RENDERED: Proton Saga 3 based on Iriz hatchback

PROTON-SAGA-3-SIDE-revised

Proton should be looking at introducing a new Proton Saga sometime in the near future as stated by Proton chairman, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, earlier this year. These exclusive renderings show how an Iriz-based third-generation Proton Saga may look.

The current Proton Saga was launched all the way back in 2008, and received a facelift in 2010. Following that, a slew of variants such as the SV and the SE were introduced to expand the model’s range. Shouldn’t be long until the next-generation model arrives.

PROTON-SAGA-3-REAR-3Q

In envisioning his concept for the car, Theophilus Chin started with the profile of the Iriz – of which the height and the A-pillars were of a concern. In an effort to avoid the gawky profile of the Suzuki SX4 or the Peugeot 307 sedan, he lowered the height, pushed back the A-pillars, lengthened the wheelbase and redesigned the rear overhang.

The hardest aspect of this redesign was probably the rear, according to him. After adding the boot, he mirrored the ‘chamfered’ look on the original Iriz, in a way that is similar to the Proton Gen2 and Persona. A Suprima S-style number plate garnish is also present while a black rear diffuser also helps to mask the bulk.

PROTON-SAGA-3-FRONT-3Q

With the current model being already six years old, it seems even more likely that the company should be working on a replacement for the Proton Saga if it plans to have itself taken seriously amongst fellow competitors.

What do you think of the renderings? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• What do I think??
    I think that proton should hire Theopilus Chin as chief designer and fire all those incompetent staffs.
    Proton is a good brand… We should be going global years ago rather than relying on local market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 556 Thumb down 48
    • megavalve on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Theopilus Chin = The saviour of Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 46
      • Not bad Mr.Chin.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 14
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Why need to fire the designer? PROTON prove that their designs are on par with global auto-maker. Many Malaysian (exclude filthy bashers) love the design of Preve, Suprima and Iriz..PROTON must combat against poor quality and incompetent vendors..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 283 Thumb down 40
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 176
          • Many malaysians love p1 design?
            How come u are not selling that many then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 95
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Because there are lot of keyboard warrior and basher who keep telling lies to people about PROTON..I’m asking you, do go to ALAMI PROTON at COE & PROTON R&D last week? I bet you don’t…Kiasu bashers like you are like satan will never give up to mislead people all over their live..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 256 Thumb down 23
          • Alami Proton?. That’s to impress the people their processes when the quality fails.
            Btw, I went to the showrooms over the weekend and the sales people there chasing and hitting flies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 82
          • Subhash on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Proton got Italdesign to do their design work on the Preve, if I’m not mistaken. And the 2008 saga or the facelift got design help from a Korean company. I think the point here is that there are a lot of locals who have the talent and passion for the automotive industry but whoever’s in charge of calling the shots at Proton isn’t very good at his/her job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
        • lko mko on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:20 pm

puii proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 82
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 218
      • Fake Same L0rrr on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Yes, you OMG is ugly like hell.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 20
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:10 pm

OMG is the one who hell in here..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 13
      • Iris eye lamp on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:23 pm

agreed…kinda ugly !.Iriz cacat. do we need Iriz front face !!??? new design okay pls. Just take Iriz front lamp as Proton signature design for new saga. it is really cute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 44
    • Der C on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Agree! I remember when I was studying in UK back in 2008, there was an occasion when I was chatting with a cab-driver who was driving a Proton and he told me that Proton is indeed a good car! :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 12
      • someguyonthenet on Jan 14, 2015 at 5:00 pm

A friend in the UK also said the same thing. I wondered why Proton have a bad perception here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Trolak on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:25 pm

what so special abt this rendered design??? look at the rear! is totally fugly!!! pprrffff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 69
      • thats because it was the export model and the engine was from Mitsubishi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
        • S.roma on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:00 am

What? are u f kidding me? since when we export this model? its not even in production yet !

