Nissan Almera debuts in Australia; identical drivetrain figures to Malaysia – a hint of what to expect then?

The Nissan Almera has made its market debut in Australia, available in three variant forms – ST manual, ST automatic and Ti automatic. In terms of powertrain figures, the Oz car is a dead ringer to what we’ll be getting here, with the HR15DE 1.5 litre engine offering 102 PS and 139 Nm for numbers. Likewise, transmission choices are a five-speed manual and four-speed automatic.

Among the standard kit on the Oz Almera are a Bluetooth hands-free phone system and four-speaker audio system with MP3 playback/auxiliary input jack. Also, the range-topping Almera Ti has rear park assist on top of the intelligent keyless entry and push-button engine start found also on our car, so perhaps you can expect to see most of the abovementioned kit on our top-spec’d Almera.

There’s ABS with EBD and brake assist as well, and to comply with Australian safety regulations, the Almera has Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and a complement of six airbags (dual front, side and curtain airbags), available across the entire range, although it is expected that the Malaysian Almera probably won’t get so many airbags.

Meanwhile, we’ll leave you with a selection of photos of the Oz car, including shots of the interior.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• flower on Aug 27, 2012 at 7:10 pm

I think i knw how the spec goes already… 2 bags, and no VSC -_-..

• oblong on Aug 28, 2012 at 8:31 am

Correct. To comply with Malaysian safety standard which require minimum 2 airbags only, stability control is OPTIONAL (only Manufacturer/Distributor can tick that option to be equip or not to be hehehe!)

• Desmond on Aug 27, 2012 at 7:42 pm

impossible that we get bluetooth in Almera..

• the 4 speed gearbox is boring and nothing surprise.

• Kelvin on Aug 27, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Design disaster.

• Merc=Real Euro on Aug 27, 2012 at 9:23 pm

How much in Australia again????…..

• Drive-away price is AUD $19468 for manual and AUD $21541 for Auto for Western Australia.

http://www.nissan.com.au/webpages/models/Almera_model.html#/pricing

Key in postcode number: 6000 for Western Australia.

• Jimmy on Aug 27, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Lead the market in terms of volume, but technology wise, the 2nd from bottom. Nissan is at least better.

• Augustine on Aug 27, 2012 at 11:53 pm

i like this car a lot after viewing it at queensbay mall. the pricing also nice, but 102 ps is a bit underpowered for it’s size, do you agree?

• Nissan Rainy on Aug 28, 2012 at 12:11 am

A lot cheaper in Australia……….

• passerby on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:08 am

what is so boring about 4 speed auto box? there is always the RM100k+ DSG equipped Volks or CVT auto boxes from other bigger cars if you don’t mind the risk of a shorter life gearbox vs the more mechanically reliable torque-converter auto box. there is also other CVT boxes from Honda City. i think it is really a very simple formulae; if you are paying RM80k for an auto vehicle; I don’t want to spend RM150-200 for an auto CVVT oil change every 15k or 20k milleage versus the 4-EAT gearboxes.

• PannyLurve on Aug 28, 2012 at 9:22 am

auto CVVT oil?

I think what you mean is the CVTF (CVT Fluid). I owned Honda before but the cost of CVT oil change wasn’t that pricey. I bought genuine Honda’s CVTF at auto shop (about RM75 for 3 liter if I’m not mistaken). Labour cost was RM10 to RM15. Thats all.

But if we change at Honda SC, definitely it will be more costly (Honda’s labour charge is RM60 per hour, as stated in their website).

I agree with you regarding the 4 speed. I’m okay with old technology as long as it reliable. I would like to avoid CVT but Honda’s Earthdream is only focus on enhancement of CVT, not the torque-converter auto box. Which make me quite disappointed.

• gelen on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:16 am

if you do service at mechanic bawah pokok then your waranty will be void

• malaysiamah on Aug 28, 2012 at 9:50 am

malaysian wants everything yet cheap in price…or better give them free….

• C_Optra on Aug 28, 2012 at 11:29 am

Hello, new Honda City is not using CVT but a normal 5 speed automatic gb.. please clarify!

• tokmoh on Aug 28, 2012 at 12:10 pm

Normal torque-converter auto box also need replacing la, it’s called ATF.

The boring thing about 4 speed auto is it’s not the most efficient gbox today.

The Thais get the 1.2L with CVT, claimed to achieve 20km/L, compared to the spec we’re getting claimed to achieve 14.9km/L only.

• dodde on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:13 am

really? auto gear box is more superior to cvt that can have 100 gears

• i think cvt oil change is longer than 15k@20k. It supposed to be around 60k@100k change interval. I dunno whether cvt is not relaible enough coz i think its much improve nowadays on reliability side.

• n many jdm cars even toyota n honda used cvt as their trans. I also dont think they r supplying unreliable trans to their own people. Go figure.

• We don’t hear you complaining about gearbox speed when Proton was still offering 3 auto speed.

• Ha Gnih on Aug 28, 2012 at 9:21 am

Seriously think its ugly both inside and out. Urgh !!!

• The Enthusiast on Aug 28, 2012 at 10:16 am

Centre console looks silly

• GibKor on Aug 28, 2012 at 10:44 am

Seriously very very UGLY. Joining those utterly ugly and lousy models from Toyota (Avanza, Vios Dugong and new Camry)

• Kouper on Aug 28, 2012 at 11:03 am

The intake manifold location is awkward, no? Seem like will heat up the air before going into engine. “to improve combustion” perhaps?

• Exterior look like Dugong and Boring interior

• Ang AngAng on Aug 28, 2012 at 11:39 am

Sori…boycott Nissan cars for stupidity in NOT agreeing car price down. Also, this model is Made In China!!! The cost of vehicle shld be damn cheap. Why are they selling at sky roof???

• durkheim on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:39 pm

You should ask why are they not selling at Proton price or even give it for free????? By the way, what is your definition of sky roof???? More importantly is whether you are getting what you expect.

• MANUAL… yea!!!

• matjoe on Aug 28, 2012 at 12:27 pm

ada manual. good one

• CheeKai on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Nissan Note JDM… Almera hatchback version. Don’t worry, it will never make way to Bolehland.

http://autoc-one.jp/nissan/note/newmodel-1163391/

• omg..that round thingy console is absurd!

• Bad people on Aug 28, 2012 at 3:38 pm

the exterior is very ugly!

• AU price is still cheaper than malaysia price!!!
    70k vs 85k for AT

• cover the nissan badge,and you see the front its a vios….lol