Volkswagen Jetta, Passat and Cross Touran launched – RM150k, RM185k and RM167k respectively, all CBU

Volkswagen Group Malaysia today launched the Jetta, Passat and Cross Touran, following their preview debut at the Volkswagen Das Auto Show 2011 last month. All three models arrive in CBU form, though of course at some point in the near future the Passat and Jetta are set to be assembled locally, in Pekan – no details yet on that one though.

The Jetta sedan, which rolls in at RM149,888 (on the road, without insurance), is powered by a 1.4 TSI twin-charged engine, offering 160 PS at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm, mated to a seven-speed DSG tranny; this specification places the car as the most powerful sedan in its category, VGM says.

Features include Volkswagen’s Climatronic air-conditioning system, a RCD310 audio system, Park Distance Control (PDC) for the front and rear, cruise control and seats covered in ‘Sienna’ fabric.

As for the Passat, the 1.8 TSI-equipped D segment offering is priced at RM184,888, and has 160 PS at 5,000 to 6,200 rpm and 250 Nm from 1,500 to 4,200 rpm for output numbers, with a seven-speed DSG box in attendance.

Kit includes 17-inch alloys, bi-Xenon headlamps with integrated LED daytime running lights, RCD 510 touch-screen, 6-disc CD changer / eight=speaker audio system and leather seats. Other items include cruise control, electric parking brake with auto-hold function and hill-hold control, PDC for the front and rear and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

Lastly, the Cross Touran, which goes for RM166,888. The seven-seater’s ”Cross” kit includes wider wheel arches and longer suspension springs than the standard Touran, giving it 20 mm more ground clearance than the latter. It’s also equipped with a 1.4 TSI mill, though in this case in its 140 hp and 220 Nm form.

Features on this one include 17-inch alloys with staggered tyres and bi-Xenon headlamps with daytime running lights, as well as plenty of interior comfort and convenience options, including 40 storage bins and up to 1,989 litres of cargo carrying space. The MPV also comes equipped with six airbags – the Jetta and Passat also have the same number..

We’re in the midst of the media drive involving all three vehicles, and we’ll have more for you when we return from Penang! Stay tuned.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• LE buruk on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:00 pm

this is a good car and price…

• Nissan on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:28 am

some say want to be people’s car in Malaysia but this price tag…..emm eventhough it’s a good car. looking at this price, personally don’t think that they can offer a competitive price for CKD polo later.

• normal_user on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:10 am

Jetta for that price with those kind of rims (seems underspec)??

• Disappointing. Was hoping the CBU 160 ps/240 nm Jetta would be priced closer to the that of Polo GTI as in Singapore (SD 131,800 & 134,800 respectively). Our local automotive industry seriously need keener competition to drive car prices lower. Let’s hope VW Malaysia will avoid the same ‘mistake’ with the CKD models.

• YOU MUST BE VW MALAYSIA’S CEO.

• I thought it was goin to be CKD for Passat. . . Hoping for a 160k unit. . . Too bad. . . A mondeo would be better.

• CKD is coming end of the year….

• kington on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:52 am

Ya.. most of us were of the impression that the CKD models were up and ready.

Anyway, although the prices seem slightly more than the Japs, i believe it will still sell, especially the Jetta, for those looking for a more assured chassis and stronger crusing ability.

You could expect the CKD prices to go below the Japs especially the Corolla, Sylphy and Civic.

• Garfield on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:09 am

We do like to expect lower CKD price compare to the Corollas and Civics (like our friends in America and across the straits get), but I’m afraid VW has already send the message they would not entertain you bro. Sorry…..

• agree the FORD MONDEO 2.0 EcoBoost is still a better choice =)

• Nottinghill on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:39 pm

You must be kidding Ford Mondeo EcoBoost better? No way, Btw, I see a lot of silly comments. How typical?

• sonyman on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:41 pm

bro mondeo is at 180K, spec is like Passat CC friend. So it is better. Passat CC is at 250 to 270K . But then again, many who hasnt try the mondeo will say it is not as good as passat.

• I’ve seen both the Mondeo and Passat; in fact test drove the Passat last week. The Mondeo is better. This Passat don’t even have electric seat, no reverse camera, only 160 HP vs the Mondeo 203 HP. I only wish there are more units of the Mondeo on the road; that would allay fear of shortages of parts later. But as it is my mind is still going for the Passat. But would prefer to see the CKD made available first before making the final decision.

• Annaeh on Nov 28, 2011 at 3:29 am

Talking about Ford…..why don’t they bring in the Ford Taurus and sell it at a reasonable price here. I’m sure in terms of sales it will kick the butts of the Accords, Camrys, and even the entry level Mercs and Bimmers. The Taurus is such as handsome and solid looking car.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:20 pm

is the car cbu from germany, south africa, hungary, mexico, china or anywhere else?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Good question. I only asked about the Cross Touran, which is coming from Wolfsburg. Will get the info tomorrow from the VW folks.

• Lim Kopi on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:51 am

Im assuming there would be changes in price & other things for those eventually in CKD form ?

Surely then its no point buying them now?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:47 am

CBU will have its adopters and supporters, as has always been the case. The element is reinforced by the dictum, you get what you pay for – what remains to be seen is how the differentiation (price vs features) pans out, and whether there is enough to create appeal for both. Since everything is mum about the CKD variants as to what they’ll have, guess we’ll know when the time comes.

• Tankado on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:02 am

And may I ask if VW are offering the 3 models above in CKD variants?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:27 am

Well, the Passat and Jetta are slated for CKD assembly; supposed to start soon, as mentioned in the story. The Passat is supposed to come off the line first, according to plans, that is. As for the Cross T, no, methinks.

• Tankado on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:41 am

Ah thanks for the info! I shall wait for the CKD Passat to come out. 170K shouldn’t be an impossibility it seems? :)

• MoFaz on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:54 am

CBU Passat has 30% import tax and 80% excise duty. if current price is RM185k, it’s possible that CKD is around RM160-RM170k… also depending on how much the localisation of parts involved, could be lower than RM160k
            previous Pug 407 CBU is RM170k, after they start CKD here, price lowered to RM125k.

• torque on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:16 am

The Passat is from Germany and the Jetta is from Mexico bro.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:19 am

Indeed. Just found out too. So, there you are then. :)

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 20, 2011 at 2:14 am

Hecho En Mexico eh? Nacho libre!

• so the passat is european version? american version should sells better i think…

• gomok on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:19 pm

Jetta for Msia using Euro spec…….not like american spec…..go showroom la

• omg… i was talking bout passat and gomok change it to jetta? if not mistaken, difference of euro passat and american passat are akin to euro and american accord isn’t it? and malaysian like bigger car so american passat should sell better i guess.

• Expensive!

• BeemerFreak on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:57 am

Just Dont Buy! BMX is cheap, go get one

• megastuwar on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:11 pm

Yeah….i rather ride BMX than these Nazi cars….Its more healthy and environment friendly :)

• gomok on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:25 pm

At least Msia tak kena tampar dgn nazi, jepun ramai dah bagi penampar kat org Msia…..huahuhuahua

• MoFaz on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:30 pm

nazi tak main la tampar… dia main bakor je.

