The Toyota Camry is a car “enthusiasts” love to hate. It’s an uncle car, big and boring, overpriced and underspecced, they say. Rubbish, some might add. For an online reviewer to say that it’s decent would be akin to running across a firing line. Online? Without the scrutiny of active feedback from you, dear readers, papers and car mags can get away with almost anything.
Anyway, we believe there’s a car for everyone, and one that’s not to your personal taste doesn’t make it a bad car. After drving this XV50 Camry 2.5V for few days, not only am I quite fond of it, I now fully understand why the Camry is such a popular car, the default big sedan that racks up sales Koreans dream about in our part of the world.
First, let’s get some niggles out of the way. There’s no Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) available, even on our range topping RM180,900 2.5V. This is either very stingy or a big oversight on Toyota’s part, especially when the previous Camry had it. Needs to be rectified for the facelift, if not sooner.
UPDATE: The Camry 2.0G and 2.5V now come with VSC – click here to read more.
Looks wise, I prefer the quiet elegance of the previous model (pre-facelift was even smoother) than the sharper “more dynamic” lines of this Camry. Could be just me, but it looks a little forced. Perhaps they wanted to incorporate “more Lexus” into the image, but those who prioritise eye-catching design won’t be looking this way, not with the Sonata and Optima in town.
The chiselled new face, dominated by that huge chromed grille, is bolder but a bit fussy, and those LED strips below the fog lamps can’t be anything but an afterthought. There’s more adventure then you’d expect from Toyota’s designers though – there’s an arc that rises from the headlamps, diving down to meet the rising belt line for a signature character stroke.
Another unique cue is the way the car’s sides don’t meld into the front and rear surfaces, and are instead “cut off” quite severely. Toyota calls this “aero corner design” and it helps simplify air flow, aiding aerodynamics along with the discreet “aero stabilising fin” behind the wing mirrors and under-floor covers.
Moving inside, I like the simplicity of this new dashboard. Same amount of functions, via less buttons – a completely opposite approach from the Honda Accord.
Another plus point for me is the rich meter panel, now incorporating a fuel-consumption section (needle for average FC, light bar for instantaneous) and a two-tier trip meter. When the latter shows average FC and range, I rarely need to jog it via the steering buttons. And like most new cars, an ECO light is included to coach your right foot.
It has to be said though that the more spartan feel (“feel” because there are no less functions than before) and plain black plastic on the centre stack do little to add to the impression of luxury, something that the previous car did better. Points are clawed back with the stitched dashboard, stereo knobs with fine cut surfacing and a richly-lined handphone slot below the AC panel.
If wood is a must, then they’ve done all they can to make the cabin look “younger” compared to the previous Camry and the Nissan Teana. The black-beige colour combo is right for me, especially in a car like this. The lighter hue provides an expansive feel, while the contrasting black (dashboard, steering, door caps) adds dynamism. Better than the Teana’s different shades of beige theme, I think.
Let’s not forget the Camry specials. Things like a powered rear blind, manual rear window blinds and shoulder switches give the Camry a touch of limo appeal. The latter is located on the side of the front passenger seat, allowing the driver to adjust that seat electrically without bending over and stretching. Ferrying the family over the weekend, I used it often.
Speaking of limo appeal, rear occupants can really sit back and relax, like a boss. Besides the features above, the Camry’s front passenger headrest can be folded down for a better view.
The rear bench seating position is good (base not too low, seat back angle not too reclined) and there’s plenty of knee and legroom, more than before thanks to reshaped front seat backs and centre console, which houses air vents. The Camry’s exterior dimensions, 2,775 mm wheelbase included, are unchanged, but packaging has been improved to realise better cabin space.
Kit wise, our 2.5V came with niceties like HID projectors (across the range), eight-way powered seats with electric lumbar for the driver, touch-screen DVD-AVN system with USB, AUX, Bluetooth and reverse camera, front and side airbags, plus keyless entry with push start button.
Good stuff, but for the money, I would have liked an anti-glare rear view mirror (current one is a thin, cheap looking unit) and wing mirrors that auto fold along with the keyless entry. There’s also no auto headlamps and wipers.
Much has been said about the rise of the Koreans, who are doing a great job, but this new Camry is proof (or rather reminder) that Toyota really knows how to make a big sedan work. No edgy design or fancy glass roof here, just a very comfortable and effortless cruiser.
The 2AR-FE 2.5-litre engine (Dual VVTi, 181 PS, 231 Nm) is very well insulated and smooth revving, and the way it picks up speed with that strong mid range is impressive.
Same goes for the silky six-speed auto gearbox, which is a good balance between smoothness and speed – changing gears is not so sharp till you feel it, but it does not overlap and slur its way around either. Judgement and perception is very good, which is why I never felt the need to use manual mode.
There’s a slickness and effortlessness to this drivetrain that’s missing in say, a Hyundai Sonata, which is more rough around the edges, and the hushed way the Camry goes about its business should appeal to more in this segment than charismatic nemesis Honda Accord.
The Camry is a smooth operator, which is why I was surprised at the higher than expected vibration at idle, which isn’t in character. Could be an isolated case, but even if not, I reckon that it’s not something that many would notice, only because we’re serial testers.
Some might say that the Camry has always been smooth. True, but it has never been this competent when hustled. The big Toyota is still not a driver’s car, or even as nice to drive hard down a B-road than an Accord, but it doesn’t feel as uncomfortable as before should you insist.
The steering has surprising weight to it, too. Not much feel, but its precision and weight alone makes the Camry a sharper tool than before. Trunk road driving is not a nightmare as many keen drivers would expect – tyres squeal very early on, and there’s quite a bit of roll, but body control is decent.
Ride comfort is good, and the primary high-speed ride isn’t disconcertingly floaty. Road and wind noise are very well insulated, adding to the XV50’s mile munching cruiser appeal. The Camry has always been a smooth operator, but this time around, the dynamics have caught up a little.
Living with it for a few days, I can understand why the Camry is so popular with the conservative buyer. It’s not the most exciting player around (far from it), there are spec (too low) and price (too high) issues, and there’s that image problem with younger folks; but Toyota understands what the bulk of D-segment buyers want, and executes the plan well, on the 2.5V at least.
Of course, there’s also the strong resale value and service network the brand commands, things that are high up the priority list of many car buyers.
I’m pleasantly surprised. The uncle never had it this good.
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
1st!
anyways.. not a pretty looking car at all!
“not pretty” is an under statement LOL
Danny, the 2.5 Camry is in the Passat price range already. Can you tell me one good reason why this is a better option compared to Passat, even for an uncle?
neither toyota or VW is premium brand.
but u can see nowadays VW build quality is far superior then older days..
also VW entry brand SKODA is getting stronger presence worldwide..
u can see VW CC interior/build its far greater can Camry..
go see/feel..
Both r around RM180k,Passat is boring but Camry is ugly…both r not premium brands but VW performance,safety features and interior r expensive than T,both r premium brands in M’sia.
Passat Dasboard rattles. Is this good quality by your standards?
Camry is better buy than Passat.
Was shocked earlier today test drive the Audi A4 1.8T.
Yes bit extra $$ than Camry/Passat.
Shocking truth it is among best car i test.
Power and luxury.
You must be joking. If Passat is overpriced, then what is the Camry?! The Camry is more expensive than the Passat by 10K, but has fewer safety features, lower tech across the board has poorer fuel economy, and is slower in acceleration despite having a considerably bigger engine. And it is easily the ugliest and poorest designed D class car in the entire Malaysian market. And to the other person, the Passat’s dashboard does not rattle…in fact build quality greatly exceeds Japanese cars and the styling is much more classy, well thought out and understatedly elegant. Only those with tastes leaning towards yellow tints in their hair, and neon lighting under their cars, would think that the monstrosity that passes for the Camry looks better than the Passat…
– The 2nd value for T is better than VW!
– The uncle perceived the status of the T car is higher than VW.
– The T brand is well established, especially Camry in the market.
– For car, status is not necessary associated with the latest tech for engine, tech or features offer by the car!
Now, at least I give you 4, not 1 as demanded by you!
Wrong…
over the years VW’s price has steady in Malaysia..
for example…
a 2.4L (2005) Camry now is only RM65K where when purchase back then was around RM150K…
and a 2L (2005) Golf GTI now is only RM120K where when purchase back then was around RM199K…
so go figure..
and anyway a Conti will always be superior then the Jap/Kor…
unless u purchase the LEXUS for Jap luxury then thats different story
You dare to buy from a company that purposely omits a basic safety feature just to save costs and reap higher profits at the expense of endangering your life? Today’s Camry buyers are all informed buyers and no more the Ah Pek. The newer generation and the Y Generation know about and appreciate safety features such as ESP, ABS, VSC etc etc. These are all basic features that save lives. What happens when the 2018 Camry comes with no seat belts (just to save costs), will you buy it? Sometimes, its not all about resale value and branding, its about principles. If a company has no principles and cut costs at the expense of your life, do you want to trust that company?
Selling price is not the trade in price. Try trading in a 2009 Golf. You’ll be lucky if you can even get RM120k
i think thats why he said Golf GTI.. not GOLF.. wow.. so many keyboard warrior
1. a bigger engine, and being a NA, it will be much smoother.
2. the current Passat is plagued with the same DSG problem as the Golf/Polo/Jetta.
No, I wouldn’t buy the Camry, either. Yes, the Passat is a touch down on power (160PS versus 181 for the Toyota) but it has more torque (250Nm, 19Nm more than the Camry), more of the time. It should also be more economical, thanks to the seven-speed DSG, rather than a six-speed auto. It’s better looking, both inside and out, better built and has more kit.
And the best thing is, people won’t think you’re 52 and a contractor.
And what did you actually mean by the “DSG problem”?
@Jonathan Lee. You can’t just look at the number of speed in a car. If everyone think like you, we will see 10 speed cars on our road today. You can watch a very good explanation here http://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=relmfu&v=bc5wIKGnC0k. I also don’t think Passat is qualified to be a better looking car than Camry. Both are equally Uncle for me. In fact I think Passat looks much more Uncle to me, IMO. DSG problem? Google will come out pages and pages of DSG issues plus the recent recall. You can’t deny that no doubt torque are higher in Passat and give you a good acceleration feel but being an Uncle car, Camry took a good route of giving big NA engine which is far smoother, quieter and easy maintenance..
the VW mostly has problem with their 7 speed DSG..
so u dont want problem/minimize problem STICK TO 6 SPEED DSG…
1.8 A4 dont use DSG/S Tronic.
So its reliable.
