Toyota Prius c TRD Sportivo officially goes on sale

prius c trd 1

Nearly a year after its debut here, the Toyota Prius c gets a set of minor improvements, and the occasion also marks the market debut of the Prius c TRD Sportivo, of which order-taking began back in November.

As the suffix suggests, a TRD Sportivo aerokit package gets plonked on to this Prius c. Items include a new front bumper spoiler with integrated daytime running lights, and the bumper nose has been given a black garnish job to add some sportiness to things.

Side skirts are on too, as is a sports stripe along the lower edge of the doors, and a rear lower lip, rear lamp garnish and a TRD Sportivo emblem finishes off the exterior dress up job. Inside, the only change comes in the form of TRD Sportivo floor mats, replete with blue stitching.

According to UMW Toyota, the TRD items aren’t available separately, so if you must, the variant is the only way to snag them. Four colour choices – Lime White Pearl CS, Black Mica, Silver Metallic and Super Red V – are available for the Prius c TRD Sportivo, which goes for RM103,990 on the road with insurance, a premium of RM6,690 over the standard Prius c’s RM97,300.

As for the enhancements for 2013, no mechanical changes or revisions to the powertrain and drivetrain, but rather small refinements – both Prius c variants now come with an upgraded audio system, which features a redesigned two-DIN head unit fascia and Bluetooth connectivity.

Also standard fitment is a bag hook – fitted under the passenger headrest, the design has spring-loaded hooks which can be retracted when not needed. In addition to the bag hook, a plastic luggage tray for the rear trunk space is also provided.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• How about a simple NO……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 18
    • Is this a new polo?

• VW logo and Toyota logo r totally different ! and VW only make classic cars unlike those Toyota future ship style…

• I think the ones disliking your comments are either the Toyota guys or the fools who already placed the bookings

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Alpha on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:19 pm

This is great!! Now I can buy another hybrid that LOOKS like a sports car!! How awesome is this?!

*Do note that this is sarcasm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Aiyo sudah-sudah la tu Toyota dengan Sportivo kit yang macam sampah. No one gonna buy that kit. Any of Sportivo kit la senang cerita.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Jan 14, 2013 at 1:18 pm

memang Sportivo dalam ertikata Toyota – streetwear atau bahasa biasa bodykit.

tu beza antara TRD dan TRD Sportivo.

• PauKaya on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:53 pm

at least give some proper rims la dei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • CARtoon on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:58 pm

wow. a bag hook and plastic tray. That’s one helluva improvement I’d say. can’t wait to see how it’s like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • Hybrid, you’re drunk. Go home!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Biscuit on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:13 pm

A hybrid turned Ah Beng!!!…only Toyot can do it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Hybrids will monopolise our roads in the next 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Another Toyota tin crap… i wonder why ppl still buy Toyota… This car is so flimpsy that it sagged the moment rear passenger enters

• Haha all negative comments n NoNoNo but later u’ll see a lot on the road…. Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • that… is… probably the worst implementation of DRL EVER!!!!!!

• Visitor on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:48 pm

I prefer the original look of Prius C without the extras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • sambalbabi on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:06 pm

ugly as hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • shafik on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:35 pm

NO…i even impress how good prius hybrid look like….Malaysian should realize how to concern the earth by thinking the best car to own…u do both passion and conserve as well…nice design but there’re more speedier car below the prius price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • Toyota does realize what TRD stands for right…?

Yet u want “to concern the earth by thinking the best car to own”?

Go home english you’re drunk

• Carl Wong on Jan 12, 2013 at 12:09 am

Still waiting for my Honda Hybrid, which I think is a million times better than this :]…………………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
    • Hybrid fan on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:54 am

Many in Honda line up now, Jazz, insight, civic, CRZ…. What else is coming?

