Next generation Perodua Viva wishful thinking rendering based on 2011 Daihatsu A-Concept

Remember the lime green Daihatsu A-Concept that was showcased at the Indonesia International Motor Show earlier this year?

It was a concept car developed with the involvement of Indonesians with the technical support of Daihatsu Japan. They were pretty vague about what segment the A-Concept was competing in though – it looked a little bigger than a typical A-segment car, but it had a lower roofline than a typical JDM B-segment tall hatchback like the Myvi – shaped more like a Fiesta or Mazda 2.

Imagine if the Daihatsu A-Concept was toned down for production and given a Perodua badge for sale in Malaysia – that’s what Theophilus Chin sought to achieve with his latest image manipulation project.

The A-Concept was given production side mirrors, a rear wiper, door handles, mud guards, a more production-looking rear light cluster, a hatch-mounted number plate holder (as with all Perodua cars), body colored roof and A pillars, and a revised front to carry a look similar to the new Myvi’s face. It’s colour was also given the popular bluish grey Perodua paint.

What do you think – do you like it?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:12 pm

What do you think – do you like it?
    —————————
    Aiyo, another jaguh kampong product in waiting!

• OMG…damn nice. The front view look like baby Myvi.

• Copy cat again. SO disappointed…..

The front look like Hyundai Getz .

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:37 pm

dude…it’s just a rendering…what’s with the pointless disappointment?

• Jonnypepper on Aug 10, 2011 at 3:09 pm

my dream car! viva is the best!

• eventhough perodua is jaguh kampung, but still the best of local car in term of quality.. i’ve experience with gen2, very serious problem with handbrake even proton mechanics also dont know the problems.. (aiyoo)..

when people said perodua is copycat company, did they realize that proton also a copycat company when they launch saga, wira and perdana? give perodua some time.. now we can see, daihatsu using perodua new “lagi best” as daihatsu sirion in indonesia..

• Phillip Zak on Aug 12, 2011 at 1:21 am

Sorry lost respect for them when they removed the side impact protection bar of the vehicle ….

Its as good as telling the customer I rather you sacrifice your life so that I can save some money.

A motor bike will slice into the vehicle at just 30km/h impact from the side.

Just open the door panel and check your cars if the side impact protection bars are still there …

• afoka on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:15 pm

alza pendek………

• khaix19a on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:19 pm

NICE ONE

• wahhhh the current viva so ugly and and new one is gonna be so nice?? cool!!! anyway hope the design will be something similar to this..

• sawtoothgrin on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:34 pm

if the new VIVA looks like this…confirm beli…

• Dogbert on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:34 pm

If prices remains .. mee too. :)

• If new Viva like this, Proton can dump Saga to taxi’s

• protonmania on Aug 11, 2011 at 6:49 am

yea la… thats why P2 always win the ‘awards’…. the most stupid buyers award!!! pay more for the less hahahahaha

• dukenborg on Sep 22, 2011 at 9:10 am

When it comes to capital items such as cars, it’s ok to pay for quality if you can afford it – going by your logic then MINI owners must surely deserve the award you are giving too! I doubt they think you are right protonmania. In my mind buying poor quality is the silliest thing to do, especially when its a car, & the lives of your loved ones is at stake every time you drive.

• it it looks like this, perodua will have another big hit!!! i wonder when will the SE version or the rendering come out???? enlighten us plzz…….. A job well done..
    2 thumbs up

• artworkz on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:48 pm

damn nice looking athough i have a fiesta…

• siong on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:52 pm

fiesta? damn nice looking although i have a jazz

• Jazz? Damn nice looking although i have a Polo. (Please reply guys) :P

• gabla on Aug 12, 2011 at 9:40 am

Polo? Damn nice looking although I have a Mini Cooper S.

• Cooper S? damn nice expensive car you all have although I have a 30k Sutera XD

• Cooper S? damn nice expensive car you all have although I have an EX5

• calvint78 on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:51 pm

Sure another lagi best coming. i’m goin to sell off my 8 years old kelisa for this.

• zaff1984 on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:54 pm

it looks nice… solid looking body… nice front… rear remind me of mit. colt.

• Do i like it?
    Yup!

• dick10 on Aug 10, 2011 at 1:53 pm

even if the Viva looks like this… if its built quality is still like the current one.. so kosong.. how la?

• jalan54 on Aug 10, 2011 at 1:55 pm

exterior design quite nice, if they can improve interior with better quality material, this will be better. Also engine, gearbox, overall handling of the vehicle. If they put in turbo for the car, it will be best… but I know I’m dreaming, never going to happen with car such price in Malaysia…

• Unforgiven on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:04 pm

From Kancil to this… nice…

Indonesian develop this car? Wow!

