Proton P3-21A handling prowess to be showcased at Proton Power of 1 showcase event at Bukit Jalil

Want to see the P3-21A in the metal? We’ve just heard that Proton will be demonstrating the P3-21A on track at the Proton Power of 1 event at Bukit Jalil. We snapped the above shot of the P3-21A in full “European style” swirly camouflage, all poised and ready to go up against a Proton Persona on a big, open carpark ‘track’ here at the event.

Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin also announced that the P3-21A has been officially soft launched for booking today at any Proton showroom. He also revealed that the indicative price for the P3-21A is RM62k to RM75k, with the real price to be announced later. The booking fee is RM500.

We’ll be back with more updates later in the day.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jonet on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:17 am

I LOVE PERSONA MORE…

• anti-vios on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:26 am

hope for the best…

• RON97 on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:27 am

show off only… try to cheat lower income people that this car can smoke persona and ask them to upgrade..what a trick. pit it against same capacity with turbo la bro – pug 308 or polo…pirahhhh

• eims @ gold on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:12 pm

if compare to pug 308, pug will be smoked in term of price big time.. kekekekekeke pug 308 priced almost double

• They compare it with a Persona because the P3-21A is a replacement for it. Read before commenting la. Shows how dumb some people can be.

• basher gonna bash…they see, they wont think, they just bash…hehe…

• Kerambit Laut on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:59 pm

I don’t think P3-21A will ‘makan asap’ of those 2 cars, just because they don’t have ‘asap’ :) just kidding. I say they better pit it against same priced car. Baru nampak P3-21A ada performance.

VW and Peugot has vast experience in turbocharged engine whereas Campro CFE is Proton’s first turbo engine. As we can see Proton is doing R&D on engine tech, from bare Campro, then campro CPS then the CFE in under 10 years time. It’s good for their business as they don’t have to pay royalty to other manufacturer anymore and Malaysia have engine industry of our own. It’s worth to note that just a few country in this world can produce engines because of its very intense engineering and hi-tech.

There’s a lot of Malaysian did not like Proton especially those who can afford to buy foreign cars, but still dozens of lower income like me still support Proton not just because of the price, but we’re proud to be Malaysian and Proton is Malaysian company. I think we’ll appreciate things more if that’s the only thing we can afford. Rasanya orang kampung lebih sayangkan negara daripada mereka yang hanyut dengan kelebihan orang asing dan menangisi kekurangan kita.

• LIKEHONDANOTSOMUCH on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:28 am

This P3-21A is the best car from PROTON,,,that PEsona will be smoked big time.

• The Enthusiast on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:43 am

Expensive! Overpriced for a national car.

• turbo+7spd Protronic w/paddleshift + 4 airbag + ABS + EBD + ESC + “electronics that even the Lancer doesn’t have” = RM75k = overpriced?

lololol you better tell that to Perodua.

• The Enthusiast on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:44 pm

If we do away NAP, a similarly spec-ed VW or Toyota even will be at the same price. And if it is KIA, it is even cheaper. So the only difference between them is build quality, which I’m sure Proton is well known for. Oh wait.

Not until Proton can build a solid car with good interior and comfortable ride, only then RM75k is well worth it. Just because they fit in a turbo and a “sophisticated” gearbox doesn’t guarantee it will drive just as good. Dumb gearboxes are a pain in the arse. Just look at those Perodua auto gearbox. A 9-year old kid can shift gears faster.

But I do agree with you. Perodua is more overpriced.

• IT’S NOT ONLY CHANGE GEAR OR ANYTHING THAT YOU THINK, IT’S OVERALL IMPROVEMENT

• 99ners on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:40 pm

If we do NAP.. Proton also will be cheaper…

• without NAP, then P1 car will be far lower. dont you know they’re taxed oso?

• MoFaz on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:57 pm

if we do away NAP, Proton will be cheaper also. we also pay 75% excise and 10% sales tax for Proton cars too.

• kamaji on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:17 pm

I do fully agree that with these kind of specs it’s not really overprice but sadly since this’s a proton, I reckon the pricing should be between 60k ~ 69k as it will hopefully wipe out the overprice myvi extreme & go head on against the vios or even the city…..In proton history anything above 70k will be difficult to sell in numbers.

