Mitsubishi Mirage Sports – limited edition, 400 units

Mitsu-Mirage-Sport-02

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has come up with a limited edition variant of the Mitsubishi Mirage compact car. Called the Mitsubishi Mirage Sports, the dressed up five-door hatchback, which is based on the top spec Mirage GS CVT, is limited to 400 units and has a tentative price of RM72,000 OTR without insurance.

For that sum (the standard GS CVT is priced at RM64,090), Mirage Sports buyers get a new front bumper, side sills, rear diffuser and 15-inch alloys, one inch up from the standard car. One can never be too safe these days, so the added security window tint is a good thing.

Inside, the Mirage Sports gets black leather seats with red accents and Mirage Sports logos, matched with floor mats in the same theme. The Kenwood head unit here has a touch screen and Bluetooth, an upgrade from the regular 2-DIN unit. The GS CVT’s Smart Key keyless entry with push start and auto air con have been retained.

The Mirage Sports is available in two colours – Red Metallic and Black Mica. Brochure scans are below.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• meng meng on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:48 pm

72k without insurance…
    Humm… this car really sport? Or only look sporty?
    No point la. 400 unit only also cant make this car feel value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Aiyor poor little fake sport car… better buy a Kia Rio or Suzuki instead of this cheap looking car lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • jayson on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:44 am

Kia Rio a bit underpower. At this price, Suzuki Swift would be a better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • Anti Crony on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:35 am

Why even look and talk about this car? Wait for 5 years. Government has promised to reduce 20 to 30%. Unless you are driving a junk and desperate to upgrade out of necessity, just wait 5 years time. 30% of 72,000 is about RM20,000. This car will be RM50,000 in 5 years time.

• sdfsdf sdf sdfs sdf s on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:14 pm

you actually believe what umno say? here, i’ve got a penang bridge to sell, you wanna buy? RM50,000 only. kekekeke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • azrul on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:40 am

For 72k … buy sedan better..

• Environmentalist on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:53 pm

The advertisement is misleading. No animals want to get close to an object that produce smoke (C02). Disgusting!

• JJ Wong on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Comparing between few – Myvi SE S, Saga FLX, Mitsubishi Mirage, Suzuki Swift, Nissan Almera~~

Wondering which to get as my first car. Hrm.. In terms of features, Mitsubishi Mirage & Nissan Almera are greats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
    • Ah Beng on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:40 am

Almera and Mirage both damn ugly u still want consider ah?
      Want bring go pasar also shy u know.
      These carmakers think our country is garbage bin or what?

With 70k price tag i’d rather buy Swift or Fiesta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
    • Jayson on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:50 am

I would rather get myvi 1.5 se and save RM 18 k rather than buying this car. This car is same range with Suzuki Alto. I would rather get Hyundai i10 compare to this car. This car looks like suzuki alto and look like auntie go market car. Looks small and cheap. not worth the price tag. Comes qith puny tyre and claim save fuels…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • jayson on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:53 am

Even the Saga 1.6 flx cvt is better than this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Green on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:41 am

Wheelbase:
        Mirage : 2450mm 21km/L
        Myvi: 2440mm 1.3 @ 14km/L 1.5 @ 12.5km/L
        Alto: 2360mm 15km/L
        New Swift: 2430mm 14km/L
        Old Swift: 2390mm 11km/L
        Saga: 2460mm 10km/L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • mirage is to small..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • I’d get the FLX and save all the extra 20k.

• Ah Beng 2 on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:52 am

it’s more quality if you buy City compare with almera & mirage,

• YeapyEvo on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:54 pm

What Sports? No Turbo/ Sport tune engine like Swift Sport, no improvement in suspension + absorber +intake + exhaust + chassis. Any kelisa / savvy can smoke it in B road lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • ah soh.. on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:52 am

Kelisa n Savvy can smoke this car? Myvi also can smoke BMW at traffic light but will the owner give a damm…i just saw this mirage head to head with 1.8 FD and i tell you the 1.2 MIVEC engine can give a challenge even it has a ‘eco’ batch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Justadude on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:07 pm

With that price, wouldn’t it be better to just get a Kia Rio ex? Just my 2 cents :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • kevkev on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:34 pm

the amount of negativity in malaysian comment’s are mind boggling. As if every one of you are great and every decision you say is one that everybody should follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • True laa bro. No constructive comments at all. Semua mau tembak saja. Give laa good feedback as well. We are Malaysian maa. Budi bahasa budaya kita.

• Normal for Malaysians. Ugly car, take to market car, kena sapu by other cars… To each his own I say.

Popo, it is US Malaysians that say we berbudi bahasa. WE say it ourselves. Self promotion is no promotion bro.

• overpriced bodykit on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:59 pm

A hefty rm8k extra for just some visual make ups without any performance upgrade sounds like a rip off…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • sudonano on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:11 am

At first I saw the price of 72k, I scrolled up to check if I was reading right.

72k for a SUPERMINI?! Mitsu UMADBRO?