Fake fella only talks about Audi
It is generally accepted that the higher the top ratio of a transmission, the more efficiently the car can use its fuel. To ensure a car doesn’t end up being sluggish because of its high gearing, new transmissions have more speeds than ever before (ZF’s eight-speed auto, for example, is currently used by many manufacturers such as BMW, Audi and Jaguar). It’s the same reason mountain bikes have 21 gears: to efficiently manage power so that you use as little energy as possible. The only problem with car transmissions is that the more ratios you add, the heavier and more complicated the transmission becomes, which is why you don’t see cars with 10-speed gearboxes yet.
As for DSGs, yes, there are some problems because of the complexity, but I think the benefits (faster shift times most of the time, higher efficiency compared to automatic gearboxes) outweigh some of the drawbacks. Besides, if it were as unreliable as you allude it to be, I don’t think VW, a manufacturer renowned for its quality and reliability, would have stuck with the DSG for so long.
P.S. I think a lot of the problems stem from owners putting standard automatic transmission fluid (ATF) into their DSGs, when they in fact require specialised fluids. It’s the same thing that afflicted owners of Honda Jazzes and older Cities that have CVTs. Generally, the better you treat them, the longer these transmissions last.
Also, you pointed me to a video about a Nissan GT-R, which has more than twice (TWICE!) the torque of a Passat (588Nm vs. 250Nm). The higher the torque, the less it needs to rely on multiple gear ratios (which is also why electric cars usually have a single-speed gearbox). Lowering the amount of gear ratios reduces the size, weight and complexity of the gearbox, which is a better fit for a sports car.
how about the ticking time bomb wallet buster DSG gearbox? Mechatronic failures just waiting to happen…go and google it bro!
And don’t give me that mumbo jumbo 5 years unlimited mileage warranty with free road assist…tell me what happen after 5 years warranty is up should I decide to keep the car?
semua kereta pun ada problem after 3yrs.. 5 yrs… 10yrs..
its all about luck la..
if no money; then dont buy..
no need cari fasal or cari masalah :)..
go invest in GOLD (UOB) or buy property (UOA) better…
11 grand just to fix ABS on a Golf. DSG? easily RM25k poorer.
Good Luck
Fixing DSG with new component is under RM10K..
please get the facts right and dont simply keyboard warrior
looks like alot vw die hard supporter.
why is there so many used car on sale for vw,some are less than 2yrs.
this will make you wonder story behind…careful with DSG man
Kimchi will have problems within the 1st 2000 kms. It’s a known problem for all kimchis
No point all the sweet comments. There is no ESP on this car and when this leads to an accident and you lose your limbs or become a vegetable, then you will realise that when you pay premium money, you should get all your basic safety features. Even cheap cars like the Hyundai Elantra has ESP, how come this RM180,000 car does not have? Is your life really worththat much to you?
http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/
If Camry trade in value is low, cold door models from euro and lousy quality kimchi how?
Ultra hailat
Camry’s don’t sui kwan, kwai tai and has great resale value, unlike Passat, Pugs, and Kimchis
camry doesnt really has 2nd value.
dont trust?
go bring ur 1 or 2 years old Camry to 2nd hand dealer..
see how much they open the price (one way ticket) and be prepare to cry :)
nowadays so many supply be it brand new or 2nd or 3rd hand..
even other brand are facing the same issue; hence lowering the value due to excess demand..
name it accord.. 3 series.. 5 series.. c class.. e class.. a4… a6…
see how many being registered/delivered..
camry 2.0 retains its value better than 2.4. same goes to honda accord 2.0 has better resale value than 2.4.
the reason – many ppl who can afford road tax of 2.4 and its fuel consumption could afford to buy new and they prefer it that way. very few will buy used. same goes to merc S class, bmw 7 series, volvo s80, jaguar and range rover – the depreciation is just awesome!
Passat would have been a much better choice
I would like to tender an apology to all those I have offended. I have been a salesman for Toyota for many years now. Over the years, it has been a breeze but lately, our sales haveslumpped because of strong competition from the newer Civic and Elantra. Out bread and butter Vios also is losing market share so, we were hoping the Camry would be our golden egg. The sales team were disappointed with the omission of VSC and sales of the Camry has been so so bad. I do apologise if I bad mouth the Koreans and VW but, just like yourself, we also cari makan. Please forgive me everyone for all my negative statements.
Copy cat
Today i finally signed up the A4 1.8T after test drive few days back.
Will getting the new car in a week time.
Today I finally decided to import the 1997 Toyota Supra GZ Aerotop after driving one few days back.
Will getting the new car in a month time.
Sam Loo, is your Supra a vvti twin turbo?…
Most probably he has resigned and joined Honda also… hahaha..
Price in resp. ctry currency
508 1.6 THP Camry 2.5V
Australia 36,990 32,490
New Zealand 46,990 44,990
Taiwan 1,348,000 999,000
Indonesia 535,000,000 510,600,000
Singapore 86,799(ex-COE)91,588(ex-COE)
Malaysia 155,888 180,900
So, do you think Peugeot 508 is a better buy in Malaysia?
But better comfort than the boring Passat.
better check your eyes! nothing can be more boring than fugly camry!!
Most of all, Camry dun sui kwan and kwai tai like cacat Passat, Pijak Pugeot and Smelly rotten cabbage kimchis
wow sales man of T brand.. kesian :)
The looks is actually quite decent IMHO and the interior is also good but like what Paul and Danny pointed out…Toyota Malaysia made a fatal mistake taking out the Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) from the Camry. I even twittered Toyota Malaysia to protest against them removing this feature. Speaking about safety, if Toyota it known to build good family cars then why so few airbags? How about giving 6 airbags for the 2.5 and 4 airbags for the 2.0 cars?
They could have also added auto wipers and lights…I mean c’mon how much does it cost to add that in?
i think what Toyota wants to show is that..
VSC is just a sales/marketing gimmick..
u can see its proof what..
also during their pre launching track day see how the Camry 2.5L performed on sepang F1..
awesome..
no BMW/Merc/Audi or other Japan brand dare enough to let people swing around huge car with 2.5L CC without VSC!
and it shows that the camry is far superior than any other brand regardless luxury or with high tech or with VSC..
no VSC also the sales like sky rocket for the 2.5L Camry..
you must be a moron. lol.
its true what.. expensive with no VSC/ESP.. still can sell and demand high..
it proof that VSC is gimmick..
if not why many 2.5 camry on the road already???
I am very happy to know that Camry did not sell as good as they used to, they even have to give discount to promote the sale. its time for us as a buyer to show this $ sucking & profit ripping company take advantage of Malaysian.
Paul, we must do our part to keep teaching Malaysian buyers about the importance of basic safety feature.
Another stupid move is the single airbag of most basic model of Almera by ETCM.
Totally agree!
Not necessary more airbag is safer than less airbag. Airbag is just the last level of protection, driver need to determine safety when driving. You can see nowadays, car accident was caused by for example over speed (helpless even with more airbags), no safety belt (propose to the car maker to have airbags on the windscreen, else helpless), over loaded (imagine if all airbags in actions and taking the space from passengers) etc.
Pleaselah uncle/granpa, dont’t compare your Camry with my Passat… :)
If yes, this for you.. baby
Old man + Resale Value + Don’t care about safety
: Get a Camry.
Hotguys + Safety 1st mentality + Performance : Go For Passat
p.s : can an under rated car get good resale value in Malaysia. ?
Off course can’t compare Camry with Passat.
The Passat’s dashboard has rattling sound when driven out from the showroom
is the rattling sound from passat fact or fake?
Fake, he made it up to. Typical T salesman
Look likes UMW Toyota hired their salesman to tell lots of lies to sell their camry.
No wonder so many toyota been recalled due to quality issue…
Try the vw showroom in bangsar, even the jetta and sharan Oso rattle
What rattling sound?! I own a Passat and its build quality and styling makes any Japanese saloon I have sat in look inferior and lacking in sophistication.
Either I have very sensitive ears or you are in need of hearing aid.
1 Passats I test drove in Bangsar and another 8 month old unit belonging to my customer oso lidat
I hope that your 7-speed dry clutch DSG won’t give you much problem. Unless you are driving the old Passat CC with a 6-speed wet clutch DSG.
To be honest, there is not much car to buy at that price bracket that gives you both
1. best bang for the buck
2. hassle-free ownership.
You take only one of the above, not both
The 7 speed DSG is incredible – easily the best transmission I have ever driven. It shifts faster and better than a manual, and plenty of power is always available unlike conventional autos where there is always wrong ratios and lag. The turbo charged direct injected engine is far more responsive than any NA car in its class that I have driven.
The DSG frequent failure makes great business for tow truck operators
sure or not failure?
6 speed DSG so far 2 years plus OK when driven hard..
hurm..
get ur facts dude or chick :)
Car get good resale value bcoz it give the owner less problem not just pluck the price from sky. Do some studies why all continental (incl VW)car have low resale value. Ask those used car dealer why they refuse to accept the conti car, perhaps you will know the passat still the right choice. BTW, Camry is the best selling car in the world. Where is Passat raking?
The toyota has good resale value becaue (1) it is reliable. But this reliability is due to the fact that it is loaded with old tech parts and lacking in safety and efficiency systems that are common in cars used in more advanced countries (2) because there are legions of “uncles” who follow the ignorant recommendations or example of other “uncles” instead of doing proper research causing them to fail to realise that they are paying excessive prices for what is a very basic car that should cost cheaper for what little they give. SO if that is a benefit to you, go ahead and buy more Camrys…
I personally feels that car with older parts are more reliable than newer one with tons of electronic gadgets, like those conti. My friends drove Audi, BM and Porsche and they have lots of electronic problem every now and then. I’m thinking of getting VW, but need a second thought
Best selling car in the world? With the world being Malaysia or what?
http://bestsellingcarsblog.com/2012/02/27/world-2011-updated-toyota-corolla-ahead-of-ford-focus-and-vw-golf/
By a big margin the VW Golf/Jetta (it’s idiotic to split them up, just because they carry a different name) wins. Then the Corolla, Focus, Polo, Fiesta, Elantra, Wuling, Cruze, … Camry is quite far behind, the Passat outsells it.
Definitely can compare Sonata/K5 with Passat & 508. All have low RV, sui kwan and kwai tai in the middle of the road
Good choice ! of coz Passat is better…actually a 180k car do not expect much…dashboard rattling sound is quite common…my Avanza and Myvi also have the dashboard,doors panel rattling sound…
well it still retain the wood plastics all over the internal, that is nice. looks boxy but similar to lexus, nice. yea i think i will get this car as it suits my uncle status. no vsc is not a problem becoz uncle dont drive fast. thank you toyota. luv u toyota..
