Second Generation Volvo S60 2.0T Test Drive Review

I still remember the day when I first set eyes on the original Volvo S60 – a black T5 with those gorgeous multi-spoke rims. As with most young men, Volvo wasn’t a brand that I had lust for (I was attracted to the allure of the four rings then), but the turbocharged S60 with 250 horses was a different kind of beast. Actually, the so called ‘Revolvolution’ started with the S80 before that, but the more compact S60 wore those shoulders better. Sexy, almost.

That was a full decade ago. They took their time but Gothenburg has finally given the world a new S60. Like how the original attempted to change people’s views of the brand, the new S60’s mission is to change one’s perception that Volvo’s are dull to drive. This car is the most sporting Volvo has ever made. Heard that before? We’ll find out if it truly is, but one thing is for certain – this S60 looks the part.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

Like the old S60, this new one doesn’t debut a new design direction. The production XC60, which is a faithful rendition of the XC60 Concept of 2007, had the honour. Design chief Steve Mattin, whose team came up with this new look, describes it as “pumping up visual volume” for Volvos to be a “magnet for the viewer’s eyes.” His goal in words is this: “If you say that you recognise a Volvo from 50 metres today, I want to get to the point where you will instantly spot it from twice that distance in the future.”

The XC60 is an eye catcher all right, but the S60 takes it a step further. It has the same face, but trades the crossover’s more upright front for a slim, low and wide nose that reminds this writer of a snake. Like the XC60, the S60 also has a twin LED bar arrangement for the driving lamps, but the headlamps are more swept back on the saloon and feature “eyebrow” indicators. With highly sculpted bumpers/air intakes, it’s quite an imposing sight in rear view mirrors.

Second Generation Volvo S60 2.0T Test Drive ReviewIf the head is serpent like, the profile looks slippery. Volvo’s trademark shoulders have evolved from arrow straight to a gentle wave, not unlike that on the Audi A5. Overhangs have become unfashionable since the old S60 debuted, so the wheels are pushed more to the corners of the car, although not as much as a 3-Series.

“Four-door coupe” is in vogue these days, and also very overused, although none can accuse Volvo of doing so – the S60’s roofline is more sweeping than some real coupes, and the C pillar flows straight down to the tail lamps without flattening out.

At the rear, the elements that will catch your eye are the tail lamp clusters. Instead of the usual blocky items, the S60’s are cut into a curve. They house two lines of red strips that seem to be inspired by Puma shoes. There are two exhaust pipes – one on each side – jutting out from the must-have “diffuser style” rear bumper.

The overall look is sporty yet graceful and sleek, not overtly muscular or aggressive, just like how a modern Volvo should be. Size wise, the S60 doesn’t stray far from the compact exec template set by BMW and Mercedes, which is the segment this Swede is aiming at. The S60 has a slightly bigger footprint though; its 2,776 mm wheelbase is 16 mm longer than the the identical measurement of both the E90 and W204, and the Volvo’s overall length breaches 4.6 metres, unlike the sub 4.5-metre Germans.

The most dynamic Volvo ever? Certainly, if based on looks alone, but how about the meat in the pie? Volvo Car Malaysia gave us a go at these Singapore registered units recently and we got to experience the S60 on both highways and B roads. It was a very pleasant drive, and quite a revelation, if not exactly mind blowing.

Looks aside, the S60 made a very good first impression. Step in the cabin and you’ll find a typically warm and inviting Volvo interior, although it’s all very modern. Volvo’s brand of Scandinavian minimalism and ergonomics is easier felt than explained with words, but we’ll try.

Second Generation Volvo S60 2.0T Test Drive ReviewAlthough it looks fresh, the layout and elements are familiar. The floating centre console – now angled slightly towards the driver – features four big knobs and a cluster of buttons for the audio and climate.

The humanoid shape is genius and there’s no diving into menus or multiple steps for simple everyday functions. Sounds elementary, but you’ll be surprised that not everyone gets it right. The brushed metal trim is fit for a fine timepiece, and the dials are as legible as a good watch should be.

One new element is the colour screen above the centre console, which has displaced the air con vents into a rather unusual layout. It displays menus, settings and camera views from both ends of the vehicle, which can be shown together on a split screen.

Second Generation Volvo S60 2.0T Test Drive ReviewThe vital contact points are fine, too. Volvo seats are among the most comfortable in the business – they’re big, cushy and perfect for long journeys, although those who are used to firmer and grippier German chairs may not like them. True, a tighter hug wouldn’t have gone amiss, but one can’t have it all.

The inviting rear seats are deeply scalloped but the middle section is relatively flat, so the third person won’t have it that bad. The sloping roofline may lead one to think otherwise, but rear headroom isn’t an issue. Volvo actually designed two cutouts where rear passengers’ heads would be, freeing up a few extra centimetres.

I didn’t have a ruler on hand, but the three-spoke steering felt smaller than usual for a Volvo, and is nice in the hands. Not so sure about the cream coloured inner rim though. Bear in mind that the trim colour of this Singapore spec car may not make it here; we’re likely to get a more sober palette.

But we are getting a very high spec CBU cars at launch, so expect a fully loaded S60 with memory electric seats, keyless entry, xenons, big wheels and a host of safety toys. The latter includes Pedestrian Detection with full auto brake, City Safety, Rollover Protection System, Collision Warning with Auto Brake, Driver Alert Control, Blind Spot Info System (BLIS) and Advanced Stability Control. It’s a Volvo after all!

