Honda CR-V – fourth-gen to be launched next week

honda cr-v
UPDATE: The fourth-gen Honda CR-V has been launched in Malaysia. Click here to read our launch report, and here for a comprehensive test drive review

Honda Malaysia is set to launch the new Honda CR-V in Malaysia next week. Earlier in the month, an ad on it popped up on oto.my, hinting at its impending arrival.

The fourth-generation SUV will arrive in its familiar 2.0 litre form, but the big news is that the 2.4 litre variant, which never made it here in the outgoing third-gen RE, is due to finally enter the scene. You’ll have to be a bit patient for the 2.4 though – it isn’t going to be launched next week, arriving here closer to mid-year.

Plenty of changes to a firm fave; aside from the visual cues, there’s the promise of extra cargo space, slightly more pep for the 2.0 litre from the R20A mill as found in the current Civic, as well as a host of new kit introduced with the 2.4 litre version – leather seats, integrated navigation system and push-start ignition, among other things.

Also new to the fresh face will be TCS, motion adaptive EPS, Hill Start Assist and an evolved VSA. We were in Thailand recently for a preview of the new CR-V, so stay tuned for our report on it.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• junjun on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:08 pm

ayoo in thailand singapore brunei philiphine vietnam already have dis car 1year ago..why malaysia so late ha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • This is due to the fact that honda assemble crv in those three country…

• Sorry forget to mention about singapore n brunei…as for these two country, it is obvious they are better market…

• kadajawi on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Drove this car in Australia. Got no power at all. In world standards, its a big failure. Most SUVs already got about 160Bhp and above and yet Honda is giving us crap bhp. Anyway it will be fun to see how much Honda Malaysia screw us for this car. A CBU Made in Japan car sold in the US is about Us$22,495. That is about RM67,000. And that is the high quality CBU. We are going to get the half Made in Malaysia CKD. CKD is supposedly meant to be cheaper as it has lower taxes. Lets see if they screw the rakyat for RM150,000 again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 14
          • kadajawi on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Oh btw, the Us$22,495 price is for the 2.4 in the US!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
          • that is why we must vote for Pakatan Rakyat!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 25
          • Jimmy on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:56 pm

And you forgot, US Honda salesmen and managers do not need to eat rice. Their showrooms & bengkels punya rentals are much lower than those in KL, guaranteed.

• Jimmy on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:56 pm

And you forgot, US Honda salesmen and managers do not need to eat rice. Their showrooms & bengkels punya rentals are much lower than those in KL, guaranteed.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:35 am

Another thing that you (and most people) forgot. US car factories are huge and are capable to produce millions of cars annually. Same goes for Thailand and Indonesia. Therefore, they can make full use of the huge economic scale and make cheaper cars. On the other hand, most car factories here can only make at most around 100k annually. Even Proton also can only produce half of their maximum capacity. So our economic scale is small. If carmakers make too many cars, it doesn’t help much because our car market is already saturated. Remember the many unsold Wiras being left to rust at Proton factory during Mahaleel era? That’s one classic example.

• Kumar on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Some people are so ignorant. Why not salary in US is USD 4k wow 12k here. Wake up and use whatever brain you have. PR will never lower the prices why because of the implication on the financial markets ie banks sitting with lower valued assets than the loan value. Also, we can provide no more subsidies for fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
          • Cosmo Artemis on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:48 am

Spot on Kumar. By declaring popular moves many ignorant Malaysian who have choose ‘look easier’ path cheated. Come on, pls gives to rakyat Selangor of what you have promise them during last GE first. And in Kedah, Kedah Sejahtera konon. In my *ss la sejahtera. Penang? Why the housing price keep on increasing since Gerakan era?

Come on Malaysian, face the reality. Your tawkey rip you off left and right. What they should pay you double of your current salary they put into their pocket.

Wonder why your tawkey drives Mercedes and you only a Kancil? Think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • AVH® on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Honda CRV is a ladies car. No man dare to be seen in it. Known as a mom’s car overseas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
      • ..and college students’ car too.

• AVH® on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:31 pm

I don’t know which hold you’re but a trip to KL, many low-level male exec and managers are driving it, and what’s wrong being a mom’s car? I 6 foot gym going men going in beige un-modified Kelisa or pink Alto.

• This thing looks great! love it.

