Proton B-segment ‘Global Small Car’ to be launched in 2014, Proton Perdana replacement in 2016

2013 Proton Suprima S

Research reports published by AmSecurities and Public Bank research houses reveal quite a few details on DRB-Hicom’s future plans for Proton. The reports were published based on an analyst briefing by DRB-Hicom during a tour of Proton City in Tanjung Malim.

Proton’s target is to sell 500,000 cars a year by 2017/2018, with 150,000 of those units for exports. A target of 30% of annual volume in exports would mean its overseas markets has to grow quite aggressively and Proton’s plans include potential CKD programs in foreign countries.

The Suprima S hatchback was launched in Australia and Indonesia this month, and next up will be Thailand, with the upcoming Thai Motor Expo a good platform to launch it. Proton also has plans to properly re-enter the UK market with three new models beginning December – reports have mentioned September sales in the UK to be a dismal three units because of a lack of models.

Proton-Honda-Accord-Perdana-Replacement-006

On the Proton Perdana Replacement model, Proton is expected to commence production in December 2013, with an initial 3,000 unit roll-out for government usage. The proper Proton Perdana replacement for general market sales will only come in two years time pending further developments. So while the government will get a car that looks very much like a Honda Accord, similiar to the prototype that we sighted recently, they do have plans to sell a more unique car to the public.

Proton’s next model will be a B-segment car that is known by the codename GSC, or Global Small Car. From what we understand from the reports, Proton will embark on this project on its own and not via a joint venture. Production targets for this model are about 60,000 units a year. We previously reported that the Myvi-rival will debut in the first half of 2014.

Hybrid cars are still in the pipeline, but not much details have been announced beyond that. In the meantime, you can read our past coverage on Proton electric cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I support proton 100% although i wont buy them since i can afford imports. Go go go, support malaysia economy!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 274 Thumb down 79
    • We would b better off without proton.. some developed nation dont even need to have national car..

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 265 Thumb down 242
      • Pessimists and parasites like you always think about closing it down instead of how to make them better. Ppl like you are the ones destroying this country

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 286 Thumb down 174
        • ARIFFIN on Nov 23, 2013 at 5:00 pm

You are very right. I just wonder why they cannot support Malaysian cars, though they can afford imported cars. I believe many of them can afford imported cars just because of the long loan period. Just wonder how many of these arrogant chaps finished off their installments in less than a year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 112
          • Horman on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:43 am

U settled your car loan less than a year?
            LOL..
            Or you settled your housing loan less than a year?
            Lol…

Btw, I settle my Nasi Lemak less than a minutes.. too hungry..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 10
          • Proton Owner on Nov 27, 2013 at 7:12 pm

my mom n me drive proton waja. my dad proton wira. my sis – proton saga flx.

my mom is changing to toyota soon. already paid booking. i’m changing in 2015.

why should we support them n help them if i not getting back anything. it’s my own money after all.

why proton loan is shorter period than import car? so wat has long term loan period got to do wiv people choosing import cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
        • i really wanted Proton to grow not only in Malaysia, but also worldwide.
          make Malaysia more known to the world. If Korea (Kia, Hyundai), Japan (Honda, Toyota), Italy (Ferrari, Fiat) can be known as car centre, why cant we?

but please proton, please grow at a faster rate. one model each 2 or 3 year is very slow

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 19
          • beside that please improve the quality of the plastic inside car cabin,, reduce the gap between compartment.. also soften the seat for more comfort.. then i believe proton can success.. first touch of material is the first impression to buyer..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 7
          • sutrak on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:28 pm

ariffin, that comment and that wish was made 10 years ago and has fall on deaf ears. i dunno about you, but i’m sure not going to put any blind hope on proton. once bitten twice shy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
        • just me on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Put proton on level competition field no one complaints

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
        • We support malaysian product provided they are not made by dumb people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
        • Harun Ismail on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:28 pm

You will have to evaluate Proton’s performance since it’s inception. It has been real bad. And in other countries, for example, South Korea, they make sure that their local cars are of the highest quality, where as good quality Protons are exported, while low quality ones are sold to Malaysian, at a higher price than the exported ones. Proton has been taking advantage of Malaysians and this should end now. Close down Proton, and build on Perodua. I support local products by the way, but refuse to be ripped off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
          • rockstar on Dec 13, 2013 at 1:53 pm

What? do you think Perodua is better than proton?
            I don’t really supports Proton at all but th fact is Perodua is much worse.
            They didn’t create their on product. Just keeping rebadge toyota & daihatsu. (not nobody complaint, weird isn’t it?)