Have you actually read Paul tan article on the VSC?! Driving slower does not mean that you will never skid or never need the VSC to save your life…
Rather save a little money to get the C class or F30…
congrats, first Grand prize is 2012 Toyota CAMRY
DREAMS ON……
Hahahaa.
Your post really made my day.
Laughing my butt off.
Danny I smile when I read your review because it seem that Camry “forcing” it’s way out to be the top D-segment! But at the same time “cutting budget” on safety issues + installing accessory odd ward “DRL” coz trend are like that currently & hopefully M’sian buyers still prefer them. Well in any business is the same, if their “market share” didn’t feel any threat “company” don’t bother upgrade or adding values to their product.
I wish buyers will cooperate and choose wisely :) cheers everybody.
Let see how this Camry perform in 3 yrs time before facelift.
you first 3 sentences had said it all. and you should stop right there… !!! LOL
Spent 3 sentences to destroy the Camry. Used up a whole page to pleased the uncles. Good job bro.
At this price range, the Volkswagen Passat is a better option.
Ford Mondeo is better choice …….
Ford Mondeo is best among it’s class. But why Sime Darby won’t bring the Diesel version of Ford Mondeo.
Ford Mondeo, Engineered in Germany Nurburgring, style in Germany.
Yes!!with ecoboost
only they know why – lack of self-confidence i think.
RV of Mondeo?
M’sia diesel grade too low that end up the Mondeo will emit “black” smoke like the those lorry and get the saman frm the environment dept.
I’m still waiting for the new Mazda 6.
ler u all here said buy this.. buy that..
this is better..
that is awesome…
etc etc..
but the fact is u dont have money to buy..
hais…
keyboard warrior…
hurm..
at this price range, any car is better but Camry!
Idiot UMW!
Agreed, and plus, the Volkswagen Passat looks good too…
Passat looks great when the used car dealer hangs the low RV price on display at the used car yard
If Passat is a better option, why do i find it so difficult to see Passats on the road?
Perhaps most of them parked at Service Centre for their DSG issues, turbo oil leaks and top up engine oil after every outstation trip.
Wishful thinking on your part – no such thing.
And waiting for spare parts to arrive is the norm for kimchis and VW/Pugs. Get a spare car for these rainy days. Never happen to T&H owners
The only reason why yhou have not seen more VWs is because you are blinded by your unnatural love fort Toyotas. There are DSG-equipped VWs everywhere on the roads nowadays…face it, the days of Toyyota and Honda’s supremacy are nearly over. 10 years from now, it is going to be VWs which will fetch higher resale values…
Malaysians are naturally smarter coz they know Passats will sui kwan and kwai tai anytime anyday.
So they rather spend their hard earned money on more reliable and durable Jap makes
Or add extra money for superior brand: Audi
Halo copy cat. At work oledi?
This is better than the us version
dear lord…my jetta might not have all the creature comforts this new camry has, but the ones that it does, look and feel much more luxurious than whatever i see here. i mean, wow
.and your Jetta is a much safer option compared to this Camry…wow! this camry dont even have ESP!!
When your DSG dies, make sure you have a couple of credit cards to pay for the repairs
When your wife dies cause of the lousy and dangerous car, make sure you have a couple of credit cards to pay for her funeral.
ya a passat 1.8 is a better option n looks more classy..this body kit has to be sentenced to death right now…it really is ugly…looks like its be fitted from totaly diferent car…
And I am just wondering why there are so many more ACV50’s on the road despite being launched only 3 months back compared with the cacat Passat?
Again this is your own prejudice showing – I have seen few new Toyotas around and no more than Passats.
Korean Lovers are twisting in jealousy
Nope, Korean fans have nothing to worry about. This Camry is total crap. What the heck is wrong with the Japanese these days.
partly is due to japanese designs, but more importantly is what the F is UMW doing? they keep bringing us mediocore cars (or same cars but with lesser specs, older engines)
Older engine not means it bad. Only those car have engine imperfection need to change the engine regularly to survive. Car should not judge by spec alone. Reliability is more important consideration. Some car give u high spec but always breakdown or malfunction, end up
spend more times visiting service centre rather enjoying the ride.
With this kind of “logic”, perhaps we should be still driving the Model T ford?!!! Friend, you are spouting nonsense. Every advance that the Toyota is itself using now as an accepted feature was once pioneered by some other car manufacturer. Every progressive manufacturer will improve their car range to improve their product so as not to lose market share.
What UMW are doing is overcharging you for an underspecced car and you are cheering them on…only in Malaysia, Toyota need not respond to market pressure and can continue to give you less and still charge you more for essentially the same car with less features and a far uglier body…thanks to people like you…
Camry owners only worry about car being stolen when parked next to a sonata/k5.
Kimchi owners prey really hard to get their car stolen to claim insurance, coz that is the best way to recover the loss in trade in value
Do you buy a car for its resale value primarily or to use it and enjoy it? Your comments are truly warped. Make inane insults all you like – the Sonata owner will at least enjoy the greater features and far more pleasant looks of his car for the half a decade or more while you drive the ugliest D class car in Malaysia while muttering under your breath about the wonderful resale value you will get when you sell your car…
u kidding me.
it rides like sampan.
especially when u wanna change lane or hard braking.
Camry is far better ride than Sonata YF or new Optima.
go test drive la..
Later u buy sonata/optima stuck cannot sale back.
haha
Why would they? Its a fair article and it clearly spells out the strengths and weaknesses of the Camry. Besides comfort, refinement, resale value and service network, there is little else going for the Camry. Danny has clearly mentioned the lack of safety features, low specs and high pricing as its drawbacks. He has also said that this Camry in particular caters for the ‘uncles’ out there. Thats why the Camry sells despite all its drawbacks. And mind you this is the 2.5V model which he is comparing. What would he say for the 2.0L model i wonder. Hmmm
sigh..read my reply at EVO9
Sonata and K5 second value already nose dive.
SO, good luck to the kimchi owners pockets when they sell
we don’t care, better drive a lion than cow
One thing for sure that you do not need to worry driving a kimchi of Pug is that thieves will not pinch your car. No one wants them in the first place.
If your report it stolen, the police will think that you have forged the theft in hope to get insurance money. Really cham one
Are you saying that people should not buy the Korean cars because car thieves will not steal them but buy Toyotas because car thieves will steal Toyotas?! LOL
Do you notice there is a gap at the passenger side dashboard where you need to open the door to see it. It’s at the black plastic thingy. Seems like all the new Camry that I check have that gap!! Another imperfection add on.
i seriously don’t understand why Toyota would approve that fugly bodykit. Seriously Toyota, it looks like a badly done braces on a kid.
the new camry design itself already looks fugly without the ridiculous bodykit. but now with the kits, it looks like a joke. 180k better spend it elsewhere. lots of choices now, so UMW better buckle up.
With 180k,i rather get a Passat
this camry just launched but i see more of it than the new passat. i travel 100km daily to and fro of work, and the probability should be high.
but it doesnt.
think better fork up $$ for 1.8 A4.
pleasure driving.
Thats because you have only been seeing guided by what you want to see nd what you are looking to see…
The “sam loo” that has been talking about Audi’s is my immitator
If we are to compare this “new” Camry with the facelifted Mark X, we all will wonder what went wrong. And yet, more people are buying Camry over Mark X.
Good car becoz it’s 2.5!! Try 2.0 then. Overall it’s a lousy car for it’s low spec, high price & so on. It’s a car for Toyota blind loyalist.
u said it well.
i still hear old uncles who still think TOYOTA makes good cars.
Toyota make good car but UMW screw it all.
Check US version, or even Thai version(no need go so far) is still better.
You know why? G need $ mah.
Come on, it is damn bloody obvious, any lubang can Dig $ without effort, you see their footprint!
Not the government. If it were them, what about Passat? Better value for money. Mondeo? Better value for money. Every single other car has better value for money. The Camry is only so overpriced because it means Toyota/UMW can earn more money, and there are enough fools willing to pay for it.
Do u ever see the Toyota Ambulance breakdown on the side of the road?
Do u see an old Toyota taxi still on road to compete with the Proton?
Maybe u will have some clue now……
A Ferrari is more unreliable compared to a Honda. But have you ever met anybody who would rather drive a Honda than a Ferrari? Why? The desirabiltiy and worth of a car is not all about reliability and not breaking down. Try to learn something from other people here instrad of being a Toyita fanatic.
Well said. The common problem with driving a Toyota that is so reliable is that the owners tend to take things for granted and doe not bother to check the tyre pressure on a regular basis
can i like x 1000…
one word : boring
AlexLHThis, there is no such thing as Korean Lovers. It’s people money & to buy what they want. These people has taste, knowing what they want & at least they are not blind like some T & H loyalist. I drive conti but I’m not hating Koreans. It’s actually the T & H lovers who can’t accept the fact that the Kimchi is rising. get a life.
It was supposed to be a joke……it’s not that I hate Korean cars, The only thing I don’t get is why are there so many supporters of Koreans, and haters of Japaneses(In the comments at least) and yet there are more new Japanese cars being registered each month than Korean cars, what are these people actually driving?
PS: You can actually reply on my comment
There are more supporters because many of those who frequent online content and automotive blogs are also those who understand cars better. They also have more tools and resources at their disposal to compare between different makes and know whats out there. Yes Toyota enjoys good sales because of brand loyalty and resale value. Toyota’s are also known for their reliability. Its this loyalty which is keeping the numbers going. For instance, ask any lay person which is better HP laptops or Lenovo and the answer would be HP. But how many of those who choose HP actually know that HP was detroned by Lenovo from the global No 1 spot? Again, knowledge. 5 years ago, how many ppl actually supported Korean? Why is there a sudden rise? Simple because the Koreans are offering better designs, top class specs, good engines and a more affordable pricing. Yes they still lack in refinement and overall comfort but do keep in mind that Kia for instance produced its first car in 1974 while Toyota launched their first in 1936. That’s almost a 40 year headstart for Toyota. But today in 2012 can anybody say that the Koreans are 40 years behind Toyota?
Frankly, I think Alex made a valid point. Japanese cars still sell better coz those who buy them don’t give 2 hoots about how nice the Conti or Korean looks. All they care about is reliability and resale value. Cyber dwellers over here who support designs and little of others are probably in the “saving to buy my beautiful ride” category, in other words, the young below 30s.
There are some Toyota that I like but Camry or Altis is not in that list. I’m more a Honda person for mainstream cars but now, I’m on conti and will stick to it.
BTW, HP is better than Lenovo (IBM Thinkpad)??? Puhleez… Thinkpads were so well constructed and built to last, hence their high costs. Pretty much one of the best made laptops. Lenovo might have diluted the IBM brand a bit but they still maintain the built quality. HP is pretty crappy in comparison, even against Dell. Wrong comparison dude.
