Lexus CT200h hybrid hatchback hits Malaysian shores: the most affordable Lexus under RM200k

Lexus Malaysia has introduced the CT 200h to its local lineup, and the hybrid brings the number of models available in the Malaysian stable to seven.

The five-door hatchback, which is made in Kyushu, Japan, rolls in wearing a “hybrid luxury compact” tag, and though it’s powered by the same the same powertrain combination as found on the ZVW30 Prius, the ZWA10R is slotted in as a more upmarket offering compared to its Toyota sibling.

As mentioned in an earlier report about its impending arrival, the CT 200h is available in two guises, standard and Luxury, with a fair amount of items on the kit list to separate the two.

Common equipment to both variants are perforated leather seats (with seat heaters), dual-zone air conditioning and cruise control. Safety-wise, there’s a host of stuff – ABS, BA, VSC, TRC and EBD, as well as eight airbags and rear seat Isofix points, and both versions of the car come wearing the same wheel, which is a 16-incher wrapped with 205/55 series tyres.

The standard CT 200h, priced at RM168,000 without insurance, comes with a CD-player/six-speaker audio system, with USB/auxiliary port connectivity, halogen headlamps and manual adjustment for both driver and front passenger seats.

Going the Luxury route, which brings the price to RM196,500 (again without insurance), bags a six-disc in-dash CD-changer/10-speaker entertainment system, replete with Bluetooth connectivity and a high performance DSP eight-channel, full-range class D amplifier, twin LED low beam lamps – along with arrowhead-shaped daytime running lamps – and eight-way powered adjustment for the driver’s seat.

Speaking of LEDs, here’s something for the trivia fans; the CT 200h has the largest number of external LEDs yet fitted to a Lexus model, 89 in total.

The Luxury version also gets smart entry, an Electro Multi Vision (EMV) screen, rain sensing wipers and a rear reverse camera, a Lexus navigation system and Remote Touch multi-function controller, as well as a unique lateral performance damper system that make for a more linear steering feel and enhanced ride comfort.

The CT 200h is powered by a 2ZR-FXE 1.8 litre Atkinson cycle petrol block developing 98 hp at 5,200 rpm and 142 Nm at 4,000 rpm and tuned for RON 95 fuel. Together with a permanent magnet synchronous motor/168-cell NiMh electric drivetrain offering 80 hp and 207 Nm, the total combined output is 134 hp, identical to the Prius.

Other numbers include a competitive 375 litres of luggage capacity for the boot, which goes up to 985 litres with the rear seats folded down.

The CT 200h comes with a choice of seven exterior colours, of which two – Fire Agate Mica Metallic and Flare Yellow Mica Metallic – have been specially developed for the car and are available only with the Luxury version.

Lexus Malaysia is aiming to sell around 800 units of the CT 200h this year, and ordering one now will see you getting delivery sometime in June. Look after the jump for a full live photo gallery from the launch in the brand’s Mutiara Damansara flagship outlet.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1992]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Malaysia Bull..eh! on Feb 26, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Still…its expensive!!

• eeeriz on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:10 pm

If it’s too expensive, better buy Prius or Civic Hybrid. It’s cheaper. However it’s still not the same league as Lexus. Read the words above ‘rolls in wearing a “hybrid luxury compact” tag’..

• Commoner on Feb 26, 2011 at 7:33 pm

That’s the best thing you can do. Why don’t you work hard and earn more money if you envy this?

• jalan54 on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm

With those kind of money, I can get many cars with more features. Toyota is trying to earn more money with the badge of Lexus. Come on, RM170k without a xenon light, rain sensor???

• mini cooper freak on Feb 26, 2011 at 9:48 pm

Nowadays, many people could afford such price tags….. No offence.

• its still a TOYOTA!!!

• VIGOSS on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:49 am

its still HYBRID ..

• Manfred on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:24 am

It is a rebadge “luxury” edition of prius.
            Dunno whether it also “equip” with “auto acceleration” like prius or not…
            Haha… It silly to pay such price for a “toyota” engine.

• under 200k is already a bargain for a Lexus….come on it’s a LEXUS!!!

• Thanks

• nolan on Feb 26, 2011 at 4:47 pm

nice…..luxury with acceptable price tag…..

• Zaff1984 on Feb 26, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Nice… Now, GTi vs CT200h..?