• pakchukong on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Oh itu pasat lu manyak terbakar sama VW, pasat lu sulah beli jipung malaka ounya keleta….haiyaaa….

• ojaykb on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:38 am

jews…

• 4545er on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:29 pm

wowwwwww the jetta 1.4 is more powerful than passat 1.8

• jalan54 on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:58 pm

passat 1.8 has higher potential with 1.8 tsi.

• oligopoli on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:00 am

ya la. how come?

• Medic on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:26 am

Bigger cc means able to be tuned to achieve more power compared lar…Just shows ur dum-dum when it comes to aftermarket stage 1,etc..

• Aquila on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:56 pm

The reason is the 1.4 TSI is twincharged (supercharged & turbocharged) where else the 1.8TSI is only turbocharged. I found it confusing at first but I did some research and found out the difference.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=32

• gilas on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:25 pm

oso more than 1.6l 508 pug ..

• Hideous rims on the Jetta….

• Is so random for VW to bring in the off-road version of the Touran while not bringing in the normal version. Malaysian bad road conditions and floods perhaps?

Anyway, I would rather wait for the locally assembled Passat as they would be significantly cheaper. Because at 185k, I would definitely choose the 180k CBU, 2.0 turbocharged, 180hp, better handling, better looking Ford Mondeo. Pretty obvious choice actually.

• Lim Kopi on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:55 am

Agree that Mondeo is still the top spec car in its class ….in fact is it not actually 200 HP?

But then u have problems with that Blue Oval brand …. clearly never as good quality as a German ….

• The Mondeo I believe is CBU from Belgium. Compare that with a locally assembled German car there should be a difference in quality.

• MoFaz on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:02 am

i wonder what the Belgians think about their ‘locally assembled’ Mondeo? if everyone thinks that CBU imports are always better than their local productions, it’s no wonder that local industries is not progressing well.
          come on Malaysian.. change your mentality. Mercedes could trust our local people to build their RM1mil S-Class here, and our own people looking down at each other! I’m so sick of this.

• If you are a German, would you prefer “CBU” from Malaysia or even anywhere else beside your Germany assembled German car? I thought so.

This is Malaysia dude, we know there is definitely a difference in quality compared to Germany. Germans however, clearly knows how great their cars are (which they are) and will definitely, and happily choose their locally assembled car in their country.

• MoFaz on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:54 pm

owh?… now i wonder why “made in thailand” japanese cars are always not involved in worldwide recalls? doesn’t that means thailand’s build quality is somehow better than those made in Japan, USA, and all other places?
            we have yet to see BMW or Merc major recall here, but if they make worldwide recall and Malaysian CKDs not involved, will that show our build quality better or we’re not ‘important’? now, try google “bmw recall” or “merc recall” and see how many recalls they have made in the past couple of years.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:30 pm

Mofaz, because thai made cars are exported to asia pac, which normally wont give a hoots ass about officiating a safety recall.

When is the last time u’d hear someone locally sue a manufacturer for shoddy safety?

Your logic needs some re-allignment. No recalls don’t mean well built. Just that the manufacturer is not afraid of getting muddled in class actions.

• MoFaz on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:19 am

DSM, that wasn’t my point bro… i read my post above, and i think i might put the words wrongly and u get the wrong idea. the first paragraph was meant to be sarcasm.
            2nd paragraph, I was meant to say even the Germany are not defect free! they have many problems also which resulted 100k-200k+ of their cars being recalled at certain times. we didn’t hear about it maybe because BMW or Merc called and inform the owners here personally… or maybe they think their customers here are “not important”, thus no recall being made.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Perhaps u should test a german made vw and compare that to a local ckd vw.

What? u think ppl never complain about ckd mercedes build quality ah?

• MoFaz on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:42 am

first of all, even CBU from German have so many recalls around the world.
            secondly, their engineers or QAs from Germany approved the quality of the cars produced here, so do you think you have a better knowledge and superior than those engineers / QAs by saying that CKD cars here are below standard?
            BMW is doing CKD for 5-series and X1 here, almost entire car are coming to Malaysia in CKD kits from German. that’s mean the quality of parts are exactly similar to those assembled in German. and that’s why you can see the price only drop a little, compared to Peugeot which has large percentage of locally produced parts in their CKD cars.

• Geng, since we are on the subject of quality, can anyone comment on the reliability of VW vs. Other Germans or the Japs. VW owners boleh comment sikit tak?

• tec96248 on Oct 24, 2011 at 2:30 pm

mofaz,

Are you an engineer? If yes, then you might have different opinion. Engineering and Manufacturing are not as simple as you think! There’s pros and cons also for CBU or CKD to our country. Ever wonder why the cars have different specs for different countries? hahaha………. there are many engineering fields too………hahaha……………

• sonyman on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:47 pm

bro mondeo is at 180K, spec is like Passat CC friend. So it is better. Passat CC is at 250 to 270K . But then again, many who hasnt try the mondeo will say it is not as good as passat.

belgiums will think proton is a very good quality car.. HAhaha

• VW MY on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:37 pm

iyo… different class/league la wei…

mondeo doesnt have the ride/feel/feedback as VW passat CC.
            further more the CC has dynamic suspension which makes it a head..
            + DSG is far superior then any dual clutch tranny around…

• TFazuin on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:54 am

Mondeo is 203 PS or about 202hp.

• hamsor on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:42 pm

problem with the blue oval?? R u living in yesteryears bro?

• I agree. I will also buy Modeo – sharper handling, more powerful and more spacious. Only concern about Ford in Malaysia is after sales service.

• ITS NOT 21ST YET!

• More car choices for Malaysians …….yesterday was Peugeot 508 and now Passat, Jetta etc

Well …..everybody says cars in Malaysia is one of the most expensive in the world as compared to our purchasing power or GDP per capita but still ….. cars sell like hot cakes. Malaysia BOLEH….. 9yrs car loan

• MoFaz on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:06 am

9yrs car loan.. which makes people spending beyond their means…
      but interest rate is much lower compared to other countries, we can get 1% – 7% here compared to 15% in Indonesia and Russia, while their loan are much shorter (3-4 years). simple mathematics: we could be paying the same amount in 9 years as they pay in 4 years.

• sagaforlife on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Here we go again!!!!!
    More option!!!! Yea…. babai Japs, PUUUUUIIIIIIIIIIHHHHHHH!!!!!
    Ze Volk iz ze uber kar from ze Deutschland…

• =)

• Feast on Oct 20, 2011 at 2:21 pm

You can afford to buy or not??? What about your ‘sagaforlife’…? That one also got Japanese input….so you puuuuuiiiiiiihhhhhh your Saga also la.

• sagaforlife on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Hahahahahahaha, wat? Its just a name? R u jelly?
        Saga can be define from many terms man….
        Japs is once a legendary car brand in Malaysia, seriously, but the saga of Japs car in Malaysia is getting boring and boring….
        Nothing much interested, even i admire old Land Cruiser which is very LEGENDARY, not to mention the HILUX, very durable, but those car nowadays, ahahahahahahahahaha…..

