Toyota Prius and Prius c get new price tags without CBU hybrid incentives – RM153k to RM231k!

prius fl malaysia

UMW Toyota have released the new prices for the Toyota Prius and Toyota Prius c after the government’s tax incentives for CBU hybrid vehicles ended at the end of last year.

The following are the new prices, OTR including insurance for private registration:

• Toyota Prius – RM 216,400.52
  • Toyota Prius Luxury – RM 230,916.00
  • Toyota Prius C – RM 153,170.43

As you can see, a B-segment Prius c now costs as much as a D-segment Camry, while the Prius and Prius Luxury‘s prices have been pushed up to way over RM200k.

Click to enlarge price list

The Prius was first launched in Malaysia in August 2009 with the pricetag of RM175k. The RM175k pricetag was possible because of a 100% import duty exemption and a 50% excise duty exemption. The government later increased its incentives to 100% exemption for both import duty and excise duty, bringing the Prius price further down to RM139,900.

Later, the Prius facelift was launched in 2012 with two spec levels – the normal Prius for RM143k and a Prius Luxury for RM148k. The smaller Prius c came in at two spec levels – RM97k for the normal spec and RM104k for the Prius c TRD Sportivo.

While the Prius and Prius c were pretty popular cars when they had tax-free prices, we don’t think there will be many takers for these two cars at these new price levels, except for buyers who qualify for tax-free pricing such as those under the TalentCorp program.

Click to enlarge pics

However, UMW Toyota is set to come back into the incentivised hybrid game with the Toyota Camry Hybrid. Pricing was last rumoured to be slightly higher than the RM181k range-topping Camry 2.5V. In fact, we’ve already seen the Camry Hybrid at JPJ Putrajaya as well as driving on public roads.

This model did not qualify for the previous CBU hybrid incentives which required a model to have an engine of 2.0 litres and below as it had a larger 2.4 litre engine. The Camry Hybrid will be locally assembled to qualify for duty exemptions for CKD hybrid cars provided by the 2014 National Automotive Policy (NAP), which doesn’t set an engine displacement limit. The new CKD hybrid incentives are set to last until end-2015.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Any Malaysian who buy this (200k++) is an idiot

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 550 Thumb down 19
    • Jimmy on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Has anybody sit in a Prius before? Does it feel good or premium?
      Is it more refined than a proper C-segment saloon, say, Nissan Sylphy?
      Is it a better choice compared to a B-class, CLA200, or 316i (after minus the money for petrol)? Or is it better than an Odyssey or 86 if you want a Japanese marque?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 38
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:12 pm

It didn’t feel particularly premium, no. Any modern conti would beat it. The highlight is the extremely reliable drive train (AFAIK 400k without a problem, it is a popular taxi), the lower brake consumption, the lower fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
        • _xXx_ on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:57 pm

so, CT200 300k now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rr on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 175
          • samelorstpd on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Sam Lor very naive. If you change your 6th proton, Toyota already close shop. Nobody wants to buy old man’s shoes cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
          • Same l0rr on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:49 pm

You asking the world best selling car manufacturer to close shop? Lol…

Let’s see how long the perlindungan can last before Proton close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 37
          • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:40 am

Actually Sam L0r is right about the Prius C being much more reliable than say a Vios. It was foolish not to get it while it wasn’t much more expensive, especially considering the amount of safety kit you’d actually get on that car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • samelorstpd on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:43 am

Of course, Japs protect their automakers longer than proton. Perlindungan been practised anywhere on anything. Only stupid people will see it as weirdo because they are. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
          • Same Lorr Pondan (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:50 am

What kind of PERLINDUNGAN that u talking about Same Lorr? Toyota also got PERLINDUNGAN in their homeland same goes to Proton in Malaysia. But why PROTON can not success until today? Instead of quality issue, one the reason because in Malaysia there are PEOPLE like you Same Lorr..U suppose to go away from this country..U r just like a virus or bad bacteria in this country who keep telling false fact to peoples..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
          • Same Lorr Pondan (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:57 am

I agree with Samelorstpd because Same Lorr is very stupid like he live in a cave for years.PERLINDUNGAN is everywhere in the automaker homeland..I hope reader in Paultan will start to bash Same Lorr because we know that he/she is someone who being paid to comment in Paultan..I bet after this he’ll change his name too..Lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • Government Fail its Rakyat on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:42 am

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to hybrid to give their people cleaner air.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid.

The Government of Malaysia blackmails its people for the right to breathe clean air.

UMW is government and government is UMW. Both are one entity. So whatever UMw does, it is the government is doing because UMW is purely a crony company.

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel and higher emissions for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air. They also promote cleaner hybrid engines to provide cleaner air and they give their rakyat cleaner petrol and diesels that emits very low Co2.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Because of the dirty petrol and diesel and not promoting hybrid cars, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air?

That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer and the environment. They want you to use more dirty petrol and fuel and pollute the environment.

The Environment Ministry and the Minister has no balls. His job is to ensure a cleaner environment.

All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments. But not in Malaysia. Government does not care at all about the Environment at all. Besides Hybrids, government must ensure all companies come out with Hybrids to promote lesser emissions into the environment.

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposedly peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel and non hybrid promotion kills more people per annum than any war will.

It is even worse when not only we don’t get clean fuel, but in the capital city, we cannot even get clean and uninterrupted water as well as our women cannot even walk safely in the streets without feeling fear of snatch and rape. But our Government has time for big projects like Iskandar etc but not bothered about the cleanliness of the air, water and public safety.

Our government has time to play a chess game with people’s lives and health in Malaysia, gambling their lives away with their lalang attitude towards hybrid tax incentives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 19
          • Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:23 am

People buy Proton because it is cheap, not because it is good. It is FACT.

For those who claim there are Perlindungan everywhere, please show evidence. In US, US cars are cheaper than Japanese car? Holden is especially cheaper in Australia? Mini is the cheapest model in UK? BMW is cheaper than Toyota in Germany?

I am not paid in Paultan, my company have paid me enough bonus due to Toyota long waiting period.

Even when all Malaysians buy Proton, it won’t advance. See the Wira/Iswara era and what quality do they have. Because COMPETITION bring ADVANCEMENT. For your pity little pride, please keep it with yourself.

Ask around people around you: Are they proud of Proton?

And because of Proton, Prius has to be sold at RM230k now. BMW has to be sold at RM240k and above.

You proud of this?

If you have nothing better to say, you can just shut up and do more study on cars. No need to ask people leave the country.

Everyone has its own right to choose the car, i never force anyone to buy Toyota. Everything on fact.

You don’t buy Toyota, you no need to get out of Malaysia or Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
          • samelorstpd on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Pity samelor, stupid and lazy. Everything you want others to spoon fed you. That’s much worse than perlindungan or tongkat, at least proton do something, but you?

No wonder Proton bashers throw moronic zero knowledge comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:06 pm

I stupid and lazy still I have enough money travel the world, went Rio watch WC final, so you jealous or what? lol

I save the money while you have to repair here and there with your almighty Proton.

But because of stupid and laziness, Proton beg here beg there said 1 year to turn around, GSC never come out, old models keep on touch up here touch there bla bla bla bla…

Later I will give a call to Proton to send people to collect my RM5 donation. I can free 1 pack of condom to Proton too, coz “Perlindungan is the best for Proton”.