• imbarabbit on Feb 26, 2011 at 5:11 pm

This is good. I’m liking it. It is an affordable Lexus, like finally. Sad many would not be buying one as they could choose the cheaper Prius, Civic Hybrid or the CR-Z (that’s if Honda is bringing them in)

• VW_fans on Feb 26, 2011 at 5:14 pm

LED low beam lamps, meaning is it “xenon” look alike or halogen look alike light? Never see this type of lights. Pls share ur knowledge with us, thanks!

• Gavin on Feb 26, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Lexus IS 220d over this any time

• Erwan Billy on Feb 26, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Test drive the car just now. Back seat is a little cramp

• 6n24ino6tx on Feb 26, 2011 at 5:23 pm

atleast a good seating in these car and the compact’s fabulous!

• scoobylution on Feb 26, 2011 at 5:24 pm

better buy mazda 3 mps. similar design.

• Mazda 3mps is longer than this and most important it’s not hybrid.

• hmm.. yea.. Mazda3 mps is not hybrid is a very good selling point and handles better according to some review availabe online. But this lexus baby just look really attractive.

• Manfred on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:32 am

I think BMW 1 series handling is definely better than both japs made.
      at end of the day ppl still shout “WOW BM!” rather than “mazda!” Or “lexus”
      no offence here

• edzurin on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:26 pm

beemer or volks….continental is the best, no offence to japs model but that’s a fact

• jason on Feb 26, 2011 at 5:28 pm

I want it!!!!

• sivaji the boss on Feb 26, 2011 at 5:29 pm

really stunning, but yet still expensive… maybe can consider if around civic 2.0 price tag, hah3.

• dodgeviper on Feb 26, 2011 at 5:32 pm

What a rip off, in UK the top spec sells for RM155,000 (31,000GBP) and it comes with a Mark Levinson sound system. Can anyone clarify if the Malaysian luxury version comes with a Mark Levinson sound system? That option itself is worth at at least RM10k. Someone’s making a lot of money here.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:28 pm

There’s no ML audio system on the CT 200h here.

• Jimmy on Feb 26, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Why don’t you go and ask UMW? But, you will one day for sure, like UMW, mengampu bodek pelanggan yang fussy, and bully those who are more naive/chin-chai, when you become tauke, right? I am glad I am not like you, greedy businessmen. No potong-leher in my dictionary.

• Yes, is a rip off. You can tell from the plastic from toyota, japan is exporting this for malaysia only. Check out OZ version, very diff.

Just compare grey importer J spec Vs Malaysia full spec IS250
      very diff….

• Honda lover on Feb 26, 2011 at 5:48 pm

what will be an acceptable price for you? RM100K? Then you go for Honda Insight.. Don’t ever think of LEXUS!!!

• kelah on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:06 pm

nice colors…
    forget the hybrid
    better get mazda 3 mps… hahaha

• shawal on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:15 pm

well, if you can afford it , flaunt it ….
    But from the rear it looks too square , looks like a breadvan…

• peeps on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:21 pm

200k consider reasonble. interior looks good… exterior look nice with all the updated styling.. the only thing was abit small. very compact

• RumahNo9 on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:59 pm

I think for Malaysia if you consider luxury car. Only 2 brands Mercs and Bimmer. I will consider to increase my budget

• altezza on Feb 26, 2011 at 7:47 pm

if saying mercs and bimmer is the only luxury car in malaysia is just plain old people saying… nowaday is a lot more.. audi and lexus become more popular..

• Merc's boss on Feb 26, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Audi and Lexus are competing with Volvo. Double Bs are one level higher.

• Jimmy on Feb 26, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Yes, especially Merc. No need to argue with them. I wonder how much their incomes are.
          BTW, add just a little bit more you can get BMW 1, X1 or BMW 3, with more prestige and more mature technology(fully petrol). Hybrid is a half-cooked technology. You can look back this statement in 10-year time.
          For me, I will really look down on him who has this car parking beside another one car in his garage, if the other car is not MERC or BMW. You get what I mean?

• LOL i am not paying 300+ K for a 1.8L turbo engine … thats insane

• Gerzit on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:40 am

Lol..”if the other car is not MERC or BMW” You get what I mean?.i think u’re really like the plain old people…didn’t even know how to advance ur point of the view with the time changes…stayed or dormant at one point for more than five decades perhaps…parked a new audi A4 or Lexus IS isn’t at the same class and or prestigious as the merc or bimmer? Another example Parking an Audi RS4 or Is-F beside the M3 and C63 will make them one class below? What about A8, Jaguar Xj,LS, Quattroporte…are they all a class below in the eyes of public,as they are not ur called “Merc or Bimmer” prestigious?

• Exactly

BMW and Mercedes SUCK nowadays .