• simon on Nov 28, 2013 at 10:10 am

support them to cheat our money with low quality cars? been cheating by them years,no more mercy to potong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • mamat on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:45 pm

“better no proton” might mean that without proton car prices will be much lower and we can make short loan period only. in that sense, i agree.

but if that is an issue to be addressed in short time, then i agree we continue to stand for proton.

• Did u know more than 100k malaysian thru thousands of malaysian & malaysia-based companies are directly & indirectly dependent on proton’s supply-chain ecosystem?

If proton closes down, it will affect more than 300k malaysian – or you can provide them a job if proton closes down?

Think before bashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 80
        • Vader on Nov 23, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Ur first statement is ok but this statement mean bullshit! Carrying drug involve direct and indirect of many ppl and bring along income too, so u agree to continue activity of carry drug?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 48
        • CLOSE IT DOWN while it just affect merely 300k people than it affect the whole nation, which mean 30 million malaysian.
          Like treating a growing cancer, removed before it spread further.
          or just using BOMOH treatment and hope the cancer will heal by its self.
          you need to cut your leg if you want to survive from a worsening wound.
          UNDERSTAND?HUH!?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 56
          • nice…i like ur comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
          • Just close p1 n to sweeten up close p2 oso…most major n small vendor is non-earth anyway. Just let them die

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
          • DrHead on Nov 24, 2013 at 10:49 am

if like that you don’t have to repair your car if it’s stalled, you just throw it to junkyard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • If u r one of those 300k people who become jobless, how would u feel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
          • sutrak on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:20 pm

I feel jobless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
          • Joker on Nov 26, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Noneed to close it, just lower the import tax and compete like a real man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • AcerMan on Nov 23, 2013 at 5:18 pm

If you can’t compete, you don’t need to think if you are going to be bashed. Welcome to the real world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • You aint smart either… see how VW joint venture with China, Toyota with Taiwan and Thailand..

if we are still not able to compete, dont protect it and use the rakyat to keep it alive.. job opportunity and chain supply can be created with other manufacturer..

look at how other nations move forward without protectism.. job opportunity is just an excuse.. we can create CKD facilities and compete with other nations alike.. not to say Proton has good built quality, the video in paultan camparing vios city n proton mention itself, proton has the worst built quality among the three..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 15
          • Smarties on Nov 24, 2013 at 8:29 am

neither do you, Mitsubishi JV with Proton, Renault, Nissan etc and they could’ve collapsed this year if not because of their rice cooker, air-cond and other appliances.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • just me on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Bn mentality! Why not impose 5 years life time limit. Sure lots of job created!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 37
          • syazwan007 on Nov 25, 2013 at 8:22 am

Dap mentality. Close down lah and buy toyota, since people like you would bash proton to death but worship toyota like some divine gift. Proton just doesn’t create job, its a statement that we can achieve what we desire if we try. a small nation having a car company that has potential is the result of those that have vision and passion for their country. U on the other hand, have none, just like your brain and the promise your “Pakatan” gives to the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 39
          • sutrak on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:28 pm

syazwan, you have the stupidest of comments if there’s such a superlative.

toyota is also owned by BN.

the fact people are bashing proton is because it’s been sucking so much of the rakyat’s resources with little to no improvement. if you are a business division in a company, you will have long been shown the window.

the honeymoon for proton is long over and unfortunately, proton either doesn’t realize it or too lazy to respond. they are in their comfort zone for too long thinking they can always be sucking money from the people to survive. that’s why people are angry.

you on the other hand is still sleeping with proton after all these years. pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 33
          • syazwan007 on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:22 pm

sutrak, i have the stupidest comments ever? if being right and patriotic means I’m the stupidest here then i would be honoured to be bestowed with such title. I haven’t been sleeping, i am being optimistic. Yes proton messed up, but unlike you, i never gave up in our local product, and i believe in the ability for any company to turn things around. If things were to go your way, then there would be no Apple, no Lamborghini, no Buggati, simply because you believe that when a company shows red instead of green, you should close it down for good. Proton can and will succeed, and when that day comes, do us supporters a favour by looking in the mirror and calling yourself an asshole. Oh and lastly, Toyota is not owned by BN you idiot, UMW Holdings is a GLC, not under BN, and if the government changes, UMW would still be a government link company. Get your damn facts straight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 52
          • sutrak on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:18 pm

intelligently optimistic is the key word, my fren. go sleep on it instead of rattling away here.

btw, i wonder what’s the difference between a GLC and a company owned by BN? not sure if u’re plain naive or stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 31
          • Syazwan007 on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:00 pm

