Mazda CX-5 2.5 launched: 2WD RM165k, 4WD RM175k

SONY DSC

Also launched in 1 Utama beside the third-gen Mazda 3 is the Mazda CX-5 2.5. Fully imported (CBU) from Japan, the Mazda CX-5 2.5 gets all of the locally-assembled (CKD) 2.0 High Spec‘s equipment, plus an i-stop start/stop system, sunroof and a nine-speaker Bose sound system.

However, the CX-5 2.5 CBU does not get the 255/55 R19 wheels fitted to the initial batch of CBU 2.0 cars – it continues to ride on the CKD 2.0?s 225/65 R17 alloys.

The 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine (also found in the Mazda6 2.5) develops 184 hp at 5,700 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 3,250 rpm, compared to the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G’s 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

mazda-docs 038

Click to enlarge spec sheet
According to Bermaz Motor MD Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh, the introduction of the CBU 2.5 is due to present production constraints and the long delivery period. Once capacity is increased following the commissioning of the new assembly line, the CX-5 2.5 will be locally produced.

Deep Crystal Blue Mica, Meteor Grey Mica, Crystal White Pearl Mica, Zeal Red Mica and Aluminium Metallic body colours are available. Prices are thus: RM165,084 for the 2WD and RM175,344 for the 4WD, OTR with insurance. Included is a three-year/100,000 km warranty and three years/60,000 km of free service.

In comparison, the CKD 2.0 car is priced from RM137k-154k, while the early CBU 2.0 car was priced from RM160k-170k.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:20 pm

worth the upgrade….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
    • Najib, where is the 30% reduction Promise? on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices.

Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 9 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU or whether it is EV or EEV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise??

A Mazda CX5 CBU with higher spec in the US, has about 8 airbags, VSC, EBD, Tire Pressure Monitor etc etc, very high spec and yet it cost US$21,395. It is CBU Japan made and every single part in Japan made ie very high quality. So, US$21,395 – this works out to RM60,000.

Bermaz will get this car far cheaper from their principial in Japan. If US Mazda can sell this car for USD$21,395 and yet make a margin and profit, then, it is pretty clear, Bermaz Malaysia might be getting this car less than USD$21,395. Maybe about USD$15,000 direct from their principal. Adding to it, it is CKD, most of its parts Made In Malaysia. So, the cost will be much lesser than even US$15,000.

Don’t forget Mazda USA also pay excise duties and taxes to the government,

So, how is the car sold here at RM165,000?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 18
      • Pak Haji on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:12 pm

I got a CBU CX5. In the Kastam Di Raja papers can see clearly the price of the car. When it comes to port Klang, the car is USD$12,000

Those with CBU cars, go see your Kastam Di Raja documents.

We Malaysians kena con big time lah!! Don’t believe the lies our government tells us about car prices going up globally.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
        • lol u just paid triple for a car worth Rm40k. Satisfied ah dapat mazda? :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • Same Lor on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:15 am

It is the GOVERNMENT who cause the price to be so high! Why? Just because to protect the J class Proton!

We pay triple for the CX-5 compared to oversea. But you are paying 30k-70k for a J class (no one even want to buy it in oversea). Who is wiser? You tell me!

*J = junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Not J class lah. Should be P class which is stand for pariah class.

• Mantra on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Not to burst your bubbles, this issue has become very tiring and old. As long as Proton and Perodua continue to exist, the price of ALL other cars will remain high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • im curios -> did najib gave that promise 5 year ago??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • BLT Club (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:44 pm

You have to wait for the next election for this to come true if at all.

• Kangkong on Apr 16, 2014 at 10:59 am

As long as the BN Government is ruling. We all just go back home and day dream the car price will come down!

• that’s true sir. but i dont think najib will be reading this. lol

• Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:20 pm

The 19-in wheels make the CX-5 looks more like the CX-9, sad that it only gives 17-in wheels

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Najib Razak on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Why sad? cheaper to maintain. Our Malaysian roads are not suitable for >= 19″.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
      • bluebird on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:14 pm

our malaysian roads not suitable for > 15″ .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • Najib, where is the 30% reduction Promise? on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices.

Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 9 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU or whether it is EV or EEV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise??

