The Dynamic Duo: Goodyear’s Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 and Directional 5 Ultra High Peformance tyres sampled!

Goodyear Malaysia recently launched two new tyres in the Ultra High Performance (UHP) segment. They are the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 and Eagle F1 Directional 5, successors to the original EF1 Asymmetric and the iconic EF1 GS-D3, respectively.

The local launch was held at Proton’s test track in Shah Alam, but we attended the earlier regional launch of the dynamic duo in Hua Hin, Thailand. Here’s an in detail look at Goodyear’s new entrants to the UHP scene and what we think of them.

Continue reading after the jump.

The launch of the new Eagle F1 duo by Goodyear at the Kaengkrachan circuit near Hua Hin, Thailand, was the first double tyre regional launch this writer has attended (usually, there’s just one hero), and there was a lot to take in, and deliver to you. But we’ll try, starting with the EF1 Asymmetric 2.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (we’ll call it A2 from now) is the sequel to the original Eagle F1 Asymmetric that was launched three years ago. The A2 will be the flagship tyre for Goodyear in the Ultra High Performance (UHP) segment, and it has huge boots to fill, since the Asymmetric is to me a top class performance tyre that’s still a benchmark today.

So it comes as no surprise that instead of a full rework, Goodyear has taken the Asymmetric and further improved on certain aspects for it to stay ahead of the pack.

The most significant improvement of the lot, since this is a UHP tyre, is better wet handling and wet braking. While the Asymmetric isn’t shabby in this regard, the A2 sports Goodyear’s new ActiveBraking Technology, which allows shorter braking by up to three metres in the wet and two metres in the dry, tested by TUV SUD Automotive against three leading competitors.

The tests (80-0 km/h wet, 100-0 km/h dry) were done in Europe late last year, so the rival rubber in question are the latest flagship UHPs from Continental, Pirelli and Bridgestone.

I won’t be surprised if many are skeptical at the huge margins, since this is a contest between the best tyres in the market. But I have personally experienced such differences between the original Asymmetric and the best Bridgestone of that time. Not only did the Goodyear performed better in the more objective tests such as straight line braking distance, it was also grippier and more predictable/easier to handle at the limit of adhesion.

That was then, but unfortunately, we didn’t get to push the tyres to such extent in Thailand for the A2. What we did witness was a wet braking demo between the A2 and a rival UHP Bridgestone, which the Goodyear won.

We did try the tyre in short loops around the circuit, and although it gripped and braked impressively both in the wet and dry, it must be said that the tight Kaengkrachan track didn’t allow us to push the tyre to its absolute limits.

Same goes for the ‘scenic drive’ on trunk roads around the circuit, although that stint did reveal that the A2 is quite pliant and silent for the performance it promises. The roads Goodyear chose were old and rough in patches, by the way. My Porsche Cayman felt very direct and responsive from behind the wheel, too, but a lot of the credit must go to Zuffenhausen for that.

So what’s the deal with ActiveBraking? A key feature is the ‘3-Dimensional’ spherical shaped tread block design that increases the contact patch during hard braking, in contrast with regular blocks that show little or no transformation under pressure. Bigger contact patch = increased grip.

Besides that, the A2 features an 86 degree cross ply carcass structure that increases torsional stiffness. There’s also a new compound that combines silica, high molecular weight polymers and ‘race inspired resin’. To top it off, the A2’s carcass is lighter, and we all know that lower unsprung mass is a good thing.

The other two aspects that are improved over the Asymmetric concerns our wallets, and they are mileage and rolling resistance, the latter by a greater degree. Just like the performance cars they belong on, even performance tyres need to offer more than just performance these days.

The A2’s cavity shape and tread stiffness have been optimised, providing 10% longer life than its predecessor, according to Goodyear. Rolling resistance is also now best in class, which sounds almost illogical since grip is up. Don’t we love technology? :)

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 is a global product and is made in Germany for the world. It’s available from 17-inch to 20-inch sizes – some come with a five rib design while some have six. In Malaysia, the A2 retails from RM535 to RM1,710.

Moving on, we also have the Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5, which is a replacement for the Eagle F1 GS-D3. If you don’t remember the name, surely you must have seen the GS-D3’s famous V tread pattern – you’ll know it when you see it. No points for guessing why they jumped from 3 to 5, skipping the number 4.

The D5, which is a “mid range UHP” model, is positioned below the A2 and is more affordable at RM290 to RM705. Goodyear imagined “aftermarket tuned sports cars” and sporty coupes when designing the D5 – think Nissan Fairlady, Honda Civic “Type R” and Mazda RX-8 as opposed to BMW M3 and AMG cars for the A2. Not a rule, but just so you have an idea.

Goodyear also envisions upsizers using the D5; this can be a Perodua Myvi upsizing an inch to 15in or a Honda City going up two to 17in. Sizes range from 195/50 R15 to 245/40 R19.

