Audi A4 1.8 TFSI and Audi A6 2.0 TFSI in Indonesia are now locally assembled!

Audi has announced that it has setup an assembly facility in Indonesia in cooperation with INDOMOBIL/Garuda Mataram Motor, with the first vehicles to roll off the assembly line being the Audi A4 1.8 TFSI and the Audi A6 2.0 TFSI.

It seems that CKD Audis will be delivered to Indonesian customers this month itself. By 2015, Audi expects to hit 2,700 units of the A4 and A6 to roll out of Indonesian assembly facilities.

No mention if Audi will be producing cars for ASEAN export in Indonesia as well. When the A5 Coupe was launched, Euromobil told us that they were talking to Audi about CKD assembly in Malaysia as well, but Malaysian sales volumes weren’t enough to justify local assembly at that point.

“After having done so in key markets like China and India, we’ve now found an outstanding partner for local assembly of our Audi models in Indonesia. As one of the most important countries in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), Indonesia is one of Asia’s most dynamic growth regions. We’d like to contribute to this growth, since growth is an important component of Audi’s brand strategy,” said Frank Dreves, Member of the Board of Management for Production at Audi AG.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• TurboMan on Jan 31, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Good.

What are the new prices then? RM180k for A4?

• Supertram on Jan 31, 2011 at 6:48 pm

You wish!
      heck its my wish too..
      maybe everyone’s wishes!

that A4’s sexy headlights are too cool

• murad on Jan 31, 2011 at 10:49 pm

I’ll be damn!, I would certainly get one, quote “Euromobil told us that they were talking to Audi about CKD assembly in Malaysia as well, but Malaysian sales volumes weren’t enough to justify local assembly at that point.”.

• if they do not bring in ckd, of course la the volume cannot justify assembly, because at cbu price, too expensive and deter people from buying

• albag on Jan 31, 2011 at 6:39 pm

oh great…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 31, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Later we will see a lot of people saying,”Why not Malaysia,we should blame the gov”.
    Btw,I heard nearly 27,000 units of Gen-2 and Persona sold in China last year which are named Young Lotus there.

• wakeupcall on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:35 am

Definitely the government with their protectionism policies should be blamed. Not only cars, Ducati has set up a manufacturing plant in Thailand, Harley in India, Kawasaki in Thailand…….. Malaysia???

• In this particular thread, when the rest of the forumers are chatting about the sexy Audis, then suddenly a Protong Salesman barge in say Protong is better. Don’t you FEEL something is off the picture? Its like comparing a rotten apple with a golden apple.

Since when change to Young Lotus? LOL. I still prefer YoungMan, match the gay stats of our Malaysian manufacturer.

Just when the conversation is heated up, suddenly another guy came and say Modenas kapchais is the ultimate motorcycle manufacturer! LOL. That’s the point when I surrender my keyboard to comment and start Laughing Out Loud. Hahaha.

I always go off topic, but this time, its way OFF than usual. Haha.

• VW fans on Jan 31, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Wow!!!! I guess after China & India every car manufactures goes into…..the next stop should be Indonesia since it also largest Muslims population in the world too.

• CKD-ed should be RM180-200k and Audi will take over C200 and BMW 3er.

• Tiadaid on Jan 31, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Not really. BMW & Merc are the Toyotas of the luxury German cars in Malaysia. Even with better cars available ppl will still choose BMW & Merc.

• CKD should be RM150-RM170

• in-line 6 on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:07 pm

I doubt that.

bear in mind, the Benz also got CKD model, but the price is not much different from the CBU. Does anyone know why ??

it’s bcos for these luxury brand, the Government has tougher tax imposed on it???

• vw beetle on Feb 02, 2011 at 7:46 pm

3 series also assembled in Indonesia…

• transformer on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:34 pm

another one goes to our neighbour……from Tomyam land, to Baksoland…. Auto makes are tired of our NAP, NEP… they will only use volume as an excuse for our unfair policy toward them…. sigh…

• Tiadaid on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:33 am

Audi’s volume in Malaysia IS low, since most people with money would consider either BMW or Mercedes as their German luxury car of choice. No point setting up shop if Malaysian still choose brand over anything else.

Besides, you’re simply forgetting the fact that Audi’s parent company VW is opening up shop here. So, although we may not get CKD Audis we will get CKD Volkswagens.

• The current waiting period for an A4 is between 6-9months. I just couldn’t imagine what’s the waiting period if the demand is “high”. It’s just a lame excuse given to justify their failure.

Anyhow, this is good news for current A4 owners. If they could afford an A4, I don’t think they would mind paying 20-30k more to get it assemble at germany. In the end, they get better quality and exclusivity, Which is what most luxury car owners want anyway.

• I guess we can expect price of Audi A4 to reduce further to around RM 180K………Audi is a good car somehow malaysian’s prefer BMW & Mercedez. In Europe Audi is the top brand and europeans prefers Audi than BMW & Merc.

Peace.

• willpower on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:23 am

Malaysian is just too addicted to BMW & Merc when they are looking for luxury cars…the same goes to middle class families whereby they rather opt for Toyota or Honda instead of some good realiable car e.g. Nissan, Ford or even Mazda…sigh

• guanerrr on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:30 am

Then, bring the Audi from Indonesia.

• Unforgiven on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:58 am

Think Global please…

• vw beetle on Feb 02, 2011 at 7:55 pm

VW Golfs are also assembled in Indonesia.

• transformer on Feb 02, 2011 at 8:43 pm

more jobless rakyat… FDI are bleeding out….

unable to imagine how is going like, when our government unable hire jobless rakyat since they already emptied the vault…..

• travisbickle on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:25 pm

love audi, love the looks, love the power. i think this is going to be my next car. service centre also near my home.

• audi a4 2002 on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:02 pm

Hi there, I found your blog via Google at the same time as searching for a similar subject, your site got here up, it appears to be like great. I’ve added to my favourites|added to my bookmarks.