So in other words, if PR wins and form the government, glc would still belong 2 BN right? Then to put that into perspective, BN would always be the government so that GLC continues to belong to them. I like that, your right then, GLC should belong to BN..
            Also, intelligently optimistic is better than hopelessly pessimistic which you unashamedly represent. I believe in the possibility that things will get better during the worst of times. You on the other hand, believes in white flags when things get dark and gloomy.
            Ill sleep soundly my friend, knowing that our nation will one day be the envy of the world, with national cars proudly roaring on city streets, surrounded by landmark achievements that people like you will only know to appreciate, not create.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 43
          • sutrak on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:12 pm

ooo.. it’s getting hot in here and i like it.

sleep on it lah my fren. sleep on it. keeping my fingers crossed that u’re not in any leadership position in a company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 26
          • Syazwan007 on Nov 25, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Well if you are afraid of the heat, stop playing with fire. As much as you hope i dont run a company, i hope that you will never be in a position to govern or dictate the direction this country is heading. Sleep on that and come back once your wide awake and have better comebacks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 35
          • sutrak on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:15 pm

Hey, checking this thread again ha? Go sleep lah. Ur family more important than arguing with me lah. Remember to sleep on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
          • Syazwan007 on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Sleep sleep sleep, is that all you have for your arguments? I get better than that from a cat or a baby.. Aiyo, grow up lah boy.. U comment with all your fancy english language and yet u can stand the pressure of being wrong or when others voice their opinion that u could barely comprehend.. U go sleep lah, thats why your mentality is so shallow, ill stay up and do my work to earn money to buy that perdana replacement.. Good luck with owning toyota that people like u love so much when all you do is laze around all day and play keyboard warrior on car blogs to make yourself feel like your not “sampah masyarakat”.. Good night sufak, sleep tight sleepy airhead..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 43
        • Closing this company will benefit 28000000-300000=27000000 people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 22
          • As if the excise duty will be removed. In your dream!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • sutrak on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:14 am

excise duty cannot be controlled by you and me. so if we were to live with it, we want to live with good quality cars. and that my fren is where proton failed big time over and over again despite all the opportunity given.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
        • Sorry, best thing is let other brand take over Proton… to be honest they took too long to progress. Look at Holden from aussie…they are just like our proton before and now they are compete Ford today.saddest thing is every Malaysia would dream to be proud of Proton, but majority are not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
          • afizan on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Sorry bro.. holden never have a single product of their own. Its all vauxhall opel product. Now under gm. I never saw any holden in europe. Is that what u call success? Btw.. holden car sucks…

• GH LOO on Nov 26, 2013 at 7:39 pm

zzu, do you know how many millions of Malaysian suffer due to this so called national car project? If Proton closed down and take over by other car manufacturer, the existing worker are still be employed (unless those not competent to be retained)
          Your argument is purely “political” statement to foul those who are only depending on main stream media and not really “in business”!

• simon on Nov 28, 2013 at 10:12 am

are u got any share in potong?comments like protecting that 300k ppl but how about others like 28mil ppl?

• abuya123 on Nov 23, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Proton can never survive if all protectionism is taken out. MITI should allow Honda and Toyota a freehand to price their cars whatever they deem fit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
        • Common practise on Nov 23, 2013 at 5:41 pm

All countries with homegrown car manufacturers practises some form of protectionism to enable local companies to compete better against imports and survive the competitive market conditions.

Japan did it, South Korea doing it, even the US of A used billions of dollars to bail out GM and Chrysler. One of the reasons is to ensure steady employment for their citizens. Like it or not, Proton is a major job provider and actually got potential to grow if not for some prior ‘dynasties’ of poor administration. Everyone still remember good old Tengku Mahaleel era?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 18
          • Gegary on Nov 23, 2013 at 6:24 pm

When has Proton ever had good old days? Super old technology? Farked power windows? Bad gearboxes? Tin milo panels?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 33
          • I dont mind if proton is as good as hyundai and toyota, and they are not.. further more, proton is selling their car to us much more expensive then they sell to oversea..

you are wrong about US.. its a free market there, American can pay off a Civic with half year salary..

we are the 2nd nation with the most expensive car behind spore.. and still we are in developing stage where transportation plays an important role in nation building.. our G really boleh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
          • frenk on Nov 24, 2013 at 10:41 am

when got super old, toyota still uses 4 speed gearbox and same engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
          • tiadaid on Nov 26, 2013 at 6:51 pm

TSI – America is a free market? What bull – go read up on the “Chicken Tax” which stopped VW from challenging Ford/GM pickup dominance.

Read about how the US & Japan had to voluntarily limit the amount of Japanese cars imported to the US in order to maintain the US trade deficit.

Free market is a MYTH!

• U should get your brain to alignmnet..seems like its off balance big time..

