Ford Ranger 2.2 XL Manual – 125 PS, 320 Nm, RM80k

ford-ranger-xl

Ford has added a new variant to its impressive Ranger T6 pick-up truck range, The new Ford Ranger 2.2 XL Manual is less powerful than its XLT siblings, but also more affordable at RM79,888 on-the-road with insurance.

The Ranger 2.2 XL Manual is also a high-riding double-cab 4X4 truck like its XLT and Wildtrak brethren (water-wading capability of 800 mm, ground clearance of 200 mm), but its 2.2 litre Duratorq TDCi makes less power and torque – 125 PS/320 Nm versus the XLT’s 150 PS/375 Nm. It may be 55 Nm down on the XLT, but max torque is made at a very low 1,700 rpm, which is 800 rpm lower than the stronger engine.

Another difference is that the detuned engine in the XL uses a fixed vane turbocharger, as opposed to the variable geometry turbocharger in the XLT. No auto option available for the XL, just a six-speed manual, the same MT82 gearbox offered on the XLT.

ranger-xl-print-ad

Ford says that the XL’s fuel consumption can be as low as 8.1 litres per 100 km. This figure, combined with the 80 litre fuel tank, gives the XL a potential range of over 1,000 km from a single tank of diesel.

Further checks on Ford’s website reveal that the XL misses out on the XLT’s standard ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, Load Sensing Proportionate Valve (LSPV) and dual airbags. Most of the chrome bits on the XLT (grille, door handles) have been replaced by black plastic items.

Available in four colours – Cool White, Metropolitan Grey, Highlight Silver, Black Mica – order books for the Ranger XL are now open and deliveries for the first batch of orders are expected within the same month. Additionally, the first 150 Ranger XL customers will enjoy an “Early Bird” incentive program, details of which can be had at Ford showrooms.

Read our review of the Ford Ranger T6 here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 8:29 pm

“No auto option available for the XL, just a six-speed manual” ……Beautiful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc™ on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:00 am

1,000km per full tank is nothing new, first heard with Isuzu D-max several years back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • AVH® on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:17 am

The thing I cannot understand is this, if Ford can price this at RM80,000, why can’t they price the Ford Focus at Rm80,000 too? This is because both the Focus and the Ranger in Europe are more or less the same price. Also, why is there no diesel option in the Focus? Come on lah Ford, you all under Sime Darby, a GLC, just because government don’t allow you to sell the diesel focus, does not mean you have to listen like puppets. The Focus Diesel and the Focus 1.0 Ecoboost are the best sellers in Europe. But in Malaysia, Government does not allow both cars in. Even if it is brought in by a GLC. Why? Because Syed Mokhtar’s Proton still need to be protected and DRB Hicom is a more “protected” GLC than Sime Darby GLC. At the end of the day, who loses out? It is us the consumers. We do not get fuel saving cars. Why burden the rakyat with non fuel saving cars just to protect cronies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 26
        • Paul Tan on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:22 am

Pickups have not much tax. Like hybrids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
        • what the bunch head politic you are? normal larr for 4×4 vehicle cheap than normal car. Why “tablet” gadget with “big” size more cheap than “phone” itself? why same spec laptop with the big size screen more cheap than 14″ screen? same law here maaaa. When you got nothing, terus GLC? Syed muktar? protected? What the hell???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 20
        • gangully on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:03 am

AVH, please get your facts straight before commenting. For your information, Auto Bavaria and the Porsche dealership in Malaysia is under Sime Darby as well, they bring in diesels… so your argument about Government not allowing diesels to be brought in is completely flawed.

Focus in many parts of the world is sold in the 2.0 form and only select countries in Europe gets the 1.6 Ecoboost…

However, i do applaud your passion for diesels and would like to see diesel foci being brought in to Malaysia… soon i hope…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • Philip on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:32 pm

@gangully, u r just plain gullible or misleading.

Just bcoz Auto Bavaria & Porsche brings in diesels doesn’t prove your PROOF that AVH opinion is flawed that FORD is not allowed to do so to protect PROTON.

