Caltex launches Techron Concentrate Plus fuel system cleaner in Malaysia – RM35 per bottle promo price

techron-250Chevron Malaysia Limited, which markets the Caltex brand, launched the Techron Concentrate Plus (TCP) fuel system cleaner in Malaysia this morning. You’ve heard of the Techron additive in Caltex fuels before – this is the good stuff concentrated in a 355 ml bottle for petrol engines.

Chevron says that lower quality fuels can leave harmful deposits in your engine, which accumulates over time. TCP works to clean these deposits, protect the fuel system, restore lost power and performance, and help reduce emissions while maximising fuel economy – in just one tankful.

With repeated use, TCP is also able to clean and protect the fuel system components from sulfur contamination, which can affect the fuel sensor over time.

Boroscope tests (endoscope for cars) showing pictures of a car’s intake valves and ports (via fuel injector holes) plus piston tops were done in 80 cars in Southeast Asia, and all showed insides that were almost perfectly clean, with an average score of 9.7 out of 10 in the CRC intake valve deposit rating system.

To use, pour the entire bottle of TCP into a nearly empty fuel tank and refuel with up to 45 litres of petrol. Repeat every 5,000 km for best results. The company says that regular users of Caltex with Techron fuel don’t need the TCP “detox” as it’s the case of “an apple a day…” for them.

Available in selected Caltex stations for now (will be available nationwide soon), the US-made TCP is available at a promo price of RM35 (normal price RM45) from July 15 till August 31.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Nice, but better fuel in the first place would be even better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • Gargantia on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Even Caltex agree malaysia fuel is dirty and not up to world standard.
      To a country that produce petroleum, this’s how the gov and petroleum company treat fellow RAKYAT.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 13
      • Anti-Establishment on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:38 am

The “RAKYAT” output mostly isn’t up to world standard so expect similar to be given back at the “RAKYAT” lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
        • Fantastic Caltex!!! on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:12 am

Malu betul. Example. ABC company emits dangerous and toxic gasses from its factory. But ABC company ask the surrounding residents to pay and buy face masks, and pay and buy oxygen tanks to prevent the toxic chemicals harming you.

Everyone should boycott Caltex!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Caltex- Unethical Company on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:53 am

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to cleaner Euro 6 fuel to give their people cleaner air.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid.

Then they give us the crap about cleaner fuel.

Chevron Malaysia should be giving us cleaner fuel instead of trying to sell us more products to reap more money. How ethical is Caltex? They not bothered to give us clean fuel but dare to sell products at extra cost to ensure our engines are clean.

If Caltex is an ethical company, it would give us cleaner Euro 4 fuel in the first place.

Caltex has failed the people of Malaysia as well as the Government has failed its people in Malaysia

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Becaus eof the dirty petrol and diesel, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air? That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer but are more bothered about the 3 or 4 oil companies, companies of which are already reaping hundreds of billions per annum each.

Who says the oil companies cannot afford to upgrade their plants? Each oil company makes no less than RM100 billion per annum. This is not reported. They should be upgrading their oil and giving us cleaner fuel instead of selling us fuel adddtives at an extra cost.

So again I ask, who is the boss? The oil companies or the Government? It looks like the oil companies are boss in Malaysia. The Government has no balls. Now oil companies can give us dirty fuel and yet try to sell extra products to undo the damage the dirty fuel causes.

All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments.

In Malaysia, because the Government of Malaysia dips into the pockets of Petronas and takes its money as and when it needs it on the quiet, the Government of Malaysia has lost its voice and control over the oil companies and cannot “instruct” it to comply to give cleaner fuel. In other words, the Government of Malaysia has been “bought” by these oil companies.

The Government of Malaysia cares for just 3 or 4 oil companies and throws shit to the 30 million Malaysians living here. Cleaner fuel was available more than 10 years ago in other countries. Does it take more than 10 years to upgrade your plants? Now oil companies are asking more time? Another 10 years?