• antihipokrit on Dec 11, 2013 at 3:36 pm

You hater just think one way.Proton has given so much support to our people in term of jobs opportunity and economy chain effects.

• goodone on Nov 24, 2013 at 8:19 am

zzu, we are in the same boat

• scarlet on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:48 am

Me too I dont drive Proton but I bought Proton for my kids at college.

• parang on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:56 am

gd luck proton. no turning back..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
    • alfred on Nov 23, 2013 at 5:12 pm

you are right parang, proton needs all the luck it can get coz it has ZERO talent and wasting tax payers’ money….such an embarrassment to everyone!

The earlier it is shut down, the better for everyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 31
      • Low Budget on Nov 23, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Looks like Proton has to prove to the outside World before the Malaysians to have faith in Proton again. How long will Proton take?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • tax payers money? DRB used ur money? duhhh

• ryan langdon on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:11 am

aiyo alfred, how much tax u pay for one year? rm700?800?1000? stop complaining as if u pay 20k tax la.ur tax can’t barely be use to pay one month salary of gov servant.

• It’s like you are replying and not replying at the same time.

• Luqman_HKM on Nov 23, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Yes! But when will Proton tell the winners of the GSC Naming contest? Also when is the Hot Suprima S coming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • sam69 on Nov 23, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Haha..Sam Loo going to sell is ass off now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • RodaEmpat on Nov 23, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Export model are call GSC. Local use model are call LSC! Biasa la.

• Chris on Nov 23, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Hmm. How about have Lotus design the entire car base/platform/suspension, let R3 design the looks (it’s not bad), and have proton further improve the campro turbo (you know, slowly increase the power like other manufacturer).

And there you have it. A 1.6L B segment hot hatch from Malaysia. Enough kick to make you grin and turns on a dime. Even a jaguh kampung can rise and face the world one day. That would be a good day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • Still trying to fight myvi after badly beaten the last time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • So, what wrong with it? Such a loser…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • What is wrong? Because this company is subsidised by the people.

• So what, other companies also got grant

• Other companies in other countries also got grants lah wei. Billions of dollars summore. BTW, the development grants that govt gave to Proton is not even enough to develop a new chassis.

• Grant is ok but not by raising the prices of other brands.

• If the GSC is price around 50-55k with VSC, 2 airbags, it should sell like hot cakes.. I am one of the many who will really have a look…

I willing to give up 6-7 airbags, touchscreen player, GPS for this price tag… The most important is VSC…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Probably minimum 6 airbags. Both Proton and DRB wanna prioritize safety and they did say that this will also be 5-star ANCAP model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Will just end up a disaster like the past..

Who will buy proton cars overseas when
    1. Proton cars are not price competitive
    2. Other brands provide better quality and brand name.
    3. Fuel efficiency of the CFE 1.6 is so poor. Many 2.5l or even 3.0l engines from other marques have similar or better fuel efficienies.

Only reason proton cars are cheaper in our bolehland is due to the car taxes. Without taxes, cost of proton cars are more expensive. And even then, most ppl who can afford to, will avoid local cars like plague.

When you can’t even win in your home ground, got the cheek to challenge other marques in their home ground? Some ppl are really damn thick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 18
    • sarkstan on Nov 24, 2013 at 12:27 am

One of the causes of proton failure in home ground is non-supportive Malaysians like you. In Korea stricter protection rules, no wonder Kia/Hyundai can win. Then they went abroad, still winning home ground market is not a pre-requisite to tackle other countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
      • RejimKejamGanas on Nov 24, 2013 at 2:51 am

The Koreans receive the same quality cars from their local manufacturers as the models being exported. How do expect Malaysians to be supportive when they are treated like pariahs by their national automaker? Protons costs more here than in export markets and with lower quality and specs, how stupid do you think Malaysians are? Of course if they had a chance they will still opt for better quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • sarkstan on Nov 24, 2013 at 10:44 am

Korean and Japs cars in old days were not as good as now. They are improving, proton also is improving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • Wrong. Its people that are running the show that determined the success of the company. You are comparing the Koreans with minum-pagi-minum-petang people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • mclaren on Nov 24, 2013 at 11:26 am

Can you sell your car in US? Hyundai can sell in US even long time ago. for any product.. US is largest market. If you fail, can’t do much. I’m working with korean company.. i know how they work. they are not good. but always want fast… even fail dun care.. later can fix it. Maybe ppl say korean car not that famous compare german car. Once samsung was no where compare nokia. car is moving towards electric compare mechanical… when there is electric car, they game play can be totally different..