• Petrolhead (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Other better alternatives to spend your RM230K+
          Audi A4
          BMW 125i
          BMW 320i
          BMW X1
          VW Golf GTI
          VW CC
          Volvo V60
          MB A 250 Sport
          MB CLA 200
          Mini Cooper S
          Honda Odyssey
          Peugeot RCZ
          Renault Megane RS
          Subaru Legacy
          Toyota 86

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rr on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Don’t blame Toyota, blame your beloved government with its awesome NAP 2014.

Every extra cent you paid, goes into cronies, or Proton’s pocket.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 40
          • judge on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Do you have any proof they put in their pockets? If not you can be met in court

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 125
          • Same l0rr on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:51 pm

So it is you putting money into their pocket?

Don’t be naive, little boy. They should be met in court instead.

For a few to live rich, all Malaysians have to die poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 21
          • judge on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:46 am

You suggest to arrest people without proof? You welcome an anarchy country. This kind people should be in first and I think you are one of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 36
          • brown kid on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:10 am

be that few ppl then~ duh

• Same Lorr Pondan (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:04 am

R u to poor to live in Msia Same Lorr haa?? Too poor ka?? Miskin samapai tidak boleh pakai kereta kaaa?? Why do you still live in this country yet keep condemn the govt even though this blog doesn’t even mention about govt..Why do you still in this country bro? You can go to Singapore, HK, China, Taiwan..Go la..Gooo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 31
          • haidir on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:09 am

how about proofs from Laporan AUdit Negara that we heard every year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • Vens Yeoh (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:10 am

Same L0rr, why does every of your post will ridiculed other brand? Congratulations for possessing a Prius, but that doesn’t mean that u can ridiculed others. Do u enjoyed this kind of life? Go and take some vacation to a beautiful beach, take a while and think deeply and ask this question, “Do I really want to become haters for the rest of my life?” If the answer is yes, then, I propose u to open a company, “Hater Sdn Bhd” and send vacancies thru Jobstreet… good luck…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:30 am

I have no personal opinion on other brands. I never call people “idiot”, “stupid”, “virus”, “bacteria” what so ever. I am just as relax as you are.

Because to keep one miserable car brand survive, everyone have to pay sky high for foreign car. Prius is the latest example here.

And some more that brand of car can’t be criticized?

Poor build quality, poor safety features in most popular models, enter garage more often than you enter Starbucks etc. are all facts.

Why so scare of facing the fact?

And when you have nothing meaningful to say, you insult people with the rude words. haha…

Poor little fragile ego/pride. lol

• Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:02 pm

And to the Ah Beng Support Proton (he is not even Chinese, too shame to reveal himself??): Because of Toyota, I save a lot of money on repair and maintenance so I did actually makan angin at China, Taiwan, HK, Aus, even Europe. I actually just back from Rio watching WC final.

Sorry you have to dump all your hard earned money into garage. We all knew your Proton will need a lot of replacements.

Hope you still have money to pay your internet after the sudden repair. People will miss your pondan-ness: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • Annaeh on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:31 pm

A house

• ingrest on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Wobbling like hell at high speed, not suitable for highway cruising.

Toyota better close shop rather than selling dangerous sampan handling cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 22
          • Same l0rr on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Don’t simply talkok if you never have a prius before. It is steady in highway drive.

Or… are you driving at 200km/h? You deserve wobbling handling and a coffin too if you do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 29
          • ingrest on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:47 am

I’m using F10 not a worst handling Prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • ToBohLanIngrest on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:26 pm

What is that so proud of your F10 ? Sombong for what ? Want to show off like Ah beng ?

• ingrest on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:57 pm

@ToBohLanIngrest
            So that you can compare between Beemer and Prius, even chaplang Proton is much better than most Sushi cars.

• ToBohLanIngrest on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:25 pm

You even admit and call yrself bohlan, shame that I you are the same like Boh LAN Sam loo.

• LovePrius on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:19 pm

What a joke, not stable at high speed for highway, I owned a Prius, and this car is so comfy reliable and stable. Do not talk “kok” if you don’t have a Prius. I see the fact not the Brand and I’m regret why I buy it so late but lucky bought.

• Vens Yeoh (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:08 am

Same L0rr, why does every of your post will ridiculed other brand? Congratulations for possessing a Prius, but that doesn’t mean that u can ridiculed others. Do u enjoyed this kind of life? Go and take some vacation to a beautiful beach, take a while and think deeply and ask this question, “Do I really want to become haters for the rest of my life?” If the answer is yes, then, I propose u to open a company, “Hater Sdn Bhd” and send vacancies thru Jobstreet… good luck…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:32 am

You can just copy and paste your comment everywhere, and open up yourself “Toyota Hater Sdn Bhd”. Go on, go on… lol

• stupdsamelor on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:01 pm

You are the hater. Proton also pays high tax/duty, so why so butthurt? If don’t pay, Saga can be cheaper than a taxed Viva.

• Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Shit, Saga owner pay so much tax and get a junk. Sigh…

The money eventually goes back to Proton one, this is called Perlindungan.

Proton CEO said each Saga make profit less than RM500. Why they spend so much to make a junk? Saga tyre cost RM2k per piece?

I was Proton victim before, we all know how junk it is.

• RV and Insurance Fall like Mad on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:22 am

Pity current owners of this car and the Prius. Don’t get too excited about the price rise. Your parts prices will down skyrocket. Everything will go up in price.

the same with your insurance premium. It will skyrocket high because that is the new price to REPLACE your Prius and Lexus Hyrbid

The worst part is the car will have no RV. Nobody will dare touch a car whose price goes up and down like a yoyo. Who dares to buy a 2nd hand hybrid now when the incentive might be brough back again and taken away agin?

The Government has just thrown shit on every single Hybrid owners face! Few years ago tell people to buy because government said EEV was good. Now, flip flop.

• TalkCoxkLikeSamLoo on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Another Boh LAN guy like Sam Loo who talk bodoh here

• Vader (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Compare to 3 series and benz? Another Toyota die hard fan! lol
        Ok, in that case, say something u feel siok lo..
        The feeling wise like Bentley and RR, handling like Ferrari, spacious like bus, fuel like using ironman power source.. Puas???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
        • nciddy on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:42 pm

This is much more insulting than saga “executive”. 230k for an ugly unker toyota?

Ptuuuiiihhhhhhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • xavier lert on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:50 am

For prius is so so..looks like sub 100k car but dashboard n gear lil bit ok design.

for Prius C, its kancil quality interior – seriously!

• Test comment?

• kamarul on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:41 am

In Japan those Prius were only cost RM 40K, In Malaysia, with that price we can get 5 x Prius. CAR PRICES IN MALAYSIA ARE THE MOST EXPENSIVE IN THE WORLD, MALAYSIA BOLEHHHHH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Derrick on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:20 pm

LOL who’s gonna buy…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 2
    • Bryan on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Sam Loo will get one…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
    • kzm fanboy on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:24 pm

So that Proton Preve hybrid price looks far cheaper worth money to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:42 am

Hybrids are still exempt from taxes. They only need to be CKDd in Malaysia.

