2013 Honda CR-V spotted on trailers, launching soon!

2013 Honda CR-V
UPDATE: The fourth-gen Honda CR-V has been launched in Malaysia. Click here to read our launch report, and here for a comprehensive test drive review

It’s all systems go for the launch of the new Honda CR-V this week, the second of Honda’s multiple launches this year.

Reader Faiz sighted these two trailers fully loaded with the new Honda CR-V in Malacca heading towards KL. As some of you might know, Honda’s CKD assembly plant is in Alor Gajah, Malacca, so there’s often some interesting sightings in the area in terms of Honda cars.

As a recap of what we announced last week, the Honda CR-V 2.0 litre model will make it’s return, but Honda will also be launching the Honda CR-V 2.4 litre variant later in the year. New to the fourth generation CR-V will be extra cargo space, a revised 2.0 litre motor, TCS, motion adaptive EPS, Hill Start Assist and an evolved VSA.

We’ve already test driven the 2013 Honda CR-V in Thailand and will be publishing a test drive review this week so SUV fans, stay tuned.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Food for thought on Mar 02, 2013 at 9:19 pm

I like it but it seems the only reason i would buy one is because i trust honda’s ckd more than mazda’s, otherwise there’s really nothing grounbreaking or unique about it. Well besides the rear air con vents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 35
    • Stuart on Mar 03, 2013 at 8:29 am

You trusted Honda Ckd more than Mazda Cbu? No wonder Honda prices shot up every year and still giving us the same old engine and bare specs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 8
      • Leonon on Mar 03, 2013 at 11:37 am

I believe he meant in comparison to Mazda’s CKD… like the Mazda 3 take for instance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
      • Mat Global on Mar 03, 2013 at 12:13 pm

This 2.4 is priced at US$22,495 in the US. And they get the full bodied Japanese CBU version. Our car will be priced abut RM170,000 and nearly the whole car is made and painted in Malaysia. Only really the engine and a few other parts come from Japan. Is this fair?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
      • Sam Loo on Mar 05, 2013 at 10:11 am

CRV got bad RV. Buy today RM150,000, want to sell RM120,000 also within one year susah. Better you buy Fortuner.

• this crv 2013 not safe bcoz no EuroNCAP….some boleh people said no euroncap not safe maaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Diamler on Mar 03, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Inokom is a good CKD company. Observing how little complain on CKD Hyundai Getz/Atos/Tucson/Matri nor Inokom Lorry.

Mazda is CKD by Inokom:

Honda is CKD by Drb-Hicom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Vader on Mar 04, 2013 at 8:05 am

Trust Honda CKD than Maxda CKD???
      Do you really compare the Jazz Hybrid CKD vs CBU?

• BrianXYZ on Mar 04, 2013 at 12:08 pm

CKD bashing again. Done with CKD bashing, go to Proton bashing pulak.

• This new model had been on the road in China for more than a year already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • citycus on Mar 02, 2013 at 10:14 pm

This SUV will make a certain time to be love by malaysian….just like the new camry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
    • since honda has some relation with boleh/proton….for sure boleh people hate them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Vader on Mar 04, 2013 at 8:07 am

Nope, until now still dont like the new Camry.
      The previous generation Camry look great than this!

• Jimmy on Mar 02, 2013 at 10:53 pm

We are informed that each Malaysian now average earns 10OOOUSD per month. Hooray, now everyone can afford this Honda CRV yeah. Lets vote for be end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
  • before the official price come out. let’s guess the price :)
    i say it is gonna be around rm145,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 19
  • It better come with high specs and reasonable price, because the new Santa Fe is coming sooner or later and it’s well received in other countries…looks better too imo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Hope the Santa Fe comes in the 5 seat variant along with the 7, I don’t like the rear of the LWB Santa Fe. The Santa Fe looks overall more balanced than the CRV but I find the CRV has a better front [sort of a mature/grown-up version of the playful Sportedge].

Specs and price? Well, is more or less confirm for the 2.0l : RM150k and 4-airbags + VSC along with a 5-speed auto(wish we had the 6-speed manual like Indonesia). But I wonder what the 2.2 will get.

• Black Dog on Mar 03, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Even though Santa Fe is around the price range but it’s in a totally different class. CRV should be compared with other small SUV which is the CX5, Sportage, Tucson, Tiguan. Santa Fe’s competitor is Fortuner, Sorento, Pajero Sport.

• 3rdCRV on Mar 02, 2013 at 11:07 pm

i love CrV but can they compete against cx-5, subaru, and other suv this time around?