• Unforgiven on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Indonesian develop original Daihatsu where M’sia develop Perodua?
      Please don’t do that… please do the right thing… be original!

• Hyundai on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:12 pm

The front looks like Hyundai cars

• Joseph Lim on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Wow … bergayanyer..

• your wish

• assemble that babyt right now!

• Georgie on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Why the hell haven’t they employed Theophilus Chin to work with the design in the local automotive industry?

• pyo pyo on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:37 pm

If you want the SE version to come out,you have to wait for:

New Viva Elite then,
    New Viva Limited Edition, then,
    New Viva Ekslusif,then,

You got Viva SE

• if really perodua launches this then its gonna be named viva extra elite exclusive extraordinary extravagant executive edition… then the tagline gonna be lagi lagi lagi lagi lagi lagi best!

• BlackJack on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Front is damn cool weiiii… But the rear.. width of it looks abit penyet.. slightly wider should be PERFECT !

Beli, jangan tak beli !!!

• J@CK LIM on Aug 10, 2011 at 3:30 pm

Fabulous.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 10, 2011 at 3:45 pm

it looks like a cross between the chevy beat and hyundai i10

• William on Aug 10, 2011 at 3:49 pm

cannot lah…. If like this viva will be looks better than the new myvi liao….

• New Myvi exterior without bodykit don’t look too good. Prefer old Myvi but new Myvi interior is nice.

• anakSarawak on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:15 pm

If this comes,I BUY!!!!!

• lazyf on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Kelisa is still the best!!!

• tattoo sleeves on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:39 pm

nice! i can tukar my CLK with this one!! (Cute Little Kancil)

• Tay SK on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:39 pm

I think it looks pretty sweet.. Even better than myvi..

• teelim on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:53 pm

I say Perodua should pay Theophilus Chin for this design and make the car. XD

• ar az on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:59 pm

comeeee tooooo papa..

• gokibin on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:16 pm

I like… don care if it’s a copycat as long as it does the work, I like it….

• buoh kekoh caaa on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:25 pm

blakang mcm vw polo jew… mmg cun abis..

• buoh kekoh caaa on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:26 pm

wah cantik balakang nampak mcm vw polo jerr….

• alza owner on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:39 pm

shit car !

• Very good looking tin Milo!

• look like milo tin with painted color … shit car indeed … from a money sucker company , made in peoples money sucker country

• Simon Sez on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:54 pm

like it!

• If future malaysian compact can look like dis, damn nice. Wat about engine n interior n chassis? Tamau lah rupa lawa tapi dalam all tahan 1 year je.

• Daniel on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:24 pm

End of the day, all Malaysians who buy this car ( or any car in Malaysia) are suckers.

The prices paid for the local cars are still more expensive compared to equivalent cars in countries such as the US or Australia.

The prices paid on imported cars are obscenely more expensive.

And then we take out 7 to 10 year loans paying interest on an overpriced and depreciating asset.

So big picture wise, even if this theoretical Viva is a fantastic machine, we will be suckers for buying it. We’ll only feel a little better when you see your neighbours buying a Proton and you wonder “why on earth would they do such a thing?”

• ichi24 on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:45 am

so did you do any part to brainstorm some solution your whining? no?

typical keyboard warrior

• Lu langsi lu mati Daniel :P..rilekslaa…gomen nak bayar bonus kat gomen servant kan…so mana duit tu datang….tax bro….what to do….

• moto-moto on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:48 am

old story la u daniel. anyway i like this rendering

• cool2020 on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:47 am

nothing better to do ? looks like old crap of getzzzzzzzzz ..

• bongok on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:04 am

viva…still looks like vavi

• looks like a mistubishi colt to me

• ApamKlang on Aug 12, 2011 at 1:16 pm

nice work , perodua should think seriously to hire you for its next viva facelift makeover.
    keep it up chin.

• Bongcs on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:54 pm

i get a boner watching this

• todumbasses on Aug 14, 2011 at 6:00 pm

if its nice means nice.it has nothing to do with what u guys are driving.

• amonrei on Aug 15, 2011 at 1:58 pm

The face looks like Hyundai. o.o

• Othman on Aug 18, 2011 at 1:58 am

nice car…how much on the road?

• This car’s original designer Indonesian named Mark Widjaja …. car design is 100% designed by Mark Widjaja of Indonesia …. beat 4 participants from Japan in Japanese Daihatsu car design competence to produce future

Warm regards

Automotif from Indonesia :D

• Vettel on Aug 21, 2011 at 4:03 pm

wahhhh…..i wondering if i put YRV Turbo in this car…..laagggiiiii bestttttt!!!!……^,^