• fast5 on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:04 pm

UMW BOD’s and marketing will bought this.
      This’s totally nuts!!! Increase price so much until no one even going to consider buying!!!!
      UMW really wants TOYOTA JAPAN to terminate their dealership in m’sia???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • malms on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:51 pm

fast5

Govt raised the price bro. Not UMW. Read the article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • kamarul on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:47 am

Recently, UMW hantak balik Camry ke Thailand, Tarak laku maaaaaaa.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:54 pm

I already have a Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • I am pro you diam (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:20 pm

MM2H TALENTCORP ALL LIKES HONDA CRV & ACCORD MORE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • they can only buy the ckd cars in order to get the tax exempt….no cbu cars

• Ainon on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Only for the seriously rich greenie extremists

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • SoohaiToyoootta on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Yeah, i think there will be the most 10 peoples in Malaysia buy these.

• Jimmy on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:55 pm

To show to public only.
      Not even an S400L hybrid is for the seriously rich.

• kommy on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Idiot like Motorhead should buy this coz he said no headache of maintenance problem.

The cars can go into longkang with this insane prices.

• Gudluck UMW Toyota…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:56 pm

No problem for UMW, they can still concentrate on selling the VIOS. Meanwhile Toyota Japan might want to negotiate with Proton’s Chairman or Naza CEO regarding rebranding the PRIUS under different name locally.
      Semua pun boleh berunding..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • I suddenly feel sleepy and yawn when you mentioned overpriced overrated junk ancient car namely VIOS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • joe young on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:06 pm

@Low Budget.
        Renamed to Prius Nazak?

• F*cked on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Vios, I must say, is one of the cars that I hate. Why? We have so many Malaysians driving it, and they are all so cocky. Toyota maa, JDM shit ma, Imported lei…then all drive like c*ck.

• elson on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:25 pm

so i own a old prius C i can now sell it 100k?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 4
    • Littlebear on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:49 pm

You better start worrying about the price of spare parts that UMW is going to charge you later on without the tax incentives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:47 am

Prius taxis run for 400k without major repairs. I wouldn’t be too worried about spare parts.

• Bataman on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Sam Loo Approves!!!

(Provided you can find waterfish…)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • wise guy on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:28 pm

no way 100k. i own 2013 manufactured prius c bought may last yr. last icheck in may market price 69k. trade in only 65k. trust me camry hybrid will experience same as incentives end next yr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:52 am

The RV depends on how much people want the car, how many people want the car and how much it costs to get a new one (or something else they’d want). 69k was the price because people could top up a bit and get a new car. Now that it costs 150k, and now that petrol prices go up, people a) are more interested in it (cause good safety and low FC), and b) they need to spend 150k to get it… or find a second hand unit. You can charge more now.

The price for the Audi A6 hybrid went up too once people couldn’t get it anymore. Likewise I wouldn’t be surprised if the Merc S400L will sell for more than 600k as a second hand car.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:55 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a Toyota or Honda, it will have superb RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
      • seller on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Nowadays Vios 2nd hand so cheap, where got RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Same l0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:14 am

If second hand vios is cheap, others are even worse.

Try a same year forte, city, persona with vios, then you know what does good RV mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
          • seller on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:50 am

Stupid, calculate TOC not only amount you get after resale.

• RV WHAT? on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:50 am

Recently sold my 2003 vios G spec for 25k..bought at 87k++ (rm500 discount only,seriously!!) minus 25k means 62k+ or 71% gone. My fren sold his 2003 wira se for 12k (bought 47k after disc) 47k minus 12k means 35k or 74% gone.. Errrr,.whats the different? What f***ing s*** of RV should i proud of so popular T? Not to mention my vios dashboard rattled after 2weeks,technician not even can find the rat to solve it!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Redline on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:51 am

Exactly right. Most cars brands,the resale value is actually very similar, not much difference. But a lot of people only measure resale value by the amount the car sells, which is the wrong way to measure RV.

In your example, some people would say Vios has better resale value because you can sell it for RM25k, whereas a same year Proton you can only sell it for RM12k. Well of course Proton selling price is lower, because the price of the new car is lower. You have to measure by percentages, not by selling price. And when you compare RV in terms of percentages, in reality, not much difference in RV for most cars (except for a few brands/models).

• Hyundai on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:43 am

Hmm…last year i sold off my Trajet for RM21k which i bought in 2006 at RM90k (after rm30k discount)…lets see how it goes:

90k – 22k = 68k, ie 75% gone…more or else abt the same wt Vios/Proton RV…; )

• slk3879 on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:06 am

In the previous example by RV WHAT?, both cars are 11 years old.

In your example, your car is only 8 years old, not exactly comparing apple to apple la …

• Ha Gnih on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Good luck with those prices!!! Hahahahha. I could easily get a WAAAAAAAAAAY nicer looking Kia K5 with the price of Prius C. And top up a few thousand more, I could easily get a CLA.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 6
    • TheRealmaserati on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:47 pm

HAHAHAHA, comparing a KIA K5 to a Prius?

The PRIUS will trash ur silly K5 in almost every department! Refinement, fuel consumption and quality cabin.

K5 is a total underpowered piece of junk !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 49
      • priusugly on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Everyday I see prius with ugly cheapo rims and cannot potong other cars. No class at all! So how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Same l0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:21 am

Everyday I also saw a lot of sozai think their lotus handling proton is the world best car. This is called Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

Don’t simply comment before you know the truth. You don’t know prius how many sec for 0-100km/h, then don’t syok sendiri. Prius power mode can smoke you if they want to.

Can do and Want to do are two different things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
          • priusugly on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Now you called others sorhai? Then it’s true you are stupid. Why you hate proton much? If proton close shop the tax might stay for good.

ANd the prius power mode is nothing to shout about. 11.4, so lame. You call it power? Power?

Hahahahahahahahahahahhhhh

• priusugly on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Oh , before others get cheated with Prius, the saving mode called ECO mode is makes the gas pedal response being “toned down”. It’s slow like turtle.

What can i say is the whole transmission is a silly gimmick.

• nobrand on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Go compare prius c and k5 side by side and then talk. Only drunk toyota fanatic will say prius c is better

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:58 pm

K5 and Sonata share the same platform and engine. Just some cosmetics here and there.

Sonata has poor RV but K5 cannot even be traded in.

I would compare the K5 to a Renault Kangoo, whereby both cars are better off stolen and insurance money claimed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
      • jervey on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Prius also useless if battery kong, so how to trade in?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Same l0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:24 am

Ferrari also useless if engine kong, so ferrari now a junk?

Go study more on HSD and its battery before making meaningful comment please. There is no need to embarrass yourself in public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • Vader (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:04 pm

So many shame loo here and there..
        Whatever la, u said kimchi car price drop >60% within a year, right? Where is the one year old Sportage sold at RM50k? I wanna buy!!!
        Yayaya, I know u will repeat saying it have no RV, never mind, I just want but it!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Ha Gnih on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Those who sweat over RVs and whatsoever after sales values can just stick to buses and trains. Hey!! There’s no RVs involved when you use public transportations okay. You expect when you buy a car, the value goes up like properties ? Hahahahahahha. Strange but funny mentality. Be it K5 or K9 or whatever Ks out there, those who can afford such cars don’t really give a damn about RVs. If not, why do you think the Koreans are here to stay ? If indeed the RVs are that terrible, don’t you think they would have been bankrupt by now ? LoL !!! Be smart and not THINK you are smart only, my dear friends. Peace ! Hahahhahaha. The mentality of quite alot of Malaysians are still pretty hilarious.

