Nissan Almera with Impul bodykit to join the range

The Nissan Almera is closer to its official launch now, and the Nissan Malaysia Facebook page has just posted up this image of a bodykitted Almera with the caption “Coming up… Exclusive preview for Nissan Malaysia Facebook Fans”. Perhaps a “sporty” version will be offered when the car is officially revealed?

The bodykit in the sketch shows a new grille with the Impul logo, front bumper extension, side skirts, rear skirt with diffuser-style element and a spoiler on the boot.

As a recap, the Malaysian-assembled Almera will debut in 1.5 litre form, the DOHC and CVTC equipped four-pot making 102 PS and 139 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. It’s mated to either a five-speed manual or a four-speed automatic gearbox. We know of three trim levels for now – E, V and VL.

Full details and more Almera reading can be had here (official ETCM preview) and here (a short drive at Tan Chong’s Serendah test track).

UPDATE: We now have more details on the Impul bodykit. The Impul front grille goes for RM800, while the Impul Aerokit consisting of front and rear bumper spoilers, side skirts and a rear wing spoiler will cost you RM3,000 inclusive of installation and painting.

That’s not all that’s available from Impul – the Impul Blast 2 Exhaust Muffler for the Almera is priced at RM1,800, and an Impul sport suspension that lowers the vehicle by 25mm will cost you RM2,800.

Two different alloy wheels are available – the 16 inch HS-06 in matte silver and black for RM4,000 and 17 inch SX-20 in black and polish finish for RM4,600.

Full details in the brochure scan included in our gallery below.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• koochai on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:11 pm

ALMERA IMPUL
    another “sport” car for “driving enthusiast”
    borrowing SAF then popular phrase…
    to knock VIOS TRD SPORTIVO off their perch…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Bimmer on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:34 pm

First thing that comes to my mind seeing the picture is American NASCAR.

It is remakable to see how a body kit can change the look from hideous to sporty looking like the Almera or vice versa like Camry.

• mentari-o-korea on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Those like typical early 2000 year body kit, outdated!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Nobody on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Dear Danny,

I think it should be CVTC, not VTC. Thanks.

• vee-oh on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:39 pm

wah can fight Vios TRD…both got dugong look,ok what

• _xXx_ on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:51 pm

ok, 50hp added. Top speed higher by 80 kph…

• yet another example of how the japs are losing its confidence and battle to the european automakers in terms of tech and R&D. check laa what they came out with…a cheap filthy looking low tech uni IQ insignificantly useless and boring skirting only. fuhhh…. just compare to the tech like the Ford’s 1.0 litre ecoboost, VW1.4 tsi and the upcoming BMW 3cylinder turbo with 180hp!! and that is like a kancil type of engine laa. that’s what i call R&D. not another el cheapo tech like this which any kedai kereta can fix or copy! wake up msians!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Driver on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:57 pm

I understand there are many tech available (turbo diesel, EV) , but not much is applicable to malaysia due to different fuel standard/other environmental limitation. The fancy tech comes with fancy price tag as well… Not related to R&D.

• pitythepoor on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:19 pm

this car was designed and build for 3rd world….european dont and seldom build car for 3rd world country…
      with mindset like you…nowonder the japanese or even the korean dont bring their 1st world selling product here….

• kits not bad, but the so called sport rims really bit disgusting…

• ligolend on Oct 15, 2012 at 5:13 pm

prefer TC’s Lego car :-D

• Style over substance!
    Car sellers repeatedly insult our intelligence!

• yusri on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:42 pm

nice bodykits…

• the bodykits instantly add 80hp and 30Nm more torque

• matrxe on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:28 pm

the bodykit should come as standard as the original one desperately need some make over. But i’ll keep the original grill on thank you.

• DArkerMarker on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:11 pm

All show, but no go……

I bet fuel consumption gets worst, becoz of the weight of the kit…

• Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:15 am

Pity Hyundai and Kia salesrep. When this car is launched, they can forget about meeting their quota for the next 3 quarters

• Lovelike. Batter la from vios or city… even swift. Looks a bit luxury+sporty. 1.5dohc perfect for malaysian. Since A.E.S operation. If u have 1.8 or 2.0 car.. u can only run 80-110km per hour.. wut for. Nice 1 nissan.

• Sazali on Mar 27, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Back look like a dog tail between its legs.

• sawanbabi on Apr 18, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Those who comment like u know about car a lot.why dont u make one this almera not bad for malaysian.

• impul tetek rim on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:04 am

wtf?? Impul using sohai tetek fake wheels??
    diu nia seng, that wheels similar to those sohai tetek fake wheels sell at tyre shop la… knn
    at least choose something better like TE37/CE28/etc

• smhew on Mar 22, 2014 at 7:50 am

Original impul bodykit for almera,is pu or abs material…

• Edwin Untalan on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Greetings..sir good day..may i know how can i order one?i am from Philippines and i am using an almera.and one would looks good on my almera.