Perodua Viva successor rendered by Theophilus Chin

perodua-viva-successor-theophilus-chin-1

Automotive rendering wiz Theophilus Chin gives us a renewed idea here of what the upcoming replacement for the Perodua Viva could look like.

When the wraps came off the Daihatsu A-Concept (the vehicle that previewed today’s Toyota Agya and Daihatsu Ayla twins) at IIMS back in July 2011, Theo wasted no time in churning out a ‘next-gen Perodua Viva‘ based on the concept.

perodua-viva-successor-theophilus-chin-2

While that one was rather ‘wishful thinking,’ this time he takes the Toyota Agya as a reference point. The rendered vehicle features Perodua’s corporate grille, chrome-signatured fog lamps, tail lamps with Myvi-like graphics and an enlarged rear window. The number plate is tailgate-mounted instead of rear bumper-mounted as on the Agya.

The successor to the Perodua Viva will be the cheapest new car in the country when it launches in the third quarter of 2014. It will likely be powered by an aluminium-block engine, which is set to be produced at a new RM1.3 billion facility, located next to Perodua’s existing Sungai Choh, Rawang plant – more details here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• jun jun on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:55 am

kenapa tail lamp ala2 ploton savvy…ayooo..talak minat ah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 53
    • dodgeviper88 on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:32 pm

If I’m not mistaken the tail lamps look like myvi’s but with the led brake lamps section omitted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Petrolhead on Oct 07, 2013 at 4:50 pm

The front bumper somehow reminds me of the Ford Focus’ design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Anoinymous on Oct 07, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Thank you Perodua for giving us fuel efficient & low maintenance cars. That’s all what really needed. No need to follow that syok sendiri company with really fake pretentious European design, unreliable quality and fuel guzzler engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 65
      • pirlo on Oct 07, 2013 at 7:50 pm

thank you perodua for letting daihatsu japan ripping malaysian off. and also cutting down some part’s quality and features, giving us a ‘tin milo’ vehicle option while maintaining the high price with low features and outdated specs. thank you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
        • Thank you p1 for ripping off your own countrymen for 1 man’s dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
      • Fredo Type R on Oct 08, 2013 at 8:44 am

hahahaa…. car that kills most people in accident here in Malaysia…
        Thanks a lot lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • I believe Perodua will continue their production for Viva.
      There will be new model hopefully next year. A teaser will be unveiled at KLIMS 2013 :D
      Cant wait for it! I hope the new sporty Agya will be re-badged by Perodua.

• josie on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:18 pm

dear paul,
    i don’t get why you guys keep publishing theo’s work
    on the cars he makes over?

i must say that theo’s work is beyond exceptional however tne local automotive have their own designers.

why not theo apply to work as local designer then we can see something happen.

but still i don’t c the purpose why his work is shown…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 41
    • because if paultan show design’s picture from perodua’s r&d department, paultan can be sue

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
    • Bob_B78 on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Theo’s work is basically to give us the idea what the new viva would when it is released. IMHO, theo’s rendering quite close to actual thing when it launches.

• You though so easy to apply and get hire by such a “great” company based on talent?Somemore they just need to sell 3 model to achieving No 1 in bolehland…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • the darkside on Oct 07, 2013 at 6:44 pm

because its paul tan’s blog…u dun like it…make ur own blog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Shaun P on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Jeez. They are just renderings. Something for you to imagine on how the cars might or might not become.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • benzs on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Kinda Sup rima backend style. Imagine still in blue color. Omg, local copy cat each other. 660cc turbo vs 1.6 turbo, power to weight challenge. Let see who will win this. No wonder there were planning for merger of P1 n P2, Propero SupViva. Malaysia boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Of so many automakers in the world, who with the right mind wants to copy from an ailing syok sendiri company? Not only the company syok sendiri but the users also syok sendiri with their mitsu bumper and logo.