Second Generation Volvo S60 2.0T Test Drive ReviewSpeaking of safety, Volvo prepared a demo run for us involving an inflatable doll. The objective was to try for ourselves the effectiveness of Pedestrian Detection. PD not only detects human presence in front of the S60 (via radar on the grille and camera on the windscreen – radar detects object, camera determines if it’s human), but will fully brake the car if the driver somehow doesn’t react to audible and visual warnings. It works.

The S60’s new dual-mode radar’s wider field of vision ensures that pedestrians about to step into the frame can be detected early on. The higher resolution camera makes it possible to detect the pedestrian’s pattern of movement. It works to prevent collisions at speeds of up to 35 km/h. At higher speeds, the system will engage to slow down the car as much as possible to minimise impact and injury.

This is actually a development of City Safety, which made its debut on the XC60. This means that besides humans, full auto brake also responds to vehicles in front that are either at a standstill or moving in the same direction as the S60. It all sounds like magic, but Volvo designed these aids to backup a driver if he loses attention, not as a replacement for good defensive driving and full attention on the road. At the end of the day, the most effective safety equipment is the driver himself.

We didn’t fall asleep at the wheel that’s for sure. These Singapore registered units were 2.0T models with a 2.0-litre turbo four-pot producing 203 hp and 300 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm (320 Nm on overboost) – putting it well above the 320i, 323i and C200 CGI in the numbers game. 0-100 km/h is done in 8.2 seconds and top speed is 230 km/h. That 0-100 time beats both BMWs and matches the Merc’s.

Second Generation Volvo S60 2.0T Test Drive ReviewIt’s also a modern downsized engine from the GTDi family that sends off the familiar five-cylinder engine from the old S60 to retirement. If there’s anything we miss, it’s the old lump’s tunes, not its fuel consumption. This one is rated at 8.3 litres per 100 km on the mixed cycle, or 12 km/l.

Numbers aside, the engine itself is par for the course. Like other modern direct injection turbo motors, there’s no shortage of low end go and one doesn’t need to work it to the max to go fast – even if you do explore the 6,500 rpm redline, it’s smooth and unstrained at the top end. The 6-speed Powershift dual-clutch transmission performs as expected, which is very good but ultimately not as slick as a DSG. By the way, there are no shift paddles.

Volvo has two suspension settings for the S60 – Dynamic and Comfort, with the difference in shock absorbers and anti-roll bar thickness – and Malaysia will get Dynamic. We didn’t get to try Dynamic because the test cars were in Comfort spec, but they performed very well throughout, which left us wondering if the “sportier” suspension will be too uncompromising – only time will tell.

The S60 feels refreshing and miles better to drive than its predecessor and big brother S80. In both high speed highway cruising and lumpy B roads that would’ve caused the S80 to bottom out, the S60 (in Comfort spec, remember) held on well. Body roll isn’t a distraction while body control is surprisingly decent. It’s a softer, better damped ride than a 3-Series that’s for sure, which is a desirable trait in my opinion.

Very surefooted and stable, the impression it gave me was similar to when driving the Mk6 Golf TSI flat out for the first time on a dark and wet Icelandic morning – not overtly sporty in nature but good to drive fast and without any vices. The smaller steering wheel is nice and the rack is precise and quicker than before, although there’s not much absolute feel transmitted. Grip is good, too. Good enough for most people most of the time, but there are better entertainers in the class.

The most dynamic Volvo ever isn’t a hollow boast. The S60 shows that its creators has got hold of how a modern Volvo should drive – turbocharged speed, safe, secure and not awkwardly out of element when hustled. Add in a stylish and comfy cabin and you’ll have a competent premium saloon that offers something different from the usual German suspects. A good addition to the class, we say.

The S60 will be launched in Malaysia at the end of March, and will come in two variants – this 2.0T and a range topping T6 powered by a 3.0L turbo in-line six with 304 hp/440 Nm, paired to a six-speed Geartronic (torque converter) auto ‘box. The T6 will also ship with Volvo’s self adjusting FOUR-C active chassis. Estimated pricing is RM350k for the T6 and RM290k for the T5. Local assembly is planned for the third quarter of the year, and will most likely include smaller engines from the GTDi family.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1971]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• shawal on Feb 19, 2011 at 4:02 am

S60 is a beautiful car, too bad it’ll be expensive when it reaches our shores…

• theanswer on Feb 19, 2011 at 12:22 pm

expensive in what terms? from what i know the car will compete with bmw and merc..and cheaper from those brand considering the power that s60 has.

• Lim Kopi on Feb 19, 2011 at 2:36 pm

Aiyoyo… do u have any idea what ur saying? Volvo maybe trying to compete with the Germans but I don’t think having a pricetag like this is going to make them more competitive …

Its like u trying to sell a Coach handbag to girl, claiming its the same level and pricing as Prada, Burberry , LV ?

Camon la….

• clutch basah on Feb 20, 2011 at 8:26 am

Lim,
          Surely you could think of other references. Why handbags? that is so out of context to the subject dude.
          What next.. cosmetic products? hehe

• Power8003 on Feb 19, 2011 at 2:53 pm

I think you are not entirely correct for the price of RM290k, i think 3 series and C class are cheaper. For power, i think C250 CGI is more powerful and faster than S60.

Cheers

• Vwfan on Jul 03, 2011 at 6:13 pm

C250cgi more powerful than the t6. Please enlighten me with your facts.ty

• Mercedes Fan on Feb 21, 2011 at 9:45 am

You cannot compare Volvo to Mercedes or BMW. Volvo is nothing in Europe lah. Their main business is very good and excellent 18 wheeler truckes. Volvo cars are just a by product. So in Europe, its same level and category as Skoda.

• very true, volvo truck is far more better than mb truck,
          but, volvo car is getting better than overpriced and over “pride” mb car in Malaysia.