There are so many type of luxury brands to choose in the market nowadays that are much better compare than any Mercedes and BMW .

Do you know Mercedes and BMW are used as Taxis in Germany and Spain ?

Where is the Prestige for Mercedes and BMW ?

I think those ppl who says Mercedes and BMW are Prestige and Luxury ought to have their brains examine or perhaps living under the COCONUT SHELL !!

• wk loh on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:02 pm

Oliv… do u know in europe… merc taxi rate??? have u ever been take a ride in tis merc taxi b4??? it i premium taxi… euro80 for 20min ride distance!!!
            i took it fr red light district in amsterstam to hotel!

• Manfred on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:50 am

Oliv, facts still facts, we cant go against the market perception.
            i agree to some extend audi is a luxury car. But not lexus, it seems lk this baby lexus losing lexus identity by sharing same engine like prius. Doing so, sooner or later lexus will become cheap car.
            Unlike Audi and VW, they segregated their models very well…

• Volvo the china brand r? better compare those to VW lor.. Audi and Lexus is winning the sales in a lot of country over the Beamer and Ben..

• volvo is scandinavian,its just owned by a chinese company.there is a difference.I think Lexus has good sales in the US but not in europe.europeans have a lot of choices,dun think lexus makes much of an impact there.to me its just an overpriced toyota

• normal on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:37 am

I dont thin double b is one level higher, this is only perception in malaysia, if you were to go to europe, double b is used for taxi, VW and audi is the luxury car in europe

• ayamxxx on Feb 26, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Got gps or not for this car?

• Motorists to pay higher insurance premiums next year.

source: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/2/26/nation/8143874&sec=nation

• fuel cell phone on Feb 26, 2011 at 9:09 pm

imho, suitable for those who could fork out additional 30k and get this over the prius, seems like a good bargain, with all the extra goodies ;-)

• pity those who bought the overpriced prius for 170k last time…

• ntah.. on Feb 26, 2011 at 10:33 pm

heated seats? Emm, I don’t think we need that..

• adehhh on Feb 26, 2011 at 10:35 pm

aka overpriced toyota?

• nabill on Feb 26, 2011 at 11:06 pm

this hybrid thing is the most BS i ever seen in motor industry….if ur jus naive abt everything then ya u mite be convinced , bt read abit about it and its jus offers nothing other more efficient petrol/diesel alternative dont offer….

• Jimmy on Feb 27, 2011 at 12:01 am

YES.
      And just wait and see whether G will waive the tax for fully electric cars next time, esp when there is no election.

• imbarabbit on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:18 am

i know the prius is imported from the south to west to the east and to us. i did not follow the order but i suppose you get the picture. unless jeremy clarkson lied to his audiences about hybrid cars. it leaves more carbon footprint compared to normal cars.

if you want good mileage, be a good driver. don’t cucuk, don’t speed, check tires pressure regularly, etc. etc. or get a 320d or golf tsi. it’s that simple. who needs a hybrid.

• test drive this evening…nice to drive when u switch to power mode…eco mode doesnt feel that nice…but overall, the car is awesome…

• jolly_idiot on Feb 27, 2011 at 12:24 am

An uprated Toyota Hybrid that carries a different logo. Lexus? Uprated price tag too.

• peYno on Feb 27, 2011 at 12:44 am

Come on Najib, your policy for duty-free hybrid car is misuse by T & H!

this 2 pirate are bringing tonne of hybrid car to kill our local industry! stop this insane please!

prfttttt

• the gov always say every need pay how many mil for the low oil price lost , come on , put the money to selling this hybrid car below 100k , even taiwan only selling RM 140k .
    dun bluff ur ppl say no tax for it . i will very happy to drive this , and i dun care the oil price follow the market price

• hope the sime darby will also bring in the sonata hybrid..

• Wisdom on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:43 am

Your statement was even more BS…

KERS, regen-braking, auto-off engine, all are the ways to extract wasted energy from conventional car design.

Typical petrolhead…..

• Frank on Feb 27, 2011 at 5:00 am

Checked out and test drive the car today. looks nice inside and out but Feels underpowered as the car weights bout 1500kg. wonder how it drives up to genting fully loaded? claims combined cycle petrol consumption is 33km/L??