This wide size range that starts from 15in mirrors Michelin’s strategy for the Pilot Sport 3 – good for consumers (now everyone can UHP) and good for the tyremakers (more volume). Unlike the A2, which is made in Germany, the D5 is made in China and Thailand for the Asia Pacific market.

Most would have already noticed the D5’s aggressive directional tread pattern, which “looks more performance” than the A2. This is actually a selling point for the D5’s intended market, and it makes the tyre distinctive, although not as stand out as its predecessor.

However, the evolved tread design delivers dramatically improved worn noise performance over the old timer (which is quite poor in this aspect), while wet braking and mileage are also better. Other aspects are about equal with the GS-D3, which construction and toughness is already proven.

The D5 comes with what Goodyear calls SportGrip Technology. Basically, this is a combo of a solid centre line rib (stamped with Goodyear logo) and continuous shoulder rib with high weight polymers and a “race inspired” compound. This acts to reduce tyre deformation under heavy load, improving steering response and grip. This is not found on the GS-D3, as is the closed shoulder design that’s the main factor in the reduced noise levels.

No TUV testing for this Asia Pacific market tyre, but Goodyear internal tests reveal that the D5 is best in class in wet braking, and is on par with rivals in treadwear. William Villamizar, Tech Project Leader for Asia Pacific tells us that making tyres for our region is the hardest task, as customers here demand it all – UHP performance PLUS low noise levels and good treadwear. The latter two isn’t much of a concern with European UHP users.

We tried the D5 on Mitsubishi Lancer GTs, and the car felt very composed on the drenched S bend – the wet grip on offer is good and the improved performance over touring tyres (Turanza, Primacy etc) or basic rubber (Goodyear NCT5) is very apparent – upgraders will feel the difference. Goodyear says that they specifically benchmarked Bridgestone (Adrenalin is my guess) for the D5, but we didn’t get to try them back-to-back.

For the noise improvements, Goodyear played us their lab recordings, and let’s just say that the worn noise levels between GS-D3 and D5 is as far apart as night and day.

In summary, these two Eagles cater to different needs and budgets, one for those who want the ultimate UHP, the other offering a blend of performance, street style and value for money. Users of the original Asymmetric/GS-D3 or other brands switching to these two, feel free to give your feedback.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• LittleFire on Sep 20, 2011 at 7:39 am

p1030575b.jpg … the 1st girl from left seems to have fake bb..

• neutral on Sep 20, 2011 at 8:30 am

beautiful gals, nice tyres :)

• The_Kings on Sep 20, 2011 at 8:38 am

The Eagle F1 looks same like my SC2…

• putra_rider on Sep 20, 2011 at 8:52 am

i like the girls..

and the tyre too..

but like the girls more..

• komenturg on Sep 20, 2011 at 11:16 am

hah,that’s how tyre manufacturers sell tyres lor… make u feast ur eyes on pretty girls, one could tend to forget other things… n end up buying the tyres. still, nice girls next to tyres… nice tyres next to girls? i dun think so… hehe

• sawadee_krap on Sep 20, 2011 at 1:02 pm

aiya, you all,

tyres on the road only…..

girls on the bed ….better performance =)

• LE buruk on Sep 20, 2011 at 9:32 am

go pirelli…

• SeriousSam on Sep 20, 2011 at 9:35 am

what a lucky tyre surrounded by boobs

• Just me on Sep 20, 2011 at 10:13 am

It’s going to be very slippery if the girls are sitting beside you!!

• autojohndoe on Sep 20, 2011 at 10:29 am

the girls are more “bergetah” than the tyre… haha

• If only the A2 or D5 was available in 60 series. Am sure sales volume would even be higher.

• zainal abidin on Sep 20, 2011 at 11:00 am

Goodyear Malaysia….Hope you are reading this and will take positive action after reading this….. Goodyear’s Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 and Directional 5 Ultra High Peformance tyres got available locally in size 185/60 82H size 14 or not?

Why only available Duraplus and Ducaro GA (this is a good tyre) in 185/60 14 size? Anything new with ‘more performance oriented’ kind of tyres in this size from you guys? In Japan there is the Eagle RS Sport performance oriented tyre in this size…

BTW….very pretty ladies…… (“,)

• yamaha 7 stroke on Sep 20, 2011 at 12:06 pm

go toyo

• asgard on Sep 20, 2011 at 12:56 pm

why when lauching new tyre need sexy chick

• protonlover on Sep 20, 2011 at 2:18 pm

after all the marketing…it is sad when i called up all good year dealers for 255/35/18….no stock…come on goodyear msia…atleast supply a full range of size for the new launch la!!!!

• giggle on Sep 20, 2011 at 2:49 pm

chick are awsome.. but not those tyres. 3 of my Asym inner sidewall cracked and im not trusting GY anymore. putting life in dangers.. crap tyres…puikss..