*mb is very good car, but ckd mb in malaysia, no so good.

• Hassesan on Feb 20, 2012 at 1:05 am

I just bought a Volvo S60 2,0T with all new technic inside – I love it .
          I Had a Lexus LS430 since 2001 and before that a Mercedes 300SE for 10 years aswell.
          The S60 is as fast and runs about 40% cheeper and perhaps the most important for me as owner – they do not lough behind my back when paying the service & gasolin bills. I am the one loughing now. The Lexus became more and more expensive during the years to repair. And the Mercedes I remember had big rost problems.

• Muthusamy on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:32 am

Everyone here talk big. Mostly sad Volvo owners who are struggling to keep their car brand alive in Malaysia.

But ask yourself this question when you stand in front of the mirror. If you had RM400,000 cash voucher just to spend on a car, which would you spend it on, a Volvo, or a Mercedes or BMW?

So far in the office, I just asked 10 people. All car and automobile literate. Some enthusiast. All answered Mercedes and BMW.

So who is still buying Volvo? Brand is dead. Its like Fiat in Malaysia. Nobody buys it. Go to Volvo showroom and you see, never the same salesman there. Why? Turnover rate is so high. Salesman cannot make sales, so within a few months they cabut. I repeat, nobody is buying Volvo anymore.

• Hey Muthusamy

You are totally wrong and perhaps living in another planet .

Many Salesman including from Toyota , Proton, Nissan also change faces very fast . Sometimes i am shocked to see Toyota and Proton salesman selling Hyundai, VW , Kia and Peugeot .This is normal , people change position or jobs always to suit financially or whatever choice

In this world , not many sales man are qualify to sell a new Volvo unless you know what Volvo represent first . Volvo lacks the old timer sales man who knows how to sell Volvo and not the younger school leaver generation .

No one will ever buy any cars from a young sales man especially in the luxury or premium sector cos the buyers will go back to their previous sales person. The younger salesman cannot even convince or market the engineering of the cars simply because they think they are selling PROTON OR PERODUA type of cars in getting a deal close easily >> not continental stuff salesman. So they have to go elsewhere in the end.

I see a lot of veteran and mature Volvo sales man still selling Volvo years after years except for younger just join salesman.

A lot of people likes Volvo but could not afford to buy a New Volvo. In the end landed up buy a brand new CRAPPY japanese cars like TOYOTA CAMRY AND HONDA ACCORD . These crappy Japanese brands are very much cheaper to purchase than any brand new VOLVO. That’s for sure.

FYI not everyone like MERCEDES OR BMW OR AUDI . Many families who value their spouse safety always consider a brand new VOLVO in their portfiolio when chosing a brand new depending how deep their pockets are then.

VOLVO is not dead in MALAYSIA But still selling around 700 units in Malaysia . Considering one buying a New Volvo can with same amount of monies easily buy twice or more quantity of a Peugeot , Corolla , Civic and so on.

You are the one not buying Volvo does not mean other people not buying a new Volvo .

You need to have your brain EXAMINE maybe there is something wrong inside.

I do not blame you …..

• aminuddin on Feb 23, 2011 at 5:06 am

have u bought a volvo before?my dad sells volvo for a living,he’s been there for 17 years.if u dunno anything then dun talk nonsense here.i grew up in the volvo showroom,i know wat that car is made of.n mind u,i sell cars for a living as well now.u said ur office got car and automobile literate and they all said they wud go for BMW and Merc.yes i agree alot of people do tend to say that,but how many people actually know what makes a good car?u n ur colleagues are just talking from brand perception,no doubt these 2 German Marques are good in their own way,but that doesnt mean volvo is dead.that car wud be the oni car where u can walk out of a fatal crash.,wat a car is really made of i dun think u really know

• VOLVO lover on Nov 24, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Good day Aminuddin, pls contact me cos i want to get a volvo S40 for myself and i need people like you! thanks.

• PenyudotKong on Mar 10, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Ane Muthu;

I brought XC60 LE at RM 360,000, in June 2010.

For that kind of money, guess how many “Interlock” i can buy and give to every Indians – from Brhamins to Pariahs – to read.

Mat Bonk

• mythbuster on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:33 pm

mr.penyu,

Don’t be so arrogant if u had buy a XC60. What a shame if u has 1st class quality car, but yourself only has 3rd class mentality.
            Don’t give stupid comments which relates between interlock and commentators.
            we should shameful to call u as malaysian.
            mind ur words next time.

• Suzanna on Oct 12, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Dear people, I think all of you are being mislead with personal enthuasism. I believe each brand has its own marque. Say it either Volvo, Mercedes or BMW. However, in Malaysia we are over pride with IMAGE and STATUS QUA. Where as in Europe, consumers purchases cars for essential and to meet their needs not wants. Hence, at the end of the day purchasing a car solely lies on the commitment of the purchaser. If you have extra cash, you will go the extra mile on which brand that could portrait your status. Where as for those purchaser who are more concern on their needs/purpose to have a car, they will go for a reasonable purchase. VOLVO falls into this category. Complete safety/modern design/up to date safety features for a starting price of RM169,950 (below RM200k) is definitely reasonable!

• Mercedes Fan on Feb 21, 2011 at 9:43 am

Do people know that when you buy a Volvo, say RM250,000, in 15 years of service you’d spent another RM250,000 just on parts alone? So in total, RM500,000?

Volvo is the most expensive crappy car in town to maintain. If you pay big bucks to maintain a Ferrari or Porsche, it is worth it. But you pay big bucks to maintain, say, a Datsun 120Y, then, it is called stupidity.