I think you need to read my post again. I didnt say Lenovo was better than HP did i? All i asked was how many ppl actually know that Lenovo dethroned HP this year. I was refering to actual product knowledge as compared to blind brand loyalty.
Dont play play with korean stuffs.
Very soon they will overtake apple.
They are beating sony, panasonic, sharp flat in TV industrial.
Gangnam style raise global tsunami, japanese were no where seen.
Fundamental issue is jap is very much at comfort zone, korean is not.
My fellow medical colleagues in korea waked up@5am, finished work to home past mid-night at most working day, what do you expect the outcome of the product under such tremendous work determinant?
They will ultimately lead/dominate in most arena they venture in, no doubt about it.
Look back our lovely M, I feel so sore….
When the RV of Korean Cars can be retained at 75% within a year, that is when hogs will fly
This comment is for Sam Loo – better book your ticket with Hog Airline, because they aare already taking off!
And the RV of DSG failure prone Passats is worse than Pugs nowadays
VW DSG failure but Camry exterior failure :(
VW kwai tai and sui kwan some more wor
In the world of consumer ,the defining factors is what the consumer wants. The Japanese will loose their grip soon, I like your analysis Cybermaster98 ,don’t know much about Comp, and you gave so much info that is hard to go against your thesis. Sadly Toyota is a manufacturer that strife for the top spot in sales number(along with VW), so basically they sell cars for what the majority wants, and the car above is what the majority wants. Yes, Its a boring world, but until the uncle generation is replaced by the gangnam-style generation, only than can we see Toyota s rise in design, like in the 90s. have you all forgotten Supras and AE86, even the 90s Camry at their time they were exciting design. Let me make this clear, I do not dislike Korean cars, I like them actually, especially KIAs (not a fan of fluidic design).I hope this is Toyotas problem, bcuz if you say that all Japanese cars are boring, ill happily Disagree
Anyway, if we are all malaysian, let us not forget the real crap in the automotive industry, Proton started a decade after Kia
It’s not about the years, it’s about managing talents.
Proton Waja to me is anytime better than Kia Spectra or Hyundai whatever being sold back then. Today, Koreans not only leapfrogged Proton, but also the Japanese. They hired Peter Schreyer and many other talents and voila, they’re making the Japanese look like dinosaur.
In F1 also same thing. Red Bull Racing is just a seven-year-old energy drink team with no heritage like Ferrari and McLaren who’ve raced for decades, but look who’s doing 1-2 pwnage in yesterday’s Korean GP? It’s because of the genius Adrian Newey, whom the Ferrari and McLaren can never buy with money, at least for now.
Today we talk about Koreans’ rising, but the next 3,4 years, we could be talking about Chinese rising. Top Gear covered about it very nicely.
As much as I dislike that fact it, I completely agree with you, in 10 years time, it will a prestige to own something that dose’t say “made in china” at the back……or “made in Malaysia by cronies”.
Dream on. In 10 years time, TaTa & Geely will catch and outsell the kimchis
nobody is a Japanese hater. we hate money milking company like toyota and honda that doesnt give us the full value of our money. I love Mazda’s car, they look great and have all the goodies inside. comparing a CRV and a CX-5. CX-5 anytime anyday.
Its not Toyota or Honda to be Blamed.. It’s UMW if it’s Toyota…. Do u know the Camry comes standard with 10 air bags throughout the variants in US , Australia , China and HK and Taiwan, etc:. ONLY in Malaysia and Thailand the company who brings Toyota in, they are te one responsible for stripping the safety features and great specs Toyota originally offers in the Camry… Don’t blame Toyota . Blame UMW..
bring the new Auris
Umw own by Toyota, my friend
@mp_drucker: UMW Holdings is a Govt-Linked Co. (GLC). It is not owned by Toyota.
Kimchi is lucky with the help of the low Won currency. The “H” engine is from Mitsubishi, yes the partner from Proton Inspira! It come with sunroof which hardly use in M’sia climate, perhaps it generate more heat to the cabin. Create potential water leaking to the cabin thru the sunroof rubber seal after few years.
I AGREE that the devaluation rate for kimchi trade isn has been on the rise
You and Kalam must be two out of work Toyiota salesmen…time to quit and hjoin VW to sell their cars!!!
You must be a Hyundai/Kia Desperate Salesman then?
Actually, I am only interested to buy pre-owned kimchis ~1 year old 15,000kms or so. Knowing that it would have depreciated at least 50%, I just want to make it go lower at an accelerated rate. Judging from the no. of people getting rid of their rotten cabbage within a year, I fell that I have overachieved my KPI
car looks horrible. I totally agree on the write up, shows how sad they have gone, from bad to worst!
Even the VW Jetta is cheaper and much better spec-ed and more importantly; drives better!
Mr. Kong. Have you sat inside the Jetta before? Have you.. touched the material in the Jetta before and have you driven it before? Pls do not make a comparison between the Jetta and the Camry. In my opinion, the only thing that is good about the Jetta is the Engine and the gearbox.
The Passat or the Teana on the other hand can be a fairly good comparison.
I do agree the Camry is no cheap car. But you really really got to sit inside the Camry, drive it on a highway..high speed or low speed or even bumpy roads. even with its specs being stripped down so much by UMW. It is the most comfortable and silent ride among its class. the interior cabin space is a wow. Being 180cm tall. I can stretch my legs infront and still have space for a grown up behind.
You guys should really see it to believe it. Im not saying whose better and what not. Keep an open mind. Try out all the cars so that we may comment fairly here.
btw.. Teana should be the closest rival to Camry. The Japanese are still the more reliable bunch.
Simple. The Camry was designed for comfort while VW’s are designed for handling. You can’t compare interior space of a Camry with the Jetta as both are in different classes. Have you sat in a Sonata or Optima yourself? The Camry has got a total internal legroom of 80.5 inches while the Optima and Sonata are a close 2nd at 80.1 inches. But yes, the Jetta is much better spec’d and has much better driving dynamics than the Camry for sure. Heck, even the Koreans have much better spec and driving dynamics although they lack in comfort and power train refinement.
VW DSG well known to die in the middle of the hiway.
Would you let your wife or daughter be caught in this situation?
Get a real car that is known for reliability and durability
Only “known” to you…the problems have been mainlyironed out and are exaggerated given the millions of DSGs made so far by VW – the 7 speed DSG makes the auto in the toyota feel like you are driving a second rate vehicle…
Smile, I drive a VW Jetta. I test drove Camry before. No doubt it is a car with a huge living room. Other than that… out-dated look and old technology. Yawning while typing about your beloved Camry. Sorrie…
if you can afford a car similar to Camry range you would have gone for the passat. You gotta admit other than the engine the jetta is just plain cheap plastics interior.
You try comparing the trade in value of the Camry and Jetta now.
Do you need extra tissue?
“drive it on a highway..high speed or low speed or even bumpy roads..”
Not until you really need Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) to avoid possible accident.
This car no doubt may have very good comfort at high speed.. At high speed cruising, VSC is vital, how can you put safety behind?
Damn UMW, my dad’s Toyota Altis(1.8) bought@2005 was well equipped with VSC, BUT NOT the current model of Camry 2.5V@2012, WTF!!!(give them 3times)
the fugly camry already handles like a boat / sampan, which means it desperately needs VSC the most compared the its competitors which ALL of them have at this price range.
Poor Handling + No VSC = Good Luck…if you survive in this fugly overpriced junk when you crash!
Sour Grape Syndrome detected here
Same thing can be said to you on your unfairly and blind sided comments on both VW together with the Koreans…are you sure you don’t holdIng a grudge on VW b’coz they turn you job application down? :)
P/S: Name me one car manufacturer in the world that doesn’t have issues or shortcomings?
I have to agree with u 100 percent.
But for some ppl, resale value is more important than the lives of them and their family.
Talking about misplaced priority.
If u want passion and driving go for Conti…
If u want reliability go for Japanese…
Just drive all and test it..
Buy the one which your heart most desire..
If you want to lose 1/2 of your car value in a year, go for Korean
If you are so fickle to want to sell your new car 1 year after you got it, then you probably deserve to take a bath…
If you still want toyota. Shut up and buy a Lexus rich man!
ride it on highway? the camry? u should try continentals. and japanese cars are not “more reliable”, its just that their spare parts are cheaper.
But Conti’s will sui kwan on the hiway wor
Toyota salesman spotted!
i dont think i can, toyota sales man wont let me. because they very lansi.
anyway nice car, nice brand, spoiled by the arrogance of the management team.
Reliability?????
But kwai tai and sui kwan
Now I wonder who is recipient of the first paragraph:P
Toyota/Honda can afford to skimp on equipment because they are leading the market-hence taking everyone for a ride. The Kia K5 has most amount of accessories for the money. I think the next version of the K5/Optima will be either on par or slightly below the T/H brands but with better equipment. Then we will see how desperate T/H will be and will increase the equipment list.
BTW, I know Honda did increase equipment list for the Accord in 2000 3 years after the Asian economic crisis. That 2.0 Accord came with parking pole, bodylex massager, wood trim, fog lights, auto rear blinds. 2 years after economic is slightly better, same car no equipment but cost the same.
Great engine, great gearbox, but, spoiled by staid looks, lacklusture driving dynamics compared to, say a Mazda 6, and nowhere near as comfy as a Citroen C5.
And don’t get me started on the interior and exterior. When i saw and felt it, suddenly the previous XV40 Camry felt leagues ahead of the new one.
And 180k for what’s essentially a car with a new gearbox, and drives and rides worse than the old one, and worst of all, lacking in kit and stability control? You know better. This Camry, in my personal opinion, has gone from the top of the list, right down to the bottom heap of the list as the worst family sedan on sale right now.
I’ve never test driven the C5, but no experienced car buyer in their right mind would buy a Citroen regardless if its comfortable and well equipped. It’s definitely one of the most unreliable in our local Market and the resale value of this car … gosh… at least 50% depreciation once the car rolls out of the collection bay and in to the road.
That is why Citroen is also known as Sit Tou Loong in Canto
I do Agree with you, the ride comfort really sucks – damn bumpy, the previous one was much more comfortable. I got the 2.5v, the current version really sucks, I’m very regret to have bought this, the built quality really sucks – the leather seats are not done properly with wrinkle all over the place, i claim for warranty, but no reply from Toyota. For those who can afford a little extra, may consider a conti car like the passat cc, or the bmw 320, a4 or C200.
That is exactly how i felt after i got the 2.5V after listening to my neighbour brag about his camry.
But to my surprise, the car suffers from poor ride and handling. Reduced sound insulation resulting in very loud windnoise during highway speeds of 110kmh and above. Poor quality plastic dashboard materials and so so comfort from the average quaility leather seats. The previous version was sooooooooo much better!!!
