Nissan Almera previewed: a short drive on a test track

Since there’s only a half-handful of you who’ll read till the end, there’s something you need to know first. This is not a preview test drive, but a preview of a preview. Think of this a sampler, like the sliver of fried chicken ball promoters push at you as you walk through an aisle of a supermarket.

The reason I’m bringing this up is that the Nissan Almera was tested on Nissan’s test track at its assembly plant in Serendah. It’s a 1.5 km track that features various road conditions – long stretches, a skid pad and speed bumps to simulate roads you drive on every day. Since it is short though, there were plenty things about the car I couldn’t catch, which makes this preview not quite complete.

A point to note here is that all Almeras – all Nissan vehicles built in this plant, in fact – are tested on this track before delivery to customers. The test drivers will try to pick up a few things like unusual noises, suspension and power issues, to name a few, things which will mar the experience of owning a Nissan car.

Before I start telling you about how the car feels, let me brief you on what I gathered from the product presentation. Firstly, the Almera is built on a new ‘V’ platform, which stands for – and I’m not making this up – versatile. Secondly, Nissan says that this car easily passes the ECE R94 and ECE R95 regulations. In case you don’t know, the R94 and R95 are front and side collision test regulations.

Third, the Almera will be powered by the HR15DE engine, a 1,498 cc, four-cylinder DOHC with CVTC unit that produces 102 PS at 6,000 rpm and 139 Nm at 4,000 rpm for numbers. The two choices of transmission available are, depending on trim, a five-speed manual and a four-speed automatic. What!

Nissan says the four A/T is new. When compared with the old four-speed slushbox, the new one is 11% more compact (43 mm shorter), 15% lighter (by 10 kg), has 32% lower friction and 12% less parts. The gearbox and engine transmission are said to give a fuel economy of 14.9 km/l in a combined cycle (or roughly about 6.7 l/100km).

At the moment, the Almera will come in three trims – E, V and VL. Here’s what I know about the three grades, which I am told is not complete. Between now and launch day, things might be taken away or added. But if you want to walk into a Nissan dealership tomorrow (order books open on September 6), read on.

Buyers of the E grade will get to choose between the manual and automatic gearbox. Features include a standard key fob with panic alarm, 15-inch steel rims with wheel covers, standard combi-meter with trip computer and a single airbag. Yes, a single airbag.

According to Nissan, the reason why this grade has only one airbag is due the chassis’ rigidity, which is enough to withstand front and side collision. The E is also meant to be the lowest grade, hence the omission of the front passenger airbag also means saving a few more Ringgit.

Frankly, this has got us scratching our heads, as even Perodua has decided to equip all of its cars with dual airbags. Even the latest Toyota Vios update has made dual airbags standard across all models, including the most affordable J model.

Airbags have little to do with how rigid a chassis is – their purpose is to cushion occupants during a crash as well as provide protection to occupants, so that said bodies don’t hit interior objects such as the steering wheel or a window. As a comparison, the Almera just introduced in Australia – which has the same engine tune and transmission options – features VSC and six airbags across the range, to comply with Australian safety regulations.

The V grade (automatic only) will come with dual airbags, 15-inch alloy wheels, self-illuminated combi-trip meter with trip computer, additional interior luxury trim (silver/chrome decoration) and fog lamps. As for the VL, it also comes in four-speed automatic form only, and adds on intelligent key with trunk release and panic alarm, push-start button, auto aircon with LCD display and illuminated steering audio controls.

Safety-wise, all grades come standard with ABS, EBD, Brake Assist and 3×3 ISOFIX child seat mounts.

I started the Almera test in the back seat. Off the mark, I noticed that it has plenty of legroom. Nissan says that this car’s legroom measures 636 mm, which is best-in-class. I can tell you that the space is more than the usual B-segment fare, but you’ll really need to sit in and feel it for yourself.

The Almera could do better with more shoulder room though. A third seat belt in the rear bench suggests that the Almera can sit three at the back. As is, put two adults inside and there’s only enough space for a very skinny or a very small person in the middle. But in any case this is how it is for all cars in the B segment, so if your requirements call for more width, get a C segment car – which in Nissan’s case is the Sylphy.

The ride was comfortable, the suspension absorbing whatever the test track threw at it. I went through a few rough bits – pebbled road, roads with large stones and uneven surfaces, just to name some. Through every road condition, the Almera made the grade with flying colours. What’s more, the cabin was devoid of any rattling or juddering noises that would suggest poor build quality.

Then, it was my turn at the wheel, and the first thing I noticed was the smoothness of the four-speed automatic. Changes between gears were unnoticeable and it felt as if I was driving a CVT-equipped vehicle instead. Since there was not enough tarmac to get the car past 110 km/h, I could not tell if the four-speeder has what it takes for long range cruises.