A Mazda CX5 CBU with higher spec in the US, has about 8 airbags, VSC, EBD, Tire Pressure Monitor etc etc, very high spec and yet it cost US$21,395. It is CBU Japan made and every single part in Japan made ie very high quality. So, US$21,395 – this works out to RM60,000.

Bermaz will get this car far cheaper from their principial in Japan. If US Mazda can sell this car for USD$21,395 and yet make a margin and profit, then, it is pretty clear, Bermaz Malaysia might be getting this car less than USD$21,395. Maybe about USD$15,000 direct from their principal. Adding to it, it is CKD, most of its parts Made In Malaysia. So, the cost will be much lesser than even US$15,000.

Don’t forget Mazda USA also pay excise duties and taxes to the government,

So, how is the car sold here at RM165,000?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • paucharsiew on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:21 pm

pretty sure u had the colour choices wrong…those are ckd i think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • roti canai (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:26 pm

if not mistaken….Deep Cyrstal Blue, Zeal Red, Crystal Pearl White, Meteor Grey and Aluminium

• They officially fuxk those ppl that brought the CX5 2.0 cbu. lucky i didnt buy.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Even though this is CBU from Japan, it is still so closely priced to our CKD CRV 2.5, which comes in at 169800 with 4WD.

I think if they CKD, it will easily be cheaper than the CRV 2.4

Let the games begin?

• Korean Fan on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Good point. So it means that car company can price CBU as good as CKD, but they are ripping us off in the name of CBU

• W204 C63 on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Or they are ripping you off in the name of CKD, like Toyota, Honda, BMW and Merc.

• Aaron on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Hi paultan, there’s a typo in your article. 250NM of torque kicks in at just 3,250rpm, instead of 4,000rpm, which is same as the Mazda6 2.5

• Nabill on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:12 pm

luv cx5…but i argue that the std 2wd 2.0cc is a better value n that what makes it popular on da road

• mmaker on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:32 pm

what is sprint 0-100 km time? 9.0 sec ?

• OMG…if Bermaz decide to CKD the 2.5 then the price would be very close to the current CKD 2.0. Felt sorry for the current CX-5 owner…

• I prefer Kuga still. 180 HP, 240 nm fully imported and less than 160 K awd….
    of course putting RV a side :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Good luck with your twin clutch….. sooner or later u will have to deal with the problems.

• lonelyobserve on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:06 am

Ford Kuga in this country uses conventional torque converter 6-speed automatic gearbox, branded as SelectShift.

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 19, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Am I the only person bothered by the cheap looking helmet visor like black plasticky protruding thing strapped over the logo at CX5’s grille?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • OTISOON on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Just wonder will the quality of the CBU MAZDA CX-5 2.5 better than CKD CX-5 2.5 because CBU is made in Japan ??
    Anyone know?

• Otisoon (Member) on Mar 20, 2014 at 12:02 am

Just wondering, will the quality of the CBU cx-5 2.5 better than the CKD CX-5 2.5 because of CBU is fully imported from Japan?
    Anyone know?

• Richard Chu on Mar 20, 2014 at 2:01 pm

The peak torque happening at 3250 rpm makes this car more drive-able,gives better fuel consumption and the engine will last longer. This is the type of engine that one has to keep in mind when shopping for your next car.

• ckdking (Member) on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Beautiful when it first came out. But its becoming so boring now. There are more CX5 than all CRVs combined on Malaysian roads!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • unknown enemy on Mar 23, 2014 at 9:31 pm

I had enough of the political argueed… if u thing that car the sold in malaysia are overprice than leave… this are option and not compulsory… if u think UK have the best price for everything and leave there.. I am student from UK for over 11 years ago and still paying the loan for overprice leaving cost and education fees.. your dumb ass only know to talk.. peace..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
    • Another typical umno macai’s common phrase, “leave if you don’t agreed with the government”. Wow, a student from UK huh? No wonder you have such a “good command of English”. ;)

• sikit2 political…try and stay @ other country and you’ll be thankful that you are in malaysia.. i believe you wont be able to afford even a car tyre. and have some respect for PM…if Anwar or Kit Siang become PM, i doubt they can make the car prices better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • BSLee on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:41 pm

whoever become PM, the cars price will still be the same. Its an “addiction”; government receives 6+billion per year from cars taxes alone, and they can simply give it up.

• crv vs cx5 which one is better !
    give some opinion ,comments or criticism….
    i am choosing between this two car….
    or any other better car with the same price range? thanks