I am selling mine off after 2 months+ for 148k probably at a loss of around RM35k. Mileage only 7500km. Used car dealers are slashing 50k off my new car price….offered RM130k only. I guess my resale value hailat already. But no choice can’t stand driving in this car anymore!
I am planning to get the vw passat after this!
What other quality issues are you facing with the 2.5V Camry?
the wind noise is unacceptable at highway speeds. at 1st i thought it was the door rubber seals. so i complained to SC and they changed it for me.
still no difference after that…either its a design flaw or simply poor QC… or cheap soundproofing.
I travel outstation every weekend and cannot bear the noise. its no difference than driving a saga/myvi on the highway.
the camry is really overrated.
Get the previous version ACV40 then.
Haha, nothing to say to samy’s real problems unlike your imaginary fanboy comments supporting this new Camry?!
I feel pity for the T sales person, look back again, they already have their good time>10YRS, is high time for others.it is called fair.
Regardless of how boring the design may be, at the end of the day, it is still the most comfortable D-Segmant car… Accord may be more dynamic, but it is still bumpy going through rough roads. Lets not even compare the Camry’s comfort level with the Optima or Sonata.. It’s almost abcent in these two cars. I agree the styling of both Optima and Sonata’s interior is more modern, but have you touched and fiddled with the buttons and the handles in those cars? It seems very toy-ish and flimsy.. It doesn’t feel very premium compared to the boring Camry’s interior but with tight and tough fitted buttons and handles.
The exterior is very subjective. I happen to feel the Camry has a very executive presence. The sonata, accord and teana all has the executive presence too. But the Optima, regardless of it being the best looking in its class, it doesn’t carry the “status” that the rest has. An uncle who’s a business man, would most probably not want to be seen driving an Optima.
Again, I agree that UMW is shit when it comes to fitting the new Camry with good specs and features. The safety level is also tuned down drastically thanks to damn UMW. We can’t blame Toyota, but we should throw the negative comments at UMW because it is them, who cuts cost and charges premium price.
Now the Passat. Yes, it is a better buy compared to the Camry 2.5V simply because of its specs the Passat offers. But then again, the Passat isn’t as big and spacious as the Camry and the Passat tend to seem more like a young executive car, rather than a matured executive car. Style wise of the Passat, I honestly prefer the Camry’s exterior. There’s just more luxurious-ness and presence. But the interior dashboard of the Passat is of course, young looking and sleek. The Camry’s dashboard is indeed sleek, just missing the edge that the Passat has.
In conclusion, I believe that the Camry will continue to dominate the D-Segmant market both in Malaysia and internationally. Regardless of it being over priced and under spec-ed. (only in Malaysia). Again, it’s still the most well fitted(tight fittings and firm comfortable materials) and the most comfortable and spacious in its class.
I have a couple of American friends who rant about their Camry looking too childish (exterior wise)to be an executive sedan. They complaint that it looked more like a sporty car than an executive sedan.(though it performs like an executive sedan). But over here, most Paul Tan readers claim that our Camry is too boring and uncle like and prefers the US version Camry. So I conclude that as humans, we want what we don’t have. Hahaha..
I’m in my mid 20’s. and I’m one of few youngsters who prefer comfort drives than sporty drive. So if I had to choose based on ranking, this is my ranking.
1. Camry (because of utter silence in cabin and comfort drive though interior design may be too matured for me but a strong exterior presence. Not forgetting its ultra reliability that Camry’s has always held)
2. Passat (because of sporty tuning and good specs and safety features but I don’t like the exterior and its lack of reliability due to turbo engines)
3. Sonata (because of exterior styling and comfortable seats and powerful pick up. But I don’t like the flimsy buttons and bumpy ride.)
4. Optima (because of exterior styling and an almost full luxury cars’ specs fitted and of course it’s safety features. But I hate the road noise and bumpy ride! Seriously, it’s the worst in class when it comes to road noise)
5. Accord ( I actually won’t want this at all but I gotta put it at #5 for the sake of it)
6. Teanna ( though I like the specs and comfort this car offers, the exterior and interior is just toooooooooo matured. I won’t wanna be seen in a Teanna as people may assume that I borrowed my grand father’s car out)
Hahaha.. Well, these are just my opinion. Don’t be too serious lah… We need to put ourselves in a car buyers’ point of view and not just comment and bash based on pictures and other people’s negative comment.
I would choose Teana over Sonata and Optima simply because Nissan is second best in comfort, reliability and luxurious interior. (I do hope they would choose a better interior color tone). Talking about the looks of a car. It is all too simple for a car manufacturer to come up with world class, award winning design but the reliability, engine and comfort ride takes years and years of research.
They may not be the best design to all. The after sales of Toyota is world class. I have been in a Camry and I have seen what they are capable of in the service center.
Would you rather drive a car for 6 to 7 years without major problems or 3 to 4 years with major problems.
Even our German “favourite” VW is known for their world renowned DSG but still many complaints from drivers and Audi with their turbocharger issues.
How do you know there will be major problems after 3-4 years? Its pointless using previous generations to benchmark the current Koreans. Yes the Koreans arent known for their reliablity and they have themselves to blame. But would it be fair to brand the current Korean models as ‘unreliable’ simply based on past history? Ive had a Korean in my home since 2006 and its still running smooth till this day without any major problems. Ive also owned a Toyota for 9 years and fully serviced it at Toyota so im in a very good position to compare. And trust me, Toyota’s after sales service although better and with a bigger network but still has its own horror stories. And dont get me started on the warranty claims. Toyota is almost unrelenting when it comes to this and yes ive had to endure mechanical issues on my Toyota which is why im very aquainted with this. Its much easier to get a part changed under warranty with Kia for instance. They do it without a hassle. And their current class leading 5 year full manufacturer warranty with unlimited mileage does go a long way in improving its brand image. Lets give them a chance shall we?
You are lucky one. If you have friend from Cameron Highlands (CH), ask them which car is the most reliable up there, as CH renowned with the harsh driving condition. Strange, hard see and Korean car there. Koreans van cease operation there…
DSG renowned for what? Reliability?
check on google, it will scare the hell of you that DSG create global havoc-that’s why american dont trust VW for this-famous/imfamous DSG!
Yeap, famous for kwai tai in the middle of the hiway
As an ex-Kimchi owner, I must repeat over and over again, please avoid buying it even if the sales rep gives RM20k discount
I wonder have u had your heart broken before in the past by a gal.
Or have ex-gfs. Cause your advice will be, please avoid having gfs and stick to men.
Grow up Sam.
Do not make the same mistake that I did by the impulsive kimchi buy. Regret for life
Perhaps what UMW can do is to introduce more variants to its Camry line-up, like the US.
Should UMW want to take up the lion share of the market, it should do the following:
1. Put in a little bit more good stuff for the Camry. Make VSC and TRC a standard across the range.
2. Intoduce a Sport Edition, just like the US. And bring in the hybrid one. It’s the hybrid era now, so introducing a hybrid Camry will help boast the sales.
3. Provide slightly better warranty offer? Say 3-years unlimited mileage?
Ehh Uncle, you forgot Ford Mondeo.
The winner for most of D-Segment Award in 2011 and 2012 in Europe.
Sporty handling, large boot and interior, fun to drive, comfort.
the Mondeo is very good
yes, Ford is even better VW ^_^
if mondeo is so good, why do I have very seldom luck sighting them ? They are even more cold door than kimchis
because msians don’t know about good cars
Ford is not a good brand.
Want good go Merc, BMW or Audi.
Or easy Toyota.
But i settled for Audi!
disagree with the executive appearance. camry looks like it has lost its identity. its a car for the mature/older audience, but yet toyota seems to be trying too hard to make it sporty. ends up with a mixed bag that is neither here nor there. if a businessman uncle wants status and looks, he would not be driving these cars anyway, he would be going at continentals, which looks way better, drives better, rides better (albeit a heftier pricetag)
hello…if you think Teana is too mature for a mid 20s guy like you, then the same goes for Camry. I will assume you are borrowing your great grandfather’s car. No offence here, but I think your comparison is mostly based on what people review and not from your own driving experience. I have driven Optima before, I don’t have any issue with road noise and the bumpy rides, in fact, my 2 year old kid were snoozing his way back to Ipoh from penang. I have test drive the Camry as well and I do agree it is not bad but not as great as what you claim and in term of its design, it is really an uncle design. I wonder if Toyota asked a 70 years old retired designer to become their chief designer or consultant.
You miss Mazda 6, which is going to dominate the D segment car, totally
Hi Ron,
If you think the Teana looks like your grandfathers car then the fugly camry must be your great great great great great great grandfathers car. You are easily fooled by the cheapo bodykit installed in Brothers.
Ppl say looks are subjective but not when things are this obvious.
I forgot to mention about mazda 6! Haha.. I think it’s the best of both worlds. Good looking exterior and interior with well fitted specs and safety features. The ride however is too firm for me.. Though its very sporty to drive. Mazda has always been good with its interior quality. But too bad Bermaz just had to ruin my experience of owning the Mazda 3. My boy friend drives a Mazda 3 but the after sales and service by Bermaz is horrible!… I believe that could actually decide the sale of a Mazda car if a buyer would go for great after sales and service. Because seriously, Bermaz is doing a bad job with after sales and service…
180k+ for an uncle car. ROFL
nowadays 180k you can select alot of car. unlike 10 years ago.
how camry lost the market share is not just the overprice but also alot of choices out there. Last time ain’t much choices at 170k.
Pug 508, Passat has join in. Korean car already in but better equip and nicer.
In malaysia, engine above 2.0 not really sell well in 2nd market value.
Pugs, Passats and kimchi all sui kwan and hailat when you sell
Your statement made the readers think that you are not a reasonable human being
good for taxi use
Taxi???i rather sit into Proton taxi
yes, because of its comfortable and low maintenance cost.
The Camry certainly is a car meant for passengers and not for drivers. It’s definitely the most comfortable D segment car as well. But is better comfort worth more than your life? Terrible safety features for the asking price. Even if I were to buy this car as a company limousine, I’d have to think about adding more airbags and aftermarket safety equipment or live with ferrying my clients around in this unsafe vehicle.
Buyers who needs to ferry their family around often should really consider which is more important to them? A car with a strong brand image and resale value but poor levels of safety or a car with very good levels of safety built in but so-so everything else. Again, at the asking price, there are much safer options available.