Can I buy, of course I can, whoever have a dream, they would give their best to achieve their dream, c’mon, who are you judging my buying power, you don’t even know me, ngahahahahaha, you making joke here man, thanks for making me laugh…..

BTW, I did own a SAGA, old SAGA which is very durable and powerful, still running wonderfully, gave it to my son…. Now i have my own BMW 320i, thinking of selling or trade in with this, Jetta or Passat maybe….

p/s: YOU GOT PROBLEM MEH? hahahahaha, PPPPUUUUUUIIIIIIIIHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

• Feast on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Trade in a 320 for a Jetta? I believe your BMW must be the one you got it free from Giant Hypermarket and just like some car owners, they stick it on the dashboard…nice decoration though…

• sagaforlife on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:42 pm

I buy from Kedai runcit named Auto bavaria, wohohohohohohohoho!!!!!
            even if i get it free, r u jelly cannot win anything? Pity you….
            typical Malaysian, once jelly, always a jelly….

Dun butthurt o.k?
            TROLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLO!!!!!!!

• Cross Touran front looks good but rear like the Van lolx Passat will be more interesting if come with black sunroof !

• xavier lert on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:00 am

CiviC Accord and CRV killer

• ken dan on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:03 am

Old Man Car…………….

• pakchukong on Oct 20, 2011 at 7:14 am

Old man car can easily 0-100km/S LESS than 8.5s, and more option to remap, mod…..huahuahuahu

• pakchukong on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:51 am

Old car but performance much more better than so called younger car but slow like turtle….hahhahaah

• carlito on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:17 am

wow, judging from the number of VW’s in the entourage, there must be a lot of motor journalist in Malaysia! Pity you guys had to endure the long jam at batu ferrenghi! no chance to test the handling at the batu ferrenghi winding road :p

• Ho W.K. on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:37 am

w VW plates on those VWs. Nice touch!

• JeremyNg on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:38 am

1.8 TSI only produce same HP as 1.4 TSI twin charger and extra 10Nm …… why VW don jz use the 1.4 in Passat ??!!

• Prakash S. on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:53 am

A bunch of really boring looking cars with price tags that just about kill off whatever little interest left. I don’t get it, why launch overpriced cbu models when ckd is supposedly planned in future? Either the ckd models will eventually cost the same or early adopters will lose a chunk when these cars are locally assembled, either way, this is curious outcome after all the hype…big yawn…

• arcana on Oct 20, 2011 at 2:02 am

there are some that dont mind paying the extra for CBU units….moreover these guys get to be seen in the latest VW cars first….so it kinda pays off for them to show off.
      after that when CKD comes, prices drop……and when ppl see car prices, even bigger hoohaa…..coz in malaysia prices rarely go down…..its a mind game they’re playing.

• MoFaz on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:21 am

you spend RM50k extra just to be the first seen in that car? well, i don’t give a damn about who drive the car. If i want that VW, i’ll wait for CKD and save RM50k than losing RM50k buying CBU.

• gomok on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Dey, u think ckd VW will reduce 50k kaaa? Naza can la….

• MoFaz on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:17 pm

proton inspira can reduce 30k… suzuki swift can reduce about 20-30k also… what makes u think DRB cant do that to VW?

• pakchukong on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:55 pm

So where is 50k as u mentioned earlier? Pelotong also deduct 20k to 30k….haiyaaa cakap talak selupa bikin…bising2 50k….haiya….

• MoFaz on Oct 21, 2011 at 2:46 am

can save 20% import tax if CKD here. will reduce further if VW have high percentage of locally produced parts, which I believe they will because if VW want their cars to be eligible for AFTA, they must use 40% parts produced in Asean.
            BMW 523i CKD only reduced RM15k because almost all parts are imported. but Pug 407 CKD reduced RM45k because of 40% local parts. so, if VW have similar 40% local parts, it’s possible to have a drop of RM50k in price compared to CBU.

• Inspit/shit-ra tu Protong. You save 30k coz willing to buy the low class copied Mitshubushit.

If Mitshibishit CKD then the price might just be ~10-12k saving. Sometimes price is tie to the brand.

Anyone want cheap, then go for the cheap one lo, cheapskate.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:21 pm

Perhaps you’d wait, for some, they wont care.
          And given how horrid some ckd cars end up being, little wonder why some don’t mind paying more.

• Garfield on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:12 am

U r right bro, so far VW has let our expectation down….. on the Jetta at least. It could be marketing suicide either way. If the price drop too much in CKD form later, the early adopters may accuse them to be like Naza making them lose way too much money. If the price drop is not enough, then they may price themselves out.

Other automakers are surely not going to take whatever coming lying down (unless in Mafia style market is controlled like how Kah Motor did for Honda in their days). VW has to remember that they have not proven themselves on the after-sales front. A reliable car will only be one with proper love and maintenance.

• ABTguy on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:25 am

I think for RM10-15k price different, those can afford should seriously consider CBU over CKD. Just my 2 cent…..

Last year I happened to visit Audi factory and showroom in Ingolstadt. I can tell you the precision technology is way way beyond imagination. On the CKD front, I really suspect the capability of our labour force to fit the parts properly.

And according to my colleagues from Germany, the most sophisicated car assembly in Germany belong to the plant which assemble VW Phaeton !

• BeemerFreak on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:02 am

Maybe they have decided to follow the route of the Japanese. Most if not all Japanese car companies make boring and uninteresting cars but still sell so well. They also dont have evry competitive price tags unlike the koreans. So if this is a strategy that works, why not follow it?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:55 am

That is very competitive pricing with CBU units, especially Passat. Watch out for Camry and Accord, big brother from German is coming, to eat into your turf for D-segment.

Looking forward, CKD unit, hopefully may be lower say from RM 15K to 25K!

• RedBeanBun on Oct 20, 2011 at 6:14 am

i will worry less if I am the Camry/Accord. This is pure stupid pricing from the VW..

• Medic on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:34 am

Why stupid pricing ler?Same D class segment,better safety features like 6 air bags,more power in higher torque,manufactured CBU in Germany,at the almost the same price as ur Thai/Malacca made,low specs Camry &accord.

• gomok on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:49 am

Plus 5 years warranty unlimited mileage plus 5 yrs roas side assistance….

• Jimmy on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:15 am

All come with 6 airbags, good. BTW this jetta is nearly the size of a Mazda 6, a D segment car.
    So, 2 airbags smaller lighter Altis 2.0 at RM130k OR Jetta? To me, additional RM20k for 4 more airbags is BERBALOI. German cars are stiffer also, right?

• pakchukong on Oct 20, 2011 at 7:09 am

Yep u’re right, altis also no dsg, no twincharger,

• only if everyone have the extra 20K to spend. top up a little you can get another perodua viva.

• VW LOSES EVERYTHING TO FORD. Car Design out, Car performance out, Car prices lagi out. If you go and compare all these 3 factors with Ford, you will find out how true am I.

• looking-good on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:40 am

Maybe u r rite…

but dude, even tough VW is not cheap, but i see much more VW then ford on the road~~~

i still prefer german breed, and VW is a pure breed

• http://youtu.be/W9YhRJkucIo

So who is the loser?! Ford?of cause and it’s true ! VW? for the win ‘ Exterior,Performance and better image and quality brand! the price is affordable and not expensive at all. no money then drive ur own opinion cheaper cars like Potong Wiwilution or cheap Ford car lolx

• ABTguy on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:20 am

I still prefer a German brand !