• Mini Suprima?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • ..at least this viva have guts to show-off the tailpipe unlike suprima hiding the most significant part supposed to showed on a turbo car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
      • Luffy on Oct 07, 2013 at 7:53 pm

what for showing off the tail-pipe? got any performance increment? or just the aesthetic value? nahh. same like ah beng who show off its big exhaust diameter with loud noise but slow in acceleration. bunyi lebih, pergi tidak.

• nelko on Oct 08, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Viva is showing its design? This is an image rendering, not the real one… Read the whole article before commenting.

• hey itu mini suprima s.LULZ

• benzs on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Mini suprima. Good name!

• benzs on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:28 pm

After it launch sure P2 sales will boost up. Hope to see SE rendering from Theophilus Chin. Thx Paul Tan.

• KillBox1Alpha on Oct 07, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Waste of time and cpu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • wynter on Oct 07, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Nothing special still is VIVA ,just modify front & back bumper only.

• Going to get bash for this but its sad that no one here appreciate the skill needed to render this. People thought to do this, just open Photoshop and crop copy/paste. Finding the resources for the project is hard enough but than you have to somehow make sure everything goes seemingly as if it was design perfectly there in the first place.

Sad, I chose this field of profession and if this are the normal attitude the locals are giving towards the local creative industry, its going to be tough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • its been like that for ages bro. u wont go far with graphic / designers field here, appreciation towards it is very minimal. i’ve experienced enough years to pursue something else. unless u have your own company or something. =) goodluck.

• I know many of my than seniors going to Singapore to work as the creative field there is vastly superior than Malaysia, The Singaporean, thou known for their Kiasu-ism, are much better at accepting changes than the people here. We often blame the government for this and that, for not accepting changes, but fail to understand that the some(if not most) of the problem lies in the fact that the majority of the netizens still are rather unable to accept changes, to broaden the mindset.

• tillthe6thshift on Oct 07, 2013 at 6:23 pm

I just dont got it why people cant understand this is only entertainment for us in paultan blog…

• Engineblock on Oct 07, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Hopefuly the new viva not differ frm this..its look awesome & cool,just price it lower wth more enhance features sure sale like hot cake..

• norman on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:15 pm

Why Perodua is good on FC and maintenance?Causethey have been using Daihatsu and Toyota engines for eons.Try creating their own engine and chassis im sure the bashing is worse than Proton

• policeman on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:23 pm

Why bother? has this guy ever been right in his renderings?

Instead of viewing it as what Viva might look like, view it as what Viva will not look like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Hadi75 on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:56 pm

It is just a rendering….an assumption made by TC what would new viva look like base on what he knows…..he doesn’t work for the car company….if you want the real rendering go ask P2…..

• Lane Tamer on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:40 pm

It will becoming the new king of terrors on the Malaysian roads. Many thanks…

• Lane Tamer on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:40 pm

It will becoming the new king of terrors on Malaysian roads. Many thanks…

• bee hong on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:16 pm

Perodua good on maintenance? Dream on.. Perodua quality worst than proton now.. Not same as 1st generation kancil, kelisa & kenari.. New perodua have same symptoms like proton.. power window issues, krek krek sound interior, caliper problem etc..

• Peroduan on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:29 am

Myvi + Suprima = 2014 Viva??

• why keep using all the familiar designs? why not try to design a new, non familiar look? this new viva almost looks like proton suprima. a small car with a very small rear door windows? bigger rear window? what for? why are the wheels so big? no space for modifications? have you guys even try to get a new designer? gosh..! even my mom will laugh at this design. LOL

• machinistofpunk on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:19 am

seriously. Paul does this blog to give a snapshot of whats to come.. if u guys dont like it. no need to read it la. no neeed bash Paul. y u still reading it if u dun like Pauls reviews or Theo’s impressions.

some of you cakap besar la kutu,. but grammar down the drain wei..