Acceleration was respectable as well. The car was loaded with four fully-grown adults and the Almera had enough fire in its belly to shove off from zero without trouble. At this point, I was impressed by this narrow-but-long car.

There was not a lot of feedback from the steering, but this isn’t an enthusiast’s car, so steering comfort should be paramount. In spite of the lack of feel, the Almera tracks well with the road. The steering doesn’t need a lot of input to get it to turn, and going around the skidpad doing figure-8s, the car’s steering was accurate and immediate.

The test was far too short and ended far too quickly. In total, I had done only 1.5 km in five minutes, and there was only so much I could squeeze out from such a limited time.

See, I told you this is a preview of a preview. But there is a media drive as well as an official launch that will happen later. We’ll get the lowdown on what the Almera is all about when that time arrives.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• that rear overhang is insanely long

• civoka on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:36 pm

look at the cvt auto gear, only FOUR speed. yes, FOUR. later on there are people asking what’s so big about preve with SEVEN speed? don’t know how cvt works?

noobs, please read more

• kancildriver on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:25 pm

it’s a four speed auto, not CVT with four virtual gear.

• ppl talk overhang u speak gearbox… nvm that… it is a four speed auto not a cvt… dun egt confused by the cvtc which is a cam switching thingy and not ur pulley transmission box… u r the noob 1. don’t u ever notice it ueself? i guess too noob to…

• the review praised it’s smooootthhhhh so maybe it’s better than dsg

• alldisc on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:56 am

DSG is not about smoothness, DSG is about instant response to deliver better performance.

conventional automatic transmission using torque converter, CVT and DSG all has their own individual advantages (which Mazda claimed to include ALL in its new Skyactiv technology)

• JeremyNg on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:13 pm

You jz slapped urself on ur own face !!!

• civoka on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:12 am

it’s just damn working ! lol

• OMG…pricing will determine this car can sell well here or not…ppl dont border how many speed. As long as cheap, comfortable and less problem.

• fandy on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:40 pm

exterior design i think saga is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • taboogen on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:49 pm

the car might stand the force of frontal and side impact.. .but unfortunately we can’t.. what on earth they are thinking about…

• Jimmy on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:47 am

“A point to note here is that all Almeras – all Nissan vehicles built in this plant, in fact – are tested on this track before delivery to customers. The test drivers will try to pick up a few things like unusual noises, suspension and power issues, to name a few, things which will mar the experience of owning a Nissan car.”
      While I try not to use the word BULLSHIT, I must tell everybody that my friend’s Teana of less than 3-day, I repeat 3-DAY, old has dashboard rattling sounds (not one sound, but sounds). So who is the one who did the final testing???
      Please improve your fit and finish (rattling sounds in 3-day NEW Teana, and multiple gapsssss).

• alldisc on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:58 am

the result of putting monkeys in assembly line, i guess..

• alex chan on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:21 am

yaa yaa..a fren to a fren to afren to a fren of my said like that too..yadaydayada

• My fren mother of my mother fren of my fren encounter same prob…lol

• Lorenzo on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:09 pm

my dad’s 2.5 teana has no problem at all. almost 2 years old

• klguy on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:35 am

well my fren, they thought malaysians are stupid dumbassess. Lets prove them wrong

• underskinned on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:51 pm

I just can’t refrain myself from commenting how ugly this car is; regardless how good this car might be driven.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
    • I think Nissan itself has got an internal identity crisis. The Juke, Leaf for example. Now they come with this, a dashboard design that has rectangular shape blowers in the middle while at both ends, they made it round. A very poor design execution it was!

• Mangkuk Hayun on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:52 pm

wow..

another well refined product of NISSAN..

great :)

• Hodohnya!!!Feel like vomiting …..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 6
  • the dashboard’s switches are so weird…

• 1 airbag and they gave a reason saying the car body was rigid enough? Then why not just give 1 airbag for all the variants SINCE THEY CLAIMED IT WAS RIGID enough? and does the authority / govt even approve this as we know the new cars now have to be fitted with minimum of 2 airbags. Another thing, 4 speed GB? mehhh…Old tech. It does not make much difference than the Vios.

• oblong on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:17 pm

look similar to Vios too!

• Super Genius on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:22 pm

agree la… i was thinking of this car as one of my options, but since it looks very similar to vios (which i hate), i have to cross it from my wishlist now… “Good Job” nissan… try harder to “develop” more “common” design… yellkkk!!!!

• KopiKat on Nov 04, 2012 at 12:15 am

Yea looks like VIOS and 4 speed. Old technology. European, Koean are moving to 6-8 speed already.

• tokmoh on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Tan Chong people baru keluar gua kot.