Ford ….. only Fiesta attracts me. People who can afford RM180-200k level, they will choose the Brand that give them the most condifence.

• yup, VW just overrated.. the mondeo also somewhat, european.. made in belgium..

VW Passat vs Vauxhall Insignia vs Ford Mondeo review – Auto Express

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kR6Bb5WsaME

ford wins

• http://youtu.be/EoK3wLihs7w

VW Polo looks dull ‘ his opinion ‘ but people still preferring VW over a poor image Ford lolx brand and the country make is the most important things!

VW win

• OBEDIENT on Oct 22, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Topgear rated mondeo 15/20 more than other European brands

• Nottinghill on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:55 pm

You must be a moron to compare Ford with VW. VW is the going upwards with better quality cars with a clever parts sourcing and platform strategy that has won world praise. Ford is going downwards globally with low cost cheap cars from Thailand, Latin America, India, Eastern Europe, US and Genk, Belgium

• TallPan on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:45 am

at the risk of sounding shallow… what on earth are those girls wearing? hideous… lol

• Ah Beng Ltd on Oct 20, 2011 at 6:27 am

what do you expect? naked?

• just came back from their tennis session?

• PakAbu on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:08 am

“Girl next door” look?

:mrgreen:

• Leonardo on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:12 am

I agree. Those promoter girls/laides should convey what type of lifstyle/image for the potential buyers. Look at the Peugeot 508 launch, also in this blog. The promoter girls/ladies convey an air of elegance and sophistication unlike VW’s. Maybe VW wants to potray their product as “Casual Sporty”?

• These girls looks like a combination of aunties and secondary school kids. Haiya!

• Nissan on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:16 pm

the one who stand beside the driver seat looks pretty good & nice, seriously.
      However, the other 3 are ………..

• RedBeanBun on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:57 am

when my friend got an ignore treatment of the Polo maintenance he just bought…thats what i will not think VW a success…I have not even touch the price yet…

I like Passat, but good luck with that price..

• Topgear on Oct 20, 2011 at 7:04 am

No new Ckd Tiguan yet ? Not much choices for sub premium small SUV to compete with CRV, X trail, Peuget3008 , mitsubishi aSX, etc ??? Small suv between rm150k to rm200k…. Cos most premium lxury suv cost 250k onwards… :(

• pakchukong on Oct 20, 2011 at 7:28 am

This VW and 508 price should be lower as like their first proposal, but then recently all recond car duty was increase, so phm2 la

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 20, 2011 at 7:41 am

pity vw, no budget to hire good models, instead hire school girls. btw, the rims of that new passat is so typical malaysian car tyre shop cheap rims.

• moncat on Oct 20, 2011 at 7:58 am

which is better..508 or VW?

• ABTguy on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:15 am

If you know why in worldwide German cars sell better than French, then you know your answer.

or

If know why Germay as a country [with higher labour cost] is doing better than France, you also know which is a better car :)

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:28 am

Ah, I see. So it is better to buy a German car, not based on product, price positioning, network, et cetera. :) Very good!

• ABTguy on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:48 pm

In the context of 508 vs Passat, that is for me.

But if you are talking about in general for all categories of conti cars, yes, for me as well :D

Price positioning of VW cars, if you compare vis-a-vis against BMW, Audi & Merc [forget about Opel], in many countries and vs Malaysia. VW is somewhat more reasonable. CBU somemore leh… In future when the CKD come out, you would not be able to grab this CBU units anymore.

BTW, I still think my current B6 Passat 2.0 TFSI looks better than this B7 model, features aside.

• Citoen Zx on Oct 21, 2011 at 2:33 pm

No wonder you talk cock la, B6 Passat owner. Have you driven 508 before giving your judgement? Or you sense that your passat is outdated so you come out with all sort of statement to strengthen your believe?

• megastuwar on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:07 pm

looks like the 508 is a more complete package compare to the Passat. With insurance it probably more than 190k. Such a dissapointment.

The jetta is also another dissapointment, just a plain VW with 1.4TSI but is it worth the price? Earlier rumours say it will be around rm115k

Touran? Ugly looking thing that should make friends with the Renault Kangoo

• gomok on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:54 am

Just coming back from, peugeot showroom….cant test drive, cant start the engine and waiting list 6 mth…..hahahahhahaha……wtf…..also not brochure…..damn

• blackjkx on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:14 am

Yesterday full page newspaper adds:
    VW – launching new cars…
    Proton – stil about power window…hmm, what la this company…

• Boring looking cars…. yawnnnnn… Don’t think gonna sell well.

• springroll on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:26 am

Going slightly off-topic but…damn, I’m liking the two girls on the right (in the first pic) heheh~ One’s cute & petite, the other’s crazy bootilicious :p

• most pwerful car in its class…what class is that…. the 308 turbo is similar in power delivery yet with money to spare for a downpayment on a house……

really bunch of boring cars with expensive price tags hidden behind so called “German” engineering…. yeah right….

• Yeah get the 308T…… if you don’t mind sitting in the SC every week/month waiting for your car to repair. Battery problem, steering problem, gearbox sound problem…..etc etc etc

• ttooyyoottt on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:32 pm

huh,, im 308T owner for 1 years 6 month,, only 2 time going to sc,, for service… dont hv any problem you mention dow..

• thinkerr on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Do you own one btw? Don’t generalize that all 308 have problems. You find me a car that doesn’t have any problems…

• looking-good on Oct 20, 2011 at 3:39 pm

agree, bro.

I have all the issue with my 308T u mentioned, lagi worst… mine lost turbo, lost power every now and then….

my 10 years old proton also dun messed up like dat!!

• BSLee on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:46 pm

agree, my 1 1/2 yrs old 308VTi been to SC 6 time already..battery, water pump changed 2X, vacuum pump seal changed followed by the pump itself..the steering still giving strange sound…

• azlan on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:19 pm

U can barely get these problems if u avoid traveling at speeds exceeding 150km/h and revving to the limit

• John Keller on Oct 22, 2011 at 3:31 pm

So what’s the point of buying Turbo car then? If cannot besit beyond 150km/h, cannot rev beyond 4000 rpm? Go get auntie’s 1.3 old Corolla la then.

• ABTguy on Nov 03, 2011 at 2:35 pm

Ya man, I got a turbo car because I let out most horses (BHP) on and off, not everyday lah, but when there is a chance, all my 240 horses rush out of stable :-D

And of course every month must find a moment or 2 to hit 200 km/h !

• gomok on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:47 am

Similar in power delivery? Ello, test drive first la, dont talk like know everything…..ayoyo…..

• Enson on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:08 am

Wow… Hitting 200km/h during test ever. 1st ever saw tat u all push it to the limit. Perhaps it has more room to go. Haha… I would be happier if it is Jetta. Lolx!

