Bersih Road Closures in KL on 9th July 2011

The following major roads going in and out the city will be closed this Saturday, as part of the government’s measures to head off the Bersih 2.0 rally.

Please take note, and if you are not going to participate in the rally (your personal choice – please try to keep the comments area free of political messages) it’s best that you stay away from the area.

According to city police chief Datuk Amar Singh, those who live and work in the area would be allowed in – I’m presuming some kind of proof would be needed – the easiest would be to check the address listed on your IC.

[expand title=”View all closed roads!”]Istana Negara

• Jalan Syed Putra
  • Jalan Istana
  • Jalan Bukit Petaling
  • Jalan Bellamy
  • … and Areas surrounding the Istana Negara

National Mosque (Masjid Negara)

• Jalan Sultan Hishammudin
  • Jalan Lembah Perdana
  • Jalan Chenderasari
  • .. and Areas surrounding the National Mosque

Areas surrounding Merdeka Square (Dataran Merdeka)

• Central Market
  • Majid Jamek
  • City Hall
  • Sogo
  • Maju Junction
  • Kampung Baru Mosque
  • Jalan Kinabalu
  • Jalan Kuching
  • Jalan Sultan Ismail
  • Jalan Raja Laut
  • Jalan Sri Amar
  • Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman
  • Jalan Haji Taib
  • Jalan Raja Muda Musa
  • Jalan Raja Bot
  • Jalan Raja Abdullah
  • Jalan Dang Wangi
  • Jalan Munshi Abdullah
  • Jalan Gereja
  • Jalan Raja Chulan
  • Jalan Tun Perak
  • Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Loke
  • Jalan Sultan Mahmud
  • … and All areas within

[/expand]

Follow KL Traffic Update for more updates on road blocks and congestion.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Maserati on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:00 pm

PDRM are idiots! Puppets to UMNO!

Paul Tan,if you have the balls,lets this comment be showed and do not filter it!

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:04 pm

No problem!

What do you hope to achieve or contribute with this kind of comment by the way?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:50 pm

I think he want to release "gas" in this blog!

• Polis Raja Di Malaysial

• CitiZen on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:01 pm

To show that PDRM are anjing to Najib lorr! What else ?

• isaidso on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Please drive your maserati tomorrow to the rally area. no point you make noise here…. it make you look idiots, idiot!

• squall_shinoda on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Maserati is so expensive la bro, so sayang to lenjan it for tomorrow's rally… then it it's broken down then it's very expensive to repair laa… use satria neo dah la…

• Celicazz on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:35 pm

ntah, viva kan ada…

• tallpan on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:13 pm

@isaidso ya i agree, Maserati should drive his Maserati into city, may even get a free car wash if he's lucky! ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfpYZ4IGenY )

• Boo…

• You are just making yourself look like a fool with a comment like that… Not at all necessary…

• Keyboard warrior please asked your fellow riot friends to do rally in front of Ambiga house and let her do a preach in front of you guys. Let KL stay in peace!

• Zaid Zainuddin on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:17 pm

how stupid can u be?

• skiborne on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:02 pm

maybe u may want to place another point in the "memorandum" how to improve drains that are clogged

• klguy on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:01 pm

may the govt use this time to 'clean' themselves and the roads. Najib….sama sama cuci longkang jom.

• allsaints 94 on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:02 pm

najib leaving town tomorrow. another flying visit.

• isaidso on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:07 pm

to those who choose to go for the clean rally, please make sure you take shower first in the morning, wear new or washed shirt only.. this includes jeans, undergarments and socks.

.. to really portray the true spirit of the rally, please ensure the cleanliness of the rally area, do bring plastic bag to collect rubbish and food leftover. for those with extra spirit, please bring brooms and other necessary items. there are lots of area with dried leafs, and can also help clear the sg klang of rubbish and debris.

thank you. love you all.

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Maybe you can bring along a high tech Dyson vacuum cleaner too.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Don't forget to bring along detergents and Clorox as well to clean those stubborn stains there tomorrow.

• Evoque on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:45 pm

buat lawak konon.. Nah, ambik 1 sen pegi main jauh-jauh lah..

• Nutral on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:08 pm

HHHhhhhhmmmmm,………………all I can say is show what you want and what you feel through general election thats it. Let EC do their job during Election. Bring in Foreign observers to monitor election. If they say the election result is being manipulated then why PR can form govt in Penang, Kedah & Selangor ?? Politicians will always be politicians …..Political parties will always be political parties. Politicians can tell you a lot of things….what they want you to know or listen for you to support them it might me the truth or lie we dont know only god knows. Political Parties they have a set of believes and agenda. All politicians are ambitious, they want people to puji depa, angkat depa and kipas depa. Then why do politician hold office for as long as they could. ____

• littlefire on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:33 pm

I agree in improving the EC..