• Carl Wong on Jan 12, 2013 at 5:48 pm

There is 1 more, the new 2013/2014 Honda Accord Plug In Hybrid (1st full hybrid from Honda). When fully charged it can go up to 24km with electric mode. I think in terms of efficiency it can finally beat the Toyota Prius……!!

• alldisc on Jan 14, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Honda EX-5 hybrid (100cc engine + kayuh)

• Leong on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:24 am

Come on,make up your mind,decide you want to save fuel or not!don’t make a horse out of a donkey!

• TRD Sportivo version? Who give a sh!t?

• The additional bodykits, stripes and whatsoever add-on would add additional 50 horsepower according to hardcore toyota fans *sarcastic*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • hahahaha…another T wt its ah beng’s spotivo kit…

• Syazwan on Jan 12, 2013 at 6:27 am

UGLY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Sgt Scoop on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:56 am

Wouldn’t a sport version of a hybrid defeat the purpose?

• rear design bad as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • myvi with a battery! and i drive a myvi

• wow bodykit so ah beng

• still so expensive!!! crazy!

• Razin on Jan 12, 2013 at 4:00 pm

I drive a normal prius c. Although i have to admit that the prius c is not really a looker, but toyota managed to make the car look worse

• Razin on Jan 12, 2013 at 4:00 pm

I drive a normal prius c. Although i have to admit that the prius c is not really a looker, but toyota managed to make the car look worse with this trd bodykit

• Front look like CRAB face….agree? After dugong.
    Rear design especially the bumper uglier than myvi SE, even made this car look thinner.

• Sam Loo Jr on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:46 pm

This car got amazing RV!!! Hurry before its too late!!

• Sam Loo Jr on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Remember…tax free hybrids end this year!!

• Davinnci on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:30 pm

Don’t cheat our money la… Offer more airbag, or turbo engine, then we buy.

Other than that please keep it at yard let it root

• come on bro do some research before you comment, don’t just bashing like you know that car more than yourself. Prius c comes with 7 airbags.

• nighttrain on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:28 pm

Toyota Racing Development. RAAA…CING!!!!

• ben yap on Jan 12, 2013 at 11:50 pm

for an extra RM7K, that’s not worth the top up.

• Wohooo… So many -ve comments here. I must admit the look of this sportivo TRD is no bad at all, (at the front )…..however the things that make this car really very bad and the reader here hate so much is because of the price tag. UMW cekik darah kaw2..this car should be priced below 70k..as what US people pay..more than 100k is total slit throat day robbery of our money

• alldisc on Jan 14, 2013 at 1:52 pm

this is umw’s own strategy. if prius is cheaper than vios, there be 2 big issues

1. vios sales will be eaten by prius

2. umw will have difficulties as supply from japan is not many.

• darker marker on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:29 am

damn ugly front. just lost my appetite….

• Drift_81 on Jan 13, 2013 at 12:22 pm

hybrid cars are no good as petrol vehicles. it’s something like PC vs Laptops. hybrid car use lithium battery as your hand-phone or laptop battery. after 2 or 3 years, storage capacity will reduce and it won’t last many years.H or T won’t give u warranty more than 5 years.buy it second hand, no worth it. the battery coz about 15k. buyers must think for longterm. not only about save petrol.

• Carl Wong on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:57 pm

As of now the Honda Civic Hybrid and upcoming Accord Hybrid is using Lithium Ion batteries. Most other hybrids (CRZ, Jazz Hybrid, Insight, Prius etc.) are using Nickel Metal Hydride batteries with an extremely long battery life.

• alldisc on Jan 14, 2013 at 1:41 pm

hybrids are about saving the earth. reduce CO2 means reduce global warming and as an affect reduce unpredictable weather. dunno how cars contribute to global warming?

do some google and read.

• Camilia on Jan 13, 2013 at 4:49 pm

TRD Sportivo?….Sushi with Olive Oil? Tyota better get the branding basics right..

• dun medan on Jan 14, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Cybertronian vehicle….its fugly so it must be decepticon..