• blue-traveler on Nov 25, 2013 at 11:45 am

You touch the most important point, mclaren. I too have worked with korean in the past for years. They are very focus and gave 100%, not just their bosses, even the workers. I will always remember, how even on sat, their boss n me return quite late back to office from factory area, almost past 3pm already. All the office staffs were still there, and they waited until we have settle now to talk, then one by one come over bid the boss goodbye after asking any more things need to do. I don’t and can’t see that happening in malaysia workers, thai, yes. here no.

• McLaren01 on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:40 pm

yes blue-traveler, most Malaysian (not all) normally ignore to work 100%. boss say do A, only do A. dun prefer to think ahead.

• not-my-name on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:36 am

I am using Exora CFE engine that u call it “so poor”, but I am sure can beat avanza 1.5l and some 1.6 NA car in term of fuel efficiency, not to mention space, handling, comfort, practicality etc in local market.
      U got point in oversea market…

• Jimmy on Nov 23, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Use Emas quick. Don’t waste the design which used up money.
    Put in 1.6 CFE + 6 airbags + ESP.
    English or Italian name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • The EMAS design has been bought by VW already, the VW Up!
      I know, I’m sad too.

• I lol’ed when they said they plan to export 150k cars in 5 years time. In australia last month they sold only 87 cars, even Porsche sold more cars than Proton. Get real please.

http://www.caradvice.com.au/259267/new-car-sales-figures-october-2013/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
    • lol…accually that mean p1 sales in ausie increases…last year they sold below 200 unit for the whole yr if not mistaken…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • imran on Nov 23, 2013 at 3:51 pm

5 years is long way to go & many things still need to do by proton, getting more dealers & service centers surely will increase the sales number.

& a good product that will be a turnaround for proton in this industry. with those positive moves that proton have done untill now, its already go far from the time of waja or Juara

latest model already include more accessories added. more safety features. more value added not like before.

I am positive with proton plan & hard work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • when mention value, what do they give local nation who Force to support them? price even on par orversea , many nation car maker selling affordable price to own Rakyat

• Yes. 5 years is a long time, enough to bulls the people. After 5 years people wont remember this statement already

• ssangyong is better than proton.
      such a joke.
      nevermind la.
      proton beat ROllroyce and even lambogini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • tok_kok2 on Nov 23, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Congrats Proton!!

Just like Audi’s slogan – Vorsprung durch Technik “Advancement through technology”

Your’s is “Vorsprung durch Protektion”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
  • iluvproton on Nov 23, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Rebadge also need so long kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • You dont read arent u?? pls read first la before comment.
      “The proper Proton Perdana replacement for general market sales will only come in two years time pending further developments. So while the government will get a car that looks very much like a Honda Accord, similiar to the prototype that we sighted recently, they do have plans to sell a more unique car to the public.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • kuriboh on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:41 pm

mentality of the third world people. they said already this GSC is a new fresh product, only the replacement Perdana is rebadged. if u want to bash, please read first.

• A380-800 on Nov 23, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Bungkus jelah proton tu.. Rakyat pulak yg kena pay the price for proton survival..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 31
  • anonymous on Nov 23, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Proton under DRB management is CRAP..! More than 2 years to wait for a perdana replacement for the public is ridiculous. Meaning after sellig to govt the rebadged accord it will be obsolete in 2 years since coming up with another redesigned model (and more money spent to develop…) into a market segment that’s small and unappreciative of the proton mark. Brilliant minds them all (sarcasm here)..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Annoy_namous on Nov 25, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Proton-DRB management have vacancies. Why don’t you apply and improved the situation. Show us your ‘Brilliant’ ideas..

• Aiyo.. it takes 2 year because of Honda. The Japanese very kedekut in terms of sharing technology. That’s why Proton get older gen of Accord for now..

• Black Dog on Nov 23, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Great! They sold 3 cars in UK in September (they think they’re selling Ferraris?) and now they target 500,000 cars worldwide in 2017?

Only fools get taken by this big bullshit talk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 18
    • They don’t have stock, how to sell ?

Anyway, Proton has sold more than 150,000 cars in the U.K so far. Go check Proton’s Wikipedia page. I compiled all the data myself, just for occasions like this.

Please do more research before bashing. Proton at one time was doing quite ok in their export markets, up until the 1997 Asian Financial Crisis. Not their fault some more, now they must start over from scratch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
  • ok but please la proton no more new name for your new replacement car. Just maintain with perdana la

• damdamtum on Nov 23, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Selagi umno bn memerintah proton hanya dalam domestic market for export soorrrrry bro jangan mimpi, perabis duit rakyat mereka bolih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
  • Sam Loo on Nov 23, 2013 at 5:02 pm

This is probably the smartest move made by Proton so far.