• beatnik on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:11 am

Just wait for CKD jetta.. cheaper.. and probably worse quality too.. lol

• I had driven the Golf 1.4 Tsi and the power is good. The DSG 7 speed is very responsive, smooth and seemless gear change. I think its due to power to weight ratio, a small car with big engine. During low rpm supercharge kicks in and mid to high rpm turbo charge kicks in…..so no turbo lag. You would feel that there are power in all range of rpm. May be in the 1.4 Tsi Jetta you won’t feel the excitement as in the Golf. As to why VW puts 1.8 Tsi in Passat is because people expect a bigger engine in a bigger car eventhough the hp and torque are about the same. If they put 2.0 Tsi engine in the Passat then it would be overlaping the Passat CC market. Now its up to all of you to choose. We are spoilt for choices. Now Executives can choose RM 150k to 200K range Peugeot 508, Passat, Ford Mondeo, H. Accord, T.Camry, N. Teana & Alfa 159 200K to 300k range we have BMW 3 series, Audi A4, Merc C class, Infinity & Lexus

There you have it………………

• joepassat on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:36 am

Jetta only lost 0.3 sec than golf….i dont know if you can feel the diff….

• But if you make close comparison from RM80k-RM120k Ford Fiesta Sport vs Kia Forte vs Swift Sport vs Mazda 2R vs VW Polo, I must say Polo the creepiest and ugliest of all. While Jetta looks like Saga,the only pleasant VW car to watch is Golf GTI but the price is insane. Price should be lower for me VW is greedy

• tubik racer on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:52 pm

hey! polo is better! fiesta is 2nd! third is swift sport!
        the others are ugly lah…forte?hahahaha

• gomok on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Ello, go showroom first than u know jetta look alike saga or not…..

• Jetta looks like Saga or Saga looks like Jetta?! lolx GTI is expensive but no one ask u to buy it if pocket not enough money lolx go back home and sleep lah !

• Johnny on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:29 am

Cross touran is a nice addition, passat is nothing special, jetta is a disappointment

• kc8ch on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:27 am

why cross-touran, no touran? i have been waiting for touran. sad..

• taboogen on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:31 am

saw this car when I am on the way to tanjung malim… a whole convoy of touran, jetta and passat… from the exterior nothing much I can say.. all look like typical VW design cue.. really hard to differentiate them…. overall ok but the pricing is a bit steep

• Shiang on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:32 am

Passat a good choice over Camry/Accord

• campor on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:32 am

Banyak komen… itulah inillah.. HP lah pricelah… last-last beli TOYOTA dan HONDA jugak.
    Bodo.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 20, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Memang baik……. Of nearly all the people here you make the most sense. People who yank here the most all those who will still end up buying Toyota and Honda……

• Yerlah, ko sorang jer “pandai”, pasal tu bawak Protong Sampah seumur hidup. Keh keh keh.

• Shiang on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:34 am

*Jetta

• waa! more models from the conti coming in. Last time new 3 series, then pug, now a range from vw. But still not enough money. Don’t know when will got enough money. Looks like have to settle with P1, P2 only la.

• yeah right sit in the SC….dont amplify the issue to justify this please…..

anyway looking at these models even the two legged ones is putting me to sleep.

if i wanted a german i would get a bmw or mercedes anytime…recon pun ok at least the class is there…..

sheer boredom…..

• pakchukong on Oct 20, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Have a nice dream with ur recond car, hopefully u dont get a nightmare when come to maintenance recond car…..huahuahuajua

• ToPiE on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:45 am

Now i can stop clicking Refresh refresh refresh on this page.
    Thanks paul n team for update, keep em coming!

• tarmiziali on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:51 am

I wonder if can get it chipped for 200hp?

• hye

• Then Better book now for the CBU version…. a bit expensive at least top notch quality…..QC by German. CKD quality is usually a bit low in QC inspected by Malaysian tak apa attitude….308 T which is assemble in M’sia quality not so gud……………………………………..Lu Pikir Lah Sendiri

• jetta is outdated stuff from mexico…..priced at super premium….yucks !!!! what a rip off

• Anak Malaysia on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:23 am

from side view JETTA look like a persona….

• Ryan.c on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:40 am

FYI, who buy vw cars will have a big nightmare soon.
    In Malaysia not much vw services center. If you want to service your car, you need to early one week to book appointment.
    Hope vw can solve this problem too.

• jaybond on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:00 pm

VW Passat could have a tough time competing with the also newly launched Pug 508, mainly because the Pug comes with a more attractive package – nicer look, good engine, better handling, competitive price. VW might have the best engine technology but the overall package does not really stand out with rest of the competition & coupled that with the optimistic price tag.

• hamsor on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:37 pm

anytime I’ll go for the Ford Mondeo 2.0 Ecoboost 203ps/300nm! at RM179K ita a good deal I think.

• sdkguy on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:03 pm

folks, for specs check out singapore’s website, more or less there.
    www.vw.com.sg

• squawk on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Nobody’s complaining about the ‘tiny’ engine in a 7-seater? :-)

• Gosh, I still cant get pass the boxy looks! They’re as attractive as mould on a wall. German engineering…wait till you pay for German maintenance and repair bills.

• sdkguy on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:43 pm

shld have introduce jetta with 1.4TSI 122bhp/200Nm with lower price tag to tackle more sales.. sigh.. silly move

• Jack Leong on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:51 pm

our CKD is selling at CBU’s price, CBU surely is selling at super expensive price. =(

• qadya on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:53 pm

finally,the passat which darth vader controlled is here!

• Sdkguy on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Shld have introduced a lower spec jetta to capture more market share thus enhance the popularity of the brand VW especially in Malaysia with majority toyota/honda-minded people.

• A little bird from VW gave me some inside scoop on the CKD Jetta. Apparently, the CKD Jetta WON’T be coming with the 1.4 TSI engine and WONT be coming with the 7-speed DSG. This totally defeats the purpose of owning a VW in the first place, don’t you reckon?

This is just mere speculation for now.

I wonder what the guys at DRB-Hicom have up their sleeves..hmm. Cheers.

• I know better on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:10 am

The little bird lied. DRB is just a contractor and they dont get to decide what engine or gearbox goes where….

• Garfield on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Maybe I do u guys a favour and do a comparison of price, so it’s easy to see how VW cekik darah on the Jetta. S’porean prices are an easy reference:

Passat 1.8 TSI SGD168,800 / RM184,888
    Polo 1.2 Sport TSI SGD106,800 / RM113,888
    Polo GTI 1.4 3dr SGD130,800 / RM132,888
    Golf GTI 2.0 Turbo TSI SGD189,300 / RM209,888
    Golf 1.4 Sport TSI SGD142,300 / RM155,888
    Jetta 1.4 TSI Sport SGD129,800 / RM149,888 ??? WTF???

U can see for the rest of the CBU prices there is quite a similar trend but between Jetta and Golf TSI there is really marked difference. I can smell already >> when CKD we may be paying RM138K when that is really supposed to be the real CBU price. VW laugh all the way to the bank!!!!!

• OMG…agreed….the prices here not nice , the car designs also not nice and the 4 models appeared in photos also not nice….