Which proton car is being threaten by BMW and PORSCHE?

Your argument by association is totally wrong and misleading.

I have dogs and cats as pets, I still eat chicken and other animals as food. Just because I have and lovedvpets don’t mean I don’t eat animals.

Silly misleading moronic argument

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • mat bond on Feb 21, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Phillip, how do you explain Sime Darby Auto Connexions bringing in the Mk2 Ford Focus TDCi?

by the way… how is a Ford Focus a threat to PROTON? or a Ford Fiesta for that matter?

• Philip on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:19 pm

@mat bond, ford being a threat to proton ISN’T my idea, it’s was @AVH who said the govt don’t allow Sime Darby GLC bring in certain diesel models because it will affect certain Tan Sri’s GLC. You may need to read @AVH post.

My opinion is that what @AVH said may be true as oppose to @gangully said @AVH opinion is “completely flawed”.

None of us in this forum have access to govt decisions so anything can be true or entirely false so let’s us not waste our time speculating, or worst name calling or insulting each other.

We are here to talk cars not show intelligence.

• Ranger & all pickup trucks tax structure is based on commercial vehicle. while SUV are using passenger vehicle (if im not mistaken). Thats why Ford Escape/ Everest price is approx 60%- 80% above Rangers although sharing same base. Ford already bring diesel technology to passenger vehicle by introducing Ford Focus TDCi couple of years back. Lets wait for the new focus TDCi.

• BrianXYZ on Feb 21, 2013 at 2:13 pm

@AVH, European diesel already EURO V level. Malaysia still EURO II. So how to introduce diesel cars? Some diesels cars sold here are modified to suit EURO II and not the same as the ones sold in EUROPE.
          Please don’t always bash Proton ok. It’s a fact of life in Malaysia that it will be protected forever. Once you accept the fact, your life will be peaceful ok….

• dude..ford are categorize in commercial vehicles..it has purpose of business and usually bought by people who used it to earn money..if u have enough money to buy for yourself, then u have enough money to buy a rm120k focus…

• Pickup truck price are very affordable and they hold their value too……

Thinking getting hilux…..yeah…..this ford would not be as reliable as toyota…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 78
    • Alpha on Feb 20, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Not as reliable as Toyota?? If I’m not mistaken Ford is very well-known wordwide for their pickups.

Do you have any evidence saying that Ford’s pickups is less realiable than a Toyota?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
      • AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:30 pm

I know almost 2 decades old ford courier, the one that predates the ford Ranger, still running And going off-road. So unreliable? No…..
        But as far as spare parts cost , I think the ford spare parts is higher.

• Jimmy on Feb 20, 2013 at 11:11 pm

You can’t change his mind. Leave him alone. He is still very young.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
          • lonelyobserve on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:15 am

Jimmy, some of these people are not only youngsters. They may be old stubborn heads who pray T brand as God.

• im using ford for less than year.. my routes are mud n offroad. now the drive shaft, rear brakes got problem. its not tough as you think. if you use this ford for city shud be okay but not in mud offroad!

• pickups are cheap for a reason, if you’re not going offroad or actually using it what its made to do, just driving around to the shops or work, its completely pointless. its extremely heavy, it is unrefined, the interior is covered in disgusting plastic, the ride in all of them is horrific, the back seats are woeful, and then there is the fuel consumption, and the ridiculously expensive tires, i’ve been in many pickups before and for a good reason, if you’re using it as a daily car i rather go on a bus.
      @Alpha, i cant confirm the particular model but Toyotas are generally more reliable than fords, google Whatcar reliability survey 2012, Ford is nowhere near.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
      • 4g63t dsm on Feb 21, 2013 at 6:52 am

Pickups are cheap because of the tax structure afforded to them.

Yes their ride is awfull but care to thy just how much better they have gotten? I test drove the 2.2 XLT and the ride is no worst than a big MPV.