If they had rebadged a K5 or Sonata, most of the minister using the national car would have stuck to Perdana instead of being chaufered around in a rotten cabbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Absolute Rider on Nov 23, 2013 at 6:54 pm

Come on Proton, please improve your interior quality. For example, I like the Suprima S except the rear bumper with non functional diffuser.

For interior, the gaps in between the fixing also wide. Look at the between A pillar and top of dashboard. The gaps between the dash and the door panel really terrible.

Proton, please take all out and redesign the interior plus good infotainment and not current installed.

Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • kuriboh on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:48 pm

for the gap prob, they do have problem when to finalize the tolerance of shaft and holes. it is quite tough (for those who are familiar with engineering drawing will understand), but instead they can improve it if proton people do want to accept other people ideas and opini0ns.

• Proton’s future is abroad. For now, they are doing very well in China, but they must keep pushing. The sooner they launch the Prevé and Suprima there, the better.

The U.K. will be tough, but Proton can still hold their own there because there are still many tens of thousands of old Saga/Wira/Iswara owners, mostly elderly men and women, who would not hesitate to buy a new Proton if necessary. Despite what Top Gear and other reviewers say, Proton cars, especially old Protons have a good reputation in the U.K.. Proton’s U.K. website is ranked around 1 million in the world on Alexa and more than half of the visitors are British; it shows that the British are still interested in Proton and what they have on offer.

Speaking about websites, if you check the Proton.com website on Alexa, you will notice that there’s a lot of visitors from Iran, Egypt, Indonesia and even the U.S.. These are the markets Proton should focus on, because of public interest, instead of wasting time on other small markets/unknown countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Proton oh proton.
    Please be consistent. In your direction and in your product. I sat in Kia n Hyundai cars at KLIMS recently. I wonder how serious Proton Management is, about lifting the image of Proton. What I read about Proton these days are-sales, sales and more sales.
    No people connection to your product. No more passion about you building cars. No intent to pull us the customers to discover the speciality of your products. No new discovery made that people might want to be interested to know or share.
    Good luck proton!

• Jimmy on Nov 24, 2013 at 9:34 pm

No new tech, no innovasi. Kampung style designs by one man show, Italian designer konon?
      A few weeks later, the management may respond by announcing a series of R & D / tech / innovation etc. But then after a few months, the things just go to drain. They are just like our BN politicians.

• They do alot of big events in many places lah. larger than half of KLIMS. You should be ashamed for not knowing that fact eventhough you have internet.

Next week Proton, R3 and Lotus will be in Shah Alam Stadium.

• Dave_S on Nov 24, 2013 at 12:23 am

Sorry to butt in but here’s the view from the real world: Proton are an absolute joke of a car maker and only the sort of people absolutely desperate to own a new car despite only having money for a used car ever bought them.

Since then they’ve dropped the ball massively and have been overtaken by the Koreans, including Kia, Hyundai and even the Daewoo Chevrolets and new entrants like Dacia have taken up the super-budget space with cars of a quality Proton will never achieve. Nobody buys or wants the rubbish that’s shat out of Malaysia. Face it, if it wasn’t for protectionism in Malaysia they wouldn’t sell any of them.

Zero image, zero quality, zero residual value, lowest common denominator rubbish. If you can’t see that, you need to see an optician, and quickly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
    • How come you said 5 stars safety crashed-test cars than proton produced, you said ZERO quality? Either you are stupid or butthurt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • enkei on Nov 24, 2013 at 10:53 am

proton blind butthurt basher detected!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Potong really famous for making announcements with super words such as ” global” but sadly still jaguh kampung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • along on Nov 24, 2013 at 8:13 am

Yawnnn…

They can target, what they want to target…

To increase the sales to 500k…
    easy peasy,

mandatory elv for 15 yrs…
    jack up the tax to 300%…

done…

When the buying stop, the killing can too,
    When we work together, we can win this…

• Painter on Nov 24, 2013 at 8:45 am

Now that everyone else has jumped into the Hybrids/EVs band-wagon, Proton seem to have fallen behind again. Suggest they skip the Hybrids/EVs and start researching flying cars.

• abdullah on Nov 24, 2013 at 10:50 am

It is all Dr M fault.
    Still trying to throw good money after bad money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Hadi75 on Nov 24, 2013 at 11:15 am

Proton can be better if and only if they can be strict in qc with their vendors ie. which most probably cronies….imagine what would happen if the deal with vw gone through…..all those cronies vendors would have to follow a very rigid and strict qc. If cannot follow, terminate…and proton could be the skoda of asia….