• Ha Gnih on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:41 am

Trade-ins are for people like you. I don’t do trade-ins. I like, I buy. I get bored, I sell. And I buy another. Simple as that, get it ?? Oh sorry. Ter-insult your inability to ‘play’ car purchasing that way eh ?

• kereta_lembu on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:29 pm

RIP Toyota Hybrid cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
    • samelorb on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Who buys Toyota could be rich but

I D I O T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Same l0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:29 am

Idiot or not, none of your business. But I feel sorry if you can’t afford Toyota.

Please work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
        • Vader (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:47 am

Semakin berlagak ni this shame loo..
          The most funny one is he though he own the toyoya as well.. HAHAHA..
          But this blog need this kind of people to attract more readers.

• This goverment is the only government that has no foresight to being environmentally friendly. In short, it is run by a bunch to stupid monkeys. Oh hang on, even monkeys would be for the environment. Lets replace the word monkeys with the word f**k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 14
    • Nah, they are smarter than you think. They pulled back the incentives and wait for Proton to get their hybrids in place, then when they launch it, the incentives will come back. Save the buyers for later mah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rr on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Incentives is to protect Proton, not for Toyota. With Toyota and Proton enjoying same incentives, you do people will buy Proton, at any chance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • samelorsark on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Of course proton because without tax it’s still much cheaper than Toyota.

• drMpower on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Hang on a minute monkey king it seems no one feeds u banana today

The fact that matter is, honda got to sell a hybrid at mere 70k plus. why toyota dont want to do what honda did/doing?

Knock it off monkey king or u wont be getting laid as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
      • flame on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:53 pm

You have no idea what’s the difference between the incentive of CBU and CKD getting? Go on and support your dr M until you dried up all your money for nothing. By the time you shall see what’s wrong with him, oh yea i guess you don’t even know what’s happening until the end of your life as you let your eyes covered up, the new NAP is obviously to protect proton’s hybrid car later on.

• Das Auto on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:21 am

you are a real moron. so what so great if its CBU? U mean to say a prius c is worth twice of a honda jazz hybrid? no wonder you are such a moron. be prepared to die paying new marked up spare parts for your fugly overpriced junk!! UMW should just stop selling this junk or make it ckd. pity you tsk tsk

• pondan on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:49 pm

spot on.

all for glory and ego of one person.

our policy is always looking backward. Soon enough, malaysian will all live in caves or up in the trees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • pondana on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:46 pm

You will live in cave because you don’t use your brain but butts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Green la sgt on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Since u mention about enviromental, pls look how our country generate electricity.
      U argument might be valid if we produce the electricity by using nuclear, wind or solar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • fast5 on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Gov and Tun DrM families own petroleum company in m’sia.
      If ppl start to use more hybrid car (means less using petrol).
      This’s how Gov and party leaders treat fellow RAKYAT. Selfish reason…
      One man ego, whole country suffer.

Malaysia to be a economic country??
      Better think twice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • albag on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Lol terima kasih bn!!!

• Correction: I believe TalentCorp persons are qualified to buy Tax-Free for CKD cars ONLY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Paul Tan on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:55 pm

The rules have been revised to include cbu cars.

http://www.talentcorp.com.my/2014/03/26/revisions-to-the-returning-expert-programme-ensuring-the-right-incentive-for-the-right-talent/

• zeek (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Who in their right mind would buy an under powered & heavy hybrid that looks like old people’s shoe that costs 230k???? I can only imagine how much the Camry Hybrid would cost if it ever comes to the Malaysian market.
    Plus the fuel savings on hybrids aren’t enough to justify the extra cost to buy a hybrid in the first place. Unless it’s tax free like the S400, just get a regular car and use the money saved for petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Clearly, promoting hybrid technology is not UMW’s priority.

• Anonymous999 on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Good bye Prius!

• Ray (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Congrats to thoss who bought em before this. For 230k, I can get a CLA that looks waaaayyy cooler, or top up some money for an entry level ES. Hmm…

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:59 pm

But Benz is in the sui kwan euro category. Breaks down all the time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • 00899 on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Nowadays less catfish Vios, everyone knows it’s overpriced. Reliability is uncertain, I still see it created loooooonnnggggggg heavy traffic jam because it was broken at highway.

• Spidey on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Puih…..muntah darah…..

• pretty funny scenario on the EEV policy…this hybrid car “can’t make it” to qualify under EEV category…

• Low Budget on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Who knows! Some shadow play behind the scenes with UMW Toyota ending up being a loser?

• Are you sure on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:30 pm

You mean those same shadow plays that have been making UMW a highly profitable company? Now the gods not favoring UMW anymore, huh?

• Painter on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:42 pm

So , which one is better in terms of fuel economy? The purpose-built Prius hybrid or the bolt-on Camry Hybrid?

• abahko on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:44 pm

prepared to get some dust behind the yards over the time. nice move uwm + gov.

• Ah Vier (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:46 pm

There they going to stop the subsidy, and here they are ending the tax incentive… wondering why not they encourage hybrid or electronic car and do something like China?

• Low Budget on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:03 pm

In China, the smog cause by traffic are choking up the people, so they have to do something, overhere, the sky line is still clear except burning smoke from Indon. occasionally.

• Ah Vier (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:12 am

Maybe they don’t understand prevention is better than cure. Not that our country is not polluted anyway… :(

• CH3 M4T on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:46 am

Ah Vier, obviously they don’t get enough from Malaysians, everyday crave for more. They won’t encourage/promote anything that will tighten their pocket, public have to feed them all the way.

For the current government supporter, PLEASE DIE before the next GE.

• I wonder how much should i insure my 2013 prius this year when my insurance expires? should i base it on the new pricng scheme or ??

• dreaming of maserati on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:25 am

20 sen can d la….no one wants to steal your rotten old junk that cannot be traded in…

• My PRIUS is more classy than your MERC CLA/A250/B200, BMW F30, VW MK7 GOLF R/CC, AUDI A4, MINI COOPER S, VOLVO V40, PEUGEOT RCZ, SUBARU BRZ,RENAULT MEGANE-RS, TOYOTA AE86 even mother fuc** MERC C200 AMG Grand Edition !!!

*flip hair*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
    • Butthurt Vios owner speaking….

• Vader (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Optimistic is good but don’t embarrassing yourself..

• My modenas also more classy anytime than cheapskate prius. Can smoke your underpowered crap anyday …

• sincerely hope you are just being sacarstic… but then again,most people wont get it…

• Hahaha on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Omg! Top up a few thousand more (i mean prius luxury 230k) we can get Audi A4 1.8 quattro lolllll

• Bataman on Jul 15, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Hahahahaha!!!