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposed peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel kills more people per annum than any war will.

It is even worse when not only we don’t get clean fuel, but in the capital city, we cannot even get clean and uninterrupted water as well as our women cannot even walk safely in the streets without feeling fear of snatch and rape. But our Government has time for big projects like Iskandar etc but not bothered about the cleanliness of the air, water and public safety.

The government of Malaysia should apprehend and penalise Caltex because not only has it failed to give the rakyat of Malaysia cleaner fuel, it is trying sneakily to sell even more products to undo the damage their dirty fuel causes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
      • Government and Caltex Fail the Rakyat on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:00 am

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to cleaner Euro 6 fuel to give their people cleaner air.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid.

Then they give us the crap about cleaner fuel.

Chevron Malaysia should be giving us cleaner fuel instead of trying to sell us more products to reap more money. How ethical is Caltex? They not bothered to give us clean fuel but dare to sell products at extra cost to ensure our engines are clean.

If Caltex is an ethical company, it would give us cleaner Euro 4 fuel in the first place.

Caltex has failed the people of Malaysia as well as the Government has failed its people in Malaysia

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Becaus eof the dirty petrol and diesel, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air? That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer but are more bothered about the 3 or 4 oil companies, companies of which are already reaping hundreds of billions per annum each.

Who says the oil companies cannot afford to upgrade their plants? Each oil company makes no less than RM100 billion per annum. This is not reported. They should be upgrading their oil and giving us cleaner fuel instead of selling us fuel adddtives at an extra cost.

So again I ask, who is the boss? The oil companies or the Government? It looks like the oil companies are boss in Malaysia. The Government has no balls. Now oil companies can give us dirty fuel and yet try to sell extra products to undo the damage the dirty fuel causes.

All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments.

In Malaysia, because the Government of Malaysia dips into the pockets of Petronas and takes its money as and when it needs it on the quiet, the Government of Malaysia has lost its voice and control over the oil companies and cannot “instruct” it to comply to give cleaner fuel. In other words, the Government of Malaysia has been “bought” by these oil companies.

The Government of Malaysia cares for just 3 or 4 oil companies and throws shit to the 30 million Malaysians living here. Cleaner fuel was available more than 10 years ago in other countries. Does it take more than 10 years to upgrade your plants? Now oil companies are asking more time? Another 10 years?

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposed peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel kills more people per annum than any war will.

It is even worse when not only we don’t get clean fuel, but in the capital city, we cannot even get clean and uninterrupted water as well as our women cannot even walk safely in the streets without feeling fear of snatch and rape. But our Government has time for big projects like Iskandar etc but not bothered about the cleanliness of the air, water and public safety.

The government of Malaysia should apprehend and penalise Caltex because not only has it failed to give the rakyat of Malaysia cleaner fuel, it is trying sneakily to sell even more products to undo the damage their dirty fuel causes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • _xXx_ on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:49 am

I’d prefer to buy 11L of V-power Racing with RM35…

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 14, 2014 at 7:05 pm

A hint behind msia fuel is sucks? Do they hav this in singapore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • haha, either it hints msia fuel low grade or caltex fuel dirty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • tishaban on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Malaysian fuel is lower standard obviously.

But Techron has been one of the better reviewed fuel additive in tuning circles. BMW at one point rebranded Techron as their own fuel additive as well. Google up a bit before shooting.

The question is why pay RM35 for additional Techron when the normal Caltex fuel already has Techron?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:09 am

Not everyone lives near a Caltex petrol station. Most often than not, the nearest petrol station is either Petronas or Shell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Bataman on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:03 pm

I suppose the Techron in Caltex are minimal, that
        s why you buy this…concentrated juice..LOL.

Now…where to buy one…need one for my Inspira.

• ss427 on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:54 am

Yes bro, this bottle is available in SG Caltex station as well. SG$15 each. So its about the same price. It is from Chevron USA too.

But its really not necessary if u are a regular user of sillypore fuel in SG.