• rapidfire on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:22 pm

The 2.0 version will be PERFECT with 2×4, 7-speed CVT, keyless entry with push start, 6 air bags and HID headlights with DRL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Hope it is as good as CX5 in terms of safety, although the stiffness likely cannot match skyactiv chassis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Well, I m almost certain this car will never able to match CX5..

• atashinchi on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:50 pm

well..i can only afford honda ex5

• Why will you be hoping for all these when CX5 already have all those? Plus skyactiv tranny definitely better than a CVT.

• Black Dog on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Gooood they have the 2.4L, long overdue. Can’t wait to test it.

• Jinggo on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:34 pm

just wait until GE13, if PR take over putrajaya, the OTR price of this car will be below RM100k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 35
    • hondless on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:28 pm

and what if PR win and they don’t reduce the car prices?? i wonder how…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
      • Joe Radzif on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Ala…
        4 tahun lepas tu tukar la balik…
        ish…
        kita rakyat aaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 27, 2013 at 6:24 pm

Then you form new politic party we vote you to reduce car price.

• Citizen on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Never try never know, better than current high car price

• well,if u still let BN win, another 5 years u will suffer more and more expensive living lifestyle.
        can u collect some sense, dude?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Pororo on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Large SUV?? Below RM100k?? You got to be kidding me… Sedangkan negara lain pon still jual above RM110k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • Dream on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Dreaming laaa. Every tom dick n harry will buy cars and the road will get congested in no time. It’s the public transport the pakatan should put priority in their manifesto and not lowering car prices as a tool for pancing undi. Open your eyes guys! Politicians are all the same!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • and you suggest that BN should rule forever? whats the point of democracy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • Haiya on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:16 am

Malaysia is not just simply a democracy country.

Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy. That’s Malaysia.

Majority wins. For more than 50 years, majority chose BN. If majority choose PR for the next election, then let it be. If majority choose BN again, then let it be. No big deal. It always about majority, not about individual preference.

• Roger Tan on Feb 27, 2013 at 3:46 pm

As much as we love that my personal opinion is F-A-T C-H-A-N-C-E

Our entire system is so skewed that no overnight miracle can make the government make significant reduction in car taxes & duties

That being said, the system still needs to be changed, but will come gradually as the lost revenue is replaced elsewhere

• Flash on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Replaced elsewhere?? U know what will happen? Bank interest will shoot up, other extra taxes will b imposed, i know i’m for sure will b paying more taxes than ever for my company. I tell u what. You’ll end up forking out more money ‘elsewhere’..

• This kind of fear that BN plant in all Malaysians. This kind of loyal makes them untouchable and corrupt.

• Replaced elsewhere? Through higher bank interest, higher personal and co taxes, not to mention other new extra taxes. That’s how the new gov will make money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • RedLine on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:42 pm

But not immediately…you can only get that price in 5 years time (i.e. 2018).

• sudonano on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:52 pm

even Honda is going to launch their CR-V, yet Audi still has not launched their A6 Hybrid. And they said “late February”. So much for punctuality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • zamer on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:45 pm

if you really really want to buy that audi, you already be asking audi center. but not here. whats the point if they launch 1 year ago but you stil aint buying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • sudonano on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Who said I am not buying it, and trust me, Audi center is not much of a use. Unlike in other countries, Malaysian distributors don’t really bother a lot. Still no reply from them.

• Good evening sudonano.For your information,the all new Audi A6 Hybrid will be launch tomorrow.

• start-a-figt on Feb 27, 2013 at 5:32 pm

both is DRB-HICOM company related.. hohohoho

• citycus on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:54 pm

finally….want to know the price

• Bob_B78 on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Saw one registered Thailand plate in Penang recently. Lower roofline than current generation in Malaysia. More sporty and looks really good in flesh IMO.

• Mozilla Chrome on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:12 pm

The highest spec version 2.4 CRV in Indonesia costs you approximately RM144k. Wonder how it will be priced here..

• Run for life on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:33 pm

How many speeder for this
    Hope is not the antique five speeders

• AVH® on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Sadly, it will be a 5-speed automatic. Unless a miracle happens and we get Japan’s CVT. But than, Indonesian market gets a additional 6-speed manual. Presently, only the Accord V6 in America gets the 6-speed auto. And the other 6-speed dual-clutch is under development for the next-gen Honda Jazz

• logic speaking on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:49 pm

5 speed u calling antique? then what u call Camry 4 speed auto? ancient antiques? lol

• CX-5 is the new benchmark.. let’s wait how they’re going to price it here.. anything above RM150K would be very tough to sell.. but of course H hardcore would never bother about other model.. no matter if it’s priced at RM180K.