RM 200K++!!! Buy Merz better wei….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • death (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Oh my…… totally speechless now. this is so b***s***. That amount of money, i prefer get a mazda skyactiv or just get some D segment to sit. I got better and bigger car compare to this toyota hybrid. Good job UMW and government……

• I’d rather buy a house.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • SoohaiToyoootta on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:11 pm

LOL, who buy who soohai. Unfortunately those uncles and aunties only know about the toyota petrol cars if not these hybrids will be selling like hot cakes…..too bad, so sad.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:01 pm

The sorhai Hyundai buyers are those that I target. They make my business prosper.

I pity KIA buyers. I dun even bother showing them the Hilux, just direct them to the exit lane straight away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • kongc on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Huh? Get up you are dreaming. They dun bother to go to your place. Why buy a Toyota when they ca get a Merc or Beemer? Toyota is for idiots.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Ok, deal. Just sell me one year old sportage at RM50k, I not mind u “pity” me!!!
        Just tell me where is your working area?

• Same l0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:32 am

You get it early from raya promotion. 35k also got.we are not interested in low RV items.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Vader (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:54 am

First you said you appreciate those Kimchi owner to sell you second hand cars since you gain a lot of profit from it, now you say you are not?
            All the readers know you bullshxt all the time, i just saja asking you and see how you respond only.
            Manatau another shit comment that one year old sportage sell at RM35k???
            Hey moron, sell me at RM50k, additional 15k give you to buy teh tarik..

• Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:53 am

When he is shocked kimchi sportage worth RM35k, he start calling people moron. haha… Feel hurt because you just bought a RM60k sportage while you can actually save RM25k?

I feel sorry for you. And if you only simply ask ask (aka talkok). I feel sorry too for you have to stick with your miserable Proton.

I never need to use those rude words, everything on fact. RV bad also fact.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Ha.. you also call people sohai la.. Sohai and moron almost same meaning, only one in Cantonese and one for English.
            Besides, if you got more one year old sportage, K3, K5, sonata ant etc that sell <RM35k, let us know ya and we really don't mind to be "moron".
            Again and again, where are you working at?

• Sor Chai Sam on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:32 am

In wonderland lor…geddit? Sam is high on coke…

• nobrand on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:57 am

You think they bought hyundai and kia because they cannot afford toyota? Their cars are more expensive than your tong kosong dugong or hilux etc. Toyota sales very poor lately because they have narrow knowledge salesman like you.

• nobrand on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:57 am

You think they bought hyundai and kia because they cannot afford toyota? Their cars are more expensive than your tong kosong dugong or hilux etc. Toyota sales very poor lately because they have narrow knowledge salesman like you.

• Malaysia Boleh on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Us is selling it for only 24k..we can buy 4 prius in us with this price..totally absurd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Idiots on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Idiots who gonna buy, event umw sales ppl also know that nobody is gonna buy with that price tag. Umw u can stop bringing in. Let it rot become old stock.

• Same L0rr on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:29 pm

UMW Toyota will only start the shipment when they have order. You won’t get the car under UV test for months.

This is not Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • tsuck on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Of course la they dun dare to test it under sun. It becomes rotten fast and cannot be sold ady.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:00 am

Good decision from Toyota since they know if the car delivery before order, definitely this car is put aside to eat dust only!!!

• nobrand on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Actually umw toyota afraid they cannot sell their ‘soo good’ car

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Bye Bye prius…

• toidi on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:50 pm

I say hello Prius because I can afford until 250k
      You are very poor, pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • CheeChongFan on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:23 pm

really stupiak..stupid and wanna piak the brains behind this

• sepul on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Poor UMW.

• Such a Moronic price level. Unbelievable, I tot govt should encouraging people to buy energy efficient car. Anyway, I learn not to expect any logic things to happen in this country.

• Prius Owner on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:32 pm

This shows how the excise duty and its tax can mark up the car from RM 131K (price that I have bought) to RM 216K. Oh yeah… 75% Excise Duty, 30% duty import & 10% Sales Tax without tax exemption. Actual car value is RM 80890 (based on AP Form 1). Total tax = 105% of the car value . With the tax exemption, you just need to pay 10% sales tax.

• Prius Owner on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:34 pm

CORRECTION: That is the description for the AP form. In fact, after adding everything it is RM 138K (Market price – Standard Tax exemption model, RM80 based price + RM 10K AP + RM18402 10% Sales Tax + other for Commission & Sales & Services). Due to Malaysia tax is the second world highest, this makes all cars especially the CBU Model to be very expensive. Those who owned this model should be lucky that they got it at a cheaper price. Only hope is the CKD hybrid model.

• Lol what’s the point of releasing?

• spongewai on Jul 15, 2014 at 5:44 pm

adui, Toyota UMW and G also

• all this tax reduction only happen before Election.. after GE quickly normalize the tax rate n suck our blood to recover their “losses”…

u wait la.. just before the next Election, they will play the same trick n ppl think really janji ditepati..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • So what, even the gomen changed, you still can’t afford TSI engined cars because you only know bashing, dun want work harder.

• prius on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Placed my booking already for the new pirate c

• rip tyt on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Prius c RM153K??Hahaha..wat a joke.
    I bet the sales will be like the dinosour yaris,no,
    More worst than yaris,sorry!!Lol

• rippeT on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:03 pm

I’m sure sam loo shows Hilux to his own face.
      Lol what a joke.

• Despite the price hike, I believe there is still very small group of people who’d accept price tag.

People who owns 3 series knows it’s ride is less comfort than Camry. But still they buys it, and in fact a big number of buyers, that is mostly because they emphasise on premium and brand and it’s German.

So why can’t someone buy the best green car with the most reliable brand in the world? Of course maybe it is not for you or me, but some people treasure certain points in life more than other people.

So, my opinion is you can choose not to buy, but you do not need to put up points like rains are wet. Cause people who’d buy it are people who didn’t mind the price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • royrogers on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Spend 230k on a hybrid car just to save fuel??? You can buy a high spec Honda City and save RM 140k which you can use for petrol for the next 30 years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Civic 2.0 is a better comparison since they r the same segment.. still 100k cheaper.. lol..

• qarnill on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:26 pm

So mencekik darah one….oh malaysia ku…

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:28 pm

First off, who in their right mind would pay that much for a Prius.

Whoever who decided to cancel off the exemptions for CBU units to promote CKD ones is a shortsighted idiot. Besides the S400L HYBRID, the only other hybrid made locally, the Jazz was a complete joke when they threw out so many features when they revised the prices.

For once, this is not so much of Sam Loo’s and UMW Toyota’s fault. Heck even China gets exemptions to some form on EVs and in the US and UK you do get a federal grant of some amount to cover the added cost of a hybrid making it almost on par with the price of the petrol or diesel variant.

Many of us bought a hybrid or considered it not only because it was cheap- the Prius was not that cheap anyway, and was priced a bit more than a regular C segment car, same with the Prius C, about also because of the improved fuel consumption. Good enough we don’t get decent diesels here thanks to the rubbish we get as “diesel” and neither do we get high tech petrol engines in mainstream cars like on regular Civics and Corollas, though the Germans do have high tech ones but they come with high prices too.

What happens at the end of say 5 years, I really wonder what is going to happen to the current owners of these cars, considering the price of Hybrids are going to be like this, and unlikely we will get good diesels in 2020 either, and Proton will be most likely busy “turning around” (more like spinning our heads right round).