• haha maybe. but, in malaysian car market, there are the facts of AP and other unfair competition issues against non national car brands. how far can you go with 40% price handicap??? not to mention a host of other prejudicial policies and taxes…

• Rambo Ramsey on Sep 08, 2012 at 10:21 am

Dont BS. Honda can do it, Toyota fix its ugly dugong with minimum 2 bags. Look at Hyundai, they managed to choke the Elantra full with gadget and still sell it at ‘reasonable price’ for a C segment. TC is greedy and they thought Malaysians are stupid. This is not 1985/1990 where Sunny and Vannette is no 1 veheicle selling in its segment lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
    • sutheshkumar on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:31 am

I agree with NCAp on this airbag issue here. If thats the case, then all models should have only one airbag then. Come on, their explanation on the rigidity and the single airbag is purely crap.

Australia has enforced such rules that all cars must come with traction control system and the manufacturers are following it. Our government did the same that all cars must at least come with 2 airbags, so how come this one terlepas?

• Jilbaber on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:50 am

Obviously..they’re just ‘BS’ing

• farghmee on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:54 am

i have no problem with GB.

1 have problem with single airbag.
      chassis rigid enuff so only 1 airbag?
      no wonder abram tank dun have airbag..

see..active & passive safety shouldn’t be misunderstood.

feel free to check nissan usa
      http://www.nissanusa.com/versa-sedan/specifications.html

• Peter on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Yea … well said. No wonder all tanks don have airbags. Maybe they don expect tanks driver to back alive as in the computer game. Off the mark, they can also claim the E grade is military specs too.

• to add more, even viva 660cc manual the cheapest brand new car here is also come with dual airbags..

• gen y on Nov 09, 2012 at 8:24 am

Ya laa… dugong family what, should look same la… maybe a bit yglier.

• gangully on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:12 pm

READ! if you want more airbags get the V or VL!

• Hariz on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Basic toyota and perodua comewith 2 airbag……

• what a logic on Sep 06, 2012 at 6:44 am

gee..thanks captain obvious. hmm.. i wonder which grade will i go for now..i have to fork out more money..and i love manual transmission. hmm..more airbags but with 4-speed auto. decision..decision..

never mind..i’ll just get other brand. thanks again for helping me decide captain.

• mr_em on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:22 pm

that’s probably what Nissan wants you to do….
        I am selling my manual car with 6 airbags… wanna buy? Less than RM80k…. 0-100 in 8.9sec…

• Black Dog on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:18 pm

Nowadays Japanese cars still have steel wheels? Only one airbag?

I feel Nissan is stepping backwards to compete with low cost cars.

• Nissan is just the patung only.. The main suspect is Tan Chong.

• kambeng on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Please go Europe, you’ll be very surprise.

• alldisc on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:09 am

in Japan itself, many base models still using steel wheels. this include models we Malaysians `see’ as luxurious like Toyota Wish, Mazda 3, or Daihatsu Materia, or Honda Stepwgn

• fd2_only on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:19 pm

this car look like cheap car that made from china

• Black Dog on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:21 pm

On second thought, I think it’s more suitable for the Indian or African markets?

• apam balik on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:27 am

stupid Tan Chong there’s hell lots of good nissan model,this is came out from their mind? please,if i’m the buyer i’ll would choose lousy Saga over this.

• NasUrudin aidid on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:24 pm

If I buy this car it will last for 15 years… Like my faithful sentra which I bought 1997. I hope so. Unlike my Waja which lasted only 2 years”..” horrible quality

• alldisc on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:18 am

nissan sunny lasted for 20 years…easily.

* of coz la, no ABS, nor airbag, no EFI… just renew road tax every year and fill up tank.

• TurboLiao on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:25 pm

VW cars are not safe according to the AIR BAG to Rigidity ratio , Nissan 1 to 1 is perfect , VW 10 to 1 is UNSAFE*

• Johnny on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Just my opinion. The interior is simply…..ugly.

• steviey on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:35 pm

“Nissan says that this car easily passes the ECE R94 and ECE R95 regulations”

Have to make thinks straight.

This regulations are norm what you want to develop a car and homologate it when you want to sell in a country. It’s the minimum requirement in crash collision test, and if they fail these, they can’t even allowed to sell the car. So this is nothing special. If they said it meets JNCAP 6-star requirement, then it is a good thing.

Saving the airbag because of rigidity is simply puting excuse. As if Merc, Volvo and BMW has less rigidity than a NIssan. Totally liar!! Plain simple cost savings!!! Nissan, you can do better in safety, don’t confuse the consumer with your lame excuse.

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:11 am

+1

That’s the lamest excuse I’ve heard, they should’ve just glazed over the omission in their communications. I think it’s very insulting to the intended audience. Iirc the incremental cost of a basic dual system over a single airbag, on the production line, is a mere $150-$300 (USD). It really can’t be more than that. Is that relatively small change justification to omit such a critical supplemental safety device? After all the years of support from the Malaysian public. Super lame.

