 cars. Block and maybe Raikkonen named as main drivers for the team. Pastrana has been called up to sign for 2nd driver just in case they couldn’t find anyone.

• Chris on Oct 01, 2010 at 11:54 pm

I’m just wondering if we’ll get the ecoboost version of fiesta in Malaysia… I’m definitely looking forward to it…

(okay now someone please jump out and say I’m wrong, there’s some news of this and I missed it.. pls.. )

• @Chris, Ford is planning to make a Fiesta hot hatch with an EcoBoost engine (ST?) but it will be FWD only.
      No details yet on the final specs or which markets will get it.