• OMG…? lolx If the cars r not nice but why u come here and post OMG rubbish comment here?OMG…poor people will said wah they’r so expensive oei…as a standard man i think they are too cheap for me :) Pasat fake LV nak vs Pavilion LV?OMG hahaha

• the price are control by the goverment

• pigsy on Oct 21, 2011 at 2:50 pm

so if the stupidass s’porean was wrong in the pricing, must we also follow the dumbass s’porean…

silly.. tiny s’porean also want to follow… they are crap la..

• Tough on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:18 pm

But did you know that Singapore COE is between S$50K TO S$70K? (for Polo to Passat range) Without a COE, you cant own a car in Singapore. Add that to the price and see what the final price is?

Actually the reason for the pricing has go to do with the stronger Singapore Dollar against the Euro and volatile Ringgit against both the US and Euro this year.

So pls stop blaming VW for everything la, they also have to pay different tax categories in Malaysia, so the variance might look big, but its not their fault actually. They are just following the laws of the land!

• Neutral on Oct 22, 2011 at 2:22 am

I think you put those comment are purely based on pricing, if these cars have their prices closest to the japs made, I doubt you will repeat that statement !

• boxermania on Oct 20, 2011 at 2:00 pm

hey Paul / Anthony, I passed the media convoy yest morning 10am-ish along nkve southbound…were you the driver in the maroon eos ( it’s a 2-door ) labelled S1 ?? i think there were about 25 cars coz i saw a cross touran labelled 25….

• mentari-o-korea on Oct 20, 2011 at 2:12 pm

..overpriced especially for jetta, and the look doesn’t look expensive n will be aging faster !!!

• Waja Owner on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Is my waja 1.6 a VW too?

My boxy waja is confuse already…maybe adopted by proton like inspira?

Then maybe my waja resale value should go up?

• tubik racer on Oct 20, 2011 at 6:26 pm

dari pandangan aku lh..ada beberapa jenis kereta yg takkan nmpak “aging very faster” seperti:

Honda Jazz GD dari tahun 2003 smp sekarang..design jazz tak lapuk dan boleh diterima smpai skg..tak pasang bodykit pun nmpak everlasting jer….

Ford Fiesta MK VI mgkin akan mengikut langkah honda jazz….tggu je sedekad lebih fiesta msh nmpak simple and sporty…

VW Golf MK5 pun sama juga…msh stylo woo…cheers..

• I think it is difficult to please everyone. I believe VW will have a bigger market now with these 3 new offerings. Although it is slighly pricy but it’s German Technology and they produce cars like Mercs. BMW, Porsche & Audi. Hopefully with CKD the prices will come down and will be more affordable to most of us.

Hopefully the Japs will make more affordable cars from now onwards, otherwise they will see their market share shrinking and it will be really fast. As for the Koreans, I hope they will work harder to make better cars as they have made good progress through the years and looks like KIA & Hyundai is getting better every year. Hopefully, the local Korean Car Franchisee will try not to make too much profit so that their cars will be more affordable to most of us.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Oct 20, 2011 at 3:48 pm

What you see here is a brand that believes in its own hype. German engineering is a marketing term, it does not mean it is superior or more reliable than Japanese or Korean engineering. If you are contemplating buying a continental brand, check the price of spare parts and cost of repair before committing to purchasing. Having owned a continental make before for seven years, I can tell you that repair costs are higher than Japanese, failure rates are also higher, at least in my case. If you need to be seen driving a German brand, by all means go buy a German brand because it pleases you. For me, I went back to owning a Japanese brand. While it is not 100% faultless, I have a peace of mind when I take it out for long trips knowing that some obscure warning lamp won’t come on because our humid weather triggered it. Anyway, with this kind of prices, it’s a lot of money to pay for a mainstream brand, German or otherwise.

• megastuwar on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:21 pm

i have two contis at home, one a german, another a french… both are good cars and no trouble to maintain. Its not really pricey if you consider the quality and the well perceived looks u get. The failure rate is not exactly higher but I must say japanese do seem to be more reliable. Only two japanese brand i trust for reliability and of those two none start with a H. Anyway, the japanese does not make cars in the same spirit as the Contis. You can only enjoy the driving experience, comfort and handling for REAL DRIVERS with a conti.

But i must say this VW believes in its own hype too much and always end with disspointment. For i must admit i was a fool to go to their Das Auto Show, what a waste of time..

These 3 cars are just another of their totally hype up campaign. VW, you can fool me once but not again. I dont mind your price but your spec and features is absurd.

• Das Auto Show Sucker on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:04 am

I was one of those suckers who went to the Das Auto Show. Waited and waited and waited and finally gave up. Stupid Das Auto Show wasted my weekend. Also, the price for Jetta is very high for its specs. 2 months a go, a SA told me it should be approx RM138K only. Even at RM138K I felt it is very high. VW builds good car but seriously, this Jetta is expensive.

• krs99 on Oct 20, 2011 at 6:43 pm

People who don’t have money always complain no resale value lah! spare part expensive lah! maintenance expensive lah!

People who don’t care about all of the above is the actual group of people who really have money.

• gomok on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:36 pm

5 years warranty, apa mau bising2….unlimited mileage lagi, after 5 years jual la…..adoyaiiiii….kepoh x guna otak…..

• Waja Owner on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:06 am

hey gomok, ko salesman VW kah? asyik backing VW je….pastu hentam brand lain

• gomok on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Bukan backing, cakap biar betul, nak kutuk ada fakta la…bukan main tabur sana sini, showroom pun x pegi apatah lagi test drive tp buat2 macam tahu segalanya

• yahoo on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:17 am

ei brother,manufacturer warranty is actually oni first 2 years,the subequent 3 years is extended warranty.after the first 2 years if your engine or gearbox kong ur gonna have to bear some cost,the remmaining will be beared by vw.at least thats wat my fren in vw told me.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:47 pm

Yes, its a lot of money, but to some its well worth it.

Go sit in one, press a few buttons. Then tell me its not heads well over every other marque in terms of build quality. Then go for a drive. Take note of the ride quality. Firm but compliant and very very quiet.

Basically everyone benchmarks vw for the interior quality. Should that not tell you something?

• Jimmy on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Shut up Toyota salesman. Go and buy your Toyos and enjoy your resale value(why don’t you just buy a Yaris/Rush). VW/Merc/BMW with 6 or more airbags are not for you.
      Long trips…… I guess only Toyo can travel from Johor to Perlis, ya? I guess VW is worse than Kancil/Saga which are common in highways.
      I guess no Bentley, Porsche, Ferrari in Malaysia, these are cheaper to maintain than VW, I suppose.
      This kind of prices……. what are you talking about? Short-sighted or having short vision?
      Some VW owners earn a VW in just one month.
      Hey to our friendsss out there, don’t buy VW with a 9-year loan ya even if it is interest-free, it is not for you.
      You should have more than enough financial capacity to pay the loan in not more than 3 years.

• philip on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:48 pm

jetta – not worth the money
    for that amount of money better to get a forte / civic / altis / cruze or even hyundai sonata

• gomok on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Hahahahah, no twincharger no dsg and not talking about NVH……sorry u dont know nothing

• BeemerFreak on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:58 am

Haha very obvious he buys car judging by what his grandma tells him.