“Hybrid LUXURY compact” is really BS, shame on you Lexus for not including powered adjustments for drivers seat and for FOLDING of the side mirrors for the standard model. How luxurious can that be??? should have ommited the seat heating and given the more necessary luxuries. Even more cheaper cars have this function (powered folding side mirrors). how low class and cheap can lexus get?? Malaysian consumers always get the short end of the stick but still pay super sky high prices!!

after test drive have discussion with friends and they tell me you pay $168K for a car and still need to manually fold the side mirrors. :( Can you imagine driving your friend (girl) in a so called luxurious LEXUS and need to ask them to wind down the windows to fold the side mirror when parking or going thru a tight spot and its raining ha ha . Truly shameful..!! Memalukan…!! this omission is a deal breaker….. great work u people at Lexus/UMW. HELLO….Lexus do you remember what car you are selling??

overall as a total package (internal/ external looks+hybrid) can consider but the omission of necessary luxuries, sucks.. and we have not even started talking bout warranty issue, battery/ E-Motor lifespan/ replacement cost etc.

• for all those wannabe& fake Lexus owners @ recond/2ndh and Toyota Harrier onwers
    no need to change your Toyota badge to Lexus badge while your steering column badge still shows Toyota ……

This real Lexus is really at an affordable price now. Should do well …..

• redboy on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:28 am

Will get this over Camry/Accord anytime. Some might not aware the Lexus brand, and claim its a Toyota, then why Lotus? :) Its a Proton!!

• Machi on Feb 27, 2011 at 12:23 pm

No regret sticking to my upcoming Prius…Hope to arrive soon..

• Seriously on Feb 27, 2011 at 12:28 pm

So it’s an expensive Prius basically. Damn, Toyota, at least change the specs abit and not just scratch it off a Prius.

• eurocarnut on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:19 pm

hey lexus, how come malaysia not getting the F Sport version?

• jessica on Feb 27, 2011 at 4:10 pm

i m 18yrs old n getting a car soon for college days was thinking if this car design suitable for a gal like me? i m kinda petite only 5ft 7″ 42kg…thanks..

• Developing Market on Feb 27, 2011 at 6:35 pm

I wish to draw attention to the difference between marketing in a developed economy and a developing economy like ours. In the US, Australia and even Hong Kong, the CT is sold with transmission warranty of 5 to 8 years separate from the general warranty of three years. Over here, there is no mentioned of the Warranty period in the advertisement and no one seem to care that the car is basically base on a relatively new technology. Yet over 200 units have been booked. Do we know something that the developed market do not know or do they know better than us!

• Developing Market on Feb 27, 2011 at 7:05 pm

It is a strange world we live in. In the developed market namely, US, Australia and HK, the CT is sold with a separate transmission warranty of 5 to 8 years ( this covers the costly NM battery ). Back here there is no mention of warranty period in the advertisement. It should be noted that this hybrid is sold under normal Lexus warranty period of 3 years. Why is this so? Do the buyers in the developed market know something we do not or do we know better than them and do not require extra assurances to venture into something relatively new.

• Developing Market on Feb 27, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Sorry for the double posting. I thought the earlier comment did not go through as there was a drop in my line. My appology to everyone.

• vincent on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:28 am

wow~u do hv a lot of budget…good…but a lot of car u can think about it…since ur budget is not low.

• Wh Toh,

A Taxi is always a Taxi no matter how expensive or cheap the ride may cost.

In Europe , Mercedes and BMW are used as Taxis

You cannot one perception of a car brand as we have fredom of expression and thought. Sadly each time a Mercedes or BMW passes , I label them as either a Taxi or a European Scrap as both these German cars are not true ‘ Luxury ‘ brand as perceive and brag by you as a Luxury brand in malaysia . Sad !!

If you truely wants to see a Luxury car without being a Taxi ( not limousine ) , get an Audi , Lexus , Jaguar .

Many times been to most european countries dare to comment on a Mercedes or BMW
    Taxi status.

• Saw 2 units (one Gold and one White) being test driven around Mutiara D’sara just over the wekend. Its a shame it only comes in hatchback, if Sedan I’ll grab it in a heartbeat. The 2 kids getting bigger, h/back won’t cut-it. Other than that the car is sharp..OH yeah….really bad….though I will not go for the white or gold…black or icey blue…yup nice…

• coolcar on Mar 05, 2011 at 11:13 am

How come 1.8 engine only 98 hp and the combine output is 130+hp, even toyota altis 1.8 has 130+hp from the engin alone. Is the power diverted to run or charge the batteries? I thought that happens when breaking. On highway driving, without much breaking, means that the batteries will run dry quickly?

• ZanDen on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:56 am

I booked one unit. No matter what you guys has said about this model. I choose this bcoz I want hybrid, nice design and its a lexus !