• Please don bull shit people.. Proton has no collaboration with MMC now.. Engine since campro is not design by mmc.. Engine is designed by malaysian engineer.. Campro engine was collaboration with lotus..now turbo n vvt engine is purely design in house.. Your bull shit comments is simply a copy paste from another idiot from like ages ago.. How do i know about proton…? Cuz i’m a proton engineer u idiot!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
          • no name on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:59 am

Looking forward with the new GDI n TGDI engine bro…

• Ugly???Dey this is just through Theo Chin’s imagination la dey….Whay la you…why la deyy? You don’t understand aa???….Theo Chin is not working in Proton, he just like desinging and rendering car design based on his imagination. Nothing to do with Proton officially. Dey!!

• Wrong on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:25 pm

The designers can design better but at the end of d day, the top management chooses the design that will be cheap to produce n looks ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
      • rihuhs on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:18 pm

in the end it’s all a matter of toning down for the sake of cost reduction :P

• Jinyiwei22 on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Huh..?? If this TipuChin rendering can make him chief designer, you & me also can be chief designer loh..

Other car manufacturers like BMW, Merc must be so stupid not to employ him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 32
    • Nieko on Oct 01, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Hum Well it depends on one thing Mr Theo?
      Do you think you can work with clay, now that’s what will be a deciding factor for Proton

Working your magic in Photoshop and only in Photoshop is not what majority of the carmakers will want ..that’s why Real carmakers don’t design their cars with only using Photoshop …

FYI I did study Graphic Design in PJCad/Inti college way back in 2006 so I do know a certain degree about design as most of my assignments has some thing to do with Cars.

• shooter on Oct 01, 2014 at 9:23 pm

ye la… designer melayu semua tak leh pakai… anyone but malays can do it better right???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 40
      • Samurai G on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:44 am

Dude, don’t making racist point here. Are you sure all engineer in Proton is ‘Melayu’?? No one will agree with your statement. Shame on you !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Spot on dude. I guess you will stop bashing Proton if YTL or Vincent Tan taken over Proton right? Why?? Coz the answer is within you. You can never support coz it’s being managed by other than your race. Now, please shove the racism away.

• Rizza on Oct 01, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Iriz itself is already ugly

No matter how hard T tried to photoshop won’t help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
    • stewpid on Oct 02, 2014 at 12:31 pm

anytime man!.
      proton can actually hire person like mr Teo, but after he finalize the design and pass it to the ‘spare-parts manufacturer’, he will nangis2 because the taukey manufacturer will re-design it back to SAGA 2 because of machine incompetency to build the car parts hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • nazjimee on Oct 19, 2014 at 3:09 pm

theopilus is a photoshopper artist… an automotive styling designer (industrial designer) is not the same as graphic designer… it is like replacing an aircraft engineer with a mechanic…

• mr.nami on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:01 pm

Proton Proud Sendiri…

• agree on that.

• Wolpe on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Nice rendering as always. but knowing Proton’s intention, the rear doors will most likely be kept for the sedan version (just like Preve and Suprima S) Don’t you think, Greg and Theophilus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Jokerwi on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Theophilus Chin = the Asian Peter Schreyer.

Look what you’ve missed out Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
      • Azlan will never allow him to come in. XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Name:
          Azlano allowing LG to improve PROTON. I don’t think he will disallow good people to improve PROTON as well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Observer on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:50 pm

If you think designing a car (Styling etc) is just like working with photoshop and some cheap software like Theophilus Chin did, you are wrong…BIG TIME!! Who ever attended the advance tour @ PROTON RnD during the Alami Proton day would have known by now… it takes more the noobie job with photoshop…

BTW that rear look are fking ugly… I bet you wud have bashed it like hell if that come from PROTON n not Theo… -.-“

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:49 pm

is that the previous gen honda city rear lamp??

i wish proton comes outwith a slim led rear lights rather than the usual big lamps….but rendering looks kinda feasible..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • megavalve on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Theophilus – IN.
      Azlan – OUT.

