GALLERY: Toyota Levin for the Chinese market

toyota-corolla-levin-china 102

Auto China 2014 begins today, but ahead of that our team on the ground in Beijing has served up these shots of the latest-gen Chinese-market Toyota Corolla, which we now know is called the Toyota Levin (Australia uses the same name for its Corolla hatch). The car is apparently being displayed at several spots around China; this location is the Kerry Hotel in Beijing.

Reports out of China suggest that there will be two distinct versions of the Corolla on sale in the Middle Kingdom – the Levin you see here comes from Guangqi-Toyota, while FAW-Toyota (the other Toyota joint-venture in China) will sell a Corolla that’s similar to our Corolla Altis (ASEAN and Europe). It could be that the former will be targeted at younger buyers while the latter will aim for the more conservative set.

toyota-corolla-levin-china 099

This Guangqi-Toyota Levin has a different face from the US Corolla and our ASEAN Corolla Altis. There’s a slim front grille with a huge chrome slab that continues over the top of the new-shape headlamps (they appear to be a cross between the US Corolla’s hawk eyes and the ASEAN Corolla Altis’ wide wrap-around units). The lower intake is trapezoidal-shaped like the non-S-grade US Corolla, but features a chrome surround.

The Levin’s rear is quite similar to the US Corolla’s – boot and rear bumper are the same, down to the shut lines. However, the Toyota logo here has been moved up to make way for the huge chrome slab that bridges the tail lamps, themselves of a very slightly different shape from the US Corolla’s, and with different graphics too. Also, the US Corolla’s tailpipe pokes straight out of the rear bumper; the Levin’s tailpipe curves downwards.

Length, width, height and wheelbase are respectively 4,630, 1,775, 1,480 and 2,700 mm – 20 mm shorter (horizontally) and 25 mm taller (vertically) than the US Corolla, and 10 mm longer (horizontally) and 20 mm taller (vertically) than our Altis. Interior? Pretty much status quo, although the digital clock sits on the right of the air vents, instead of dead centre as in our Altis, and the car features a twin instrument dial layout like our 2.0 V (two layouts are available globally).

According to Chinese reports, the Guangqi-Toyota Levin will come with a choice of 1.6 and 1.8 litre engines, plus five-speed manual and CVT gearboxes. The car’s expected to turn up at the show in Beijing, which is just about to open its doors to the press, so sit tight for more details!

Toyota Corollas around the globe (clockwise from top-left): Chinese Guangqi-Toyota Levin, European/ASEAN Toyota Corolla/Altis, US Toyota Corolla S, US Toyota Corolla LE Eco

Which Corolla front do you like the best? Answer in our poll below.

[polldaddy poll=7980341]

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• mamat on Apr 20, 2014 at 8:41 am

better than our altis =(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
    • Green on Apr 20, 2014 at 9:57 am

Best thing just got even Better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Same Loor on Apr 21, 2014 at 11:57 am

I used to have a 1984 Levin. Both new and old Levin are superb!

• Simple, we like it? We import the bumpers over, problem solved ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 20, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Bring in Levin and Auris hatchback and sell them alongside Altis…and voila…a Corolla for every market segment…just imagine those civic buyers will opt for levin and focus owners will change to auris…simply amazing it works yes it works…

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 20, 2014 at 3:15 pm

And of course the conservative uncles and aunties will stick to Altis…so umw toyota…think big n start bringing in levin and auris…

• frenzyaustin on Apr 20, 2014 at 8:55 am

To be honest, it looks damn sexy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • When will be available in Malaysia land..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • naim amir on Apr 20, 2014 at 9:08 am

why didnt they do 2 door version?

• iluvbird on Apr 20, 2014 at 10:00 am

Copied fron angry bird?

• Legendaray Corolla Altis.

• Mozilla Chrome on Apr 20, 2014 at 10:18 am

Now even Toyota traps into Kia-ish design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • pearjai on Apr 20, 2014 at 11:06 am

Toyota should continuous 2zz-ge for their performance corolla…

• Crasher on Apr 20, 2014 at 11:32 am

Meanwhile, in Malaysia…
    *Facepalm*

• almost ok with my eyes until i saw that steering control…play station remote control on it.