• Mario Gomez on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Ugly!!!
    No hope for japanese cars.

• Manual box are for:
    1) basic specs car
    2) performance version for hardcore/enthusiast/rempit

This is mindset of car manufacturers/sellers in Malaysia. Quite sad. Leaving drivers who prefer manual transmission with not much choice of decent daily car.

I believe Malaysian drivers has evolved. If survey is to be conducted, I think 30%-40% Paultan readers will vote for manual cars.

• armandd on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:07 pm

I’m in the same boat as you. Real drivers who enjoy driving always prefer manual gearbox, or at least a dual-clutch with paddle-shift.

• veezo on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:31 pm

You should see the choices they have for manual in Singapore.. only few models average joe would want to buy.. Vios, city, Sunny (sentra), Lancer Glx(previous gen) ,Suzuki swift & the Subaru Impreza. What they refuse to understand in Malaysia & Singapore is that we want manual for c & d segmant cars like bmw 3 series, focus, polo, golf, civic, volvo s40 and the audi A4’s. Besides all the models mentioned above would be atleast a 20k cheaper than automatic transmission.

• chan kam nam on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:04 pm

kudos on your honesty on the width of the car. It would seem that it may be longer and have more legroom but families that regularly sit 3 adults behind should look somewhere else.

• if you want better width, go for c/d segment car. this is b segment car, i don’t think anybody would expect 3 adults to sit comfortably behind.

• DArkerMarker on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:08 pm

the front passenger side A/C vent looks like a coke can being stabbed to the dashboard.

The ugliest vent I have ever seen.

I dont have much confidence on the design of this car oredi.

FAILED, Nissan….

• BMW BEST on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Honestly I think passenger side dashboard part is a bit looks like Myvi lol.

• mivec on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Give 1 airbag & said the car is rigid enough for crash……what a moronic and bullxxit statement from Nissan…..They think we car buyers are idiots. Nissan is well known for exploiting car buyers for charging expensive prices and giving little to the customers. Look at the whole updated ford fiesta range….all come with 6-7 airbags with minimum price increase from the old range. The government has to do something about this stupid practice by Nissan, really disgust me.

• Hariz on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:30 pm

This car 10x ugly….ayooooo…what happen to japang….even perodua have 2 airbag….hi tech gearbox but when came to the safety its nothing…

• JeremyNg on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:47 pm

If Nissan bother to improve their 4speed box m why not just build a new 5speed or CVT for this car ??!!

• Kavikumar Naidu on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:57 pm

the rear is nice but not the front…

• ben yap on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:58 pm

the signboard reads “Experience the power”. What kinda power? at only 102PS, there is no power.

It should read “Experience the underpower”.

• optimus on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:44 pm

wow…this car is u g l y.
    i wonder how is the fuel consumption? that shape of the car don’t look very aerodynamically efficient ^^

• Buy almera, you got free flying saucer stuck in the middle of the dashboard…..

• Gavin on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Don’t be to excited about the auto box, all new boxes are more often than not smooth

• 1 Airbag ?!!!…2 airbags was already not that good considering almost everybody can come up with atleast 4 airbags………we’ll just wait for Sam Looo to come along and say that too many airbags are ‘deadly aswell’

• lolz... on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:40 pm

As Sam loo would say………got resale value can dy xD

• the greed toyolta on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:41 am

sam loo will say too many airbags will increase the maintenance cost of the car when it expires in 7 yrs.
      so the best is no air bags/abs/ebd…no need to replace when they fail/expire. 3 speed auto box is best to maintain. low maintenance n high resale value!

• jefferson on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:25 pm

those people at nissan sure living in their own world..thinking this car is great with that kind of price tag. Experience the power..yeah..experience the power of anger when you buy this car and kena laugh by people around.

• Davincci on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:29 pm

The car is ugly, I don’t mind

If the car is too ugly, I do mind !

• our live is less worthy than TC bottom line?

• Maserati on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Rather get a vios over this piece of junk!

• Honda Power on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:51 pm

I am glad I drive Honda City i-VTEC. Much much nicer looking than this ugly Almera aka Almari. Ugliest looking Nissan ever!

• CamryLover on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:22 pm

this car is designed for the masses, i guess for the average Joe and Jane, its a fine car, economical and spacious. But for car enthusiast, we prefer more dynamic styling and aggressive stance.

• Maccroman on Sep 06, 2012 at 6:23 am

Hmm… I think ho… Average Joe and jing have better taste yea. Design is insulting at all levels. I bet my grandma would slap me and ask ‘aiyooo no car to buy meh? I take taxi tq’ lol…. Btw malaysians comments are too funny and downright no mercy

• This is a good car if they offer around RM40k.