• Hello on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Ya, those are for you and people like you.
      Cheap lo.

• nebula87 on Oct 20, 2011 at 7:11 pm

i hope it’s a Proton Saga BLM Facelift….=.=

• In S’pore , only one service ctr . VW owners have to book two months in advance for servicing . This will one day happened in M’sia if VGM fail to increase the service ctr .

• better got CT200h

• Can you guys imagine that what if, WHAT IF

VW CKD Passat BlueMotion hybrid 1.6 comes over.

with tax exemptions and CKD, this Passat BlueMotion hybrid sure sell at RM120, Camry, Accord, Teana, i45 Sonata, K5, 508, Mondeo can all go and die alr hahahahah

• campor on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Why so fuss with VW. JUST STICK TO UR TOYOTA AND HONDA…

TOYOTA and HONDA was GOD made car maaaaaa…… sooo perfect.

• Is the Jetta, a Golf with a booth?

• lemon on Oct 21, 2011 at 12:51 am

it is slightly longer and wider than golf mk6 and it is completely redesigned hence wont have the same problem as 207 and ford fiesta which suffer coz they r not redesigned and by using the same wheelbase, their booth seems to be ‘forcefully’ gel into the car..

• Garfield on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:06 am

Even Jetta doesn’t have a booth….. cannot fit into the boot!!!!

On a serious note, yes and no. The previous generation Jetta were a Golf for people with the affinity for big rear ends. The new Jetta however is a lower cost design (!!!) with different outlook. Still same platform. So, good in a way that it has its own specific sedan looks; but not so good that the package is actually cheaper to build but the savings never pass to (Malaysian) customers.

Thank you VW Malaysia!

• pakchukong on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:36 am

Dey, U think they dont to sell cheaper ka? Everyone including merz also want to sell cheaper maaaaa, go ask MOF la…..

• lemon on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:27 pm

jetta booth is more than 500 litre…just visit any vw centre

• Booth? I thought is called a BooT. Or Trunk if you’re American.

• Agreed! B6 passat looks better than b7 which is I am not trading in my b6 to b7 though highly tempted to do so.

• Akmal on Oct 21, 2011 at 3:10 am

In my opinion, the pricing is a little too close to each other. The price of the Passat is suitable for what it is, as a contender for the 2.4L versions of Camry and Accord. The Jetta, however, runs against the Civic and Corolla, and at RM 150k it might be a tad bit expensive. Then again, there’s no denying that it’s significantly more powerful (and advanced) than both.

• 123GO on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:38 am

hmmmm the passat … direct front look … hmmmm really looks like camry …. 80% …

• Yes……Jetta is extended version of Golf with a booth……. please read the spec.

• gomok on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:44 am

Haiyaaa, jetta is not extended version of golf maaaaa…..u la, please read spec la….tak tahu apa2 mau ckp lebih

• The latest pricing announcement for me really speaks for one: inefficiency due to government (GLCs) involvement in business. DRB-Hicom similar role in Honda and other brands made the VW pricing closer to Audi than Japanese’s counterpart’s.

Frankly, difficult to convince buyers with that pricing. The cheapest A4 is worth to buy over a Passat.

• John Die on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:56 am

This price and specs?

Honda & Toyota will still sells like before… They will not even threaten…

On the other hand, no point having too much brand to choose from, some people say competition is good (for 70k – 180k cars) but this only applies to people who can afford.. If you look at the real world, in Malaysia, how many households that can afford towards this prices? Look at the general / majority population here, mostly can only afford sub RM50k cars (most of them still have difficulties to survive on monthly to monthly btw). So what choice you have? Proton & Perodua or 2nd hand cars (which have to fork out money to restore / maintain / replace parts).

• Garfield on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:32 am

Hey Paul/Anthony,

I don’t know if the Germans read your blog here but I’m really hoping that you guys pass our comments directly to them so they can understand our market better.

My German professor in UK did not have a sense of humour at all and always fail to understand British sarcasms. I do hope they understand plain and simple that we do not like what we see so far on the Jetta prices, because this car is the one that matters if they truly want to break into our market effectively (my hope already down on Polo). Our own carmakers and lawmakers may not be that bright but that is not representative of the rest of us. There’s no hiding that I like to make the Jetta my next car but please deal to us better cards to play. Then we’ll help them beat the craps out of the Japs.

• German VW this such a big group will never care about M’sia market lolx higher tax plus typical 3 world small country people knowledge…expensive lah bland lah bla bla bla…why wasting ur time to post comments here if no interesting?! just move to ur favorite car site lah noobs LOLX

• Don’t apply your own opinion to all other people.
      I think the price is reasonable. You want cheap, go for the cheap one, period.

• Pleasestop on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:28 pm

British are generally colonial relics that still live in the past. They still think they have an empire when even their Queen is not purely English (she has German heritage), not to mention all their so called British cars which are actually German(Rolls Royce, Bentley, Mini), American (Ford & Vauxhall-GM), Chinese (Rover) and Indian (Jaguar and Land Rover).

I have no idea why so many Malaysians idol worship the English who only ransacked our country when they occupied us until 1957! Besides, even the BPL only produces “Jaguh Kampungs”. England has never won any major tournament since 1996 in Wembley (of course). My advice to Malaysians, don’t keep idolising the English la, they are losers la!

• tec96248 on Oct 24, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Please stop talking irrelevant things. I have no idea what you are trying to tell about the cars. hahaha……… you should thanks the British for you to surf internet. Hence, the VW company owes its post-war existence largely to British in 1945. Moreover James Bond driving Aston Martin now. Anyway, we have to communicate in English Language somehow. It’s not idolizing, but utilizing and learning. The smart tunnel is also by British and German………hahaha. We have all sorts of things from other countries makes in our life. hahaha……………………

• Pleasestop on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:55 pm

The British start something then they fail miserably cause everyone catches on and they lose out (note: the Internet).

VW does not owe its post-war success to the British. Gets your facts right. They were FORCED to be run by the British because they lost the war. Btw, when it was run by the British, the product quality was low and products were lousy. Only when the Germans took over did the products improve. James Bond is a fictional British character, if you believe the James Bond franchise, you live in an fictional world.

The Smart Tunnel is built by engineers from around the world using a German tunnel boring machine (note: it is claimed to be the world’s best boring machine – just ask the MMC-Gamuda people!)

So none of your argument holds zzzzzz.

• tec96248 on Oct 25, 2011 at 10:53 am

hahaha, open up your mind dude! If you see things in anger and impatient, will make you see blindly.
            The British started the internet / WWW, and for us to surf thru it. eventually we are using it, why bother their losing or not… after all is globalization.
            Aiya, what I had said is the VW post war-existence after the war, not the post-war success…….you should read more history. moreover, I really don’t know how you say it the VW 1940s quality was low and lousy especially after the war, maybe you were there in the 40s.
            Everybody knows James Bond is a fictional character, Talked about the British Car – Aston Martin, dude.
            LOL, The consultants, designers, constructions supervisors were from british firms and many british were there. the contractors for the coring/boring are from germans. Of course have to associate with the local consultants and contractors too. (Don’t need to ask the Gamuda/MMC, I was there).
            Of course, none of my arguments hold, because is not an argument, is just fraction of the world for you to understand. It depends on how you take it. hahaha………….