• VWAudiLover on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:23 pm

P3-21A looks weirdly huge beside Persona…

• yup, too bad cuz it has small wheels. Like a shopping cart.

• Malaysian on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Of course it looks bigger than persona.. Its the same size as Altis, Civic and almost as tall as Myvi. The wheel is 16 inches though. I guess if u put in 17 or 18 inch wheel it would look much better

• MoFaz on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:58 pm

P3-21A is bigger than Civic

• with that price tag, not worth it to buy. persona look better. proton should make exactly like the concept that they show at KLIMS if they want to compete with other brand. will never trust proton concept…

• some said that design outdated..80’s la….tis la…that la..

• Sergio Mendes on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Charging so much for a “RE-assemble & ReBADGED” car versus the SAME PRICE for a built from scratch car, HATs off to the LATER.
    Kudos Proton.

• Why compare with Persona only?

Put the rest Altis Civic Forte Jetta etc comparison eveything from handling to features side by side…

Then you be the judge which one worth Global car or jagoh kampong…betol tak?

• aiyoo... on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:21 pm

why people keep complaining on why Proton didn’t compared with Honda la, Toyota la… as a manufacturer, of course Proton can’t do that, same goes to all other manufacturer too… did those guys asking on comparison between brand saw any other brand compare directly with other brand… e.g. Ferrari vs Bugatti ka, Honda vs Toyota ka, atau apa2 ka? it’s a forbidden thing to the manufacturer, they can only compare with their own product (internally yes, they can have the brand comparison.. but publicly, its a no no)

let those auto enthusiastic or auto blogger come up with the comparison later la… aiyoo

• pirlo on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:35 pm

well said my friend. i believe there’s no direct comparison done by the manufacturer yet. if they wanna compare with others, they will make it in disguise like model A, model B blabla.

• Xke gok…da yer namer yer proton punyer event xkan nak letak kete brand lain…baik compare alang2 baik dgn ferrari ke lambo ke lg bagus…lg hebat

• this car replacement for persona….understand?

• alf147 on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:09 am

haiya friend,

i dont thnk a manufacturer can compare with other brand in their event.RESPECT. honda or toyota also will not do as u suggest even if their car is greater.

comparison only done by car magazines..so you wait la the comparison from autocar malaysia, and the rest.LOL..

• i was there, P3-21A is a great car.. play chase2 with persona also look far better coz of esc.. hey, compare with other car with similar price, proton provide a better value.. dunt lecture me with all the nap, tax and those other things.. we my friend, have something to be proud of, in rally, street car, mpv, small sedan and we own lotus.. guess, we won’t own them without Proton right?

• Johny5 on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:32 pm

What the heck?? Just show the real car then..

• apen80 on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:45 pm

AWESOME…..

• Ninja on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:47 pm

To all readers here who bashed Proton, I believe your time of in-mature Proton bashing is over. Proton has impressed big time here and I believe this is the best car money can buy for now. The Japs and the Korean are nowhere close to this awesome new Proton model. Unless the Japs and Korean can response positively to reward their loyal Malaysian slaves to their brand with high spec car with reasonable price soon, it makes the Japs and Korean cars crappies a mere ‘kereta lembu’, just looks good on the outside and empty with no soul in the inside, just like a prostitute. So to all those Japs and Korean slave car owners here, sweet dreams. You’ll never beat the performance of this P3-1A. Rest in Peace!

Syabas Proton. I just booked one and am paying full in cash!!!

• Whynot on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Looks like this model is suppose to replace the Persona. The power is great as Inspira and I find it hard what is P1 trying to do anyway. Killing its own kinds or trying to launch a model that will replace all of its similar size models or trying to compete this with model of international intentions? Had improved interior shows that P1 is doing most of the homework from the inside but not the exterior. Have to put more effort in the outlooks as I think this is really not a head turner!

• Kerambit Laut on Mar 20, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Its siblings did not meet global standard. This model intended to be marketed worldwide.

• Abang beca on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Naek beca lagi best