Great Wall Voleex C20R coming to Malaysia next year

gwm-coming-soon

Great Wall Motor is set to introduce a passenger car to the local GWM range, which at present has the Wingle 5 pick-up truck and Haval H5 SUV. The car in question is the Great Wall Voleex C20R, as teased by a recent posting on the company’s Facebook page.

The Great Wall C20R is a B-segment five-door hatch that is about the size of a Honda Jazz. To give you a better idea, it’s 10 mm shorter than a Jazz, and its 2,460 mm wheelbase is 40 mm less than the Honda’s. The Chinese car is a tall one though, at 1,727 mm, it’s 202 mm taller than a Jazz, and the Suzuki SX4-style SUV add-ons strengthens the impression of height.

gwm-c20r-04

Under the hood is a 1.5 litre four-cylinder engine with 97 hp and 138 Nm of torque. The twin-cam VVT engine is paired to a five-speed manual gearbox, channeling drive solely to the front wheels. 0-100 km/h acceleration is completed in 11.1 seconds on to a top speed of 175 km/h.

The C20R may look like an amalgamation of various car designs, but looks modern and neat enough. What do you think? What’s the ideal price for GWM to shift a decent number of C20Rs in this most competitive of segments?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• How is the crash test result?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Petrolhead on Oct 23, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Based on the Haval H5 SUV which is currently selling from 92,800RMB – 158,800RMB in China. In Malaysia, it is selling at RM120,000. On the other hand, this Voleex C20R is selling from 62,900RMB – 72,900RMB in China, therefore the price should be around RM62,000 in Malaysia

• chaos on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Looks like an ecosport and 2008 competitor. Excellent stuff great wall..it be nice to see more jeeps on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawa on Oct 23, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Hmmm looks like a Yaris copycat…definitely far better than Savvy lah for sure!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • happyfeet on Oct 23, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Discontinued Savvy is not old enough to compare with this one. You may compare it with civic 1972 or VW Bettle. That’s what I call genius.

*Sarcasm*

• i’ll take a 2nd proton over this chinese brand anytime thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
  • Denaihati on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:09 pm

nice exterior. I expect the price within RM45k ~ 55k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Looks good but I felt like something’s wrong…Made in China, maybe?
    LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • donnyck on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:17 pm

suzuki sx4 ripoff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • tokmoh on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:20 pm

rm 50-55k. Any higher, better get Picanto.

I quite like the design, well executed. Still, a car is more than just looks.

Refinement, quality, reliability, good fc (being manual suggests it is) needs to be assessed. If these are satisfactory, with good after sales service, it’s a good buy.

Anyone butthurt this being Chinese can remain ignorant. Fact: they’re improving. Supporting fact: Qoros, Chinese, is safest car by Euro NCAP test. inb4 jews did this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • japco on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:14 pm

That is multinational company not chinese per se in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • tokmoh on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:05 am

mai dah butthurt sekalian…

so? Fact: Qoros will be recognised as a chinese car. what excuse again?

proton cannot compare with Japanese, German, Korean, they established longer, they smarter.

proton cannot compare Chinese now, they got Jew help them

biar proton buat ugly, fuel guzzling junk, and give shitty cutthroat service, asalkan we can banggala we got our own national car. bravo.

• japco on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:52 am

Fuel guzzling junk? You never read PT FC Test ?

What butthurt? Since when it’s an excuse but when compare, compare with brain not butts.

• Michael on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:23 pm

nice look, in order to compete with others (Suzuki, Kia, Hundyai, Perodua, Proton, Honda, Toyota), it should price around RM55k

• Iswahyudi Hanafiah on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:30 pm

feel like looking Suzuki SX4

• 1500cc engine output 97 hp and 138 Nm.. Are you kidding me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Jilbaber on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:57 pm

My ex-wife’s Jazz 1500cc too is only 80++ hp, so its legit

• hantu on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:39 pm

RM25k. I will sure buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • putra_rider on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Macam pernah kulihat..tapi di mana ya?

• Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:49 pm

This voleex look like the crossover of the new Jazz’s front and the rear of the Yaris. Best of both world, I guess lol :P

• JustWannaSay on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:58 pm

headlamp like City or Vios 2013..=)

• norman on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Output another issue but is it reliable?i dun want drive got engine failure,brake problem etc in a month

• qwerty on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:39 pm

SX4 looks + Yaris shape = Chinese-made car.

• Julian Lee on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:45 pm

sx4 front and body (sides, rear) of a yaris, wtf?
    alpina bmw better hands down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • i leave this to sam loo.. sam.. settle lo..

• Asalkan Bukan China on Oct 23, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Don’t know why, I feel it looks good.

Better than Myvi or Suprima S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • KeithDuckworth on Oct 23, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Engine spec sama dgn 1NZ-FE Toyota engine from the Vios. Joint venture with Toyota in China?

• powershot on Oct 23, 2013 at 10:08 pm

I read somewhere that GWM used the avanza 1500cc engine as the blueprint; then upgrade or tuned it for this car

• Josh Ling on Oct 23, 2013 at 8:08 pm

i think anything below RM70k is reasonable enough. if below RM60k is even more awesome, but doubt they can go that low…..

• wan jamak on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:25 pm

chinese car.
    even chinese in malaysia malu nak pakai, but praise them like god.

• just the facts on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:12 am

In the end all the mostly the Malay proudly own the Chery Easter.

Y U NO SAPPOK POTONG!?

• b sensible on Jan 06, 2014 at 7:16 pm

market going to be saturated with so many mini mpv players coming in…Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Peugeot, Citroen, Perodua, Proton, …and now the greatest “greatwall” of china! also don’t forgetting the mini “MINI” mpv coming up next!