Proton have released a tentative OTR price list for their upcoming Proton “Iriz” Compact Car, set to be launched on the 25th of this month. The price list is comprehensive, detailing on-the-road prices from solid to metallic paint, and from Peninsular to East Malaysia and even the Labuan/Langkawi tax-free zones.
As we’ve previously mentioned, there are eight variants – 1.3 Standard manual and CVT auto, 1.3 Executive manual and CVT auto, 1.6 Executive manual and CVT auto, and the range topping 1.6 Premium manual and CVT auto. Yes, you can have a top spec Iriz with three pedals.
Peninsular Malaysia prices start from RM42,438 for the 1.3 Standard MT in solid paint up to RM62,888 for the 1.6 Premium CVT with metallic paint. We’re assuming these OTR prices include insurance costs (without any NCD) because that’s what Proton usually quotes in their price lists.
Compared to the Myvi, the 1.3 XT Manual costs RM41,936.45, a couple of hundred ringgit cheaper than the basic Proton. The most expensive Perodua Myvi is the Myvi Extreme 1.5L Auto in metallic paint, which at RM61,740.50 is also a few hundred ringgit cheaper than the new Proton’s 1.6 Premium CVT metallic variant. You can research Perodua Myvi specs and prices at CarBase.my.
Things start getting more interesting when you start to look at what you get in terms of equipment for the price you pay. Along with the above prices, the teaser microsite also released a tentative specification and equipment list. We’ve detailed the expected specs and equipment list for the PCC last week but nothing beats seeing it officially printed in table form, I suppose.
Some highlights of the specs list include plenty of safety features as standard – even the cheapest five-speed manual 1.3 litre model gets ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, Electronic Stability Control, and a minimum of two airbags. The airbag count tops out at six for the 1.6 Premium.
This is a big improvement over how Perodua specs the Myvi, where you don’t even have to bother looking for safety features such as stability control and six airbags – even a basic safety feature such as ABS is optional, missing from the base 1.3 XT manual and auto.
You can read the rest of the specs in detail from our story last week: Proton Compact Car – all eight variants detailed. The BetulBetulOnz microsite for the PCC also announces that bookings are open, so if you’re interested you can visit a Proton showroom near you.
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
AI-generated Summary ✨
Comments generally express excitement and optimism about Proton's new Iriz, praising its competitive specs, safety features, and promising design. Many believe Proton has made significant improvements in quality and value, suggesting that the car could challenge the established Myvi and other competitors if the build quality and aftersales support are maintained. There is some skepticism about pricing, with calls for Proton to lower prices further to boost demand and avoid potential sales slump. Critics also compare Iriz unfavorably to Japanese brands, citing past quality issues with Proton and emphasizing that perceptions and brand reputation remain hurdles. Overall, the sentiment leans toward hopeful anticipation, but with cautious skepticism about whether Proton can deliver consistent quality and aftersales service to back up the impressive specs.