• ricky on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Omg dugong sibling,,,, toyota must b proud because nissan copy their design,,,, more eye pollution drivin behind this box, no dare to enter as well, 102 ps? Just for aunty driving to pasar,saf enough wit 1 airbag

• CarBuyer on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Buruk sgt design kereta ni. Mcm kereta 5-7 tahun lepas. Jangan harap la dapat kalahkan vios dan city dalam kelasnya. Apa yang designer Nissan ni pikirkan entah. Design kereta China made lagi okey.

• omg even China car designs looked better than this

• arcana on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:21 pm

this is hilarious….1 airbag and govt says 2 airbag is minimum….and yet still can go on sale. so nissan, ur gonna give me a free balloon as a 2nd airbag for buying the car?

• oblong on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:31 am

Bro, TC is following UMW where Vios J with 1 airbag is No. 1 in UMW sales chart (*New Vios J now come with 2 airbag).

• hway de Cruz on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:11 am

oh, they will throw in a safety rubber ballon for u to blow it up too, u know the one we use for safe sex lah…. wrapped in multicolor packaging box. kind of dissapointed with nissan, just 1 airbag n 4 speed auto. guess our lives doesnt matter much to them, but we treasure it most, and that is what matter most

• alldisc on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:43 am

you want more airbag, go for the higher spec laa… pay more you get more.

• danedz on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:29 pm

With all the features stated above,Tan Chong should change the car name from Nissan Almera to Datsun Almera..The first new Datsun is reborn..

• Bimmer on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:35 pm

1 airbag is allowed in bolehland? The policy makers really do not anything abt cars. The fact that this is so because we, the people, allow it. We allow the government to rob us in broad daylight. We allow the car distributors to con us and play us like fools! Do we really have any policy at all regarding car safety? Oh geez, i ought to migrate to other countries.

• Kalun on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Seems like this car could belong same as Proton Saga segment with the looks and so on. But the price doesn’t.
    Not sure is it worth to buy or no. The car is simple, it is a Nissan Teana wannabe. It can fit more adult in the backseat, big boot, looks comfy for an average working people. It is an everyday go to work car. You won’t expect it to use for a weekend car right?
    I wish the design is a bit more appealing and with that kind of platform, will attract more customer. I wish rated this as another dugong car.

• Bimmer on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:38 pm

If the car is so rigid, then why bother putting 1 airbag? Why not zero airbag, like zero emissiob. What a lame excuse to save cost. And they think ALL of us will buy it? Go fly kite laa tan chong. Not all of us is that stupid.

• alldisc on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:40 am

better still, no need brakes also. the car can corner like a train on its rails.

• 2 airbags max. No VSC. So called rigid side and front body. Yeah, I’ll believe that.

So, so expected this shennanigans from Nissan Malaysia. Boo !

• Josh Ling on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:05 am

it actually makes me remember the day proton savvy came out, and people kept on asking why proton didn’t even fit any airbag in the car. and the answer from proton people was they have spent a lot of money in making sure the car body and chassis was super tough, and it was (they claimed) so no need airbag…..can’t believe tc people copied the trick and changed it a little to fit in their situation. sigh~

• farghmee on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:46 am

weh, savvy got airbag la.

only basic dun have. typical marketing during that time. few years back vios basic also dun have.

• chee yong chuan on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:10 am

thumbs down to Nissan Almera’s designers before i go to sleep…Good night!!!

• Bimmer on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:26 am

Yeah later tan chong will tell you, “do you know how many trees you save by having just one airbag?” it’s a green thingy.

It’s okay if our lives are lost due to lack of airbag. We are no green man. We’re of brown, white, black etc. but not green :D

• Jimmy on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:57 am

Test drive unit of course has no rattling sounds. Even the RM176OOO 3-day new Teana has dashboard rattling sounds and this is called RELIABILITY!

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:03 am

Maybe they did provide enough BODY BAG instead…. quite scary….

Anyway…. any news about LADA NIVA? Should be better than this Almari…

• edperdana on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:59 am

Nissan’s excuse for single airbag is pathetic. 4sp auto? thats the icing on the cake..Im looking elsewhere

• Joe Radzif on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:16 am

Bigger wheels please….

• Jolly_idiot on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:43 am

Just launch the damn car. No need so many review and preview. Sales figure will determine its strength.

Tired looking so many preview and review on such an ordinary car with nothing to sexcite.

• albag on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:54 am

i hope this gonna be the LAST nissan car to be that ugly since they dont produce nice cars other than GTR and 370z… i hope the upcoming Sentra will change the image…

• alex chan on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:26 am

go buy toyota guys..toyota the best OK (simply better than those ugly europe cars) – vios TRD handling is awesome!