• exactly the same with me. 3 of my asymmetric1 inner sidewall cracked juz after 3 years.

• DarkAvenger on Sep 20, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Hot girls!! Who cares about the rubber!!!

• Cikgu Matematik on Sep 20, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Eager to know the comparison between Michelin PS3 and this directional 5.

• come on good year…
    cannot be the same girls again…
    get a new one lah

• Hugo Andore on Sep 20, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Click ” Like” if you are here for the ladies

• Most girls dont give a damn about their tyres but yet tyre company still need to use girls as a marketing strategy..

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:56 am

I’d used Goodyear Eagle F1 before for Eclass Merc. Car got spunned after drive thru watery channel road.

From there on, will never gonna use Goodyear again. Now changed to Falken, but also not promising. A discussion with some frens in MIROS revealed that the structure and material/compound to make tyres had changed drastically over the past 3 years. This is due to vast changes in price of commodities (rubber, silicon, artificial rubber etc.), the availability of those commodities, the everchanging weather of the world, trade globalisation and stricter regulations for stopping distance.

Now, some tyres may not even last for a year due to these changes. I dont mind the price but as for safety aspect really should make everybody wondering how safe is their tyres???

• sobad on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Wah so serious ah.

Maybe can try Michelin higher end instead, Bridgestone tech also very up to-date.

Some tyres may not be meant for our local market. Some are meant for colder countries.

Long-time never use Pirelli……

• Jules on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:59 pm

seriously, this tyre is a really good wet weather tyre too. once u try it u thought u had change brakes!

• intermilan on Sep 23, 2011 at 7:22 pm

I am a ‘life-long’ user of F1-GSD3 tyre.
    To me, no tyre can match the price/performance it deliver.
    Well.. its a bit noisier… guess what? I don’t mind.

Here’s why..

Recently, replaced the front tyres to the new D5.

Almost immediately I can sense that this new F1-D5 is a more comfortable and silent tyre than GSD3. Got me worried as the rule of thumb is more comfort + less noise = less performance.

Avoiding quick judgement, but after prolonged use.. I strongly disagree with the manufacturer claims that the performance of the new F1-D5 is on par or exceeds the ‘old’ GSD3. After almost 2 months of use, the reduction of performance is quite apparent.

This new D5 is worse than GSD3 on dry surface and obviously even worse on wet surface. But cost more… Great!

D5 grip during cornering on dry surface is much less assuring (worse) compared to GSD3 (which never top of the class on the dry anyway.. its a wet-tyre, that’s why).

And it even feel less compose during cornering and you will notice that the feel of confidence (that you were getting from GSD3) is now missing.

Performance-wise, D5 is not a direct replacement of the GSD3. Its a step down.

I am amazed how quickly and drastically the D5 lost it’s grip in the wet..
    GSD3 (even the Thailand-made ones) just doesn’t give in so easily as the D5.
    Earlier GSD3 tyre, which is Made in Germany (like the new A2) is even better than the Thailand -made GSD3.

I am generally satisfied with GSD3 performance, but the new D5? No thanks.
    Will rule out D5 from now on. Never again, GY.

Why? Just after 2 months of use, my suspicious and wary turn real…the D5 ‘bite’ really hard, if you know what I mean. GSD3 had never fail me and would never had fail the way the D5 did.

Question is, is there any other equivalent wet-performance tyre out there (to GSD3)?
    Wait.. Hopefully, some tyre shops still have stock of the GSD3!

• so which tyre/brand are recmnded ? espclly in dry,wet &cornering…

• kenji on Sep 24, 2011 at 4:20 am

definitely CSC5 is best of the best

• Budak Kecil on Sep 24, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Try Michelin PS3 if ur tyres size are smaller than 18 inches coz if i wasn’t wrong,the CSC5 only availabe at 18 inches and above.

• Tomas on Aug 04, 2016 at 9:31 pm

I just want to say, I work at a goodyear auto care shop and I have the D5 tyers on my car as we speak haha when I first got my license a couple of years ago I was trying out all different type of cheaper brands just cos I didn’t have the money for the D5s, but one day my boss just got me a set and I haven’t driven on a different type of tyer since and nor will I, these tyers are absolutely brilliant, they grip really well in the wet and under braking and in the dry they are just awesome, I don’t plane on ever buying a different type of tyer I’m going to stick with the D5s as long as I can cos they are just hands down great value for money. I also recommend all my friends to use them and most of them have and just loved them, some even say there never going to use another type of tyer again.

If anyone reading this is contemplating buying the D5s I suggest you stop thinking about it right now and just go and get them cos I bet you will not regret it, they may seem expensive to some people but what they can do and what there capable of doing is amazing and there worth so much more then what them are, just buy them and find out for your self, enjoy :)