Lexus CT200h F Sport variant launched – RM207k

UPDATE: Lexus Malaysia called to inform us that the wheels on the CT200h F Sport specified for Malaysia is a 16-inch version, and not the 17-incher as found in many markets. It’s still a dark-finish type unit.

Lexus Malaysia has announced that a third variant of the CT200h hybrid has joined the ZWA10R lineup in the country – the F Sport version finally arrives in town, priced at RM206,877 on-the-road with insurance.

The car, which made its debut two years ago in Sydney, features external styling enhancements made up of a bodykit and 16-inch dark-finish alloy wheels. Elements include new aero-styled front and rear bumpers, a mesh front grille, a larger rear spoiler and flared side skirts.

Inside, there’s an F-Sport steering wheel with a flat bottom section, as well as aluminium pedals and scuff plates. Also on, a sportier suspension (as found on the CT200h Luxury variant, according to Lexus Malaysia) featuring coils with revised spring rates and uprated Kayaba shocks.

No mechanical changes in store – the F Sport utilises the same 2ZR-FXE 1.8 Atkinson cycle four-cylinder petrol block and rear-mounted electric-drive motor/generator system, with an electronically-controlled CVT driving the front wheels.

Aside from the introduction of the CT200h F Sport, Lexus Malaysia has also announced that the CT200h base and CT200h Luxury versions have received some kit upgrades. The CT200h now features power folding mirrors as well as Bluetooth functionality in its audio system. It continues to be priced at RM168,000.

As for the CT200h Luxury, the RM202,899 offering now comes with a four-way power adjustment driver’s seat (replete with three seat position memory setting) and a DVD player with the Lexus Premium 10-speaker audio system. Also new, a hard-disk GPS navigation system with an Electro Multi Vision (EMV) screen.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jab, strong, fierce! on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:00 am

Other that being superficially enhanced, I wonder if Lexus did tweak this version of CT200h in the performance department to give it a much deserved boost. 0-100km in 10.3 seconds is too slow to crown this as a F-Sport variant, period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • neutral on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:12 am

so this is a car that cost 56k AUD…about 175k RM in Australia (with Australian tax) and about 30-40k USD…about 92k RM…for top of the line CT200h….in Malaysia, despite being entitled for 100% hybrid tax exemption…UMW managed to price the top of the line CT200h at 207k RM…GREAT!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
  • ben yap on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:15 am

not worth the additional RM40K price increase from the baseline. Lexus just throw in some goodies that in total value cost less than RM40K.

If i want a lexus hybrid, i will go directly for the baseline and save that RM40K for better use (maybe to replace the battery in future).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • kiddo on Oct 03, 2012 at 7:46 am

for the extra money, you get LED headlamps, a 7” display, Remote Touch system, Lexus Premium Audio and better suspension(because of tuned settings and the Yamaha Lateral Dampers).

I’d definitely get the Luxury version if I’m eyeing on one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • seancorr on Oct 03, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Always get the higher spec if one were to shop for a car…but Lexus Malaysia could have done better and offer more goodies in their Luxury and F-Sport version. Keyless entry and tyre pressure monitoring system included would be good.

• MknDuitRakyat. Haram. on Oct 03, 2012 at 4:10 am

Its MITI who controlled the car price in malaysia. Damn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • I agree with Ben Yap, Lexus throw in some goodies that is not worth of extra 40k. May be the extra 40K because of the additional name of “F Sport”.
    I am expecting the price is somewhere near the baseline because hybrid is 100% tax exemption. This is merely a profit margin by the seller.

• Davinnci on Oct 03, 2012 at 7:03 pm

The plate of F SPORT worth 32k, the rest of goodies cost 8k nia. LOL

• confused on Oct 03, 2012 at 8:10 am

LOL now only equipped with Bluetooth and power-folding side mirrors.. So, previous buyer owns an expensive car without these two very basic feature?

Nice con job, UMW.

• shawal on Oct 03, 2012 at 8:20 am

168k n only now receives power folding mirrors…?
    thats just sad…

• james on Oct 03, 2012 at 8:34 am

Hmm… does anyone know what it the maintenance cost for the car?
    The battery should last about 400,000km right?

• optimus on Oct 03, 2012 at 9:17 am

ct200h rm168k?
    no wonder i see so many on the road.

• kimikira on Oct 03, 2012 at 5:31 pm

that not only main reason, thank to our 9 year installment

• sorry. there have been no battery replacement for any hybrids made by Toyota and Lexus due to ageing.

also, car prices in Malaysia are always wrong and it just the way it is. make a change this election.

in fact, this car is the same price as the Nissan Murano, 320i, C180, audi a4 and Mini Cooper JCW around the world. i dont see you guys saying that their distributors sucking up all the profit(even with taxes factored in)?

time to make a change people. vote or die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • MrDDR on Oct 21, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Murano , 320i, C180, audi A4 and JCW all have tax but not this ct200h. All money from examption is going to Toyota pocket instead of rakyat

• Ongtk on Oct 03, 2012 at 10:23 am

UMW-Toyota should throw in a GPS Navigation System for the face lift Prius too! Since I purchased the car in February, all my enquiries to Toyota have received a standard reply “we will consider your suggestion for future”.

• llgriver on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:23 am

What is this animal? a sheep in wolf’s clothing?

• matlimmutu on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:13 pm

UMW manyak untung woooo!!

• How much you can buy 320i and C200? 240k and 272k? So, 173k (on the road) for CT200h is reasonable. CT200h at par with 320i and C200.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • seancorr on Oct 03, 2012 at 5:51 pm

It should be almost on par with the 320i and C200 if you compare with the Luxury version and not the kosong spec version. Both German cars have much more firepower on the road and both front seats are electronic with memory compare to the Lexus but the Lexus has 2 features which are the nav and the premium sound system

• cosmo on Oct 03, 2012 at 5:51 pm

nice said :)

• UMW the money sucking company where a 100% tax exemption is given for Hybrid…they still can price it up to 200k. Brovo!

• From USA website, the price range:
    CT200 US29k~US31.6k here RM200k+
    Prius C USD19.4k~23.6k here RM90k+
    CRZ USD20.4k~24.4k here RM120k+
    Insight USD19.3~24.4k here RM99k+

Since all the above are Hybrid with duty free status, if we take Prius C and Insight as fair price, the price ratio is approx 4 (usd to RM x3; transport, AP = x 1)
    Mean HONDA Malaysia make more profit for CRZ (ratio is 5); but LEXUS make crazy profit (ratio is 7)!

Anyone know the background?

• From USA website, the price range:
    CT200 US29k~US31.6k here RM200k+
    Prius C USD19.4k~23.6k here RM90k+
    CRZ USD20.4k~24.4k here RM120k+
    Insight USD19.3~24.4k here RM99k+

Since all the above are Hybrid with duty free status, if we take Prius C and Insight as fair price, the price ratio is approx 4 (usd to RM x3; transport, AP = x 1)
    Mean HONDA Malaysia make more profit for CRZ (ratio is 5); but LEXUS make crazy profit (ratio is 7)!

Anyone know the background?

• ahmadfaris93 on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:08 am

Sports… cool story bro. I’d rather buy a Ford Focus ST if I had the money

• Lexus’s road handling is better than bmw. Its handling is at par with audi. Do not believe? Go for test drive and you will believe me.

• baharijo on Mar 17, 2013 at 3:50 am

how much in S’pore lah? also change