• macroman on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:53 am

yea… I feel dugong looks better than this. Do bar in mind we are comparing FUGLY/dugong AND SUFUGLY/alamri (super-f**-ugly)I think we shld do an article on THE SUFUGLY AWARD show, like for realz, and then trash the SUFUGLY awarede car to pieces

• sick&tired on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:30 am

i know its suppose to be a budget car and all, but did they have to make it look that damm ugly!? the interior also looks equally nasty! i would personally go for the forte.

• salambangi on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:38 am

I think the design is quite ok especially the front end. It looks quite nice. But the dashboard looks cheap. I suspect prospective buyers will face quality problems.

• Power of Consumer on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:39 am

Well , thr are afew reason why “these” manufacturer keep providin us with low-end/tech stuff. Hav U all google wats the difference btw 4AT & 5AT. Simply put it this way. When U see a car with 4AT it definitely hav more torque than 5AT. But a 5AT is better in smooth gear change. If u travel alot in NS Expressway U would prefer 5AT or more coz it cruise better in high speed while 4AT is more suitable for traffic jam area such as KL and PG.
    So which transmission are u?

• CKD Master on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:51 am

cheap and boring interior….plasticky and look low class….tyre size look bad….hope the performance wise little bit promising….should be better i guess

• tak nampak pun Nissan masa Malaysia NCAP 001 test crash hari tu. Vios dah dapat 2 air-bag n this nissan only gave u 1 air-bag..what a shame Nissan…

• Isn’t front airbags has been made mandatory with certain grace period given? Why need to come out with this version of E grade when later part the assembly line need to rework to fulfill Authority’s policy? Still don’ get it, Malaysian automotive assembler like to different their line-up with airbags. I wonder if the guy suggested this in the meeting room drive a non airbag car daily?

• Astaga on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:14 am

I want nissan march

• Gurmit on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:24 am

1 airbag so that u can put baby car seat in front when u r travelling alone with a baby – better?

inb4: i am not nissan sa.

• apam balik on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:30 am

after see this,i would say…..well done Proton.

• macroman on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:56 am

haha… epic gold comment!

• rubbish. proton has never done anything well – everything is subsidised and protected by 40% penalty duty on non national cars. with all the advantages for 20+ years, still not give value for money. you forgot the proton price of cars is what the world market price is!!!

• see, new sylphy cost from around rm75,000 in thailand!!!
      where does proton stand without govt protection?
      shameful proton…. here sylphy 100K RM + coz 40% duty from govt to protect P1.

quote from paul tan here:
      ((Nissan Sylphy launched in Thailand – new model gets improved 1.6, new 1.8, CVT; from 746,000 baht ))

• zidane on Sep 07, 2012 at 3:20 pm

blablablabla…

So, are you ready prepared to be paid in Baht?

• Hadi1975 on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:41 am

Nissan should takeover the distribution of their cars in malaysia from tan chong……like what vw did…..

• mr_em on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:42 am

Do you all see the sign “EXPERIENCE THE POWER – ALMERA” in one of the photos? That’s seems incomplete… should have been “EXPERIENCE THE POWER…. OF UGLINESS – ALMERA”…

Btw, this Almera should be taken off the market/road… it is soooooooooo ugly that it is a danger to other drivers/road users… LOL… anyone driving could accidentally veer off the road when they see this car… someone pls do something!!!!!

• Merc=Real Euro on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:43 am

Malaysians like us dont deserve to drive cars with safety even though you pay double the price…
    Besides wasn’t TC against drop in taxes….

Pls support the cause..
    https://www.facebook.com/turunkanhargakereta?ref=ts

• kenot on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:58 am

“According to Nissan, the reason why this grade has only one airbag is due the chassis’ rigidity, which is enough to withstand front and side collision.”

i really hate this excuse!

• ya. tan chong public relations FAIL..hahaha! wake up TCM!! better do damage control like yesterday…asap!

• Musalmah Endut on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:06 am

Tan Chong has ruined Nissan image!

• what you expect from chinaman company…

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Awful.Fugly

• Austin on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Suddenly, my SAGA flx 1.3 seems better than this car, altough awkward read and cheap plastic interior

• AP King aka Tak Queen on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Buy imported CBU car lar, better quality. I will propose to lower my AP license charge per car because i really feel sad for those poor dudes who are suffering.

• Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:55 pm

The best buy CBU now are Hybrids below 2000cc.

Prius C, Prius, CT200, Insight & CR-Z are oledi best sellers.

Too bad the tax haven for hybrids may end by 2013

• armandd on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:53 pm

I don’t understand why Nissan can’t a make a proper entry-level car that looks pleasing to the eyes like VW Polo sedan.