I agree that most people don’t take these off road, so I am still hoping they will make a 2wd quad cab, with the proper engine not some detuned rubbish.

• oldtruck on Feb 24, 2013 at 7:45 pm

@ben.. its obvious that you don’t spend enough time with this kind of vehicle. you may experienced the ride of the 30 year old toyota land cruiser.. try the latest (2008 & above model/any kind of model) you’ll feel the difference.. oh and i drove my Mazda BT50 to work daily. drive as good as any car.. powerfull too.

• @ben.. its obvious that you don’t spend enough time with this kind of vehicle. you may experienced the ride of the 30 year old toyota land cruiser.. try the latest (2008 & above model/any kind of model) you’ll feel the difference.. oh and i drove my Mazda BT50 to work daily. drive as good as any car.. powerfull too.

• Keris Jawa on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:34 pm

But our road… They are not much better than dirt road.

• Ben,agree wit u..4WDoer knows the best 4WD in off road condition..Hilux simply de best out of all and its proven..useless to get powerfull 4WD if not reliable as it’s build up for off road use..

• 4WD, Go for hilux, it’s proven reliable in off road than others..Ford get it powerfull than hilux to get more sales…haha..We are not goin to be fine by JPJ just becoz exceed the road speed limit by using gear no. 6..haha..6th gear is useless while off roading..

• Mat Global on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Pick-up-truck in this country is cheap no doubt. With this Ford it looks rugged and powerful.
    But if i own one is more for the purpose of collecting rain water to spare for water shortage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • the price is definitely nice, but at the cost of some safety features..they should become standard in a vehicle already la..

• Mat Global on Feb 20, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Someone once said why i drive in a Toyota Camry 2.5 costing around RM170k when you can arrive home faster and safer in a Toyota Hilux pick-up costs around RM99k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 11:16 pm

You have a Camry 2.5 ? hard to believe since I always thought you’re an anti-UMWToyota .

But anyways, most people have the perception that you’re higher and bigger and therefore safer, since, well, common logic, more metal around to protect you. Safe from Potholes yes, safe from a crash…..errrrrrr

• englud on Feb 21, 2013 at 2:37 am

not anti-UMW toyota but anti its business practise that’s omitting safety features while overpricing

• Mat Global on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:59 am

Correct the word i drive was accidentally printed.
          it should be ‘ someone said why drive…. i/o why i drive.No offense pl. for the mobile phone typing error.
          Always frank
          btw i m not anti Toyota eventhough i m not with the brand.

• dugong on Feb 21, 2013 at 12:46 am

He’s obviously lying since a camry 2.5v doesn’t cost around 170k. It is 181k.

• Jimmy on Feb 20, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Ya lah. What a joke, empty spec in terms of safety.
      Is Hilux a safe pick up? Ask your friends.

• seancorr on Feb 20, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Lol wth I thought it was mandatory to have airbags as standard! Go to Perodua’s website and it says all models come with airbags @_@

Man, its like we’re going back in time!

• that maybe coz the airbag regulation exclude 4×4 if not mistaken..

• Pat San on Feb 20, 2013 at 10:22 pm

With this now Ford is trying to close the door on competition. The Japs are history even on RV…SAM ????

• fknbz on Feb 20, 2013 at 10:39 pm

a smoked headlamp in the XL? *same as 3.2 wildtrak, @@ or i see wrongly?

• carazy on Feb 21, 2013 at 6:26 am

went to browse ford my website jz now.. try to find 3.2 wildtrak, but the is no advert abt that particular truck. is wildtrak is a special order by request only or it jz slash out by ford??

• ford owner on Feb 21, 2013 at 8:47 am

Wildtrak model order for Malaysia has been put on freeze. Factory could not even fulfill current booking (some say waiting list is one year). Even the normal Auto 2.2 XLT has waiting list 6 – 7 months.

• You are absolutely correct Ford Owner. wildtrack version waiting period is approx 1 year. God blesses to all Wildtrack owner to be. I dont have very high level of patience for it. Cheers!