• Jimmy on Nov 24, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Cannot.
      Your kerusi got only one kaki, is it? (is it that your kerusi got only one kaki?)
      You don’t feed me, then you wait till the next UMNO election.
      Those krooni people using a lot of talis are mostly incapable people (datuks but I don’t know they are good in what, other than talking, mostly unbelievable things or nonsense, and sambung talis), lack of knowledge, expertise and dedication. How to manufacture a proper power window also take them 20 years to learn (I think now they have improve on this particular matter).

• mclaren on Nov 24, 2013 at 11:19 am

Proton need joint venture.. not rebadging. Joint venture can help penetrate foreign market. Engine and gear box is main item to concern by buyer.. and ppl dun know campro… they should leave the campro and try to spend money for marketing and design. even big car share platform or engine. why can’t proton? Keeping lotus for branding.. they need more touch of lotus in proton to embrace it..

• Jimmy on Nov 24, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Nobody wants to JV with you if your priority is kawans/talis first. Too much politics.
      JV pura-pura maybe le.

• Absolute Rider on Nov 24, 2013 at 6:07 pm

This is serious, Proton.

Come out your facelift Suprima S with:
    1. Redesigned rear bumper with proper functional diffuser
    2. New rear combination lamp with ‘thicker’ light guides. Current one is too thin.
    3. Totally redesign interior because current fix and finish is terrible.
    4. New infotainment… Clarion…..

• Absolute Rider on Nov 24, 2013 at 6:11 pm

By next year, please. Thank you very much. You need to get the car now to your studio to see all the cons I mentioned. Thanks again.

Look at Toyota vios, launched later than suprima s but already seen more than 20 compared with suprima s only seen two.

Do not ignore my comments.

• Me oso seen only two Suprima sinch the launch, and one of them was a promo car…where r the thousands n thousands of bookings as as claimed by Potong?

• ccy7218 on Nov 24, 2013 at 11:25 pm

proton, to success in the B-segment car, it is not easy…to compete giant brand toyota vios, honda city, nissan almera, ford fiesta, mazda2, vw polo sedan and now the latest entry mitsu attrage…notice that these are all giant brands with great advantages if their cars

so for proton to compete, you shall team up with a giant partner which you already did and produce this car, and of course the price shall be competitive (cheapest among all because you are local made) without sacrificing quality and safety…

and one more issue to improve your after sales-service in terms of human attitude, quality service, competitive price, convenience of service, etc…just my 2 cents opinion…

• malik on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:27 am

Perdana Replacement in 2016 ??
    Rebadge the 2013 Honda and call it Msian owned ?
    DRB cannot even foresee what’s instore for 2014
    and they have the cheek to predict 3 years down the road. Why are the Msian public living in denial
    thinking that Proton will turn the corner and produce global standard cars in the near future.
    Lain kali lah !!

• Dr Kooty on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:07 am

Perodua sedan can simply send Proton on the brink of collapse and bankruptcy, whatever new Saga or new Savvy offered soon.

All victimised and cheated rakyat just cannot wait to see Proton dead and buried for good.

May you rot in hell, Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Orang yang bijak adalah orang yang tidak akan menyokong proton. Proton adalah jenama yang menyusahkan rakyat untuk membeli kenderaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • ahmad zul on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:33 am

i do so enjoy reading the bashing to a local company in a developing nation which if i m not mistaken has had many changes in management/direction, faced numerous business/economic challenges and various support from cynics.

• v-power on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Why rebadge the Honda Accord if you only intend to use it for 2 years…? Why the stop-gap measure…? Wouldn’t it make more economic sense to just soldier on with the current Perdana, a dinosaur it may be…until the new replacement arrives?!

C’mon DRB, some of your decisions are quite questionable lately. Why not drop by paultan.org sometimes…you’ll see some really good comments on where you should be taking Proton instead…

• thedarkside on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:48 pm

hi proton…please hire some new designers and engine engineers for your cars. Azlan and Co have done their best….its time for them to make way for others. “IMPORT” them if you have too. Its not about not giving local talent chances…but you have to put TOP TALENT at the right place and the way i see it, proton products are lacking in design and engine refinement.

• ccy7218 on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:51 pm

In some sense, I do agree with you, proton must put in the top talent at the right segment, example put lah local engineer in the interior design segment as in this segment I believe the locals can success, however in the mechanical segment, example engine,gear box, rotating parts, proton have to import if necessary as we still have no match to foreign’s. Look at Toyota, their engine is so reliable and refine as their R&D is so established whereas in proton, just still not able to produce reliable engine and gear box at the moment… long long way man! So in order to save time and money, let’s focus on the right direction, come on lah PROTON!!!