• Altis liker on Apr 20, 2014 at 11:36 am

Omg. Just got my altis 1 week ago. Feel want to throw away mine after seeing this. Really regret x 1000000. Now i know toyota is very potential in design. We need such design!!

• copy cat
    1. from ford front grill
    2. from hyundai front HID light
    3. from honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
  • Good. we spend more money than the others and buy the ugliest among these….

• AVH (Member) on Apr 20, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Its actually a really good looking car, sharp, define and clean lines, almost like a Schereyer design. Its unfortunate that they kept the worst part of the Corolla, the upright interior, throughout all markets, its bloody cramp in there, or at least the feeling that upright console makes.

which just made me wonder why could’t Toyota just picked one deisgn for the general market? Ford, Kia and even Honda have shown that sticking with one design, a global design works. Now we have 3 International design, the Chinese(the looker), American(Sporty) and European(I’am gonna kill ya) couple with the JDM dull-as-hospital-wallpaper Corolla Axio. I don’t think our Corolla looks back its just that its spec is so terrible, to give a comparison, USDM spec gets All models standard eight airbags, VSC, TRC, and Bluetooth hand-free phone and audio-streaming connectivity.

• inderaloka on Apr 20, 2014 at 1:20 pm

It will be much nicer if there are no circle crop at the tail lamp.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 20, 2014 at 1:22 pm

I like the simple & sleek look. Good. Thumbs up.

• Whenever it’s a toyota even bit good it’ll be praised like god. Whenever it’s a proton everything good is bad.

Duh.

• this altis looks so much better on Apr 20, 2014 at 1:53 pm

this car is so much better looking than the latest altis. they should have just sold this here. why can’t they do a survey and study what people like ? it helps both way, customers get what they want, and Toyota makes good sale. The current altis, doesn’t look nice at all. no wonder, i don’t see the latest malaysian altis on the roads.

• guan eng jr on Apr 20, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Many buttons on the steering wheel, are they illuminate?

• arulkay on Apr 20, 2014 at 2:36 pm

this Toyota Levin looks like Adam Levine…..our Toyota Corolla here looks like Adam Levine gandpa…hahaha
    facelift our Corolla with that facial a.s.a.p….more young executive will buy it…

• another defective unsafe toyota that going to cost human life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 20, 2014 at 3:46 pm

levin? lol so will there be a trueno coming soon…i also wanna realise my dreams of delivering tofu in cameron highlands

• Albert lee on Apr 20, 2014 at 6:41 pm

This Chinese version resembles an angry bird with a PIRANHA MOUTH,doesn’t it?

• Murderer on Apr 20, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Those people who voted for Malaysia Altis are those who go to Indian barber, wear Alan Delon, owned Citizen watch and a pair of Bata shoes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Parris Boyd on Apr 20, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Toyota is a hoot. NASA physicist Henning Leidecker is now speaking out regarding the increased risk of unintended acceleration due to “tin whiskers” growing in the electronic throttle control of ’02-’06 Camrys, comparing it to a game of Russian roulette. Toyota redesigned the pedal sensors in ’07 and ’08 for the express purpose of eliminating the tin whisker risk. Instead of Toyota, the Justice Department, and NHTSA trying to keep the electronics issue quiet, a recall should be issued to update the sensors in the models Dr. Leidecker has noted. I’ve been blogging about the Recall King for quite some time – search “Beware of Toyota. Their next victim may be YOU…”

• Make it a two door that is Fwd and call it Levin or trueno.

• look like lorry dashboard.

• m’sia version cannot compare at all….

• Paolo on May 10, 2014 at 12:20 am

I know thay I’m gonna get a lot of negative comments but I think the European/Asean looks the best. Conservative but elegant styling. always ages well.

• I will buy one immediately if there is a coupe model

• Kamron on May 14, 2014 at 8:12 am

Well, it is nice but no AE111. Damn the AE111s were sexy as hell, I have one parked outside as I type and I plan to pass it down to my son or daughter. 4-throttle Twin Cam 20 Valve Blacktop – whew! Damn those cars rule. This isn’t really in keeping with he true spirit of the levin – that’s more the GT 86 but hey, at least Toyota brought back the badass name. What they need to do now is make a coupe and get a damn 4-throttle 20 Valve 1.6 Liter badass engine like the 4AGE in it. Now that would be sweet!