I first saw this model in Thailand during the Bangkok Motor Show earlier this year. My first impression on the interior dashboard and console (in terms of quality n design) was that the buyers are being shortchanged, IMHO. Its 2.0 specs is even a bigger joke, unless we still live in primitive age. Haha
Each cars has their own characteristics..just an honestly opinion, Toyota quite loss a little when comes to new idea of designs. I have test drove the camry, the noise insulation is superb..especially during rough surfaces, i own a sonata which has suspension softer ride, Volkswagen passat/jetta i don’t have one, but fren owns one, firmer ride than sonata and camry perhaps accord too.
Rules in this comment section:
Say good things about the Koreans car – you’ll get thumbs up
Say good things about the Japanese car – you’ll get thumbs down
Bloody keyboard warriors..
I know right?? I thought I was the only one who realised that…
In reality, you have to kesian them, coz they will lose 1/2 the value in a year
Go ahead and buy the new camry…then you will suffer what samy has already suffered…and in 8 years time, it is the VW which will be more popular and have a higher resale value…
I suspect that most of the Korean car warriors are just trying their luck to up the repo of their rotten cabbage in hope that it will fetch a better RV.
Too bad, uncle Sam is in town
Uncle sam in town? Who died and made u sheriff?
Yes, uncle sam in town and he is still talking rubbish…
You wanna know why?
Its not because we have issues with jap cars or a big fan of korean cars. I personally is a big fan of Mazda 6.
The problem is due to the likes of Maserati, Sam Loo and Kiasu no kiasi. Whenever there is a post on korean car, expect imbeciles comments from them over and over again, even though that exact same point has been discussed over and over again in many previous posts. Some even call korean car lovers retards ( maserati anyone? ). Not to forget Sam’s antics about RV in not only on posts about korean cars, but every posts on PT.com.
So its not like we have a problem with jap cars. Its their fanboys that we have an issue with.
No, the rules here is that you should talk sense. Nobody is abusing Japanese cars in general – just pointing out what a bad deal and how ugly the new Camry is, and how overpriced it is compared to the passat which is a far better car for a lower price.
I’m not sure about the so-called “youngsters” out there but for a 22-year-old white collar, I’d choose the Camry over its rivals in the market.
Despite the slightly higher price(a lil surpirising, given that the specs did not improve much), and the much-disappointing disappearance of the VSC, I find the Camry fits into my likings more than the rest, especially the Koreans. Not trying to attack them in purpose though.
Here’s why.
1. The Sonata and Optima are just too much of a looker! They’re too eye-catching that it’s hard to remain subtle and low-profile. :P
2. Maintenance matters a lot for me. Be it the cost or the availability of the service centres, Toyota still has the edge over its rivals I believe.
3. Despite the never-ending compliments of the Korean’s improvement in reliability, I’m still a bit doubtful(kia si mentality) and would still opt for Toyota as it has long been known to make cars that even a bomb can’t kill (Top Gear anyone?).
So, as an uncle, or an uncle-minded youngster, my money will still go to the Camry if, I said “if”, I’m buying a midsize sedan.
If you are kiasi then you wouldn’t want to pick this car either. There are much safer options out there and the Camry isn’t one of them. Uncle minded youngster or not.
Kiddo, I think we are both on the same page. Literally. We are one of few people in our 20’s who would rather go for reliability and comfort than stunning exterior looks. I want a car that gives me peace at mind. Not a car that worries me on when its gonna break down..
So where is safety on that list of priorities?
The Koreans arent all about looks. In fact, looks are subjective. So kinda pointless talking bout looks.
So since you brought up the issue of criteria, do allow me to share some plus points of the Optima K5 for instance:
1) More modern design
2) Equally roomy interior including ample rear legroom. Did you know that a full sized adult in the front passenger seat can actually stretch out his right leg fully without pushing his seat back much?
3) Top class specs
4) Excellent array of safety features
5) Higher safety ratings by the American NHTSA compared to the even the US version Camry and BMW 5 Series. (check frontal & rollover impact)
6) 5 years unlimited mileage manufacturer warranty (not extended warranty)
7) More horsepower & torque output (2.0L)
8) Much improved interior & build quality with less cheapo plastics
9) Better ride and handling although lacking in comfort no thanks to the 18 inch rims
10) Much improved after sales service and warranty claims (based on actual experience)
11) Quite economical. 780km actual mileage on 80L of fuel (80% highway at 160-170kmph).
12) More affordable pricing (14K cheaper than Camry 2.0G and 38K cheaper than 2.5V)
But as with all cars, it has its own drawbacks:
1) Engine & gearbox is a step lower in refinement compared to the Camry 2.5V
2) Decreased comfort partially due to the 18 inch rims and sports suspension
3) Increased tyre noise thanks to the crappy Nexen tyres
4) Service network needs to be expanded more
5) Future resale value might not be as good as Toyota although much improved compared to earlier versions
So lets not just focus on design when there are many other factors to look at. So considering both the strengths and weaknesses, the Optima seems a reasonable buy for the price you’re paying. But it isnt the best out there for sure. But based on the improvements shown by the Koreans in recent years, im quite sure well be seeing some very interesting vehicles from them in the not too distant future.
Cheers and enjoy your ride!
this comment is a more sensible one & honest rather than biased and bash for nothing from many keyboard heroes here (especially those who think they know everything based on looks and on paper specifications alone).
thumbs up for you.
actually u r confused kiddo, cos if u are kiasi ( afraid to die ) you wont pay 181k for this low safety car and endanger yourself and your family.
makes more sense if you say u are kiasu.
At your age I’d rather think of saving for a house than what uncle car I would buy.
Obviously, many young people out there are much smarter than you
You are a smart gentleman indeed. No regrets at all
You made a serious mistake only considering Toyota vs korean cars. The choices today are far wider. VW would hve given you a far better choice vs the camry.
No Traction Control or No Stability control…is automatically out from my list. I already experience the need of this stability control during raining. It is a must. You really appreciate it. And it should be make compulsary by government especially big car like camry and accord.
“The uncle never had it this good”..
love this last statement from Danny.. :)
IMO, realibility, total cost of ownership of the car, service, spare parts are very important beside the looks and specification of the car.
For the high price of the care like conti, you will not want to go to service center once a month or frequently visit service center. I have used it before and TOTALLY REGRET for conti.
You have spent so much for a car, you will want to have a peace of mind and spend the rest of money and time with your beloved family and not just use the other $ to repair the unrealibility car and spend so much time to service center.
Owning a car is like owning a house, just that car will reduce in value. You want to stay in a house with reliability and comfort, no water linkage, no electricity off, no roof top dropping, etc. as compare to a house full of fancy and high tech things but always need to call technician or contractor to repair.
Just sharing…
T&H still the best in car in MY.
Would you live in a house without steel bars on your windows and proper locks on your doors as well even though you may not have leaks?
Well said my friend. Having owned a Carens2 and 318i, I must say that toyota gives the owner peace of mind
Defiantely NOT worth the money, regardless if its a toyota brand. those who think toyota brand is a reliable and better brand against other brands are living in past dreaming.
alamak, look at the mismatch lip and skirts, mcm 70 YO ah pek wearing baseball cap with a yo-yo in hand
i shared this with a fren and we laughed as hell coz we know u really summed it up well with that sentence! good one!
really? thx.
wonder why no vertex generator on top and some canards in front…
slow slow la. then UMW can sell another “face lift” lol
good to be a company car or kereta sewa.
You are reaching there in mind and soul..Uncle Danny. As you rightly put it, in your 1st 3 sentence. Rather go for Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Ford, or Mazda of same segment.
Honda & Mazda yes, kimchis? stay away with a 10 meter pole
I agree that exterior-wise, it looks rather forceful as compared to the previous model. I like the previous model’s exterior designs much better.
hmm..would have the peugeot 508…5 year unlimited mileage warranty to boot…much better in specs and driving feel n comfort..n best of all imported..1.6 turbo cheaper tax/insurance too..
this one is made in malaysia yet more expensive then the previous imported thailand made… buying local for imported price…
508? OMG, obviously you have not heard the horror stories with the Nasim made pugs
I am not sure why suddenly some people are now saying there are reliability issues with turbo chargers. I have owned turbo cars from most of my driving life from both German and Japanese makes with no issues at all with the engine well taken care of. On the contrary I had many issues with my NA engined Toyota Celica after a few years. Engine downsizing and turbo charging goes hand in hand now for most manufacturers and we will see more turbo cars in the future.
I am sure the Camry is a nice comfy ride and is designed to cater to a specific audience, but that shouldn’t be am excuse for bad design. A car can be executive looking and handsome at the same time. Both are not mutually exclusive.
General public’s car usage are very different from an enthusiast. To these group of drivers, they won’t know how a turbo works and why you need to let it cool down. I heard that some new 308 Turbo owner blew the turbo within 2 weeks of ownership, by switching off the engine immediately after some hard drivings. I know that the Golf GTi have an additional oil pump to circulate the oil around the turbine for a few minutes after switching the engine off to cool it down but how many cars have such a feature? Non-performance turbo cars are tuned for low boost so temperature is never too hot.
I added an engine oil intercooler and turbo timer in my last car to ensure that my turbo stays cooler or can cool down without me waiting in the car. I can’t do that to my new car without voiding the warranty so I trained myself to cruise for the last few minutes before reaching my destination. Will the general car owners do that? Doubt it.
Car designs are subjective. What is bad design to some can be OK or even good to others. The uncles love it so would you say they have bad taste? Or is that because Toyota know that they will love and made them specially for the targeted uncles???
Anyway, I might be in the category that Toyota is targeting but I’m very much a performance car enthusiast. Driving around in a Living Room is just so wrong.
Eventhough it’s comfortable. It’s still not preferable among the young buyer and the enthuisist. Same story for Korean Cars.
If you want a decent car with the best comfort and handling, go for conti.
Ford Mondeo is still favoured among europeans and it’s the same price as this Camry or VW Passat.
toyota has been getting it wrong with their corolla series and now this “sucky” design reached the camry line too. looks kinda bad, frankly.
Not sure how Toyota’s Industrial Design team could produce such an ugly car when they are capable of beauts like the FT86….would never touch a car like this given the looks….me thinks Toyota’s good residuals will not be valid for this car as can just see the masses giving this car the pass in 3 or 4 years time…
they have different design teams. and also dont forget the Ft86 was co-designed between subaru (sexy car maker) and toyota (thank god)
last year i can see mostly each street in my housing area got few camry when i cycle pass by.
but now almost all of them are upgrade to the Germany passat with more reasonable price and a much better safety feature car,that i can say even most preferable company car also change to passat beside of camry.
if toyota keep on insist to fool the bright eyes buyer they will overcome by Volkswagen and i believe this are happening now.muahahahahaha.
Hei, with this price range, get a Lexus man. I have so many Japanese or European guest, they gaps when steps into my car. “This is my first time sitting in a Lexus, it feel great”, claimed. In Malaysia, we might feel that Lexus is nothing, but not Japanese or a free trade country. They feel Lexus is the art of all cars.. Just sharing.
