Peugeot Design Competition seeks potential local talent

If you’re a secondary school or college student with a love for cars, the following will definitely pique your interest. Nasim and Automobiles Peugeot have launched a design competition with the New Straits Times, with the aim of educating college and secondary school students with skills needed to design an automobile.

The inaugural NST-Peugeot Design Competition kicked off on May 29 and will run until August 21, with the winners announced on Nov 1. Open to all college and secondary school students in Malaysia, the competition seeks to offer Malaysian students a chance to design a car.

Full story after the jump.

Participants of the competition – which is split into two categories, secondary school students and university or college students – will need to submit their design of what they envision to be the perfect Peugeot vehicle for Southeast Asian markets in 2018.

Secondary school students will have to submit a design illustration mounted on an A3 or A2 board which must include a perspective and package drawing (an elevation drawing, including interior design) and a description of the design in English.

As for university and college students, they’ll also be required to submit a design illustration mounted on an A3 or A2 board. One hundred semi-finalists will be shortlisted, and awarded consolation prizes, and the top 10 participants of this shortlisted group will then be required to submit a 1/5th scale model of their proposed design.

Secondary students will have to participate individually for the competition, while college/university students are required to enter as a team of three, which must include one tutor/lecturer/professor.

All design illustrations for both secondary school and college students can be either hand drawn or computer assisted, or a combination of both. In the case of the 10 chosen finalists in the college/university category, there are no prerequisites as far as choice of materials go in building the 1/5th scale model – anything from papier-mache and beeswax to clay or putty can be utilised, though the cost of building the actual model will have to be borne by the team.

In terms of prizes, the winner in the university/college student category will be awarded a five-day, four-night expense paid trip for all members of the team to Paris and Peugeot’s design centre in Velizy, France, along with RM1,000 in cash. The winning team also gets Peugeot merchandise valued at 100 Euro and a three-month automotive internship with the Naza Group.

The second-placed team will also receive a five-day, four-night trip with all expenses paid, but for for only two members of the team to Paris and the design centre in Velizy, France. Like with the winners, second also bags Peugeot merchandise valued at 100 Euro and a three-month automotive internship with the Naza Group. The third-placed team will receive RM250 for two members in the team and a three-month automotive internship with the Naza Group.

As for secondary school students, the first place winner will receive an iPad 2 and Peugeot merchandise, while the second prize winner will receive RM500 and Peugeot merchandise and third prize takes home RM250 and Peugeot merchandise. Besides the top three places, a further 30 entrants will be given consolation prizes.

As part of the design competition, tutorials on design will be available on a weekly basis via Cars, Bikes and Trucks to assist the participants in creating their own designs, and there’s a two-month roadshow beginning in June, which will make its way to over 100 schools nationwide and five institutions of higher learning to promote the design competition.

Nasim or Automobiles Peugeot may decide to develop the winning design into a model for display at motorshows and roadshows, said Datuk Samson Anand George, COO of Nasim. “With this competition, it is our aim to give Malaysian students a platform to showcase their talent and creativity. It is also an opportunity to the lay the ground work for tomorrow’s automotive designers in Malaysia,” he said.

Entries will be judged on the relevance to the theme, concept originality, design value and quality and development potential. You can find out more about the competition here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Black Dog on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:28 am

Aiyah, what about real people like us who’s really passionate about cars and knows it inside out?

School kids will only like to design fancy sports cars and star trek type vehicles, nothing practical in their minds.

• faliq on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:08 pm

give a chance to them man, who knows they are better than us adults..besides they are assist by their teacher/lecturer/professor

• maserati on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Shut up then, why won’t you draw a sketch and submit it? I wonder how deep is your knowladge about car is, and you know you are a kid before?

• junaidi on Jun 02, 2011 at 10:07 am

LOL do you even know what the future will look like?
      Who’s to say vehicles WONT look like USS Enterprise or a Star Destroyer

• sheryl on Aug 20, 2011 at 11:57 am

i’m a college student and i read this today…. T.T so sad…

• tommyali on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:51 am

why proton didn’t do it…all design will be taken by the french…

• Nazrul on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:55 am

I spends almost 65% in my life time drawing cars, this is my chance to put myself in the test. I wonder why Proton didn’t make this kinda competition? It would be cool, you know?

• Okay, now is the time where you junior bashers to put your parents money where your mouth is. See if you really can impress professional car designers to produce your designs.

Of course, you will lose all rights to the said design, but imagine putting in your resume later, “designed Peugeot Singanas, which became the base of Peugeot VioLiont, which comes in 5 colors and when combined, will become Voltron, Defender of the Universe”.

• Ape Pon Tak Boleh on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:50 pm

proton not doing this kinda competition is simply because proton is proton. haha, simple answer though.

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 5:44 pm

because proton own Lotus which have the facilities needed la

• for proton no probem, design competition is in malaysia and design ideas is first hand by malaysian. any of a good design may indirectly to be digested by proton.

• supernan9 on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:02 pm

sudah kerja tak boleh join ka?

• fuel cell phone on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:36 pm

p1 should do the same, but not just limited to school students, but open for all bolehlanders :-D

winning design shall be considered for p1 future models

• cidey on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:01 pm

Well…its never going to work anyway…

• LauBeh on Jun 02, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Only for kid?? What do kids know??? Lesen kreta pun takda….. They should have 1 more category for Professional designer (Those who can only draw furniture or sell credit card for a living……..but don’t have the previlege to work for Proton/Perodua) to express themselve ;P

• Jimmy Dean on Jun 03, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Kids are more creative than old fart like you… they think outside the box. Who knows what sort of crazy ideas that they’ll churn out.

• well, I’ve done the side render now

• giving design idea is one thing and then having resources to convert this idea into a practical one and then having market to produce and sell this idea are all most important stages. Peugeot is ready to accept and develop new ideas therefore they have a setup. Many car manufacturers do not take risk and do not appreciate bold ideas. This may be the case of most small car manufacturers who want to churn money out of already tested ideas. No imagination, no market leadership.

• your time is over dude…now give the chances to the future generation…this would be the good platform 4 them to develop their talents…different people got different ideas n creativity…same as kids, they may have bizzare ideas whereas adults always like ‘this cannot….that cannot” always thinks about the negatives sides…children are more sincere in presenting their pure ideas