• hopeless.

i just don’t see why a person would walk past a Vios for a basic Almera.
    Or walking past Honda City for a high-spec Almera.

• jayve on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Tan Chong really distorted Nissan’s image. Hope that we get another distributor and Nissan ditch this Tan Chong for good.

• T. vxxs high spec selling 92K and offering shit but all over the street

this is maybe another shit but still better and cheaper then toyota shit

but 85K intelligent key push start + auto climate is a better shit then T shit

comfort+big leg room+intelligent key push start + auto climate = boleh what

• kerelbort on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:09 pm

vios now have a friend on the ugly side of the road..

• nissan makes jaw dropping cars ie: the GTR. best tech, etc. available all around the world.
    but we get this stupid crap for a basic car?
    Same goes for latio sedan…. sigh…

• Annoynimouse on Sep 06, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Eeeeugh…

• Annoynimouse on Sep 06, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Mr Ng…
    So, did you “EXPERINCE THE POWER” in your short test drive?

• adam lee on Sep 06, 2012 at 6:45 pm

dugong is much much more better than this…

• I already decided to boycott all Nissan cars due to the statement from their leader claiming if car prices come down, the dealers will lose money, gomen will lose billions in revenue bla bla bla..so pro BN

• shawal on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:04 am

my friend’s teana couldn’t start n it was 7 days old
    preve’s combined cycle 6.6L/100km …all d bells and whistle n 205nm of torque , think about it …. bt preve got rust problems in d exhaust piping n i saw some dude’s brakes…

mebe its a malaysian thing, my next car wont be made here,

• nice car but TC set unbelievable price..

• why in Malaysia only , we have car with 1 air bags,no air bags.goverment should make regulations for all car manufacturer, safety come first than ”RIGID”come on Nissan Malaysia,you are getting out off the game. 2 airbags, EBD & ABS ARE MINIMUM REQUIREMENT !!!

• i called their 1800 hotline and asked about the airbag issue. they say they got 4 spec level. lowest spec comes with one airbag. and they say Gov. does not have minimum req. on the number of airbags for a car. as a consumer i am confused whether Gov did enforce minimum 2 airbags in a car or not? someone please highlight tq

• nazri on Sep 07, 2012 at 4:29 pm

if I’m not mistaken ALL cars that assemble in malaysia must have 2 airbags

• Sparcov on Sep 08, 2012 at 1:58 am

This car is selling around Qatar riyal 65K in Qatar. 4 speed auto, no auto climate control, no chrome interior, steel rim and as basic spec. Made in india.

QAR 65K approximately around RM 58K

So compare with Malaysia, the taxes aren’t high impose to this car if selling at RM 70K

Nissan cars is a lot in the middle east country due to its reliability.

• Who the hell said single airbag is enough plus the chassis is rigid to withstand front & side impact??? TCM didn’t even mention that, this quote is fake.

• Kharti on Sep 09, 2012 at 2:02 pm

I can’t believe Nissan. The Teana, forgive her not so snazzy looks, does give you a majestic ride and you forget what she looks like. But for a very long time now Nissan has failed to produce a head turner. At a time where Honda and Toyota made epic failures (IMHO) with their latest Accord and Camry, I hoped Nissan would capitalize with the Altima, but that car and this, have failed…

Sad, as they make amazingly reliable engines..(for that price range)

• TranmissionHead on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:40 pm

When it comes to transmission the Korean are better equipped,Kia Forte and Hyundai from Elantra to Sonata all has 6 speed auto transmission. What happen to your brains of TCIM and Nissan to give us malaysian 4 speeds auto. they are the worst unwise policy makers to come out from Tan Chong and Nissan. wake up!

• Malaysian only deserve to “EXPERIENCE THE POWER” of fugly car like this with reduced SPECS in order to get a “REASONABLE” price.

• Proton Fan on Sep 19, 2012 at 10:57 am

Saga BLM looks way better than this. Nuff said.

• nashrevo on Sep 22, 2012 at 11:17 pm

Like a ship! The cabin were not fit with that small wheels. Try harder next time Nissan!

• Debacle on Sep 23, 2012 at 3:27 am

The back one looks like d old elantra to me.Who designed this car?Pathetic!Fugliest car i have ever seen!

• everybody has their own taste..eventhough the car is ugly…but for them it is perfect…dont judge the book by it cover…belum cuba belum tau…gelak!

• Hoyhoysum on Oct 18, 2012 at 5:59 pm

I have seen the car in paradigm mall. It looks big for its size and executive like. However as like history TC loves to put in local parts that is not up to standard. The first thing to fail definitely is the local part. Trust me i have been a user of Datsun/Nissan car since i started my first job. Upon opening the bonnet really disgusting. Take a look at the stand that prop up the bonnet. It is a n shape stand instead of a u stand. The saleslady have problem propping up the bonnet. If misplaced, the bonnet will crush your hand or fingers. For RM80K they offer wet based lead acid batteries instead of sealed lead acid batteries. This what we can see but what about parts that cannot be seen…

• Nissan selling a junk~~ Better than Proton.