Some of you compare this with prius, insight, civic….they are in different category, so no point to compare them. Mazda MPS ? Definitely that turbo more faster, my kid also can explain !

The price yes still expensive for me, but since I am looking for hybrid, this is the best options.

But just see this eg. If people can pay recond 5-years old caldina ZT (or any recon car for example) for RM130k, why not go for brand new lexus with hybrid tech for 170k.

Anyway, who ever talk rubbish here, better go do some job …

• taking tax advantage on Mar 29, 2011 at 6:57 pm

I think govt intention on tax free is to create competitive price, to promote market awareness on hybrid technologies before local car makers such as Proton Hybrid ready. Current hybrid car will increase price once governement impose the tax back, estimate in next 2 years once Proton start selling local model. By that time, original RM170k CT200h will increase to RM250k ==> 2 years used car for the similar model around RM200 ==> profit RM30k while enjoy driving for 2 years…

• aprilcoco on Apr 26, 2011 at 7:28 am

are you a lexus salesman? price for the lexus hybrid is 30% more than other countries, so where is the real tax advantage?

• Im Malaysian too but... on Apr 16, 2011 at 11:44 am

btw its better then proton.
    if u want a cheaper car, then buy produa Alza or Proton Exora. I think it suit u.
    Lexus got their own standard
    I think their price are reasonable.

• Malaysian on Apr 22, 2011 at 10:57 am

overall a great hybrid option in malaysia,
    just the “L” logo itself pawn all hybrid car in malaysia

• aprilcoco on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:59 pm

I was expecting a lot form the CT 200h, After all it wears the Lexus badge. Peel beneath the skin, and it is a very deficient car. Luxury car owners what they want in a car, even if it is a discounted one. No bluetooth, self winding seats, no lumbar support. And it looks like it doesn’t care for the spec list when selling in Malaysia WTF – heated seats in MALAYSIA??? I was almost going to pay the RM 10 000 deposit, then my wife muttered, you’d better take it for a test drive. I stepped on the pedal, and i swear, the refinement is worse than a camry. I withdrew my deposit immediately.

• RICHARD on Jun 03, 2011 at 12:39 pm

I SURE HOPE THERE IS A LEXUS SHOWROOM IN SABAH, MALAYSIA.

• Hueiz on Jun 03, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Lexus customer service has worsen over the years. Lexus should review on the attitude of the salesperson. I have met a salesman before the launch of CT200h. You guys should attend professionalism in selling course because the way you attend customer is rude! Needless to say, your salesman never address my concern and try to challenge my view and opinion. Salesperson is not friendly at all. Even though you guys dressed smartly, but where is your courtesy and manners? Also not to be missed, please don’t look down to those who dressed casually because everyone is a potential buyer. You can’t imagine that the buyer can be an uncle in singlet with a pair of sandal! Do not judge people by its own cover. I dedicate this message to Lexus Management. Please have a post review analysis with your sales department in immediate effect. We have lost confidence to Lexus customer services.

• Tyler Durden on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Agreeable to Hueiz’s comments above. Harsh experience reminds me of nothing but unjustification. Would never purchase a Lexus as there is only one showroom in KL with the same bunch of ignorant ‘salespeople’.

• im not bias but the price is too much expensive n not worth it. The CS is unfriendly n they think lexus soo good.buy other cars. in long term buying this car is more n more expensive to maintain. i dont buy lexus but buy toyota. for me the car worth rm120k,

• This car, if not because of tax exemption, will cost you 300k.

• Steven yeo on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:34 am

Lexus ct200h is my dream car , how ever it’s too expensive and hopefully bank can drop down the interest till 0.7% per year because like this all the Malaysian will bring MALAYSIA TO GREEN THE WORLD. we hope government will take this note.

• calvin on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Lexus to be honest what I see is that they share tech with Toyota, however as we all notice is that for so many years they still using the same tech. yes indeed lexus design look more cool and stylish, but do you really want to pay 30-40% higher just to look cool and stylish. DAmm lexus is trying to brand themselves to be luxury car but its still a jap/Toyota model with diff body. really overprice for a 134hp car and share same tech to prius. hello this hybrid car so lower tax but for 168k for lowest spec, Lexus really know how to cut throat. another query I wish to ask, y jap car manufacturer always like to have a lot of range like eco & luxury for the same model with nothing changes just some add on specs, while for camry segregated by E & G, 2.0 & 2.5. really treat the consumer to be Retarded!!.

• Tyler Durden on Jun 29, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Keep calm and dont buy a Lexus then. In fact, dont bother considering a Jap-make at all.