In the US and Europe, Lexus is rated the most luxurious car. Only in Malaysia people over rate Mercs and Bmw’s.. Not that they aren’t good, but Lexus has more luxury features in fact, just under rated by most Malaysians. I would definitely go for a Lexus when I can. It’s also a fact that its rated the worlds most Reliable Luxury car maker. Infiniti comes after Lexus in terms of reliability and then Acura. Top 3 are Japanese.. I remember (if not recalled wrongly) that Jaguar was rated the worst in reliability. But at top 10, BMW and Merc was around 7-10.. Audi was also rated one of the worst :( ( I like Audi though).. Too bad..
And only in Malaysia sorhais think that Passat and 508 is better than Camry
No, only in Malaysia are there people like you, sam, who arfe so deceived by Toyota that you must have Oh what a feeling tattoed to yuour forehead…
Sam, I am truly embarrassed by your barrage of insensitive answer and You Give Toyota Saleman a bad name.
If you are one, you sound like you are hard selling.
overated camry as usual. looks ghastly outside and even worst inside. i can’t live with this kind of car. if i’m looking for a large sedan, i will look elsewhere. camry is for die hard toyota fan. looks outdated with outdated technology.
we can put it this way; japanese cars = practicality and reliability without the soul and excitement (sans mazda and suzuki which always excite drivers)
conti cars = enthusiasm and soul with some practicality and peace of mind (though conti cars are very delicate, owners must care more or face great depression on parts)
korean cars = a good balance between the above
japs car are reliable because their cars is not technically complicated and maintenance is very much straight forward plus excellent resale value, many of us like this.. looks are either too bland or too provocative
conti cars are much more clinical in tech and thus, must require more care in maintenance and usage.. well maintained conti cars can be very painless to own.. not many malaysians can afford such delicate care for our rides.. looks are well balanced; exciting yet calm and inoffensive
korean cars are somewhere in the middle, reliable enough to maintain yet still requires some extra care for certain parts.. but they are improving very rapidly over the years.. appeal to both japs and conti car buyers.. designers’ choice for looks
The price of Japanese cars have gone up quite significantly and Conti cars are not that much more expensive than the Japanese (if you are looking at the right ones)
Compare the Camry 2.0 with the Pug 508 Turbo S
Compare the Camry 2.5 with the VW Passat
Compare the Civic 2.0 with the Pug 308T or 408T
Also, good resale value does not justify its high price and relatively poor spec.
Can you explain what what is conti cars?
Korean cars are not a good balance at all. You will cry when you sell, plus all the nightmares that you will encounter at the service centres
Hello from Seoul,korean car very good no chat bad the korean cars here. many korean very like our cars here with no problem. I dont no why Malaysia many problem with our cars maybe you never srvice! Korean cars now very very good not last time no very good.
I used to have a Korean Cars that breaks down perfectly like clockwork after the 60,000kms warranty mark
Im sure some1 has a jap car with lots of probs.
So you are imposing your one case and assume all cases are like that?
The world is bigger than you Sam.
Please continue to live in your kimchi laced dream
Please stay within your Toyota fantasy world and stay there…
Try trading in your Passat today and I would love to see the look on your face when the used car fella points you to a Hilux
Try crashing this Camry in the rain when there is no Stability control to save your arse.
I would love to see that look in your face right before u hit the wall.
new camry design is very ugly..i’m still love my camry 2.4 year 2007 design..simple n sporty with 19′ rims
19″ rims on a Camry would make it look rather Ah Beng wor
No need – the new Camry is the very epitome of an Ah Beng car…
with that money.. better buy dugong. .and the extra money try to make that dugong less horrible then the dugong’s uncle….
With that price I would rather go for p508 gt diesel. Its spacious, modern, more executive looking, better handling ,more quiet and better looking car
I can’t get over the fact that they removed VSC from this car.
http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/
Maybe UMW Toyota felt that the people who are interested in the Camry would not “need” such a feature?
UMW Toyota is really taking a step backwards…
a clear sign that they could care less about the junk they churn out into the market as long as it sells. and yet there are fanboys who continue to buy all these marketing crap.
car makers usually maintain or increase specs with each new or facelift models…UMW’s decision does not make sense.
well only thing that comes to mind is in Boleh Land, car specs and pricing does not make sense. so, either the MY consumers band together and refrain from buying crappy models until the principals learn from their weird pricing/specs decisions or the MY consumers continue to be at the mercy of car principals.
I think Toyota Malaysia knows and cementing the fact that everyone who buys this is Uncle. Uncles drive the car slow and steady. Not need VSC :P
5th gear TV show mentioned ESC mandatory on all new car in UK by 2014
Uncles not many years to live already. No need VSC, waste of investment
Not the car that I would get if I was looking for something at this price range.
But I think the worst spec to price ratio car is the Camry 2.0 @ RM150k… Compared to that, this looks like a good bargain (but of course, if you look elsewhere, everything else seems like a bargain too XD )
The 508 is definitely not quieter than the Camry. Not sure about insulation from the interior la. but outside the car, the engine and compressor is like the 80’s famous Mercedes scream! It’s very loud…
When a car gets to this size, the shape is ‘berhad’ ie limited, for the practicality of carring more people in comfort?
You cannot get away from the boxy type shape.
But then parking becomes a problem…
Now Korean cars (Hyundai, Kia), European cars (Volkswagen,Peugeot), Honda also with 5 years warranty. Even our Proton also 5 years. Unfortunately New Camry still 3 years..Maybe this car will broke off when it reach 4 years…or recall within 3 years…
No point for SD and Naza to provide 5 year warranty when almost every darn thing that broke is not covered in the so called warranty.
Also, if the car is so good, why need 5 years?
a lifetime warranty for power window, even for a preve! UMW are you sleeping?!
I have a question for mr otai here. What is CONTINENTAL car means? Anybody can explain?
I guess mainland car, cannot stand the sea water…
CONTINENTAL means the cars are using Continental Tyres :)
This is the fella that does not have a character, so chooses to immitate
Stop describing yourself, sam loo…
yes sam, i totally agreed with u…continental car means the car use continental tyre…so many on the road today….:)…
And there are so many Made In Malaysia and China Continental Tyres in Malaysia
Poor boy, nobody seems to bother to response to you.
When people say Continental cars, they refer to cars of European origin.
VW, BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, Citroen,……..
Thanks for your reply. Was it means that Ford and Chevrolet aren’t considered as continental car?
Many people commenting conti this conti that but its kind of mixed up.
i am not an expert in this field but my understanding is that Continental cars refer to cars of European origin.
Ford and Chevrolet are American based and i think it shouldn’t be considered Continental. But sometimes it is hard to draw the line now for example, Nissan, is it still a Japanese car? i am not sure how much influence the Renault has on Nissan but look at Teana, i think it has got a good blend of Japanese and French.
The “conti” name was probably coined by English car journalists. Obviously, it doesn’t make sense from an Asian or American perspective, as Asia and North America are both continents as well.
Despite the bad review, why I’m still seeing lots of this new Camry on the road? Oh I see, most folks that commented here are not really afford to buy a car in this range. Come on, give me thumb down. :P
Katak, i got a friend in sales whose dad is rich n forced him to use a camry (bought for him as present) because his dad is old school and thinks Toyota is the best car manufacturer in the world. he now only drives the camry to work, but when out for drinks, drives his wife’s car. its quite funny as he doesnt wanna be called “Uncle”
I gave you a thumbs up! You mad now?
Most of these sorhais are just keyboard warriors that drives either a Vios or City, but choose to pretend to own a Passat or 508.
Boh lui ai tua sia mar
Let see what Japanese get fot their market. FC is determined from Japanese JC08 test. Data taken from respective official japanese website.
Toyota Camry Hybrid (2.5L inline 4)
Max Torque [Nm/rpm]: 213 /4,500 engine, 270 Nm motor
FC: 23.4 km/l
Price: 3.04 million yen (RM118k)
Nissan Teana (2.5L V6)
Max Torque [Nm/rpm]: 232 /4,400
FC: 11.4 km/l
Price: 2.98 million yen (RM112k)
Toyota New Mark X (2.5L V6)
Max Torque [Nm/rpm]: 243 /4,800
FC: 11.8 km/l
Price: 2.44 million yen (RM95k)
Volkswagen Passat TSI Comfortline (1.4L inline 4, turbo)
Max Torque [Nm/rpm]: 200 /1,500?4,000
FC: 17.6 km/l
Price: 3.24 million yen (RM126k)
*** The Japanese JC08 test represents driving in congested city traffic, including idling periods and frequently alternating acceleration and deceleration. Measurement is made twice, with a cold start and with a warm start.
very soon, Toyota will stop Paultan.org from test drive their cars…HAHAHAHA…
Just like Top Gear….
The kimchi supporters in paultan are just keyboard warriors.
In real life, they drive a Toyota or Honda
Let us think of another angle, i believe UMW themselves do think the current Camry looks like shit (only they dont say). UMW is currently acting ignorant now… so that to give a chance for Malaysian consumers to choose other brand with better looking cars like Honda or Korean marques or European marques. If the consumers still perceive Camry as a God car of all cars and keep buying the car, then the flashpoint of the problem actually lies within the Malaysian consumers itself. By the time, UMW can proudly say, even if we produce shit looking cars, Malaysian consumers will still buy our cars and support us (due to their stupidity)!
yup..so true…check out the avanza…malaysians buy it in tonnes..even though its a third world country car….is it even safe? :D
UMWT cannot do anything about the new car shape, but they certainly can do something about the built quality and the specs.
Locally assembled Camry’s are already showing quality issues, especially with the poor suspension setup on the 2.0.
Kudos to Danny’s and Paul’s honest opinions about the missing VSC in this generation of Camry. UMW should really not be stingy on such important safety electronic aid, especially with our road conditions, rainy weather and sometimes rather reckless drivers all around.
I think even without consumers feedback, UMW should do the right thing and not compromise on safety. The absence of VSC just goes to show they care more about profits and their customers’ safety.
Spread the word — tell your friends, family and relatives not to buy another Toyota IF they value their lives.
…. profits ‘than’ their customers’ safety. (correction)
To me if any company removing the safety features for whatever reason-it is crime!
You dont deal with criminal man, that simple.
I got new mondeo, my wife new mitsu.
prior to that my whole family use only one brand-Toyota.
Now i f them from head to toe.
definitely loosing 400k business from me, what more to it will be, i’ll influence all my friend to change brand-sometg analogy to coming election.
got wrong car(G?) YOU WILL BE SORRY FOR NEXT FEW YEARS!