I think a Fiesta Sedan or a Rio SX/EX or the Puggy 208 makes more sense in that price range. Even CIty E too! Plus. Mirage. Sporty. CVT. GOOD JOKE. The rear seats are really disappointing. Rio seats are good.

• danieltck on Jun 25, 2013 at 1:02 am

any people with proper mind , wont buy this .

even the standard already overpriced .

this?

sau pei

• armandd on Jun 25, 2013 at 1:21 am

RM72k for a tiny car like this… What a joke…

• 72k… preve is the best car. no joke

• Motorhead on Jun 25, 2013 at 2:14 am

Whatever -ve comments that is made here will come to nought coz the basic principle that a sucker will be born every second applies. MMC just need 400

• 809se3 on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:23 am

no ESP but want to sell for70k ? fxxxking joke

• kuriang on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:22 am

better call it mitsubishi mirage sport rim…

• motorhead on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:42 am

Too expensive.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:14 am

RM70k for this is such a joke. Might as well buy MyVi. So called sports. LOL it’s a shit box

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Kyoshooo on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:17 am

Ugly? Wait until u view the sedan version…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • goshh on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:24 am

What happen to this limited stock models?
    no suspension upgrade, no brake upgrade, no power upgrade.

72k?! With this money, I can get a Saga SV, change to adjustable suspension, reinforce chassis, change intake and exhaust system, and 2 pair of semi-slick, I think still got leftover $ for a few big feasts.

This is insane Mitsu

• gOOsh on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:43 am

another ahbeng version…

• Bongcs on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:45 am

I cant fit into this Mirage honestly. We talkin 200 pounds here.

• crank on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:59 am

400 stupid people would buy this.

Instead of offering rebates for this car, they decided to bring a sport version that has the same price tag as the mid-spec almera and vios j. A big round of applause to MMM.

Perodua don’t have to worry about their Myvi sales.

• Hohoho on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:37 am

Looks ugly and small for 72k
    not value for money
    if u consider on fuel efficiency, this maybe ur choice
    for me, is a nono

• Dr Mamak on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:39 am

The poor man’s M Sport

• unforgiven on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:45 am

72k for A-seg, damn gov, damn Tun, damn cronies, damn P1/P2, damn protectionism, damn free money into their pocket system!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • armandd on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:28 pm

If all the money go into their pocket only, we would surely become like Afghanistan, Sudan or Bangladesh, no proper roads, no hospitals, nobody can afford a car etc. What logic did you use?

• Henry on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:01 am

The things they do just to sell a car. There is no shortage or suckers who will buy it.

• I would rather get the Neo R3 Manual for 60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Abg Long on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:40 am

so small n not sporty at all. selling at rm72k. really crazy n really not berbaloi. thumbs down to mitsubishi. pls la don’t buy this car, so many better option out there.

• huahuahua on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:15 am

Seems like its a trend for car manufacturers here adding all this ahbeng stuff to squeeze more $$ to an already overpriced car. Add some airbags or ESP better la for that kind of money.
    And pls la dont name it “sport”.. call it facelift or something else..

• ah bong on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:02 pm

wow! This is what the japs call mirage evo! Kepish..kepish(with ur mouth)

• mirage evolution on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:00 pm

If 72k plz give us mirage evolution… not junk like this…i heard dealer up the price to nake huge profit…suppose around 6+k oni…

• Hate Japanese CAR on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Satu lagi Project Orang Jepun.!!! ( ;
    Just Close the shop la. Please dont to Con Malaysian anymore. Enough !!!

• Hate Japanese CAR on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Satu lagi Project Orang Jepun.!!! ( ;
    Just Close the shop la. Please dont try to Con Malaysian anymore. Enough !!!

• PauKaya on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:47 pm

a car so badly misunderstood. people keep on saying that better buy myvi saga etc. i don’t know, may be down to personal preferences, but i definitely felt better in this car than those two.

• I would buy satria neo. will save Rm10k and can support the fuel for years with the extra money. damn joke mitsu.

• mirage on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:28 pm

i can guarantee you neo will cost you ten times more than this sweet mitsu to maintain within that 9 years loan duration. After full paid neo, on the tenth year you can go for besi buruk alrady. but mirage still cruising around. so, which one is better and money saving now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 15
  • sekupang dua on Jul 14, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Dengar cita mirage sedan akan masuki pasaran malaysia….bila???? Kereta terbaik dlm kelasnya dan pengunaan bahan bakar 22km /1 liter…..x sabar nak tukar keta ni…

• mitsu admirer on Jul 17, 2013 at 10:15 am

wow..RM72k w/o insurans for several upgrade..not worth la..

• Actually, this car is RM69,900 WITH insurance and roadtax. 72k is only PLANNED price before launch.

• Justin on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:42 pm

R.I.P English

• I own the Mitsu Mirage not this sport edition but I’d love to. What you are over looking people is the fact this car has great miles per gallon. What I have seen is 40-51 mpg. I enjoy driving this car more than all the other cars I’ve owned and driven except for one. LoL!

When you want great gas mileage and you want to save money look no further Mitsubishi Mirage is the car to choose.

-Zxit