Chevrolet Colorado show truck breaks cover

The wraps have come off the Chevrolet Colorado show truck, ahead of its global debut at the Bangkok International Auto Show. The concept previews the next-generation Colorado midsize pickup truck, which will go on sale in Thailand later this year.

The show truck features an extended-cab body atop a high-stance AWD chassis and rides on large, 20-inch wheels and off-road tires. Power comes from an efficient 2.8 litre turbodiesel engine, which produces a broad torque band for excellent cargo and towing capability.

The Colorado’s design conveys strength through bodywork that appears tightly wrapped over the chassis and a wide, confident stance. In the front, you get the familiar gold bowtie, and the dual-port grille is framed by large headlamps that flow into the front fenders, with an extractor vent on the hood bulking things further.

It’s finished in a shade called Pepperdust Metallic, and this is accented with polished aluminum details in the fascias as well as integrated side steps and black-masked projector-style headlamps with LED lighting elements. At the rear is a full-width LED-lit taillamp, and there’s also a body-colour hard tonneau cover on the bed.

The 20-inch aluminium wheels feature a “liquid metal” finish, with Stone Gray color wheel ports, and are wrapped with Cooper 285/50R ZEON LTZ tyres.

Inside, the cabin features a dual-cockpit instrument panel design, which flows into the doors, and ice-blue lighting and high-quality, “double-faced” leather-trimmed seats add more dash. Elsewhere, a brace of motorcycle-inspired, three-dimensional gauges stand out on the instrument panel.

Contrasting dark wood trim, accented with chrome and low-gloss and soft-touch materials, is used throughout for a premium feel. A number of storage compartments are located throughout the interior, including a covered center bin for concealment of valuable items and a large, dual glovebox.

Additional features include a dual-zone, digital climate control system and an infotainment system, with an ergonomically positioned 7-inch LCD display in the centre stack at the heart of things.

Galllery of hi-res pix after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2078]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BOYRACER on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:33 am

WOW!!!!one macho looking truck.looks like almost production ready but i’ll bet it will lose the infotainment system & the Air-Cond controls.Looks too futuristic.
    Anyway will Malaysia get those trucks?If they make it here, sure will get 1.

• and thats a cramped backseat..

• come on, there is no back seat, is storage compartments..

• shaman on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:50 pm

that cramped rear seat in the concept pick-up is expected because this is an extended cab rather than a twin cab. in an extended cab, the rear seats are basically more for storage and less for human occupants.

• Ford Ranger T6 2012 is waayyy better.

• owh…i missed that.. just looking at the pic not reading.. but do not get me wrong..it is one nice truck.. for a company services car i’m not sure about the practicality.. for personal use.. nope.. if got extra $$ yosh.. i’ll get one if it ever reach the shore.. but for the trafic, parking ease, naaa.. i’ll pass

• finally….new D-MAX!!!!!

• bold design.. nice..

• blueblood on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:37 am

macho truck for macho man!

• ttooyyoottt on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:39 am

theres no double cabin?

• alvin on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:42 am

very nice. wonder if they’ll come up with a 5 seater option…

• ekspresiruang on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:42 am

wow, I want this beast!

• not bad..masculin & good looking..

• now..thats a cramped backseat..

• gangully on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:02 pm

its a single cab bro, mana ada back seat?

• Mayonaise on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:28 pm

You’re obviously not familiar with the definition of “Extended Cab”.

• BOYRACER on Mar 22, 2011 at 1:50 pm

It’s not a double cab.It’s an extended cab.Anyway any chances of coming to Malaysia?If yes,sure wanna get 1.Cool looking truck.

• wow very macho and handsome lah..

• good design, wander if it can be drive here

• Mayonaise on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:32 pm

This concept looks awesome, I just hope the actual production version won’t be missing out too many bits from this concept.

• bombostic on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:35 pm

it’s against some religion to hav the Sign of the Cross on the grille n back, anyway the interior looks cool !

• Essential Motoring 101 on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:42 pm

It should arrive Msia in no time. Wana see how the new Ranger and Colorado stir things up here :)

• backseat so small…

• headlamp reminds me vw….?

• farghmee on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:58 pm

cun!

i wish that saga interior is as simple yet elegance as this…

• shaman on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:44 pm

this is in no way simple ;) lot’s more lines and curves. saga interior is all straight lines for easy (and cheap) manufacturing.

• nebula87 on Mar 22, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Wow…i damn love Chevrolet design!!!

• 4 door twin cabin better.

• Led Zeplin on Mar 22, 2011 at 1:53 pm

IMHO, best looking front grille compare to what we have in the market.

is chevrolet going to offer a double cab version?
    is naza going to bring this to malaysia?

Hope the price is right………”finger crossed”

• Downs on Mar 22, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Wow! Super stylish design. Any chance this will ever make it into our shores?

• Are you sure you are considering this? Unless you are single all the way and don’t need to ferry your parents around. Nice looking but not practical for passengers. Imagine driving this to PG

• not much legroom but it certainly looks handsome.

• macho giler ..

• macho giler … this truck is for 2 ..

• Will this truck be imported to Malaysia?

• what a finish!!!

• ChrisCK on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:04 pm

woow nice!

• i better wait for a new proton arena based on persona…

• nolan on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Triton is better….

• SoMeOnE on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:59 pm

finaly..and american style pick up…the ford ranger is a realy bad example..this is much closer..i predict this to be a sales hit for malaysian ‘cowboys’ and country lovers…lol…i like it…i may and up gettin it if im in the market for oen when it arrives..

• seancorr on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Wow another awesome looking truck from the States. The new Ford Ranger has a new rival!

• WhySoSerious on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:52 pm

wow!!!
    damn nice!!
    pls bring this monster to malaysia..
    with this RX8 door style..
    cool..

• dickybird on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:12 am

a cylon pickup truck!

• I am no fan of pickup truck but this one really catch my eyes!!!

• moha3774 on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:54 am

…looks tough…if only they come up with twin cab…

• Unforgiven on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:37 pm

Wow, the interior and the center/dash area is so much nicer than our local cars…

• toroto on Mar 23, 2011 at 5:59 pm

With heavy rain almost everyday that cause further deteriorating road condition even in Klang Valley, pickup trucks r also selling like hot cakes here. Dis Colorado is de best looking pickup truck i ever seen that struck my interest even i’m not a fan of dis segment. But can Chevy built a double cab Colorado but wif shorter trunk n shorter rear over-hang length? Most important is: price remain affordable…

• breaL on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:29 am

global debut!! in bangkok???

• breaL on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:42 am

badass dashboard