Ask any owners of Volvo who have migrated to Mercedes, Mercedes is far far far far far cheaper to maintain.

• Nowadays I don’t think mb parts cheap and low maintain lo, w203 in my house got many problems, When compare to s40 2.4i , I prefer Volvo more.

• LM Siew on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:33 am

I do not agree with you at all

I am owner of 2 cars now in my garage , both bought new.

a) 2003 mercedes C class have clocked around 180,000 km

b) 2003 Volvo S60 2.0 T have clocked around 170,000 km

So far i had spend RM 38K to maintain my C class while my S60 cost me RM 22K to maintain so far .

As a owner of these vehicles , Volvo S60 maintenance is very much cheaper than the C class . These vehicles are send back to their authorise service centre for their routine maitenance .

Honestly speaking Volvo maintence is not that expensive at all in comparing to the CRAPPY Mercedes C class . Furthermore , The S60 performance , space and comfort is much better than the C class .

When the New S60 do ever land in our shore , I will be waiting to trade in the OLD S60 for new S60 .

Very much eager and your claim Mercedes Maintenance is cheaper is totally baseless and unsubstantiate Mercedes fans.

Perhaps if you are talking of cheaper maintence i think you are talking about those 1980’s ,1990’s until 2002 mercedes E class whereby parts are made from China under German supervision used as replcement parts.

For your info , New Mercedes or BMW parts are more expensive than any Volvo and hence their maintenance are very much higher than Volvo. So you said RM 250k to maintain a Volvo is totally NOT correct and accurate . Please do not assume things but get it factual & realistic .

So please get your facts right then !!

• PenyudotKong on Mar 10, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Do people know that when you buy a Volvo, say RM250,000, in 15 years of service you’d spent another RM250,000 just on parts alone? So in total, RM500,000?

Some shit!

Mat Bonk

• Brian on Oct 06, 2011 at 10:16 am

@Mercedes Fan.

Not true.

Mercedes is quite reliable but the parts are at least twice that of Toyotas and last half as long e.g brake pads and rotors. They are more expensive to maintain than Volvos in general.

BMWs need a new ECU every year even when new and every now and then a new fuel tank. 6000Euros for a new tank and fuel pump. That’s right 6 0 0 0 Euros for a low kms 2003 3-series. And that’s the second time they had to be changed!

The turbo, aircon of the S40 needed an overhaul at 150,000km. Well used but can’t compare with Toyota or Honda or Nissan for durability. However it terms of fun… the turbo S40 is absolutely great. Not saying that it’s better than the Evo, WRX but judging it by itself… it’s a very satisfying car.

Mercedes fan… if you want to start talking about reliability and cost of ownership. I’d be glad to talk to you although I’d recommend you check out Lexus.

• littlefire on Feb 19, 2011 at 7:45 am

With advance safety it do save life’s both the car passenger & also pedestrian…

“PD not only detects human presence in front of the S60 (via radar on the grille and camera on the windscreen – radar detects object, camera determines if it’s human), but will fully brake the car if the driver somehow doesn’t react to audible and visual warnings. It works.”

• Will malaysia bring R design in?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 19, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Not sure about the S60 R-Design, but VCM is likely to bring in some R-Design goodies down the line, as they’ve done with other models

• SoMeOnE on Feb 19, 2011 at 8:28 am

awesome car…its a pipe dream for now personally but awesome.. sadly not many will be on the road due to our bmw/merc nature in this segment….

• kimi's fan on Feb 19, 2011 at 8:29 am

imagine install aerokits will look more sexier

• Sialegal on Feb 19, 2011 at 8:45 am

was offered the first batch of this unit last year. still comparing with megane and golf gti etc. however, this might be more suitable for business-casual look (like the passat cc) which suits me fine :)

• harris murad on Feb 19, 2011 at 9:37 am

excellent write up mr.danny…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 19, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Glad you liked it!

• Lim Kopi on Feb 19, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Danny ,

Just wondering, would u buy this over a BMW 325 , C250 CGI or Audi A4 2.0T ??

Some ppl actually considers the S60 an “equivalent” ….

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 20, 2011 at 1:56 am

Well, Volvo is pitching the S60 against those cars, and I reckon it’s a good alternative to the Germans. It has its own charms

• stiggy25 on Feb 19, 2011 at 6:26 pm

no video on pedestrian stop system?:P

• hi mr danny.. u din mention about the handling of this car… so i bet the handling of this car is not a selling point.. is it?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 20, 2011 at 2:00 am

It’s miles better to drive than the old S60 and the current S80. Competent and much better than I had expected.

• VW_fans on Feb 19, 2011 at 9:40 am

The centre air vent is the most odd place I ever seen!!!! Anyway this S60 is far more sexy & elegant than the current S60 or S80.

• Kevin Lee on Feb 19, 2011 at 9:58 am

hmm, a future volvo to consider, go volvo!

• Volvo not only want to change the image but also the class of car they want to be associated to. With that kind of pricing, they want to be in the same league as the Star, the Kidneys and the 4 Rings.

A very tall order indeed. Mat be too tall!

• any news for S60 R-design ?

• Harrier on Feb 19, 2011 at 10:10 am

Nice car !!

• budin on Feb 19, 2011 at 10:38 am

reflector headlamp type, means normal halogen lights… no HID projector?

• theanswer on Feb 19, 2011 at 10:41 am

hopefully this new s60 can give a bit competition to bmw and merc. volvo is not a bad car..but general perception among luxury enthusiast kill them. nway, my fav still v50 t5 nyumm ;)

• volvo for life

• seancorr on Feb 19, 2011 at 11:17 am

Nice…but they will need to bring in the smaller engines to match the price of a 320i and the C200 CGI.