Proton angkat pergi POTONG.

Proton mechanic said beter dont buy Preve, Preve is the worst car in current market because engine and suspensions hell lot of problems.

Proton mechanic said beli KIA FORTE lagi baik.

• Ibraka on Oct 28, 2012 at 10:21 pm

TCM is trying to grap the market for sedan car since they had lost for most of the luxury car to other conpetitors.
    Suprised, TCM us still produced old version of engine technology especially gear box / transmission… Others competitors us now comes with cvt plus more advance tech.

• HengChoon on Oct 31, 2012 at 6:50 pm

I tested the new Almera today at SS15. My impressions are it drive quite nicely. Noise wise, not so bad, better than Proton Preve especially for passengers. Handling was ok but the Almera cannot corner as well as Preve. Comfort is ok. Which is better?
    It is a tossed up. If you like grip, Preve is the obvious answer. But overall, comfort wise and cabin, Almera is better.

• The 4 speed AT used in Almera may sound old tech but they are of new design. Lighter, compact and 32% less friction. If the transmission oil is changed timely and using geniue oil the torque convertor type AT is robustand will last >150,000km. Remember the Honda’s problem on their 1st CVT on in their City model??. They had to go back to normal AT – although it is 5 speed.

The 1.5litre engine looks under power, but consider that Almera is 200kg lighter than Grand Livina or Forte, they are optimally matched to ensure enough hp for driveability and also being economical.

With petrol price likely to go up in future and the pending installation of the 800 unit AES speed & red light junction camera – it will be pointless to hanker for more hp. Most of us driver, would then, gladly (and had to) settled for space, reliability, economy and good ride & comfort.

• nissan almera full spec impul version was very sporty.

• Daniel on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:11 pm

The interior is ugly..

• terry on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:04 pm

when i think of TC workshop condition and appalling after sales service,i raise both hands (walk away)

• xoomie on Feb 13, 2013 at 10:11 am

Renault’s version of Almera
    http://renault.co.in/cars/Scala/overview.html

• KAMAL on Feb 16, 2013 at 9:26 pm

I bought a grand livina in 2008. There was a lot of noise when it went along uneven road surfaces… Once I drove my friend persona.. The ride comfort was so much better. Early this year I sold the Livina and settle for K5.. I never thought that the Koreans have improved tremendously!! Very quiet..roomy and the built quality is so much better!! I think it’s time for the Japanese to start worrying about their neighbour.

• samlok on Mar 16, 2013 at 7:46 am

4 speed GB is good IMHO not old but matured tech i would say

• in and out look ugly, just wonder still lot of people buying it….i think people buy brand rather then buying something look great like Korean car.

• ben10 on Apr 10, 2013 at 9:48 am

Saya baru menggunakan almera dlm 2 mgu,
    so far semuanya ok.fc, cabin space, handling. walaupun xshebat mana.just nice tuk city driving. but, last week 1st time saya masuk plus. dr renggam ke skudai. saya terkejut perasan yang kenderaan saya kekiri kekanan walaupon steering saya kekal.approx 100km/j.the next day, cuti then bawak g workshop, dia highlight i just normal case sebab logistic issue dr kilang ke dealer. then dia suggest tgu milaege 1000km then servis biasa..
    Pendapat saya: Jgn ambil ringan issue ni! pihak TC sepatutnya pastikan tahap QC btul2 baru releasekan pada customer. then is it logistic boleh buatkan balancing/alingment lari? just angkat bawak and turun lori je maa….

• Norman on Apr 23, 2013 at 8:17 am

Beside the so call fuel sipper quality is yet to much to ask for.I just use the Almera for 3 months and door hinges make a squeak sound ocassionally.Guess Thai and Japan still a world apart.My previous Waja CPS doesn’t give much problem than this.Gearbox also sucks to the core

• thunderkitten on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:17 pm

I only wish Almera had DRL, foldable rear seats, sunroof and disc brakes. too bad korean cars have a bad reputation when it comes to resale value and maintenance costs, otherwise i’d just replace my proton with a forte or rio. i’m not sure what’s happening with japanese car designers but koreans seem to be designing ‘prettier’ cars. i’d either have to make do with Almera VL or wait for new City to be launched next year. New vios (high spec ones) looks as though it’s going to be overpriced.

• SUIB SAMPAH on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:16 am

ACTUALY..ALMERA FROM TAIWAN..NOT FROM JAPAN