Remember the ink.. Last 308 they promise to use the ink but in the end why no use? Coz they knew if the EC is fair, 308 would not be BN still controlling putrajaya!!!

Besides that, how foreign ppl can monitor the Postal vote? As postal vote are voted earlier and can be tempered during freezing period…

I support bersih, but do it professionally compare to another party which is not gentleman enought even after the Sultan spoke about it…

• yellowman on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Bcos BN lost too much in those 3 states, even undi pos laju also cannot tolong lol…
      U want to vote power-corrupted politician is your choice. Your children will know if u have done the right thing.
      Next General Election, pls buy a Firefly ticket & visit Sabah & Sarawak. See how money politik is done without fear or fairness. Then, u will know what Bersih mean !!

• squall_shinoda on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:27 pm

True… Sarawak is very under-developed and the roads are sparse. There's only the so-called Pan Borneo Highway to connect the whole Sarawak. Most of the rakyat there only live in poverty inside their kandangs while their Chief Minister drives a Rolls-Royce Phantom and lives in huge mansions.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:55 pm

If EC conduct free and fair election in 308, PR formed federal gov a Putrajaya, and BN already send to opposition benches! You get the point. This is what BN fear most if allow Bersih 2.0 to take place.

• taipan101 on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Polis bodoh! Kerajaan BN takada oak langsung!

• Rally)driver( on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:12 pm

no mention of what cars r going to participate in this rally? what about the Neo 2000 and my favourite WRX STi ? kinda impressed ter willing to close so many roads for the rally events! I love motorsport in the city centre like monte carlo rally in city omg!!

• squall_shinoda on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:15 pm

If the Satria Neo S2000 cars enter this kind of rally, then they'll be halted by the cops as well. And if Karamjit Singh is there tomorrow, then he'll gonna be the main highlight of the Sunday newspapers.

• tiadaid on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:44 pm

This rally's gonna be old skool, Audi Quattro, Lancia Delta Integrale, Peugeot 205 T16, Ford RS200. Group B all the way!

• tokmoh on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Neo 2000 warna kuning, HARAM!! Polis kata jangan.

lol :P

• Bersih ppl are bunch of monkeys who just dont know what to do tomorrow.

• well, now is the time, to explore places outside KL or just spend the weekend at home, or if you are wild enough, take the lrt since those don't seem to be closed or banned, avoid yellow too for those wtf moments with the police..

• jojob on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:21 pm

better make this country lika Libya or Egypt… from clean rally to terrified rally…..

• KeretaMayat on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:22 pm

jojob, this is what the rally is planned for.
      The organizer is hoping the foreign media to show the world that Malaysia is govern by a bad leader. When this is achieved, this is the time when US and the allies take advantage to involve in Malaysia parliament.
      Malaysia has developed too much as a Muslim country, and this is the chance for them to take Malaysia down again.

• utterly disappointing

• Aaron on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:27 pm

WAAA BERSIH SAMPAI, KOTOR SUDAH KELUAR. KITA TAU SIAPA YANG LAGI TIDAK GUNA!

Oh Paul, you guys not looking forward to personal car video reviews posted on Youtube? Reading is nice but my uncle name is Paul Tan too but he say he's not running this blog and I need an imaginary voice and face while reading your stuff. Good stuff. Cheers!

• Lazy Worker on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:27 pm

Yeah! Thank you BERSIH! It will be a unofficial public holiday. But damn it. Why KL only? Klang Valley also la block. My office in PJ… No excuse for not working already.

• KeretaMayat on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Agree with LazyWorker! I have a very good rest at home today.
      I think you guys should do this rally everyday, so I can rest at home playing my PS3 everyday. :)

• kwlim on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:29 pm

tell all these jokers don't disturb our tranquility, without this nonsense we r experiencing jams already, now they are making it worse

• kelvin on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:36 pm

Thst is what the Umno is trying to achieve, make people angry with bersih.

• unknown on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:32 pm

when young ummon group kacau at PKR office…nak bakar PKR office…police never block and never take single action

• 1malaysia 2laws, u must hv koneks (connections) to do what u 1 in m'sia, otherwise even wearing a yellow t also will get u into trouble.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Tau takpe… why those Perkasa and Umno Youth gangsters who are planning to make counter-rallies not being arrested as well? Double standard, hypocrite cops!

• KeretaMayat on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:32 pm

Because they already canceled their counter-rallies.
        Don't you ever read the newspaper or watch the TV?
        I think you are also double standard and hypocrite like those cops :p

• DenFire on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:49 pm

Stupid G and PDRM, just a very normal voice up but they make like enemy of the country invading. Who is the samseng in this case? Definitely is the G and PDRM. STUPID…

• kaskas on Jul 08, 2011 at 5:53 pm

this rally shown how unfair polis & the G at all..that juz a campaign to claim clean and fair on ELECTION…just that…we r in democratic country..not dictactor

• KeretaMayat on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Agree with kaskas!
      The campaign is only to claim clean and fair election.
      They shouldn't win the election in Penang and Selangor, yet they had won.
      There must be something wrong with the EC I'm sure.