• Say Who? on Nov 25, 2013 at 11:47 pm

and do you know why this doesn’t happen?
        I think our local talents are good enough to design Protons Car…but don’t you think the upper management always kills their creativity? that happen a lot in in our country… the Mr Arrogant Dumber that so called Mr Know everything…and maybe put some money in my pocket lah… these kind of person that killed in silent the proton…not us..not basher… hopefully someday we will see that Mr Arrogant that know everything and his pocket can leave the field… give them red card already…

• to be the best….proton should improved on engine technology….what bmw-psa, vw or ford do is very impressive……even honda or toyota cannot match it…

• Sharon on Nov 25, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Do you know Honda has the most reliable engine? Don’t be impressed by those tech terms by merz, bmw, psa, ford, vw etc…only….

try to run the engines for years, you will see what I mean. by the way, i’m not driving Honda.

• nenek hang on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:26 pm

bla bla bla price still higher..proton still selling their products..

• mugenconcept on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Potong shd kolos down, then we’ll get cheaper imports. It’s no longer nations pride, more like a shame… owai

• TONKANBUBU on Nov 26, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Are you dare to drive a Proton electric car?

• We only gonna get the last gen accord in 2016??? It’d better be cheap!!!

• violet on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:33 am

yup but only the last gen chasis… all others will b up to proton to develop it.. engine.. suspension.. interior.. everythng..

• b sensible on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:36 pm

proton shd never be an independent car maker in the first place. the reasons being high r&d cost & lack of expertise. time is ripe proton need partner to co-develop car. not collaborate with partner by buying junk technology from them. if collaborate with partner, also make sure the car has global appeal. just like in china where local car makers jv with global gar giant to make car that is appealing to the consumers! proton should be serious finding the right partner and not be independent now. until then it’s the consumers’ appeal in your car that drive sales.

• dark child on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:08 am

in my recent trip to the Philippines,i was surprised to see the BODY resemblance of a FORD car to a Proton Preve and its hatchback???its look EXACTLY the same LESS the front n back lights….is this a CUTTING COST steps of proton or there’s a MOU between the company’s to produce the new preve body?????

• violet on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:31 am

I can see the “idea” of destroying the Proton is slowly planted and widely spread now… u “guys” really know how to make use of it. bravo.. lets kill proton.. kill!!

• cacing on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Oh god help us! if proton close down.. 300k people will be jobless, economy down, most importantly BN loss monoply in profit from average income people. god help us, proton bosses needs that money.. to protect malaysians, to give them job and feed their children and their grand children. Oh god please dont improve proton fuel economy, otherwise people in petronas will have no job because dont need so much petrol, oh god please dont save proton’s power window, otherwise people in the electrical engineering department wont have job and business, oh god please dont save the management team, otherwise people in the human resourse department wont have job. Think before you ruin proton, you could ruin an economy.

• barney on Dec 12, 2013 at 12:22 am

The problem is, why must PROTON copy cat others brand and stamp with Proton logo? what’s the problem? Why can’t they design new car? Are their engineers not good enough?

I’m so curious. Even China can design their own sporty look car. I envy them. The tax that we paid, for what? No improvement in Proton at all. Until when?

• aquaimplotec on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Licencing kills innovation and curb creativity. APs kills competition. Proton does not create national cars, it imports other countries cars and sells as it’s own. Import duties protect an industry that does not exist. There is really no national car industry, only a rebranded CKD assembly with some copycat parts manufacturers. No point kidding yourself that Proton can make cars, however, banana republic dictators can dictate whatever and who will bother to say they are wrong. Malaysians are the bolehs to the ridiculus extreme.

• tahu cakap je , kalau pandai sangat buat kereta sendiri FAHAM !!!!

• pelik_hairan on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:43 am

dah kalau x pandai buat kereta tutup jer kilang PAHAM!!!

• Nabil on Dec 23, 2013 at 3:35 pm

One thing that I like about proton car is their handling . No doubt . It’s by Lotus .
    Well , Lotus has been expertise in handling .

• Wow look at all these stupid kids trying to support proton and govt crap. U kids part of the bn cyber youth program? Idiots, keep being ignorant driving your crappy cars, most of you will never know that humans deserve better safety, quality and performance.

• pelik_hairan on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:42 am

this car will look shit and definitely will have a shit quality engine,gearbox,plastic too just like same old proton…

those protonfaq can dislike me coz we knew the truth is always butthurt

• pak abu on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:55 pm

If proton rebadge LOTUS ELISE and sell for the price like PReve, I will buy 2 units. Sure proton tak berani buat. To improve proton, kick out all politician share holders inside proton.

• volkoff on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:40 pm

every car got its own problem, the way their mechanic / SC solve the problem is important.
    that lack for proton.. proton really need to improve after sales service, AND revise the price.