Daihatsu UFC-3 Concept to debut at IIMS 2014 – previews next generation Perodua Alza?

daihatsu-ufc-2

The blue compact MPV you see above is the Daihatsu UFC-2 Concept, which premiered at last year’s IIIMS in Jakarta. It was an updated version of the original UFC Concept from IIMS 2012.

Daihatsu is said to be launching an updated UFC-3 Concept (yellow image of the car leaked can be seen below) at this year’s IIMS 2014, with a production version of the car possible launching next year.

The product is essentially a front wheel drive 7-seater B-segment MPV based on a passenger car platform, a big contrast from Daihatsu’s previous take on a 7-seater MPV for Indonesia, the Daihatsu Xenia, sold here in Malaysia as the Toyota Avanza. This change reflects the Indonesian consumer’s new more sophisticated taste buds, looking for a more car-like driving experience for their 7-seaters.

ufc3-smallBy now you would have already figured this out – this will eventually become the next generation Perodua Alza. Daihatsu’s competitors have already launched similiar products in the country – you have the Suzuki Ertiga, the Mazda VX-1 (a rebadged Ertiga), the Honda Mobilio and the Chevrolet Spin.

Perodua once said that it would be launching a car every year, cycling between an all-new model and a product update. With this year’s big launch being the Perodua Axia (launching tonight), what’s next for the company?

We think the next candidate for a full model change is most likely a new Perodua Alza, which will likely be based on the production version of this Daihatsu UFC Concept. The Alza was first launched in late 2009 and facelifted earlier this year, so a full model change would be logically next in line.

We think we could possibly see a full model change for the Perodua Alza sometime in 2016, with perhaps a facelift for the second generation Perodua Myvi (launched mid-2011) coming next year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• k

• John Reverse on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:13 pm

IMHO, UFC 2 is very very very much nicer than the yellow UFC 3.

• superman on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:18 pm

it is me or others too. the yellow car design lights look exactly like the one on Iriz. who copies who? guess since Japanese have their own design it is definitely P1 who copied it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
    • Cool…about to launch car copying concept car. How ridiculous can you be..but wait…may be Proton owns a time machine..

• Proton won’t copy.
      Proton only like to syoik sendiri.

Please buy more Proton, so Tun will give me his Range Rover. Hahaha go buy now.

• farghmee on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:19 pm

nice!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Cheap, practical and reliable cars, are the key features Malaysian drivers looking for.

You get it, you sell good. DOn’t blame others on your bad sales because your cars don’t meet the requirements above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • are you sure!!!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:22 pm

I don’t need to bluff. Look at the sales figures you will understand.

No need to syok sendiri. Everything is fact based.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:48 am

we rakyat/ customer dont care abiut sales figure..
          we rakyat concern on safety
          later if ur customer die on accident due to ur unsafe care… u said ” i dont care” sales figure does

jajajja

• kzm (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 6:38 pm

u not even see the car. u condemn others for praising p1 n yet……….do you want me to copy ur 6S?

• Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 2:12 am

I didn’t say UFC good, did I? I just point what Malaysians driver are looking for: Cheap, Practical and Reliable… No room for syok sendiri or Lotus wannabe.

If UFC has bad quality, I will point it out and advise ppl to stay away from it too. This is called Objective and Fact based.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:30 pm

yess… we need cheap car… afta come to papa
      rakyat believe daihatsu indonesia cam sell cheaper with better quality than p2 crony

why we need p2 if indonesia
      can produce same model with cheaper price!??

to protect our crony n 2nd national car?

• Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 2:15 am

Because whatever not made in Malaysia, kena high tax. Simple! thus we need p2, later should we have p3 (Mercedes), p4(Lambo), p5 (Land rover)…

It is all about the protection for Proton. Proton Iriz should free 1 dozen of condom with each new car sold, because Protection always Best.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:52 am

myvi era in 2005 they launched in malaysia
          first.. after all… ayla n upcoming new alza they launch
          in indonesia first… so p2 salesman… this is yhe
          sign

malaysia doesnt not allow indinesian daihatsu made product to be marketrwd in malaysia.. but indonesia sell it all over asean countries accept malaysia

why???? to protect our 2 ns national car crony

• peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:54 am

sam loor i said AFTA… u know AFTA?? whree all cars produced in asean n sold in asean.. no tax n the price is same

so rakyat want indonesia alza.. If AFTA implementwd.. p2 will die co indonesia can produce n sell small daihatsu car to asean

hahahah

• Same L0rrr on Sep 16, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Seems you got problem with Indonesian… Aren’t they same kaum as you?

Indonesia made or Philippines made, as long as it is CHEAP and RELIABLE, Malaysians will buy it.

Not something not reliable and not cheap cars but Malaysia made, embarassing…

• sard80 on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:31 pm

P2 go 2 car lowgo

• copycat from Proton concept car

• Low Budget on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Does not matter if it copies Proton concept car, the engine is still the ever reliable Japanese quality.

• Don’t set low budget. Increase budget sikit then no need to copy..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 3:30 am

if you use this point in year 2005… rakyat will believe u.. but now 2014… rakyat smart oredi… u cant hide behind japanese butt anymore

just look at reveiw in ayla indonesia

• Buruk..lol

• Ray (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Would prefer the slimmer headlamps of the concept though but the yellow model looks decent so I’ll give that a pass. Btw is the trapezoidal grille the latest trend now? (Perhaps only in Toyota et al) Look at the Vios, the Camry facelift, the Corolla (US model), the Avalon blah blah they’re all having that huge gaping mouth and so is this Daihatsu model. It works on the Avalon and Corolla but well, not all models look good in it.

Aaaaand Perodua, look at your bro Proton it’s now giving its Iriz such an extensive spec sheet, so when’s your turn? I still like the Myvi and Alza, they all look good and make great daily commuters, being fuel efficient and relatively reliable, but the spec sheet is just Meh. Please please please Perodua.

• Goh Jeng on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:36 pm

The front face reminds me of some car la, hmmm..

• Walaoweh! on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:39 pm

I know la they are relatives of Toyota. But don’t copy vios and altis front like that mah. Sien daO !

• kzm (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:57 pm

The concept look nicer…

• Nessan Sunni on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:10 pm

As long it’s P2 it’s going to sell.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:26 pm

they tried oredi on perodua nautica.. but failed

means ppl buy not becoz its name… but its cheap n protected

• Low Budget on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Those interested to see and touch the Axia can go to the P2 show rooms tomorrow and day after.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Looks like da new Renault clio face…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:16 pm

see… indonesia produce new alza first.. malaysianlayer… same as ayla n axia

so u know p2 macai… daihatsu prefer indonesia than p2 malaysia

sayonara

• Bigger market in Indonesia hence the preference.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:09 pm

myvi era in 2005 they launched in malaysia
        first.. after all… ayla n upcoming new alza they launch
        in indonesia first… so p2 salesman… this is yhe
        sign

hahahhahha

• peyno (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:28 pm

wondering
    why p2 not allowed to produced it first

see… daihatsu give a sign…. sayonara p2