• Power8003 on Feb 19, 2011 at 11:28 am

I thought that the Benz C250CGI is faster than 8.2 seconds. C250 CGI is only 1.8l engine. I am correct or not………… Price wise, i think it is will be cheaper than Volvo price in Malaysia. I think it will be quite hard to see in the Malaysia if it is priced at 290k. Spare parts of Volvo is very expensive compare to Benz as I previously own one. I cannot say about BMW spare parts as I have not own a BMW b4.

Cheers

• C250 – 200 hp, RM 280k Ckd
      C300 – 230 hp, RM 320k Ckd
      S60 2.0t – 200hp, unknown
      S60 t5 – 240 hp, est. RM 290k cbu
      S60 t6 – 300 hp, est. RM 350k cbu
      Which is more expensive?

• will there be a turbodiesel option in the future?

• Jackk on Oct 06, 2011 at 10:21 am

D5 with 151kw
      D3 with 120kw.

The S60 T6 gets to 100km/h in 6.5seconds! And that’s the heavier 4WD automatic.

Danny, would you please do a test drive of the T6?

• eeeriz on Feb 19, 2011 at 11:43 am

Damn, I want one!!! Any taker for my old T5? Hehe..

• nabill on Feb 19, 2011 at 1:07 pm

stupid pricing….volvo thinks its badge is as good as bmw or merc…bt its NOT…so thy shouldnt price their cars this way….its a good car no doubt….

ultimatly , it will be way too expensive to maintain , bad depreciation

go online forums for volvo in msia and see how much it costs to maintain a volvo , look for s80 and s60….ur eyes will pop out !

• autobot on Feb 19, 2011 at 2:21 pm

yeah..
      really good car but high maintenance plus expensive spare part

• greasemonkey on Feb 20, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Volvo not same league with BM &MB, not even near, can compare with Chevy ,skoda in my opinion,lousy cars with hefty prices.People mentality’s expensive must be good, that’s why Vv so pricly,marketing dept’s tactics ma!

• BeemerFreak on Feb 19, 2011 at 3:48 pm

If you cant afford to own one, pls do not comment. mercs and bmw are sold at this price because they are ckds.

• nabill on Feb 19, 2011 at 5:00 pm

thn thy should follow…i dont own one i cant comment??
        wow…ur maturity levels are very high!

• Even they follow the prices, I don’t think so you will buy it.
          In malaysia , I think Volvo have their own market, you see s40 is so cheap compare to camry,accord, but still, no much s40 in road now,
          Prices not a issue now, it’s can you pay for it by it brand or not.

• How cheap is a New Volvo S40 compare to a new Toyota camry and Honda Accord ?

In terms of 2 Litre engine only

Here i got the showroom prices :-

1) Volvo S40 (2.0) > RM170,529.00 ( on the road EXCLUDING insurance )
            Insurance costing up to RM 4,500
            Total price on the road = RM 170.529.00 + RM 4,500.00= 175,029.00

2) Toyota Camry ( 2 Litre )
            a)Camry 2.0 G specs =RM 154,990.00(on the road INCLUDE Insurance )
            b) Camry 2.0 E specs= RM 144,000,00(on the road INCLUDE insurance)

3) Honda Accord ( 2 Litre)
            a) 2.0 VTi > RM 142,800.00 ( on the road INCLUDE insurance )
            b) 2.0 VTi-L>RM 149,800.00 ( on the road INCLUDE insurance )

So Volvo S40 new price put it slightly higher than a Toyota Camry 2.4 ( 174,990.00) too !!!!

Nevetheless we are only comparing with 2 litre engines only ( NOT 2.4) without NCB claims and hence Volvo S40 cost more than any 2 Litre Toyota Camry and Honda Accord by another above RM20K.

So where can we get a BRAND NEW VOLVO S40 CHEAPER than a BRAND new Toyota Camry (2.0) and Honda Accord ( 2.0) ? Please enlighten me on this Hong.!

Please do not quote me any used car but A brand new VOLVO S40 price>>
            as I am eager to get a cheaper BRAND new S40 now

Cheers

• Your Volvo price is for company reg. , it should be 170k only,
            Btw, I am compare s40 2.0t v camry 2.4v , I donno about accord, sorry.
            Camry 175k v s60 175k ( include ins.)
            but when you drive a volvo compare to camry on the road, how the ppl judge?

• KH Lee on Feb 21, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Volvo is a better car than any Toyota Camry .

Many people see that driving a Volvo is better than being inside a Camry simply because camry got NO CLASS compare next to it.
            ( as many ppl perceive when they cannot afford a Volvo)

Volvo is always Scandinavian touch of uniqueness.

Furthermore brand new Volvo cost more than any Toyota Camry. Most people knows this well already.

Here is our answer >Hong

• u can comment as u want but dont comment that like u own one n give u pleasure to bash without knowing the truth

• dodgeviper on Feb 19, 2011 at 1:12 pm

They should test their pedestrian safety with a Volvo representative. Since they’re so confident of their products they should put their own people on the line. lol

• David on Feb 19, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Volvo for life…..

Very true when it comes to selling it. Even used car dealer shun it. So better keep for life :)

• redboy on Feb 19, 2011 at 3:26 pm

I think lots of good manufacturers including Volvo position the price in Malaysia…a bit…confusing. Over 300K, that is the BMW5 Series range (which offers 5 years warranty during promo some more). Well, somehow it depends who is the dealer is, since, like or dont like, the dealership back ground shows how they approach market, whether its to government only (and forget about public), or vise versa. Its sad, but that is the fact. That is why we cant have competitive brand vs brand competition (closest is Honda vs Toyota).
    Naza holds Kia/Pug, so they wont price to kill each other.
    S60 should price between Camry and 5series at 250K or lower price. It will drive the high-end 3 series buyers also. The previous 5series once cold at 300K only, so position it at the price range is…suicide.