• blackjkx on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Are they want to be like Bangkok, fews years ago? Yellow shirt fight with the red shirt?
    Tanks came in, army all over the place, shoot and run….etc?
    Amiga, Guan Eng,Samad Said, KJ and Mat Sabu are just bloody monkeys wearing human skin.

Suggestion to them: Buy a new Myvi, pay 9~10 years tenure and enjoy one humble life.

• drakul on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:07 pm

i think that Anwar Ibrahim dude needs to be impaled.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:09 pm

In my wishful thinking, I hope someone like Ambiga rise up by form Bersih equivalent in car industry by demanding for free and fair pricing for car, let throw NAP into rubbish bin! Let end P1 and P2 craps and junk tissue box on the wheel cars in our market.

• KeretaMayat on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:39 pm

Agree With Expatriate!
      Those who work in P1 & P2 should be jobless.
      If I jobless, other Malaysian should be jobless too! :D

• jalan54 on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:21 pm

This country is never a "total" democratic country, those who becomes the government always have all the power to do what they like.

They can use the tax payer money as they like without going through parliament (oh yeah, forgot they got most of the votes in parliament, so no point going through… my bad, forgot about this), and can simply tell people "You help me, I help you"… lol… What a joke!!!

You say something that they feel offended, here comes ISA, send you to jail. No reason given and they just said " is the matter of national security"…

I wonder is this Satu Malaysia or "Sapu" Malaysia???

• skiborne on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:08 pm

singapore also has "untouchable" govt" what… u cakap salah, boom into jail or heavy fines, so in politics, all the same irrespective of parties

• uzumi on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:31 pm

that what i about to say, good one bro !

• Najib Rosak on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Wahai Warganegara Malaysia yang disayangi…

• Najib Rosak on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:50 pm

…disebabkan kamu semua didahulukan, saya pasti saudara saya Hisapmudin & pihak PRDM dapat "settle" kamu besok.

Saya sekarang tengah sibuk cuti melancong ke Vatican kerana tersangat ingin berjumpa Pope untuk "mencuci dosa". Ada pihak yang berpendapat bola saya disimpan Rosie, pada hal sebenarnya saya telah belajar dari China bahawa "Orang Pandai hanya Beri Arahan, Orang BODOH (maafkan saya Hisap & PRDM) Yang Bertindak.

Kalau keputusannya baik, saya dapat pujian. Kalau keadaan kecoh tak terkawal, bukan salah saya sebab saya tiada lagi jauh selamat di negara lain :-)

Selamat MemBERSIH besok, ok? You Help Me, I Help You la…!!!

• Evoque on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Bro, just like car engine oil.. drain out kao-kao before putting new. we should vote wisely on coming GE.

• Driving back to Ampang from Penang tonight should I use the DUKE to avoid traffic jams. Pls help

• Benji on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:52 pm

yes.. better use duke highway from toll jln duta..

• Sayur on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:51 pm

Don’t come back tonight. Take your time there, Sunday maybe ok.

• Aiman Safwan on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:52 pm

respect our our nation, our people, our leaders

• Evoque on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:54 pm

respect nation=yes
      our people=yes
      our leaders=depends not from Barang Naik for sure.

• LatukBandar on Jul 08, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Respect should be earned, it is not God given. If the Agong wants respect, he must earn it by being fair (am not saying he is not fair, just giving an example).

Likewise, if a politician wants to be respected, he should earn it by doing good deeds, be fair and corrupt free… Q is, are they? especially those in power.

Visit this post and you'll know why http://blogserius.blogspot.com/2011/07/serius-wtf…

• yey_yey_yey on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:53 pm

green days hhahahahaahaha less carbon from car at kl

• kesian BN.. on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:07 pm

i got friend that really support BN all this while suddenly criticize the G and PDRM for being really "gabra".and he keeps telling about his disatisfaction almost everyday. he doesn't really tell me but i'm pretty sure know where he stands now.for me KEMPEN BERSIH indirectly has achieved their main target although its not even started yet.that is to change the ppl mind of what kind of leader the G really are.

• Cupin on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Stupid bersih for creating an issue.. Stupid police for stupid roadblock.. Stupid G for how they handle the issue.. At the end.. Rakyat yg susah..