There are plenty of similar products from other equally reputable companies eg STP, Penzzoil, RedLine etc at similar or lower prices as well.

• McGyver on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:00 am

but Beware..This kinda stuff also eats up contaminated caked up old fuel sealants and so.. fuel leaks will appear..

• iluvproton on Jul 14, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Got diesel version?
    like that can help out local diesel engine car abit
    all BMW diesel user will enjoice

• gaviny on Jul 14, 2014 at 9:07 pm

people have been chasing this for weeks now, most station out of stocks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • bohong on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:33 pm

R u caltex salesman ? BS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • Heng Lee on Jul 15, 2014 at 3:16 am

Yes, most housewifes use it for laundry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • tawil on Jul 15, 2014 at 1:42 pm

managed to get one at Caltex Kajang..

• thanksguys on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:52 pm

this the 1 station first in my mind, most near to me haha… never tot the caltex have so many -ve news after i read above comments, my car group all have say the caltex having better fc…

• just me on Jul 14, 2014 at 9:13 pm

honestly i have doubt on the Ron number, something that no one able to verified whether what they sell us, say ron 95 is actually ron 95 and not lower ron number. My car knock when using petronas ron95, once in the blue moon when using caltex. Ron97 no problem at all regardless of brand.

• mim (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:37 am

No one can guarantee RON95 petrol at the pump to perform just like a lab-produced RON95. Also, very high ambient temp (like in Malaysia) can cause high intake temp, hence causing knock especially in turbo engines. Some engines also couldn’t adjust timing very well and quickly adapt with environment changes and fuel quality inconsistencies.

• ben yap on Jul 14, 2014 at 9:22 pm

waste of money. it’s not like you add in this and can get additional 10hp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 32
    • Mozilla Chrome on Jul 14, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Of course you don’t get additional 10hp but what you get is restoring back 5-10hp that you lost over time due to dirty fuel.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
      • Heng Lee on Jul 15, 2014 at 3:14 am

So if I buy ten bottles I will get back 50hp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 59
        • Mozilla Chrome on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:54 am

Why don’t you try it yourself and share the result with Paultan readers here. Dumbass..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Heng Lee on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:21 am

Ok, Professor: Tell me what engine will lose 10hp because of ‘dirty fuel’? What engine, what fuel, what dynamometer, what test cycle?

Unlike you, I don’t believe every shit written in advertisements… :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
        • LatukBandar on Jul 15, 2014 at 1:25 pm

What a stupid question. That is like asking will you gain 100kg if u eat 10 1kg of rise everyday.

Unless you don’t digest and shit or the car don’t consume petrol, then the answer to your brainless question is Yes.

Which explains why you brain is full of shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
          • thanksguys on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:57 pm

lol best comment ever, the “like” doesn’t show how i like ur comment…

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Malaysia exports the low sulphur crude to Japan at a heavily discounted price in exchange for soft loans.

In return, we import the cheap high sulphur crude for the mid east and Africa.

We are second banana, like it or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 16
    • Sampok on Jul 15, 2014 at 1:46 am

Do you work for an oil and gas company? Do you know why they export sweet crude and import sour ones? Do you know what are sweet and sour crude? Do you know the mechanics of refining crude? Is Japan the only importer of sweet crude?

Please continue selling your Japanese car and stop your gibberish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 34
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Respect your taste buds.

Can tell the difference between sweet and sour crude. You must be those MARA scholership students working for Petronas now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
      • Sampok on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:16 am

No I’m not a scholar. Even if I’m one, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it.

I’m just trying to point out that if you don’t know the subject thoroughly, shut it. Or at least do some research.

Now please continue what you do best; sell cars and provide ‘constructive’ comments on everything under the sun.