Basically, we are screwed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
  • Hopefully current owner wont suffer to find spare part as for sure prius will not longer become famous here.

RM230K prius better go for new Merc CLA200

• Prius Owner on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:41 pm

No Worries about spare parts. Our neighbouring country like Hat Yai, Thailand will able to get cheaper spare parts there and fix it at a cheaper labour price. Just 550km from Kuala Lumpur. I have been to the Los Angeles & everyone owned a Prius there. Finding a half cut parts shouldn’t be a problem as it is famous worldwide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • CLA200 is a joke..
      better get a Beemer 316i.. thats a proper practical car than CLA

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Hello. Those sui kwan euro that spends 2 weeks+ in workshops at a time are not the topic of discussion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • D.I.Y on Jul 15, 2014 at 6:43 pm

woww~ I wanna to sell my Prius, come cheap cheap sell.. year 2013 180k, mileage 10k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Wow, the only car in Malaysia where the value appreciated.

If it was kimchi, from RM140k, it will be 40k in 1 year

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:14 pm

I back-up the government decision to stop the tax exemption of CBU hybrid as a sign of support for those car makers who CKD theirs. It wouldn’t be fair to get the advantage without giving back to the country when others put in the effort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • what the heck on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:15 pm

What the heck ?!
    No one in the right sense of mind is gonna buy these cars.
    With that amount of money you can buy a luxury car.
    How will UMW survive in Malaysia now? They are very well known for their hybrid technology but with this kind of pricing it’s an absolute no.
    As for their gasoline cars, they are losing market share to other makes due to old technology and less innovation in the name of ‘reliability’. While people want their cars to be reliable, they also want to see innovation, safety and overall value while parting with their hard earned cash.

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Do agree whoever buys at this price will be an idiot. No cost benefit whatsoever..

• Manjaman on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Stupid car policy!

• Michael on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:26 pm

The U.S. equivalent would be approximately $48k with incentives and $73k without. That kind of money would buy me a very nice diesel.

• vwowner on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Lucky i did not buy. Sky high maintenance to be. Guess how much the future battery price tag?

• Samad Jain on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Govt really stupid to cancel the incentive.

Toyota more stupid selling the Prius at such hefty price.

Consumers, the most stupid of all, whom bought the car, thinking that they saved the planet.

Hahahahaha….

• AVH (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Before this, the Prius and Prius C were the only vehicle in UMWs lineup that was at least ‘worth the money’. For the price of respective B-C segment could you get 6-airbags, navigation and a decently modern powertrain with a Toyota badged. Now it’s just a complete joke with that pricetag so much so that UMW would even consider bringing it in. Literally who in the right mind will be so badge snob enough to buy a sub-premium, underpowered hybrid car at that price!

Of course anger dose not only directed to UMW, the government takes a large cake if the blame as well. The new NAP requires car to be CKD in Malaysia to be granted an EEV liscence, the so called ‘successor’ to the Hybrid-EV incentive that brought Down EVs and Hybrid car price. EEV stands for Energy Efficient Vehicle, but it can also be a fuel guzzling V8 HUMVEE that does 0.5km/l so long as it’s CKD (case in point the GWM Haval M4) to achieve liscene. But before we all jump in joy and sing Kumbahyah about cars becoming cheaper, hang on! MITI never have a clear and set standard on EEV like how it did with the hybrid and EV incentives. As stated in the above article, hybrid-EV is define as cars with a hybrid-electric or Purely-electric powertrain, cars under the definition are granted. 100% cut in both import and excise duties, clear, define to the point. This has been supersceded with the new EEV plan that only defies car that are CKD in Malaysia, and as for what these car will be granted with, well, ‘as much help as the government can give’ (no I’am not making this up). So no set definition on what car can classify and no set standard on what can be achieve.

This is not only flawed in its principle but it also chase out a lot of more modern and capable EEV, cars like the BMW i3, cars that have technology at its infancy and cannot be immediately be CKD. Add to that we come to the problem of persuading companies to CKD it in Malaysia. Malaysia dosent have the largest auto market, nor does it have the most capabled of workers (studies shown that our productivity level is one of the lowest in the region) , so getting them to launch their product here is already a problem much less CKD. Than we come to the problem of the EEV incentive themselves, as I said earlier there’s no clear defining standard on how it works, in some ways in requires submitting a proposal to the government before a grant can be approved while said grant can very at the will of the government. I don’t know, sound pretty risky to me much less a large scale. And given that both Thailand and Indonesia have a much more capable and growing market and add to that, a clearer automotive policy, it’s not difficult to see why Mass manufacturers are swayed towards our neighbor more than us.

• fartl on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Of course productivity level is lower, giving comments during office hours. Moreover no brain required, only pure bashing, thinking with balls and cursing others for the sake of money and themselves. LOL

• top up another 18k and get a beemer 320d, 4.5L/100km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • I am waiting to see the CBU Honda CRZ and CBU Honda Civic Hybrid Pricing.

• heybadigol on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Wow, eye popping price tag. Honda Malaysia (HM) was smart in making the Jazz CKD, but its kinda poor in the specs department and rides like a sampan (no offence to sampans). So, will they CKD a Hybrid Accord? It would be a great idea, but if priced at RM200k, better forget it. I dont think the fuel savings can justify the price difference compared to the normal Accord 2.4. But if UWM sees potential, then perhaps HM wants to see how the Camry Hybrid sells first before greenlighting the CKD Accord Hybrid.

• petrolk on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Hey it justifies the price lor. Just like buying Vios can save a lot of money rather than a Saga.

*Take off sarcasm hat*

• D.I.Y on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:29 pm

you know why Honda Malaysia will make a move ahead toyota? check out Honda Malaysia company background, once you find out the boss you will get the answer.

• michaelooi on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Actually, we’ve all been paying the same inflated shit for all the cars in Malaysia – why act so shocked?

• Because many dreamers here bashed gomen and proton like hell to get cheap “imported” cars. Before it’s in their dream, now it’s only in their dream’s dream.

• no more new register prius and prius C anymore, better upgrade to lexus better

• Leon Loke on Jul 15, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Just blame it on Prime Minister Najib. He is responsible for all this.

• I think prius and prius c will become more worst. Without tax the sale is not very gud. Now with tax the sale will become horrible terrible vegetable

• ben yap on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:19 pm

I can still sell my prius for RM140K ewithout any depreciation? LOL…. if not the buyer has to get a new one for RM216k!

• pingf on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:14 pm

If you sell it to sam loo, he still shows you Hilux.

• ben yap on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:30 pm

If he shows me his Hilux, I show him my steering lock like the CDM 25 lady!

• khaizer on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:35 pm

ok let’s do a reality check….
    fav Car price (what can i say i love prius) = 200k
    House = more than 400k
    Salary = as always regardless of bonuses
    to buy something need to have good credit rating to do a loan

each day the world is getting more polluted
    more than 50% malaysia’s emissions come from our cars on the road
    industries contribute 40% plus
    yada yada yada…..
    some people are already consider being better off dead than living in malaysia

Thank you…. to all

Thank you toyota…
    Thank you to policies made up by people that made life a living hell
    thank you paul tan for the webpage
    thank you
    thank you
    thank you

• old dog on Jul 15, 2014 at 9:37 pm

after the warranty, all existing owners may suffered since without economic of scale the insurance and maintenance will sky rocket, Prius will die off eventually..