• AlexK on Mar 02, 2013 at 11:29 pm

According to What Car? (It’s a UK magazine) in the January 2013 issue, they tested the Mazda CX-5 2.2D 175 Sport AWD, Honda CR-V 2.2 i-DTEC SE, Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 140 4motion DSG and Kia Sportage 2.0 CDRi 134 KX-3. The reviewers put the CX-5 first, CR-V second, Tiguan third and Sportage last. Not the most complete review IMO, but just an insight to your question. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • I read WhatCar too and their top 5 are

Top 5 NEW Crossovers
        1. Mazda CX-5 Crossover
        2. Nissan Qashqai Crossover
        3. Audi Q3 Crossover
        4. Peugeot 3008 Crossover
        5. Skoda Yeti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • WTF man…in other asian country this car already 1 year has been there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
    • how can 1 year? since it thai made crv launched Sept last year?..that bout 7 month lol…not 1 year or more than 1 year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • ugly rear….looks weird n unproportionate…period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • I am currently driving one 2.4L in Dubai. My first Honda and AWD. Practical space for family of 5. Hate the 5K service interval when other manufacturers have 10-15K here. The car is big and even with that engine I have to push hard to get to the speed limit in fastest time when driving at Sheikh Zayed Road/Highway. High side resistance as crosswinds will make the car moving sideways even at 80km/h. But then at Dubai crosswinds are strong. At 120km/h, recording 7.2L/100km average.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • This CRV is doing well here in the US. The shape is good too especially the front portion of the car. The rear is a bit funny looking. It’s definitely a step up from the last generation.
    The new Accord 2013 is awesome over here in San Jose, USA.
    One word BEAUTIFUL !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • pak long on Mar 03, 2013 at 2:57 am

Fugly and going to be expensive! Santa Fe is much better buy than this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
    • _xXx_ on Mar 03, 2013 at 9:42 am

Calling Sam ‘RV’ Loo…..

• resale value higher maaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Franky on Mar 03, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Lets see in a year which one is junk. I drive a 2010 santa-fe and my wife 2010 facelift CRV. Crv problems; aircon pipes tangled (but fixed in a day and it was a defect, and very thin paint job). Santa Fe problems; gearbox failure TWICE, fuel economy is bad and i cant mention how cheap and rattly the interior is. As with other Kia/Hyundais.

Wifes crv is plasticy as well but it has better plastic grade. I wished i went for the CRV and my wife the Santa Fe so i could go to work without fuss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • _xXx_ on Mar 03, 2013 at 9:41 am

Imported cars are CHEAP. How bout this car? Dirt cheap? Fvcking cheap?

• Low Mun Keat on Mar 03, 2013 at 11:21 am

How about the spec compared to 2.4? Why do they want people to wait for the 2.4?? That is so suck. ?

• kuekexcel on Mar 03, 2013 at 12:05 pm

The rear design looks like the enlarged Avanza. Don’t you think so? Saw this quite long time ago when I was in S’pore and China. Too late Honda M’sia bring this in.

• Azlan on Mar 03, 2013 at 3:15 pm

SA texted that the price will be around 153-155k

• Tok Kok on Mar 03, 2013 at 9:35 pm

T & H rulez!!!!!!
    Don’t care about the Specs lah.. as long as it’s a T & H .. sure can sell wan!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
  • CYCHEAH on Mar 03, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Don’t buy Honda.
    Their after sales service especially Customer Relationship Department are terrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • On the contrary, my dad and I have been enjoying rather good after sales for 2 years. But I have to agree the customer lining up to get their car fix is high, meaning regular service will sometimes take 2 hrs, but it has good wifi and Tea, and service is really helpful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Is this same engine with current honda civic 2.0 ? If it is, I am afraid you need to push harder for such a big car. Any idea about the fuel consumption of newly developed r18 and r20 engine?

• lauyiachia on Mar 04, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Official Launch tomorrow .

• Soul Fly on Mar 04, 2013 at 7:31 pm

LOL this car was already launch in china more then 1 year and there is another new HONDA car i saw it called honda crosstour its also already 1 year launch in china.. malaysia kind of backward.
    Even there KIA JUKE in china .

• Sam Loo on Mar 04, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Tucson and Sportage sales will plunge. Sime and Naza will drop their prices by at least 10K, so the used car market for these 2 rotten cabbage will plunge

• Sam Loo on Mar 05, 2013 at 11:43 am

I wished I bought sportage or tucson rather than my piece of $hit hilux..haih so regret already .. even this CRV is better than my toyota crap

• PakCik on Mar 05, 2013 at 10:24 am

This New CRV or KIA Sorento?