• Whatever kind of petrol that u were using…its just same petrol..same refinery for each region..the different is only the additive for each brand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • MyviKiller on Jul 14, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Run the engine at high revs on the highway for half an hour would do the same thing so why waste money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
    • 20 cents on Jul 15, 2014 at 12:55 am

High revs like what? 5000rpm? That will probably bring your car to 200km/h and do that for half an hour will probably cost almost as much as the mentioned additive. Plus it’s dangerous ain’t it? So why waste your life?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • red line your engine for half an hour?

i doubt even you will dare to do it.

• mim (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:59 am

You’d risk wearing out the engine (and all seals in it) much more quickly. Typical European direct injection engines would wear even more quickly due to high pressure injection jets quickly drying up the engine lubricant/oil layer on the cylinder bore, reducing protection.

Unless you change cars/rebuild the whole engine every 5 years, don’t do it. Some might not even last that long *cough1.4TSIcough*

• this thing is not new on Jul 15, 2014 at 12:25 am

from the comments here, it seem that most of the guys here had only seen this thing first time here?

this kind of additive to your petrol has been in the market for a loooong time. there is the octane booster, engine cleaner, etc that you can find in your hardware shop. just visit any ace hardware and you can find multitudes of there engine additives brand from the US. caltex is not the first to bring this here you know..

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:46 am

Rule of thumb, anything of better quality one must be willing to pay for it. There is the higher price fuel available so buy that lor. Stop blaming the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo (Anti-Kimchi) on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Exactly, “anything of better quality one must be willing to pay for it”

Same like cars, Toyota and Honda will definitely be premium to kimchis for the very same reason

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Pengguna Bijak on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:32 am

I will buy it Caltex give me car engine warranty. Anything happen, Caltex must replace my whole car engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • fercab on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:50 am

I’d rather just treat meself to a full tank of Ron97 when servicing.

• Gimmick…

• Macromedia on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:42 am

Don’t waste money. Just do the Italian tuning as suggested. Rev to redline on highway for 30 min or so every week once. Kthxbye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • ayamxxx on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:46 am

BHP should do better.
    They put double dosage hah!

• kc (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 12:45 pm

I would say Caltex techron 95 is the best among all Ron 95. It gives smoother acceleration and better fuel efficiency. I don’t believe until I have tried all brands but still think caltex has better additive being used.Those looking for better performance but not willing to go for Ron 97, try caltex. The down side is there are not much station available so if you manage to get caltex, I am afraid you have to stick with that. Besides, I don’t think you need to spend extra rm35 for this additive if you pump caltex fuel, as it has already got all the additive inside. So hope caltex can open up more station within Klang valley .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • ton&jerry on Jul 15, 2014 at 1:06 pm

i drive a myvi, i will end up paying more than ron97 petrol per full tank. can get govt subsidy for this additive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • droll on Jul 15, 2014 at 3:45 pm

what if in the process of cleaning up the gunk it loosens a huge chunk of carbon and that thing passes through the catalytic converter and gets stuck? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • CikguRonSalleh on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:54 pm

this product no good one. trust me. i have a degree in Fluid Dynamic Engineering from Google University CA. Done my master at Facebook Advance Engineering School. Yet I still drive myvi. Stupid product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
  • Hi,

Can I use this on the RX-8 Rotary Engine?

• the killer on Jul 20, 2014 at 3:54 pm

this product is super useless i can even go to say that it made my car sound worse, made my vrooms into a droning noise, wtf and still pay money for this, i sincerely hope paul benefited from this, cos none of this product users ARE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • dr zargus on Jul 24, 2014 at 4:36 pm

malaysian nowadays are less patriotic.. they just want to take every opportunity but never give back.. very calculative..dissappointed!

• ah chong on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:00 am

Agree with you.
      I jist bought this product,thisbis very good i can feel the engine running smoother and lesser, auto-gear box knock.
      Mine one is 8-9years old myvi, first time i use this products, dont buy the cxxway company one, ur car will become nopower when u atop using additives.

Planning to pump caltex next time.

• kenneth wong on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:45 am

In the US, the fuel cleaner is ofered as buy 1free 1. But here d promotion is a discounted price. Case of excesiv profiteering. Jerk