not being bias. soem of the terrors on the roads are also using HOnda’s and merc and BMW’s.. having vivas on teh road way better than having rempits.
    yes viva is not as solid as volvo.. not every one can afford a solid car like volvo.
    but as far as i remember BMW bawak laju like pelesit also accident wrap around tree.. the car hancur and driver died… doesnt mean ts european car its safe all together.
    as for design, u really think the design will be far off, everyone knows malaysian cars design wouldnt be far off than its original.. why the hell are u expecting a wholly new designed car.
    dunno bout u , but cousins, frens and colleagues that is using perodua cars bought from 6 years back up until this year, all are doing fine, service centre is good, service n quality of car is way better than proton by far. maybe ure one of the unlucky ones la.. im sorry for u. soemtimes that happens.
    viewing it as what viva will never look like? what stupidity is that? its impression of predictions.. don like the predictions. takyah la baca Pauls blog.
    u go draw ur own car la.
    mmg la nothisn special its viva, u expect it to look like a messarati ke?
    and yes it takes a lot of worj for a designer to do this. and some of the diks here are very unappreciative. as if they can do better.. well.. do la.. waste of time and cpu..suggestion.. dont waste paul tans space with comments yg macam tu .. safe ur cpu n never visit paul tans page ..

• grammar on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:40 pm

*altogether
      *save
      grammar kau pun down the drain la friend

• machinistofpunk on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Was writting in rage .. but I am known for typo’s .. putting that aside. I hope u understand my point..

• grammar on Oct 08, 2013 at 7:41 pm

*typos

still in rage ke?

• pirlo on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:07 am

LOL! you made my day. thanks for pointing the typo’s. eh typos.

• grammar on Oct 08, 2013 at 8:22 pm

*typos

still in rage?

• machinistofpunk on Oct 08, 2013 at 8:46 pm

As mentioned. I am known for it. So do u still want to continue mocking my typos?

• grammar on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:38 pm

wouldn’t classify those as typos. but if you say so mate..

just be a little more careful next time, before you go around bashing others.

• machinistofpunk on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:58 pm

well thats the thing, my point was. if dont like paul tans blog.. why read it pun.. my comment was on people bashing pauls blog.. no intention to bash people. seems like u dun agree with me.

• grammar on Oct 09, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Well, regardless of whether i agree with you or not – you made your point, but there was no need for you to take a cheap shot on the grammar used by the readers here. If you’re going to do that, be sure you speak/type the queen’s english.

• machinistofpunk on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:15 pm

Ok. Noted on that as well.

• Brian on Oct 08, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Perodua should sell this future Viva like hot cakes if they put on Electronic Stability Control on each of the future viva.

• kimchi on Oct 09, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Project Code D87A

• RRf Sattheyah on Oct 29, 2013 at 12:48 am

Wow!!! it looks very nice. Better than the outgoing model. Hopefully the real one should look good like this too…Hats off to you Mr.Theo for this wonderful magic of yours…

• bastardMustard on Nov 18, 2013 at 1:44 am

lol new viva? looks more like new budget myvi ,metal with get more thinner on this for better fc and therefore more news will happen in 2014 about drivers of 2nd gen viva ‘die in accident’ and the car like ayam penyet oledi..`

• Anuar Mohd. Daruwan on Nov 19, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Harap2 Perodua kekalkan rekabentuk asal Daihatsu Ayla. Kalau nak tukar juga, tukarla logonya sahaja..

• Shaharun on Dec 06, 2013 at 2:49 pm

kebanyakkan kereta malaysia saya tak berminat dengan rupanya (tak cantik).ciptalah kereta yang orang pandang hebat,apabila orang pandang orang akan berkata”uuuuuuuuuuuuh cantiknya uuuuuuuuh hebatnya ” seperti kita melihat kereta luar negara sekali pandang sudah tertarik dua kali pandang sudah nak beli . cadangan : tirulah seperti AUDI,dan lain-lain. kalau nak buat kereta jangan tiru sebijik-sebijik patut orang yang meniru lagi cantik.

• Mat Yun on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:29 am

P2 will donwgrade the quality like they do to Viva an then sell it at overprice…(more expensive than Agya/Ayla in Indonesia)…

• nazrie on Feb 15, 2014 at 7:58 pm

bile kereta ni nak keluar

• Ok lah Cantik Cam myvi