• speedywinger on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Oh my.. Le policy just killed le all this hybrid cars..

• MBF-P02 on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Better buy Nissan Leaf

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Expected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Prius C TRD Sportivo Owner on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:56 pm

people who never sit in a prius would not know how comfortable it is. For those who said get a sportscar, it is most probably people who haven’t start working or still living under his mom’s basement. You will appreciate the fuel comsumption when you had a prius believe me.

• chef poodah on Jul 15, 2014 at 10:58 pm

perghhh…mahal bebenor hargenye…..

• Baldwin on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Crazy ass government is CRAZY!

• bisakeris (Member) on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:11 pm

bye bye prius..

• shawal on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:21 pm

I love the environment…
    just not THAT much…

• Legend on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:40 pm

I can get an Audi A4 with that 231k lol with 4 years warranty and 4 years Free schedule Service larh please!
    Where is promise on reducing the car price?
    Janji not yet ditepati!

• ToyotaFan on Jul 15, 2014 at 11:41 pm

The waiting period for the CBU Prius with the new pricing is now 15 months ….. and better be quick to place a 20k booking fee so that you can collect your car for by June 2015 ….. LOL

• Henry on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:00 am

At these prices they can kiss goodbye to any new sales.

• bakuteh on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:25 am

I wonder why UMW Toyota still wanna bring this in to sell at this price.

Why not cut this totally from your selling models and streamline your pre-sales and post-sales department to save cost?

They really think at this price will still sell?

• Well, fuel consumption superb for Prius. The best!
    The price? Hmm, I can tell you this before it was RM140k+ Another RM100k u can fill up petrol for 20 years at least.

Btw I have one. Maintenance is super cheap. Now, I’m sure.

• when they were tax free, umw said that they had to price the prius at 140k as it would compete with vios and altis as the price would of been 90k. Japan free trade also has zero import duties compared to import and excise for cars from europe. umw is trying to excessively profit from this and it will fail.

• Crazy !!!

• roxas on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:50 am

ridiculous ! buy the merc A-class and u have 30k to spent on petrol.

• Korean Fan on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:05 am

Stupid. Those who can afford a 230k car, do you think they really care to save few hundreds buck of fuel from the use of hybrid? If you do then ypu are really stupid. You can spend 140k for accord and the 90k you saved is sufficient to cover for your fuel for 15 years. Stupid really stupid

• James on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:14 am

I use 2013 Prius C as a daily driver… I commute 40,000km per year… My previous car is 2012 Ford Ranger 2.0…
    Hilux 2.5.. RM130 for 550km … Yearly cost is around RM9500
    PriusC.. RM60 for 900km .. Yearly cost is around 2700

• Carl Wong on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:36 am

I’m just happily driving my Honda Insight with 8 years warranty for the hybrid battery and peace of mind as compared to the stingy 3 years warranty from Toyota :]…….

• CarlWong2 on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Pity you cant afford Prius and only know how to talk coxk here. Do you know that Honda already stop Insight production because of poor sales and wrong IMA technology ? Kasihan you budak ini and I dont know how u going to sell yr car

• bublers on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:44 am

I own a Prius. My Prius only consume 20 – 25 Ringgit on petrol cruising from KL to Penang at average speed of 140kmh – 170kmh.

Stop bitching if you cant afford or have no interest to buy guys.
    Putting blame on others does not make yourself better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • DrCooper on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:40 am

I only plus RM5 to yours on my non-hybrid D segment conti’s I believe I pay less monthly installment than yours

• bublers on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:29 pm

That is one of the point DrCooper, you are looking at lower instalment cars when Prius was 138k. This 200k does not suppose to bother you true ? Me myself wont pay the non-discount price of Prius today.

When I bought this car, I was aiming Civic 2.0 … but monthly fuel consumption… cheaper roadtax .. blablabla etc etc that most of us already know, I choose Prius.

I travel a lot, 100k milage within 1 year, change tyre & brake pad after 2 years. Seriously, like said everywhere… there are stuff that only hybrid owner can understand compare to common cars due to its technology.

• Saya sudah bilang, jgn undi BN.. Tgk apa jdi skrg?

• hybrid on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:18 am

i wonder when we can have breakdown of the car price figure in brochure at showroom (nett car price, import duty, excise duty, sale tax, etc). make it more transparent…

• I have been driving a Prius C the last 2 years, and I love it. It’s something one will only understand after owning it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • siaocom on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:28 am

RM150k for a hybrid, i rather choose petrol conti car.

• jerung on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:45 am

I want to keep politics out, but I just can’t resist to say I’m pissed off. Both sides promised car prices would come down during PRU13. 1 year later, the complete opposite happens. Janji dicapati.

• RicoT on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:15 am

Instead of buying Mercedes S350L at RM836k, get a S400 Hybrid at RM588k, which is about 30% lower in price.

They did kept their promise, the only catch is it is out of reach for the average Malaysian. Only to entertain the Datuk and Tan Sri. :(

• Car-Fans on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:27 am

Kena Kong lor !

• RicoT on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:06 am

Having to own a problematic 3rd generation clutch-type CVT Honda City before, the price for replacing a new gearbox cost more than RM20k. I had it replaced with a reconditioned gearbox which cost much less but still there are some problems such as unusual grinding noise, at least it accelerates smoothly. It is a hit or miss.

I wonder will there be ample spare parts for Prius/Prius C in 5-7 years time stocked here in Malaysia and whether the replacement parts are reasonably priced for the owners to replace it? Since, these are not your average Thailand-assembled Vios/Altis, they are CBU units and you will need specialists to do the replacement in Toyota service centre. There might be so-called ‘specialist’ and reconditioned parts in the market by then, but the workmanship and results are unpredictable.

Your thoughts on this matter are highly welcome. :)

• Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:48 am

Toyota HSD has no belt, chain what so ever. Even steering is on electric power steering.

When normal petrol car travel 100,000 km, the engine rotate for 130,000km, due to red light, jam, idle etc.

When Prius/Prius C travel 100,000km, the engine only rotate 70,000km, other mileages are done by electric motor.

See the difference?

Prius C is 2012 US consumer report elected yearly most reliable minicar. http://www.cbt.com.my/tuv-toyota-prius-most-reliable-car-mazda-2-and-3-scores-well-too/

Prius is 2012 Germany Tuv Sud elected most reliable car. http://www.cbt.com.my/tuv-toyota-prius-most-reliable-car-mazda-2-and-3-scores-well-too/

You do need to pay that much of fuel, and you don’t need pay for spare part.

You never knew it simply because you are not Prius owner right? Time to learn more why Prius is so popular around the globe.

• RicoT on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:16 am

You did a great job by pointing out Prius is the most reliable car according to TUV in Germany, but the latest generation (2009-?) Prius evaluated are just under 3 years old at the time the article was published, which I believe is the one UMW brought in and most are still under warranty. No matter how reliable a car is, there is bound to be wear and tear, and these are not covered under warranty. Inevitably, the some parts will still fail at some point in the future due to this reason.