• vroom on Feb 19, 2011 at 4:21 pm

I wonder how often that front camera jutting out of the front grille will get vandalized / try to be stolen …

• ezracopters on Feb 19, 2011 at 4:38 pm

wow..this one look nicer than previous s60.. not a big fan of the interior color tone thou..

p/s : maserati quattroporte..aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• 123GO on Feb 19, 2011 at 5:23 pm

No Projector Headlight ??

• Another failure in the making. Tho packed with feature, with this kind of pricing, nobody will buy. Volvo needs to come back to earth and be realistic in their pricing. As much as they want to say they are competing with BMWs and Mercs, they are not in the eyes of the masses to be competing in the same leagues as the germans. Realistically they are, for me personally to be a notch lower. That said, I must say they do make very good cars.

• comrade on Feb 19, 2011 at 9:51 pm

“PD not only detects human presence in front of the S60 (via radar on the grille and camera on the windscreen – radar detects object, camera determines if it’s human), but will fully brake the car if the driver somehow doesn’t react to audible and visual warnings. It works.” what if someone wants to hijack this car, just stand in front of it???

• civics on Feb 19, 2011 at 10:02 pm

previous s60 has lost tremendously to Honda Civic in every aspect. Speed, beauty, quality and brand prestige. By looking at the up coming civic, i dont think this new s60 will enjoy sales volume as much as civic again. Malaysian loves Honda anyway….and those who opts for s60 rather Accord 2.4 will have to get his head sliced…

• olive on Feb 20, 2011 at 3:00 am

Civics ,

It seems you are the one to get your head slice .

Honda Civic class is not up to S60 standard or class or D segment category yet.

Bettrer you compare the crappy Honda Civic cars with Toyota Corolla, syphyl , proton Inspira, Mitsubishi lancer & all C segment cars,

Honda Civic lost to S60 in

straight line speed
      stability
      safety cage
      Turbo engine

What was your Crappy Civic Horsepower and torque by the way?

• Pooky on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:29 am

Volvo is for those who can’t afford a Merc or BMW. Well said. Just like Hyundai, we will still opt for BMW & Merc. Volvo is cold door car. Don’t talk about class. Volvo is just like low class conti

• ur the oni man on this planet dat compares a scandinavian car toa japanese car.weird.its a volvo,it was meant to be a pure people carrier but have u even test drove a Volvo before?current s60 has high performance tuning modules that can smoke even a BMW.try asking Volvo drivers,they will they feel the car is more well planted to the road when driving at high speeds compared to the current BMW

• Muthusamy on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:24 am

Volvo, low class car for low class people. Very low class people.

• AnotherconcernedBuyer on Apr 23, 2011 at 3:31 pm

@muthusamy go troll elsewhere, you are wasting comment space, if you are such a great merc or BMW fan,go to the appropriate page and comment there!!!

• Volvo vs Honda? Very different class le,
      Go volvo showroom take a road test, if your pocket deep enough then you would not buy honda again….

• clutch basah on Feb 20, 2011 at 9:10 am

Is this a joke? have you driven a Volvo man.

• millionaire on Feb 21, 2011 at 5:01 pm

wat civic meant was maybe type R leh….civic type R NO FIGHT meh?? the legendary type R…power of dreams…..anyone?

• Lesly chu on Feb 20, 2011 at 12:58 am

Should we compare s60 with BMW 5 series and merc E class?.
    Are they suppose to be the same catogery?

• clutch basah on Feb 20, 2011 at 9:00 am

Danny,

Good writing here dude, from your narrative the S60 is targeted squarely at the Audi A4, BMW 3 Series and Mercedes C-Class. No disrespect to the car but seriously if you have 300K to spend and thinking about buying a proper car. Which one will first pop in your mind? Surely not this car I hope.

Only Volvo fans will opt for this car but that’s about to change since what they are doing here is abandoning their die hard fans and trying to attract a new audience.

Sadly, that target audience probably places their ideals (vehicle dynamics) on the exact opposite end of the spectrum from the Volvo brand. We heard “I don’t care how much power it has or what its suspension can do, it’s still a Volvo” from people about our S60 R all the time.

We also experienced people really liking the car, only to be completely turned off when they saw the Volvo badge. In other words, the target audience is not going to consider Volvo. It would be like Toyota trying to lure EVO buyers to trade in on the Prius. It’s not going to happen.

What Volvo needs are some good, competent family sedans that they were so good at. Go back to the Volvo values that made them successful in the past… safety, utility, and typical Volvo comfort.

Volvo’s attempt to be an equal to Mercedes Benz or BMW has failed and will happen again.

• Tezza on Feb 20, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Well,first of all, how do you know this new s60 is not a typical good comfort and safe volvo sedan as past? have u even driven or being ridden with the car? what a non sense for writing such long passage ended up with some really unconstructive and biased comment..