• REALLY in Malaysia WHO hv the “power” to fix the car price?

• walweikong on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:41 am

Just coming back from showroom and test drive, jetta when look outside much more nicer than in the photo…NVH better than my civic….dsg very smooth… Already booked one…

• Nah! Show me your receipt and where you booked such an old man car.

• Coolken on Oct 21, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Seriously.. The looks is too bland. Engine’s really good though… Still prefer to spend those money on something prettier..

• Seriously… have you test driven the cars? Which do you prefer pretty but without substance or bland but lots of oomph. I know which i prefer.

• teelim on Oct 21, 2011 at 3:16 pm

VW should not “lie” in their brochure

http://my.volkswagen.com/etc/medialib/vwcms/virtualmaster/my/models1/jetta0/content.Par.0079.File.pdf/new_jetta_brochure.pdf

they show the car with nice wheels, but the one you buy, comes only in 16″ wheels *facepalm*

its like false advertising. its says that “visuals and specification here MAY differ from actual model(s)”. why say “may” when it does… its almost like lying. This wouldn’t be an issue if they actually offer it as an option. Argh… Can’t stand it.

• gomok on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:14 pm

In brochure not mention pedal shift, rear aircond, aircooled glove box…..in fact in brochure u can see no auto light, but they have it….

• rally_fan on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:39 am

brochures are standard items used across all the countries that VW sell in.. and in all countries VW sell in, spec’s ‘may’ change or differ. it dont make sense for them to reshoot pictures and reprint new brochures for every single model and country.. im sure there must be at leasts 50 different versions of the jetta all over the world in some form. If you worked in VW, you’d probably end up doing the same thing.

• Don’t fret. Vote with your wallet.

• VWs are seriously getting boring to look at

• BeemerFreak on Oct 22, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Despite all the rant of people here, I foresee a huge number of these cars running on our road. VW for many people just evokes a different feel compare to other sub 200k continentals. Just look at the Scirocco for instance, at RM 250k still you see a lot on the road. Malaysians do have money, is just we choose wisely to spend.

• dannhy on Oct 22, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Good. Bye bye japanese car makers.

• Faris ToneDeaf on Oct 23, 2011 at 7:35 am

YES !! The Jetta looks boring as a white wall but the engine is fun. The only problem is that they should come with optional accessories instead of giving consumers no choice but to buy that boring Jetta looks. They should have optional accessories such as bigger rims , different colour seats and maybe SatNav. Well, obviously customers must pay more for those stuff. However, they have choices instead of this

• Faris ToneDeaf on Oct 23, 2011 at 7:39 am

The Jetta looks boring as a white wall but the engine is fun. The only problem is that they should come with optional accessories instead of giving consumers no choice but to buy that boring Jetta looks. They should have optional accessories such as bigger rims , different colour seats and maybe SatNav. Well, obviously customers must pay more for those stuff. However, they have choices instead of this

• Oh Jetta so disappointing! Why couldnt you have a more quality interior and what happened to all that ” class largest space” you were boasting about!

• VW’s selling point will always be its award winning Tsi engine and DSG not its interior :)

• Polo Sedan CKD at RM90K…. Say bye bye to Vios/City.

• Vincent on Oct 24, 2011 at 4:54 pm

To those saying Jetta is boring look, wait till you see those after market LED lamp, and piece of bodykit come out! I believe, with additional few K, it will make the jetta look as good as Audi A4…and of course, beutiful or not is very subjective. The sales will tell.

And to those who saying that CKD shall ring the price down by 20 or 30K, it might just a dream that never come true…If VW Malaysia knowing Malaysia market, they will never do that. Adding value on your car instead of cutting cost will ensure you doing well.

At RM120K, I see the sales will not increase much. Instead, give free maintenance, superior ownership experiece and make higher profit will ensure your VW brand shine in Bolehland. Believe or not, even you bring down teh price, you will never able to sell more than 300 unit compare with those C segment like Civic and Altis with total sales of 1200 unit a month.

Simple reason is, H and T give better resale value, lower maintenance and more important, people preception that it is more realiable than VW.

• raf789 on Oct 25, 2011 at 9:08 am

have checked all three models.
    -jetta – not impressive at all. looks like big-saga fl..
    -cross touran – found lacks of quality built on the plastic materials. also found 1 compartment could not opened. it should not be happened to these kind of brand with high price tag.
    checking these two models almost same like checking a proton. (sorry proton).
    both are without electric seats. so boring.
    -passat – this 1 seems ok….hmmm ok la.. but still not as good as 508 in terms of exterior, interior and gadgets.. also, seat only half-electric. electric only for slide. others, manual.
    i think what you can expect high from these 3 models is just their good engine and gearbox. others….boring..
    just my 2 cents opinion. i am a vw fan. but honestly these 3 models are just ‘boring’

• Faisal D on Oct 25, 2011 at 6:27 pm

The advertising for all models was very good lah… VW’s advertising pulling the covers over our eyes until we saw d boring cars!! Marketing so good I went to the showroom last weekend, but was big let-down.

• ABTguy on Nov 03, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Same feeling here, I saw the cars on 01 November.

Jetta – looks is ok to me, but kits count is low and the boot cover is SO hollow. For the price, better add just a bit more to get Golf TSI, at least it is manufactured in Wolfburg !

Passat – Very old man look. The front seat is a bit small even for my small size butt. Don’t know how it can fit the big guys. Build quality seems good.

Touran – too uninspired with it, never take a closer look at all.

• Faisal D on Oct 25, 2011 at 6:31 pm

VW advertising was too good lah…. tried to pull the wool over our eyes! Saw the advertisements and went down to the showroom to check out d Jetta and Passat, but was disappointed by the old man looks of both!

• Gavin on Oct 25, 2011 at 11:38 pm

Finally VW Jetta Are launched in Malaysia, Is time for us to change for the new technology car TFSI. Is really a good car.

• wllim on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Booked the Jetta already. Liked the engine and the stability. I did some research and find that Jetta (1900kg) is 500kg heavier than Civic (1400kg) although the size is about the same. I am driving an altis now and can really feel the difference.

• rally_fan on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:43 am

1900kg is gross weight. kerb weight is the same as civic.. 1400kg. the jetta out performs both the civic 2.0, and altis 2.0 when it comes to driving.

• If not mistaken, VW Group is the 2nd largest car manufacturer in the world, after Toyota. VW group keep on buying and buying others car manufacturer. If someone think they are smarter than VW group, then prove it.

• Read on Star online that VW – DRB Hicom planning to start selling CKD production of Passat tomorrow. Probably theyll be able to start Jetta sales by next year. Would be interesting to see how they gonna price these products..

• Cross tauran menarik…cantik, tapi mahal sangat lah..

• Hardly see jetta and touran on the road at all. The numbers on the malaysian feb and jan 2012 sales dont lie. Both cars do not make it to the top 5 in their respective categories. Malaysian public smarter than you vw. Jetta is really not a nice car.my foot on your famed tfsi engine!