Nissan Serena S-Hybrid facelift unveiled at Tokyo 2013

DSC_1303

Nissan has made some minor changes to the Nissan Serena, which also covers the S-Hybrid model that’s on sale here in Malaysia. The updated Serena makes its debut at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show and will go on sale in December 2013 in Japan.

In terms of exterior design, we notice changes to the front bumper as well as the removal of a strip of trim that runs along the lower edge of the headlamps to meet the front grille. This gives the car’s face a different look as the headlamp shape is more pronounced now. LED headlamps are now an option. The alloy wheel design has also been updated. On the rear, there are new LED brake lamps with an ’S’ shaped design.

DSC_1298

There are new safety equipment as well such as Emergency Brake and Lane Departure Warning (LDW), which has been made standard for all variants except the base 20S. Other features include AVM (Around View Monitor) with MOD (Moving Object Detection), Emergency Assist for pedal misapplication and Driver Attention Alert.

Nissan also claims the 2WD S-Hybrid model now has improved fuel consumption but doesn’t go into details on what the differences are.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kusochon on Nov 20, 2013 at 5:25 pm

facelifted to become uglier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano on Nov 20, 2013 at 5:27 pm

While the Serena seems to have gone down well with many Malaysians, one cannot deny that Nissan should have at least introduced a variant with 6 airbags, and emergency self braking. Even if they sold that at 155-160k, it won’t be THAT bad.

• VBKCHENG on Nov 20, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Nissan Serena S-Hybrid launched in Malaysia on July 2013 and few months later the facelift model lauched in Japan…. TCM need to work harder to bring in new model on time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • AutoFrenz on Nov 20, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Oh well what do u expect from TC…we always get two generations late…people around the world are already driving latest Nissan models…we are still driving Datsun…haha

• dino years on Nov 20, 2013 at 6:08 pm

the specs are brilliant, the price is bravo. but the looks, sorry, still cannot accept.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Nov 20, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Forget 6 bags, VSC, whatever C…. The main problem is: Serena “just” launch in MALAYSIA & now Japan is launching “facelift”!!! This clearly show either TC is treating M’sian buyers as “Junk” coz M’sian will buy OR Japanese treat our country as: Dumping ground.

Japan Nissan: Sensei we hv many OLD stock left how?
    TC: Konichiwa Nissan, why still hv stock left ah? U give me discount I sell for u in Malasia…. Ok boh?
    JN: hmmmm….. Ok! But sell quick before M’sian see our facelift
    TC: ok before end yr + give discount they sure buy.

This is UMW Tan Chong treat us like “Garbage”.
    Kudos to Honda Malaysia by treating our people as “first class”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
    • best comment of the year!! Hahaha

• JasonT on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Just buy cars with 6 airbags. Forget about those without curtain airbags. Please everyone make an effort to decline buying cars without curtain airbags for our children and rear passengers’ safety. Check for EuroNcap scores and airbags count before buying. “Safety First for your FAMILY”

• engkenghan on Nov 20, 2013 at 7:29 pm

that’s nothing to do with tc motor!
    say thank you to the one who set the tax structure!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • Pro-San on Nov 20, 2013 at 8:14 pm

if I am Nissan Japan, i wont let TC knows they will be getting the old version.

you guys must know Nissan Japan keeps their own secret too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Majuperak on Nov 21, 2013 at 7:47 am

What happens to those on the waiting list for their CBU units to arrive ? Still get the old stock ? hmmm … interesting.

• Sushimonster on Nov 21, 2013 at 2:28 pm

TC has done this before. With the C24. Serena C24 was selling here till mid of 2013. When Serena C26 was already out and selling in Japan for TWO YEARS! …

• serena on Jan 10, 2014 at 3:03 pm

im very interested after viewing actual car fewer times for the pass few days at nissan showroom, and have actually made up my mind to sign up for serena s-hybrid over this wkend along with my family.
    perhaps im too excited and surf online to check out more, esp sad case to say that malaysian tend to get slightly less features compared with overseas spec.

facelift version in japan???.. with impressive new safety equipments AVM,MOD,LVW… n etc.

all i can say is.. niama.. 150k is not cheap for an average family. what i gona get if i place my booking, do i get the current or facelift version?

• Glorified Hybrid Van