• BERSIH@LIAR on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Blame n blame….
    Paultan beware ur webpage always monitoring by SKMM 24hours…until 10july…

To Bersih Supporter better change venue to LAUT CHINA SELATAN or SELAT MELAKA more spacious…ma…n difficult to make road block..by PDRM…hahahkkk…why chooose KL….just making havoc ?????
    Pity to supporters n Police

• why laa all this people… always connected everything to politics. All industries build to provide jobs for people…Gov has taken proactive steps to provide job for you and you condemned them back. So all other industries. Have you ever think how many industries involved to in making cars??? or even to produce a simple paper cup? Have you ever think that? See in US, when their car industries almost bankrupt, their Gov provide money to get the people work…do they go rally ask for money?

• mystvearn on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:52 pm

If that's the case, I think people should forget going to town and go to some waterfall/beach for the weekend-then pity to those who have to go to to work with road closers.

• azhar on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:59 pm

gilaaaa!!!..dah cam darurat dek hanya kerana demo yg mau clean election!…over reaction at its best!

• eubiansgrotto on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:25 pm

Thank you for making everybody else who doesn't give a damn about politics a miserable weekend

• tiadaid on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Meh, it's just another attempt of bamboozling the gullible public! After reading the Bersih manifesto and I wonder, why aren't the opposition censured for practicing the very same thing that Bersih supposedly want to eradicate? Why the double standards, if they are really sincere to Bersih the Malaysian democratic process?

I doubt opposition supporters will reply. The only retort I expect to see is childish namecalling.

Sorry for being political, Paul

• Happyliving on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:01 pm

Actually :P i couldnt give much damn to the rally, if its not BN, and it be others, the goverment would remain the same :) no difference at all, this country is being run by a bunch of kids :P haha my little brother can do better XD so far i live in KL no problems :) im fine with my life here, my friends too :) im gna watch transformers tomorow, been looking forward to it :) hv fun ppl :D cheers!!

• U.R.AN.S.O.B on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Now the road are truly bersih lah. hope they also clean the road they block!

• Najib Rosak on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Wahai rakyat Malaysia yang disayangi, disebabkan kamu semua didahulukan, saya pasti saudara Hisapmudin & pihak PRDM akan “settle” kamu semua besok manakala saya bercuti di Vatican tersangat ingin nak jumpa Pope untuk “mencuci dosa”.

Ada pihak kata bola saya disimpan Rosie, tetapi saya telah belajar kemahiran “Orang Pandai Memberi Arahan, Orang Bodoh (maafkan saya Hisap & PRDM) Yang Bertindak”…kalau keputusan baik, saya dapat pujian, kalau keadaan tidak terkawal, saya tidak terlibat lagipun selamat sebab tiada dalam negara :-)

Selamat MemBERSIH besok!!!

• civic on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Satu Bangsa, Satu Suara, Satu BerSih Malaysia … Traffic is bad guys… wasted so much on petrol… Hai… U guys can't imagine the traffic… we really to need to Bersih the road .. haha

• unkown on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Damn…those police too senang tak da kerja buat. They setup a big camp at nkve from shah alam toward KL. 3 lane bcome 1 lane. Check siapa pakai baju kuning ke? seluar dalam kuning pun nak tangkap? Make me stuck 3 hours from ofic bek to home@#$%^&*()

• alfie60 on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Where is Sultan Perak and Marina Mahathir when Datuk Ambiga Bersih need them the most?

• realist on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:23 pm

if the election were rigged, what explains the states controlled by PR? how that happened? and when PR won, suddenly all are fair and square, but when BN won, its rigged? how that for self contradictory? and in what way the police to be blame huh? when someone make noises or act suspiciously in front of ur house, u call the police to come over dont u? so..what do u expect when some raucious gathering of ppl with certain sentiments gather, for the police to sit and do nothing? idiots..real idiots..the police are doing their job, as they should be..

enough of these nonsense..like, u vote, dont like, vote other…whinging wont do u any good…politics will always be politics…u dont have to be a tool or a puppet manipulated by politicians for their own personal gain…

• Abuamir on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:27 pm

This country is belong to rakyat not umnoputra & cronies.
    BERSIH to clean this dirty gov.

Vote for change in PRU13

• LoveOurCountry on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:46 pm

This is our beloved country. We shall love our country but it’s ok to hate the government. Country and the government is 2 different thing but many people had been made to believe that hating the government akin to betraying the country.

BN has been winning elections for years with the full help of 3M. Money, Machinery and Media. Money from the taxpayer, Machinery from our public service and Media favor on their side. Without this, they are drop dead. period.

I hope now people will understand what this Bersih rally is all about.

• realist on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:55 pm

if the election were rigged, what explains the states controlled by PR? how that happened? and when PR won, suddenly all are fair and square, but when BN won, its rigged? how that for self contradictory? and in what way the police to be blame huh? when someone make noises or act suspiciously in front of ur house, u call the police to come over dont u? so..what do u expect when some raucious gathering of ppl with certain sentiments gather, for the police to sit and do nothing? idiots..real idiots..the police are doing their job, as they should be..