Indonesian city plans to ban women straddling motorbikes, with only side-saddle seating allowed

saigon-motorbike

Women in Indonesia’s Lhokseumawe city could soon be banned from “riding” motorcycles as we know it. Lhokseumawe, a city in the province of Aceh, has ordered female pembonceng not to straddle motorbikes behind male riders, the BBC reports. Instead, sitting “side-saddle” on a bike is encouraged.

“When you see a woman straddle, she looks like a man. But if she sits side-saddle, she looks like a woman,” said Suaidi Yahya, mayor of Lhokseumawe, who added that the new rule aims to save people’s “morals and behaviours.”

Leaflets have been sent out to government offices and residents to inform them about the regulation. Under it, the mayor says that women passengers are only allowed to sit “side-saddle” because straddling the bike seat violates Islamic values. The local government will be evaluating the regulation in a month, after which it could turn into a by-law, Yahya added.

Not everyone agrees with the new ruling, and one of them is Jakarta-based Muslim activist Ulil Abshar Abdalla. “How to ride a motorbike is not regulated in Sharia. There is no mention of it in the Koran or Hadiths,” he said on his Twitter account, referring to the second most sacred text in Islam after the Quran.

“In a democratic country, what is claimed to be Sharia must be assessed by the public’s common sense if the government aims to turn the regulation into law,” Abdalla added. Aceh is the only province that follows Sharia in the world’s largest Muslim country.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• comrade on Jan 07, 2013 at 5:54 pm

ride motorbike on my younger days… quite difficult to control the bike if pembonceng sit side saddle…especially at corner..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • critic_A on Jan 07, 2013 at 6:09 pm

its a blog~ they can post watever they like~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • ass@nabil on Jan 07, 2013 at 6:24 pm

u narrow minded mofo, its ppl like u who start unnecessary wars. lol. its just a news, about a law regarding motorcycles, so which part of it is not automotive?

u thought automotive is all about cars? lol.
    just stfu and stop surfing the net la.
    the open internet is no place for u to play, u narrow minded mofo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 16
    • yeah. bash the makers, supporters and whoever recommended the law la.. it is dangerous to side straddle..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • “Not everyone agrees with the new ruling, and one of them is Jakarta-based Muslim activist Ulil Abshar Abdalla. “How to ride a motorbike is not regulated in Sharia.”
    Of course he’s absolutely right. This town mayor should take care of what is really against Islamic values: Theft, corruption, etc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
  • PeguambelaHebat on Jan 07, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Define mofo.

• Lol what a joke. These “regulators” have too much time on their hands.

“When you see a woman straddle, she looks like a man. But if she sits side-saddle, she looks like a woman,” said Suaidi Yahya, mayor of Lhokseumawe, who added that the new rule aims to save people’s “morals and behaviours.”

So this joker doesn’t elaborate on how changing your perception of which gender you are(which is really plain retarded ridiculous considering you derive that from the way a person rides a motorcycle, but just humor me) is going to help in the improvement of people’s morals and behaviour, more so for the betterment of society.

Such tasteless theatrics. For all you know this guy has a weird fetish for women riding side-saddle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
  • FIKRI ADLI on Jan 07, 2013 at 7:25 pm

How about if she does riding the bike? how can she riding with side saddling ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
  • This news make me think of Pas ruling….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 127
  • Ruleres on Jan 07, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Should enforce appropriate attire for women rather than side straddling which a) makes it slightly difficult to balance b) unless someone invent a seat with a back and arm support, she can only hold onto the driver using only one hand (depending on which direction she sits).
    What if somebody decides to wear a mini skirt? The car driver who stops next to the motorbike will have a field day! Then again enforcing ‘appropriate’ attire has been and always will be a sensitive issue for those who fight for women’s right. Strange times indeed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Islam tak pernah menyusahkan umatnya. sampai naik moto pon tak boleh itu ini sampai membahaykan nyawa apa cerita ni?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 5
  • mrzero on Jan 07, 2013 at 8:23 pm

I think side-saddled is more dangerous instead the normal one especially when cornering. Safety comes first ma.

• Visitor on Jan 07, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Watch out minah rempit!

• Should focus on the Safest way for the riders and pillion riders rather then the most religious posture on the bike. Maybe the mayor should provide free cars to all ladies or improve the public transport system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Painter on Jan 07, 2013 at 8:32 pm

I thought Indonesia is more liberal than Malaysia. In our own country, the authority in certain state stop Female hairstylist not allowed to cut Male customer’s hair. And in northern ‘Islamic’ state, the word ‘unisex’ as in Unisex Salon is not allowed because considered inappropriate.

We have to stop religious freaks from ruining our lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 53
  • SUV lover on Jan 07, 2013 at 8:59 pm

When a woman straddle she looks like a man..lol…wat a joker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Anton on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:47 pm

It’s on Aceh, where Islamic rule stricly applied more than the other part of Indonesia. Even when billboard advertisment featured a woman, they must have the special hijab version to be put there. No wonder…

• Khairul on Jan 07, 2013 at 10:05 pm

When a women straddle..she did look like a men, that’s how our tradition and value set for a lady. In Malay customs women should “bersimpuh” rather than “bersila”, speading the leg among lady is improper. Now we thinks it a joke, but that is our root. BTW, the Queen of England side-saddle when riding her horse…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 42
  • no lar…just for male driver safety…hahaha