-The vital contact points are fine, too. Volvo seats are among the most comfortable in the business – they’re big, cushy and perfect for long journeys. -Danny Tan

-Step in the cabin and you’ll find a typically warm and inviting Volvo interior, although it’s all very modern. Volvo’s brand of Scandinavian minimalism and ergonomics is easier felt than explained with words. -DannyTan

-It works to prevent collisions at speeds of up to 35 km/h. At higher speeds, the system will engage to slow down the car as much as possible to minimise impact and injury. –Danny Tan

• clutch basah on Feb 21, 2011 at 7:23 am

Tezza,

If you read the comment carefully I’m not corresponding the new S60 but it was Volvo in general. Let me ask you something, what did you know about Volvo or what made them so brilliant in the past?
        To me Volvo is special since traditionally they are known for something unique, i think that what make them sells in the first place . Why fight a battle that you will surely got beaten when you have a category of your own.
        For note the new S60 is a good car, I think Danny confirms it.

• Jaybond on Feb 21, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Quality wise, this car is in the same league as the Germans. Full stop. The main problem is the brand acceptance, and it’s not a wrong thing to do if Volvo decided to uplift it’s brand by injecting some sporty elements (as long as the main core value of Volvo is still maintain , which is car safety technology, this should’nt be a problem for Volvo). Because sporty sells these days..especially for European cars. If Volvo just produce humble & safe people career, it will be just like any other Asian brands! But building the brand to the same reputation as the German brands will definitely take time. Probably Volvo Malaysia could price this car a tad lower than the German brands. But going to the sporty direction, is the right step for Volvo!

• redboy on Feb 20, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Volvo in Malaysia will serve the G only since the dealer is signing contract to supply Volvo to some G people. So u think they care about the public market? They know H & T, B & M owns the majority market with Kia and PUG coming up next.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 21, 2011 at 12:08 am

Volvo has made a better driving car, but not by sacrificing comfort, not in the Comfort spec suspension at least. I hope that our Dynamic spec cars won’t be too harsh.

If you liked the old S60, I think you’ll like this one. Go give it a try and let us know what you think.

• clutch basah on Feb 21, 2011 at 7:26 am

I’m quite sure it’s a brilliant car. Will definitely give it a try.

• rallyfan00 on Feb 21, 2011 at 9:53 am

hi danny, price aside, who does the S40 compete with then? surely not the 1 series? i always thought the S40 is a compact executive, which is what the 3 series is as well right?

• Paul Tan on Feb 21, 2011 at 3:41 pm

S60 competes with 3, C, A4. I think to put it simple… if there was a competitor for the S40, it would be the upcoming Audi A3 sedan.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 21, 2011 at 4:25 pm

The S40 is unique in the sense that it’s more compact than the regular compact exec. It shares a platform and wheelbase (2,640 mm) with the Ford Focus.

• FSCHEN on Apr 18, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Is this S60 worth for the money? I had test drive and love the response.

• bluelite on Feb 20, 2011 at 11:12 am

A very beautiful beast on the road!!!! Volvo always keep the best for their S60!!! Wish I could get 1 soon…..

• wajarays on Feb 20, 2011 at 5:20 pm

a good car FULLY LOADED with a good package …. i love volvo … VOLVO FOR LIFE

• greasemonkey on Feb 22, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Yeah,can take your life with the ridiculous high maintenance! perhaps,should try looking and loving other cars.

• wajarays on Mar 04, 2011 at 1:27 am

i own s60 T5 … what is so hi maintanance are you saying ?? been using almost 5 years since new …. are you own a volvo ??

• Looks like the S60 version in Malaysia will not have the front fog lights or maybe it is just the Singapore model. A big no-no if we are to plunk almost RM300K for it. Hopefully Volvo Malaysia will specify the front fog lights for it. Anyway, I am still happy with my XC70 Cross Country. Love that 5-cylinder turbocharged note. Made a promise to myself that I will not go back to 4-cylinder if I can help it which over here I can. Back in Malaysia no way I can afford a Volvo, let alone a XC70! Petrol is cheaper here too and please do not use exchange rate as earn here, spend here which I have better purchasing power than back in Malaysia.

• ??? front fog lights is so important meh ? btw, nowadays you doesn’t need fog lamp, because it’s useless…… now it’s replace with live view camera, and projector head lamp will do the fog lights jobs.

• Projector head lamps can’t do the job of the fog lamps which illuminates better in bad weather and spread the light lower on the road. Projector projects far but useless in fog or rainy conditions. Live view? Unless it is IR – Infra Red, it is kinda useless in bad weather or at night.

• millionaire on Feb 21, 2011 at 3:23 pm

s60, MB C250 CGI & BM 3s…which one? no need to choose la…i take all 3..one for me , my wife & another for my…..mistress…he he he

• Everyone’s talking about the S60 vs the A4, C and the 3.

For me, I’ll take the Passat CC over the 4 anytime :) I don’t like the looks of the S60. It looks like it was left in the oven for a tad too long resulting in a droopy front end.

• Annoy-nimal on Feb 22, 2011 at 9:19 pm

I see strange comments… if you’ve got 300K to splash on a car, I doubt that you’d be thinking much about cost of parts. Those who do probably buy second hand >5 yr old ones.
    “Hey look fellas! I bought myself a Merc because the spare part is cheap!? errrr” thats lame and tarnishes your bloody ego. haha!
    But, it is true that in M’sia, you can get second hand parts easier for the mercs and beemers and less so for volvo because its a rare breed.
    I would congratulate volvo buyes for willing to go against the flow… Otherwise… its the usual camrys, 5-series, Kompressors… Wish, Estimas, bla bla bla. Not a special sight anymore. I believe this car will turn heads at the RnR… betol tak? Especially the one in orange!