Yes, I do not own a Prius, because this is my biggest concern. The availability and price of spare parts in the future is very unpredictable for this car, and too risky for me to consider buying a CBU Prius here. Please do bear in mind the population of Prius/Prius C in Malaysia is not a very big one, so UMW could not bring in parts in bigger bulk, which would drive the cost up, unless the owners resort to cannibalized parts. I do noticed a majority of Prius/Prius C owners purchasing these cars are people with decent income, but not to the point where they can overlook the price of costly repairs as if it is a small matter.

Now, what I want to point out is, whether it is economically viable to own a CBU Prius/Prius C on the long run here? Petrol price in Malaysia is considerably cheaper than other countries, but the amount of money saved in petrol is minute. No doubt petrol price is increasing, but it is done so at a slow rate. Would the maintenance cost be comparable as Prius C to Vios or Prius to Altis? If no, this small gain in saving may be not enough to offset the higher cost for maintenance. Are the owners losing out on this end?

I opened this discussion because it is a food for thought as this could be a sort of economic viability study of buying a CBU Prius or any hybrid in Malaysia now. All thoughts in this matter is highly appreciated. :)

On another note: This may be a strategy for UMW Malaysia to help the owners drive RV up as CBU unit now cost RM150k-230k, but RV also depends on the appreciation from 2nd hand buyers. It may cost higher to buy a 2nd hand Prius now, still it all comes down to the cost of maintenance of a Prius. No 2nd hand buyer want to buy a high maintenance car if they know it. So UMW plan of publishing the price of non-subsidised Prius may back fire. Any thoughts?

• Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:29 pm

If you so concerned of spare part and maintenance, better stay away from BMW.

See how people pour money in BMW repair and maintenance? It is proven story.

Prius reliability is proven worldwide but not yet in Malaysia. We just take a few years and you will see.

Toyota is one of most reliable cars in the world and Prius/Prius C are the most reliable among Toyota models.

You really need to drive a Prius to understand it.

Prius/Prius C has no belt, no chain, no gear ratio, no clutch, what to change?

Yes, you might need to change the battery, not because it is faulty, because its capacity drop. But this is after 300,000 km story.

• RicoT on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Yes, BMW do have a lot of issues in terms of maintenance and reliability, but this is not a big concern for most of its owners’ pocket.

It is a good strategy if UMW do bring in the next generation Prius/Prius C in 3 years time in CKD form. At the very least, if Toyota do not make much revision to their synergy hybrid drive system, then the current CBU owners would benefit for not have to worry so much about parts availability. However, for now Toyota is losing its market share on hybrids as there is no immediate CKD model announcement.

Indeed, time will tell.

• http://paultan.org/2009/08/04/rm175k-toyota-prius-now-available-in-malaysia/

Tracing back to the time before tax exemption for hybrid cars in 2009, the Prius was selling for 175K but now with tax it became 230K?! Whats going on here?

• Paul Tan on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:11 am

As mentioned in the story, RM175k was with 50% excise duty exemption.

• ThePolygon on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:16 am

Wow… RM 200++ for a Prius. Well the sales were good last time because it was relatively cheaper for a high tech car but now I guess it’s gone beyond the normal affordability level.

Toyota knows this very well but what can they do? Price controlled… :(… we will be seeing lesser and lesser of these around.

• Car-Fans on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:25 am

Really cannot understand our Gov thinking … Overseas all going for Green Environment … But our gov seems like not really supporting this Green Environment … Tax balik pulak! Apa diapa pikir ni ?

• macromedia on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:36 am

They can revise the price to 300k also I don’t care/ Fugly as fugly does.

• Kusbhoo devi on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:40 pm

I like the new price. now my prius c can sell for more than the price I bot it for. how often does that happen. rajini khan will buy too.

• 1 Malaysia on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:15 pm

My point of view, Toyota doesn’t have Malaysia CKD just like other brands which with DRB. From my assumption, I sense Proton might be coming out a hybrid version which selling below all the hybrid cars in Malaysia. What say you?

• Annaeh on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:17 pm

To GFiR 9.42 am: In the developed countries, where “justice and equality for all” supposedly prevail, the governments take many steps to ensure the air is clean and it is not only through hybrid cars. Firstly the use of private automobiles is discouraged through high fuel prices which are at unsubsidized market prices and being taxed on top of that. Then there are the congestion taxes and the pollution taxes. All these measures are put in place so that people will think twice before using their cars and opt for public transport instead. They also come down hard on those factories that spew out smoke and pollutants, you know like those in Malaysia who do it under cover of the night.

So think real hard, do you really want those measures to be implemented in Malaysia and pay the price? I bet if those measures are put in place and you get Euro whatever fuel and the hybrid cars become cheaper you will then twist the blame some other way. You’ll still accuse that “every extra cent you paid, goes into cronies, or Proton’s pocket”, “for a few to live rich, all Malaysians have to die poor” and “this is all because of ego/pride”.

I hope nobody is paying you to put up such ill-thought out comments because they’re just wasting their money.

• There there guys hold your horses…..dun u rmbr reading somewhere there is about 1000 unsold units still?? This new price announcement is juz to help clear those old stocks which the salesman will pull a “u can still buy at old price” trick…..now think about it…..nobody not even a fool would buy a prius for 231k for gods sake…..

• Toyota Insider on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:15 am

There is no 1,000 units laying around somewhere.. trust me. Even if you ordered now you have to wait for the next shipment from Japan.

• bootupjoe on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:08 am

One word …..F..C..K..crazy

• I want to sale my prius v 1.8 luxury at RM130K . Only used for 6 months.

• Correction! RM150 K, not RM130K. Those who are interested, please contact me on this site.

• I STILL WONDER WHY PEOPLE STILL COMPARE PROTON TO ANOTHER JAPANESE CAR…. PROTON ESTABLISHED SINCE 1980’S…. WHILE OVERALL JAPAN CAR INDUSTRIES ESTABLISHED SINCE 1900’S………

• prius c on Jul 31, 2014 at 5:09 pm

I wont pay that price for a small car but i have no regret of buying the prius c. I pump a tank full of rm60 every 900km. I doubt any cars even for the matter a CLA can give me. Paying over price for a toyota is cheaper in maintenance in longer run compare to any other Europian car. Just my 2cents :)

• Nic ong on Nov 08, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Settle navigator system 1st… Got Map button .but system not install..actually only software&sd card. Umw toyota idiot….

• LovePrius on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:24 pm

LoL Joke of the day for me. Nic Ong go to google search Prius Forum to see what need to be installed if you need a Navigator system before you talk nonsense here. a SD card and software lol lol lol lol

• Disappointed Owner of Prius on May 27, 2015 at 9:42 am

I only drove my prius for 3 yrs and 11mths and the hybrid battery died. And what is worst UMW Toyota rootcause of the battery failure is due to Malaysia climate. They offered 50% discount on battery replacement and 2 yrs warranty. What truly troubled me is that while they offer 8yrs for new hybrid car battery but unwilling to offer >2yrs warranty on the battery i am replacing. Cannot understand why? Anyhow, wanted to share this possible buyer of Toyota hybrid car should think twice before buying.