• AVH® on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:53 pm

I really like the more aggressive and sporty front face , really makes the CRV looks chic but [remove hand blocking the rear] I really don’t get that hump at least make the third quarter window go with the flow, although looking from rear-end pic, there is nothing wrong with it, it’s like 2 seperate car into one.

• Joe Radzif on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:08 pm

much like the same…

• Polo Saga on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Dis Honda Malaysia plug out the DRL in headlamp?

• kenny on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:33 pm

I think the brand name, resale value, 5yrs unlimited mileage warranty, 10k interval service period, top three crossover ranking in any country, major redesign as well as an overall package make its a 5 star buy…..

• 5 star buy for this class should be CX5 with CRV coming at a distance 2nd.

• it will b 2.0 launch 1st, on 5th march, 5 speeder, tune up from the previous engine, more or less the same hp, no drl, no hid, no keyless entry, no gps, no 7 seater, but they introduce, econ mode, color screen, reverse camera, vsa, 5 year unlimited warranty, all standard, doesn’t comes cheap, 5 thou more predicted

• Mean Machine on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:57 pm

Just because of high car prices in Malaysia, some people here would want the PKR to win the election. How silly, there are many other issues to consider. Look at what is happening now in Iraq, Egypt and Syria…so much for democracy and the countries are now in total chaos, no time to think about car prices and other things. Peace on earth people!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Mat Global on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:10 pm

The new Crv gen. 4 looks better and more substancial. However, the 2.0 engine i suspect lack pick up power, but if it is equiped with cvt transmission then it can performs better.

Allow me to elaborate in the topic of Car Prices.

Someone quotes the price of Crv 2.4 in Indonesia is @RM144,000. and the Malaysian price my est. is about RM180,000.
    Though it is more expensive here, we also got to look at the respective fuel pump prices below:

Country Ron 95 in RM
    Indonesia 3.18
    Singapore 5.14
    Malaysia 1.90

Interestingly, in Spore the car costs about Sing $210,000 which translates to RM525,000. And their fuel price also is higher by about same %.

My simple conclusion, if gov. were to increase fuel pump price to that of Indon. then our car price can be low as well without any loss in gov. revenue.
    But to lower car prices and maintain or lower fuel prices at the same time to me is impractical.

How much low car price can be?
    Taking ex. of Langkawi’s free duty (No tax) status-
    The price of Toyota Vios G there is about RM63000
    compared here about RM85,000.

People’s car at RM25,000?
    Based on the above example, it is not feasible. Anyway, at RM25k there is a Viva 660 BX available. A reasonble 1.6 family car like Proton Preve costs about RM60k.

May be the alternative is to work with TATA NANO group to come out with a decent family car at that unbelievable price.

• Cosmo Artemis on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:13 am

What we really want that IF the PR win next GE, all car price go down, fuel goes up, and our salary goes up too since the goods price will go up as well.

• Sc zhong on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:53 pm

5years warranty ? The will tell you every alternate like Honda civic that’s y I turn them down .

• Malaysian on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Gentlemen,

Which car distributor is a non GRC or GLC in Malaysia…? I have difficulty naming them….can anyone please help?

• Farhat on Feb 28, 2013 at 2:07 am

Chic car or not, this version will no doubt sell in malaysia. Its not just a few who have trust in Honda. Ive owned the 3rd gen for the past 3 years, driving daily, and no major problems. Im a guy and i dont use it for power, but as a safe and large vehicle where i can haul stuff around with ease.

Being 2.0, yes it may be a little bit underpowered, but what power is needed for a car like this? I dont see people hauling caravans here, this is a perfect car for urban driving, safe too.

As for price, no worries, you still have many people buying them!

• Dr Cooper on Feb 28, 2013 at 7:44 am

SUV using CVT ? For sissies driver yes it appropriate..

• LS Goh on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:10 am

For me I rather wait for new Kuga to be launched. If Kuga arrived with 1.6 Ecoboost we can totally forget about this underpower and lousy spec of CRV …

• Anand on Feb 28, 2013 at 3:47 pm

cx5 better…now ckd also cheaper redy..

• gOOsh on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:48 am

HONDA??? it’s a no-no for me anymore…

• Booked yesterday…
    Love it!