• longjaafar on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:41 pm

RM290k is too high. It’s a very good car, and if there is a Volvo model that can take on the Merc, BM and Audi, this is the one. It has the dynamics and poise to even win a joint test. But then it is a Volvo, and Malaysians being Malaysians, it would take a lot of convincing for them to get a Volvo at that price. RM240k with lots of advertising would do the trick, and from then on, have extremely good maintenance programmes. It’s a long climb, but Volvo has shown with the XC90 and XC60 what it is capable of. As for the S80, it is in it’s own territory, neither here nor there. Not as cheap as the Japanese or Koreans and not as dynamic as the Germans. Maybe with the success of the S60, Volvo will be able to put some life in the S80.

• kamal on Mar 03, 2011 at 5:45 pm

aiyaa…if u r a follower buy la camry, accord, bm, merc…they r everywhere (bersepah)…if u r a leader, and individualistic get the volvo…in my company’s car park..they r full of bm and merc and yet people r still asking about my volvo…the rest fade into oblivion…so conservative malaysians…

• lol … interesting to read all the comments but my question is “do u know the car/brand well enough?”

I won’t say I know this car/brand really well, am still learning. Also every car has its beauty. My old Nissan 130Y was reliable, Proton Waja was light and fast, Toyota Unser was a heavy drinker, Honda City steering was smooth and Volvo XC90 was a real tank on the road.

Affordability plays a large part in which car to buy. Then it’s up to individual preferences on style, perception and even influence from close family/friends. One consideration that came into my mind when I bought Volvo was safety. An old timer in auto industry saw my car and he popped the question right away … u bought this for safety? He’s right to the point.

I also happened to know an actual accident involving Volvo on highway, speed about 180 or 200, hit side concrete barrier, went into spins, all airbags deployed, car damaged beyond repair, crushed front and back (most cars are designed to do so to absorb impact), safety cage was intact, four occupants opened their doors and walked out unharmed. After the accident, the owner was contacted by Volvo from Sweden to collect accident data!!!

PERSONALLY I would like to see Volvo improves further on design but I know my wife and my baby are safe in Volvo or most other brands that invested heavily in passenger safety. Read up on the following links and learn more about Volvo, I am trying to read up on other brands to know them better too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMN7sCaZegc
    http://www.resqmed.com/BoronSteel1.pdf
    http://www.citizen.org/documents/ACF48DD.pdf

The last article is interesting, I didn’t know that steel (HSS/EHSS/UHSS) takes more than half of the weights of XC90.

At the end of the day, it’s your money, so you decide but no need to be look down on others.

• DavidChen on May 04, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Well say. My friend’s S80 damaged beyond repair. But he walk out from the car unharmed too. He always recommended Volvo. I am thinking of the T5 S60.

• Sambal Belacan on Mar 13, 2011 at 11:51 pm

What a ugly car it is.

• King Kong on Mar 29, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Can’t help but see so much hatred on an issue, not the car. But I’m proud to say I just bought a Volvo. Not to say I don’t like BMW or Merc. My dad owns a Merc and my bro owns a BMW and they love it. I love my Volvo and that’s all that matters. When one decides to buy these cars, I think money is probably not an issue anymore, so it’s more on value and experience. If money was an issue, probably should stay at the Toyota or Honda range.

• Ah lim on Mar 30, 2011 at 1:44 pm

I’m a happy satisfied owner of S60 2001. Driven BMW 3 series and MB C-class before, but none to those was in par with my Volvo in terms of comfort and stability.

This new S60 certainly looks attractive, but the pricing is really a big problem looking at the resale value of Volvo.T his kind of price might even drive away loyal fans, not to say to make general Malaysian buyers to convert.

• Scrooge on May 02, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Any idea on what is the fuel consumption for S40? Or is it underpower?

• well guys,

I am a automobile engineer , lemme give some honest pictures. i posses all these brands in BN
    in terms of handling bmw,audi,mercedes are far better than volvo, volvo should really work on their suspension and mechanical tractions but in terms of power and durability Volvo is far better than all of the german rivals. If u want a car which is more safe,more powerful and which can run thousands of Km without much wear and tear, One has no other option other than Volvo models. For instance all the german wagons will run for around 200 thousand without any much problem after that it will start giving trouble starting from the cars electronics,computer,modules and then mechanical components. But the Parts used in Volvo both electronics and mechanical are really built for a long run. Volvo products really last longer and if u drive with proper driving skills than its totally maintainance free just u need to change Oil.

If u want a sports saloon for better cornering go for BMW 325 or Audi a4,A5. if u want good ride comfort go for mercedes c18 blue efficiency. if u want a sports saloon which can beat all in express high way go for S60 T6

• Vwfan on Jul 03, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Yes the t6, but i heard they will only give that for the early batches isnt it coz later its going to be the smaller engines

• Edward on Jul 23, 2011 at 6:03 pm

I am struggling between a choice between Volvo s60 t5 ckd estimated rm255k and c200. Hear so much different opinion . Can someone enlighten me on the pro n cons . Tq so much

• Poker on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:44 am

Edward, any luck with your question? I’m struggling with the Volvo S60 T4 CKD and the C200. Would appreciate any comments. TQ.

• Jeyan on Jan 15, 2012 at 11:58 pm

I was thinking btw s60 v c class v. 3 series . Decided to go for the volvo because better looking and better specs and more powerful engines . Also c classes and 3 series will be more common on the road knowing Malaysian perception and I wanted a car tha most people r not going to go for and uniques . And many cases of people walking out of totally wrecked volvos convince me the safest car to be in a accident is a volvo. Also bad guise always think a person with a merc or BMW is rich but no the volvo. Hopefully they leave me alone for this reason . I also think among these 3 the s60 marries to competing issues of comfort and speed the best. As for depreciation, most people fall in love with their volvos that it is truly for life . However at the end of all this all 3 cars a superb in their own ways and there r people who would be dying to drive any one of them

• rear looks like Preve! =O