• einstein on Feb 21, 2013 at 8:05 am

this Ford ranger coincidentally come out at perfect timing for puchong people. just drive like a boss @ LDP

• there are no ABS and EBD , hopefully they can equip this even in the XL model .

• isuzuki on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:36 am

So Nissan Frontier screwed? Selling at 87K to 92K OTR (fr Nissan.com.my website)?

• Wildtrak 3.2 is 28k pounds sterling in UK and AUD56k in Australia. More expensive than base Bmw 3 series in those countries! In Malaysia its rm117k with same specs except for navigation while bmw 320d here is rm230k? Go figure. Its value for money but wait 1 year lor………

• kunta kinte on Apr 08, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Now problem is that, we in BOLEH land converts everything except the wage.
      Why don’t we convert our MYR3000 to MYR13800 instead?
      Whatever you and the rest of the guys think I have already thought of it. And whatever questions shoot I have the answer for it as well.

• vee-oh on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:41 am

this new Ranger very nice car, service interval 10K but the engine oil alone cost 500 plus..pingsan

• Come on ford! Enough of the trucks! Bring in the facelifted Fiesta already!!!

• makky on Feb 23, 2013 at 10:26 pm

why downgrade the engine hp? such a big car to be using that low hp and tq engine.. why not putting the last gen engine which more powerfull compare to this.

• manteros on May 11, 2013 at 6:47 pm

i have’nt heard any complain about this new xl ranger yet… i’m using xl 2009 until now its running well… every week i’m using my xl off road through my work place… the prob is when going through flood i need to change the axel oil same also like the old hilux. if this new xl also same as xlt its very useful for us at rural area coz our area always flood beside that in our area usually ford is the best when going uphill i already try it when rain and dust

• necklace on May 12, 2013 at 12:34 am

Texture – there is no such thing as a pearl with a perfect
    surface. On vintage jewelry, the type and quality of the gemstones is of
    particular importance to final price determination. A
    pearl collar generally contains 2 or more strands (often 3 or more) and sits right in the middle
    of your neck.

• Hi.I just bought a Ford Ranger XL model last end of March in Temerloh.The salesman and other staff were helpfull and friendly. But within 2 weeks i started having problem with the transmision of gear from low gear to normal high gear.i lodged a complaints to the service centre in temerloh( SRI M****** Sdn Bhd)asap.after 3 days delay they agreed to tow my brand new car.the next day the chief mechanic called and informed us its was nothing and failed to explained to us the real problem.the only thing he told us ‘all ok just bring back ur car’. since than( 2months plus has passed) the problem continuous and still didnt get responce from the mechanic.last week the mechanic called and told me he cant claim for towing my car a month ago and suggest he will change somekind of motor just so he can claim his towing charges too. is tis how i get treated as a ford customer? costomer is very ill treated, responded us a month later and even that, its because it favours them.i called the HQ hotline ,no response from them too. now im sick and tired waiting and driving my car in low gear for a weeks plus.
    Disappointed Customer

• Anthony Naftali on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:31 pm

I get some nauseating feeling whenever i use AC. Any problem with the AC???

• Sure, good looking but previous ford model gives offroader head ache…not reliable..xpnsive spre part..

• Fenzer on Aug 03, 2013 at 3:12 pm

please god some day i own this awesome truck right..

• Peter Goh on Sep 04, 2013 at 3:27 am

I am an owner of this Ford Ranger 2.2 model, and I should say that I am first batch owner in Malaysia. This Ford Ranger give me, NEVER ending problems. Change this and change that, even now my problems Never Ends. And the service centre in Ipoh Rd, l really don’t know they know how to repair cars or not. If changing oil or wash car, maybe they are good at it. Other then that , even the engineer talk rubblish .each service we, pay nearly RM 500-00 for engine , what a fuck service I get from this rubblish centre

• Boonsaq on Oct 14, 2013 at 1:23 pm

..Does anyone know where R dbloody 2.2XLT oilfilter..(was trying DIY)for oilchanged..Pls