A car brand will have good resale value not because of the current model, but due to previous models. Toyota has been good previously, hence the high resale value. The current Malaysian Camry lacks a lot of the points to be excellent, so in the future the resale value of a Toyota may not be as good as before, thanks to the current generation. Even if the next generation Camry is very beautiful, very reliable and amazingly specced, the damage has been done.
My K5 is way better than this junk!!!
Your 2012 Camry will be worth less than a 2005 ACV30 Camry in a years time.
Now see who is the sucker
The sucker is Sam.
Cause that is who UMW thinks he is. Paying RM180k for a car without VSC.
Try asking for a price of your K5 today. The look of your face will be able to make it to the cover page of National Geographic
OK fine, but how many Cute Chicks the uncle can get from driving Camry???
I can testify, NONE!!! No chicks will sit in this car. Confirmed!!
Agree no chicks but only Grandma & Grandpa. LOL
Maybe not cute chicks, but aunty oso can?
A Camry or no Camry…a chick will look how fat is their wallet first, old man also no problem as long plenty of vitamin M.
No car no problem. Plenty of money,Honda EX5 also OK!
can get aunty ma!
Datin Aunty? Wow! lots of $
Unker that drives Camry does not need to pick up chicks.
Chicks will drop their numbers in the uncles offices instead
Dude.
You are desperate and delusional
You need a shrink
Sam loo, you can give him the number of the several shrinks you are seeing…
VSC was one of the main reason i spent additional RM20k for the 2.4V model (previous gen). It saved me a few times both on cornering and on wet conditions. Removing it in this top end model is really a mistake. Really shame Toyota to do cost cutting on our lives.
Yes, the ACV40 2.4V is the best Camry ever produced
After A4 spin earlier today now thinking of A4.
Sam
You are so rich. Can buy so many cars.
Just make sure u don’t gear too much. 2 years loan is good enough. Cause A4 you know la, no resale value. Later when u sell, u get that look on your face when the dealer points to a hilux, how?
For Camry, Corolla and Vios, dealer will even have to bribe you to sell your car.
This is one Luxury Sui Kwan Euro and Kwai Tai Kimchis will never ever have
Agree. VSC was one of the best things of the last gen model. To silly to remove it. Now, i’d go with the mondeo.
When I look at New Camry inside and out, I feel really pathetic for Toyota, how could a Global manufacturer come out with this kind of car? Looks like they really lack of resources to create a better car.
For an extra RM6,000 you can get the top of the line Camry Hybrid 2.5 HV Navigator in Thailand. So no, only in Malaysia you get supercrap specs at super high prices. So jangan main cakap Thai specs equally crap as ours.
Tak percaya, see here:
http://www.toyota.co.th/en/product-detail.php?model=camry&opt=features
Buy Proton Inspira 2.0 better!!!!
VSC? eats into profits. More Airbags? eat’s into profits. People buying a camry are a dying generation. Sorry but VW is going to continue to erode Toyota sales…so long as Toyota keeps conning people with omitting certain safety features and coming up with ridiculous designs.
Seriously you can Dislike this comment for all you want…doesn’t change the fact that this things looks terrible :)
Camry looks pretty good to me, although the pricing is definitely out of my reach, haha!
i better wait till to buy either 2013 honda accord or 2013 mazda 6 rather than buy this ‘cock sucka’ camry.
Mazda6 may change the landscape..the cx5 proven success…and mazda3 is not bad either (pricy abit)..but the Hybrid of Civic/Prius will be the future…Mazda need to react b4 too late also.
Problem is not with Mazda. It’s with Berjaya, being a hit and run company with no long term vested interest to develop a brand and investing in after sales service
what ever people say, i will stick on toyota and my toyota…no reason but still love toyota…only those owned toyota can understand what i mean..most readers here ride kancil…then on paper comparison will always make toyota left behind…
I have been observing that Vios owner always think their car is the best in the world. Vios is nothing but another cheapo.
what ever people say, i will stick on toyota and my toyota…no reason but still love toyota…only those owned toyota can understand what i mean..most readers here ride based on spec sheet….then on paper comparison will always make toyota left behind…compare to vw n others
comparison on paper? dude you seriously need to drive a VW, BMW or even a Mondeon hell a Mazda 6 for that matter…these cars handle way much better than a toyota…and yes you’re right on paper it does beat the Camry!
Look I am not against Toyota… I am just saying to cut on safety equipment but still ask the buyer for more money is ridiculous!
plus look at the design….oh don’t even get me started on that!
Why do you people allow yourself to be conned so easily?
Hey Jube, how much you know about Toyota and its business model? People buying Camry is non of your business….is their choise, who you are to ask such a question? You buy whic one is best for you rite. Stop doing that and would be good if you could share with us about your lovely car :)
Hey TYT, I can tell you for sure my car is not a Camry!
I place importance on safety, if you buy that car which is less safe that is your own prerogative but please don’t put your kids in it! People have the responsibility to make the safe choice!
You could say I am concerned citizen and it also pains me to see someone else spend good hard earned money on a piece of junk!
comparison on paper? dude you seriously need to drive a VW, BMW or even a Mondeon hell a Mazda 6 for that matter…these cars handle way much better than a toyota…and yes you’re right on paper it does beat the Camry!
Look I am not against Toyota… I am just saying to cut on safety equipment but still ask the buyer for more money is ridiculous!
plus look at the design….oh don’t even get me started on that!
Why do you people allow yourself to be conned so easily?
But the fundamental question is, why there is no demand for pre-owned Mazda6 & Mondeo?
And Vios is probably one of the cars with the highest RV on the road nowadays
Die hard supporter of japanese car
Better be a die hard jap supported rather than the hailat kimchi owner losing 50% value in a year
Resale value again – you must be a used car salesman…
Cacat Passat again, you must have gotten a quote on your VW and now try to improve its RV by selling in a Camry Forum?
Just admit that you have made the grave mistake, like kimchi owners
I have driven a Vios and a City, and I must say, the Vios is a rip off.
The Vios handles like, well, what I assume a dungong would handle (huge body roll and not very confident around corners). Also the 4speed autobox feels really prehistoric.
I would recommend the City over the Vios anytime.
Vios good? Really? I don’t think so… seriously.
Been there done that. Beemers have a nice brand name behind them but when the repair bills start to come in, regret would be too late
Guys, I personally think that the Japs are starting to fall behind in the car industry. My dad owns a 08 accord and sure it last quite a long time but look at it now, it just doesnt quite cut it in this date and time. I own a forfi and i think its much better than what the japs have achived nowadays. If my dad decides to change his accord for a next gen accord i would surely recommend him to a nicer and better choice. Camry, nah. Passat, give it a tought, M6, too young for him, next gen Mondeo, not bad. Better yet, get a lower class car for much better value for money. ForFo ftw.
If you are going to spend RM 180K,I really wonder why you ever visit Toyota,waste of time…..better off in a VW or BMW or volvo or Ford or mazda showroom,more bang for your buck.to my knowledge any car more than 2.0 litre regardless of brand has very little command on resale value.
Simple Answer. VW, BMW, Volvo, Ford NO RV.
Mazda a little better.
Cars here are so expensive, so RV and reliability is a big determinant
So the safety of your family members is not important?
Your kids, your wife? All not important? Only RV important.
I wish your kids and wife would know the kind of person u really are.
turboman,
some people here put NO VALUE on their family….
so i guess its their loss to have such a view… if that’s the case, just let them be proud of their cars with high RV etc…
They justify that by assuming it will not work so they can sleep at night.
Whats the point of having 6 airbags in a Sonata that does not work? Might as well have none
What proof u have that it does not work or u r doing what u do best, which is plucking random items from the air?
What proof u have that it does not work?
Most Pt.com readers are from the middle to middle upper class educated netizens. And being educated, we rely on proofs, not hearsay and certainly not random points u pluck from the air.
why review a 2.5 in the first place? how many unit of 2.5 is sold even for the last model?
since T knows 2.0L will be not welcome..2.5 for RM 180K? HA HA HA…thats crazy.
Last model ACV40 only comes is 2.4V, 2.0G & 2.0E. No 2.5
Paul, its good that you point out the VSC, however:
1) UMW is a GLCs! and contrary to everyone thought it benefits the Jap, it benefit the UMW more! and..
2) Having accident Gov 100% said is driver’s fault of driving too fast. The term “accident” is never into consideration, so no air-bag, lousy crash result, is also no regulation. We took how many years to make a safe belt mandatory?
In short, you drive at your own risk. No governance, policy will benefit drivers from the pocket to the safety.
this car is very beautiful…….in the eyes of apek, unker and aunties…
No Stability Control?! Are you kidding me?!
I think it is easy to earn uncle’s money.
They know nothing but Totota, no wonder Totota accident death rate is so high…
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/7/12/nation/20120712135444&sec=nation
Uncle, when you buy a Totota, think again, you already lived long enough? Choice’s yours.
I think the reviewer did an excellent, non partial review of the car, Now, I hope we have more of this in all future articles from Paultan.org and not some brown nosing for the manufacturers.
Excellent review…..
This new Camry has not the best looking amongst its generations. The interior is so, like you locals called Uncle and Ah Pek, the wood trim shade color is a no-no and really spoilt the look. I personally love the Passat, the strong torgue blend with its HP and gear shift its marvelous. Handling is magnificient. I did test drive Camry and was not impressed at all, the steering response was a lowdown, does not feel like a 2.5 at all, maybe on paper yes. In contrast, the Passat is excellent in every department, braking, handling, accelerating, comfort and the sporty luxurious interior. I was suprise on paper its 160PS where I feel its almost 200 +-. The look of this new Camry look disoriented and out of proportion, small wheel arch and flat rear cutting which makes it like a hastily designed car. No offense to any owners here but this is not a good buy.
might be the gov need to intervene on the pricing of the car e.g. enforcing safety features like vsc, rear camera, auto wiper, running lcd lighting, navigation system. wait announcement on the national automative policy.
the other thing is drivers need not worry about buying their dream car, b’cos the market will determine the fate of the car makers. if unable to achieve sales target, car makers will incorporate more features e.g. vsc or even lower the price to attract buyers.
stay tuned!
180k Camry but not a 5 star safety car, what a shame when car below 100k like Fiesta, Preve and Forte has ESP (or VSC).
Those who may not know this new Camry is not 5 star safety rated. Because ESP is a mandatory to seek 5 star rating.
.. why uncles don’t need VSC? bcoz they drive slow? Wait until they drive at KL-Karak highway during rainfall, descending from Genting Sempah….
Toyota should think more intelligentlly, globally..
Coz uncle go genting naik Camry & turun pakai Porsche Boxster. Vroon vrom!