Only then Proton can make profits RM1 billion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 64
      • 1 thing though,theophilus came out with this rendering BASED on Azlan’s design. I’m curious wether Theophilus has any rendering based on his own idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • Shy Fool on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Proton always messed up rear buntut design. I can feel that the new Saga will suffer from it too, based on past model histories. Look at Preve, aduiii mak fugly like hell. Nothing wrong if Proton follow a bit Theo’s design, as long it’s look good and not awkward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • Nieko on Oct 01, 2014 at 9:04 pm

In Your Dreams
        I don’t think he even knows how to express his design in clay ..I am sorry mr Theo I do respect your work but if it had like 100 likes then fine but seeing the current comments in this blog it looks like its less then 40 likes .So iam really sorry it doesn’t work for me …

If this was a Clay model image I would at least give you some credit but its just a Photoshoped image so no

I am also proud to say that in 2008 Proton had its Technology Week and me and my parents had attended it and let me tell you that design simply their main focus ..One occasion my Mom mentioned to the guys at R&D that I was a Graphic Designer and the first word to come out from the guys mouth is ( Humm an Indian Designer ! How fascinating ) as the guy latter said that most Indians liked to be on the Engineering Team at Proton …So They Told me to express my design on a Clay piece that looks like a Persona without a face and a rear also empty, So They told me to just sculpt a New front design for the Faceless Clay Model .I was working on it for 2 hours and 30minutes yes they seem to have given me a softer Clay piece as I found it to be rather soft hum .now when they back the commented that my design was rather good. now being kind of reserved I thought the were joking but no they said that my design looks very aggressive maybe to aggressive for a B/C segment car but the said it was very good for an amateur ..They latter told me to sketch something on their very Intimidating 2D design Computer and so I did just that after that they commented on my sketch ,they said that my Lines were very strong so they said one thing.that when I draw something always try to do it in one stroke as all my design had at least like three strokes ….lastly the day was nearing its end and latter before I left they said one thing that I still remember until today that is “Always Think That Your Design Are Marvellous ,because Confidence is Always Important in the Car industry ” Wow after that experience I looked at my self in a very positive way ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • looks more like previous vios’s taillight

• trololo on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:11 pm

1.3/1.6 with twin tail pipe, not sure whether should i cry or laugh…gaya je lebih, inside emty.

• junjuni on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:49 pm

why so uglyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy…ewwwwwwwwwwwww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 60
    • megavalve on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Better wait for SV model. Sure price RM33K, and Proton still enjoy RM500 profit per unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • why you don’t come to Proton to design a nice outlook cars?

• taboogen on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:54 pm

doesnt look like rendering at all. not bad

• mosama on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Proton dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
  • ProtonGSC on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Theophilus done it again. You’re just getting better and better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • Disagree.. not this time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • ProtonGSC on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:12 pm

What about you make another design and shared it here???

Talk kok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Adande on Oct 19, 2014 at 12:05 pm

He has his rights to express his views on whether he agrees with the design or not.You have no rights to criticize him for not liking it just like he doesn’t have the rights to criticize you for liking it.Don’t be that guy.

• Marieta on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Rear looks like 3rd gen Honda City n Persona mixed, but whole silhouette looks like Proton Persona…anyway it got some potential so good job !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Looks production ready. Fantastic job as always.

The rear is reminding me of the new WRX, but somehow looks more complete here than the rear of the WRX, probably due to the slight crease on the boot lid.

The front looks legit, but I think if at all, probably something to make the front look a bit wider, a bit more imposing. Won’t be easy due to the actual dimensions themselves not being that wide.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:58 pm

On a side note, can we have a petition to have Theophilus to be taken into the Jaguar Land Rover design team? :D

• Nissan on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Lol. Twin exhaust!! Smoked chicken wing? Why not add aero wing for that?

• bubbaonsteroids on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Send Theophilus to proton..Now!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • megavalve on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Paul Tan should conduct a poll “Should Proton hire Theopilus Chin as the new design chief?”. Send the result to Mahathir quickly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Nenek Kau on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:05 pm

This is the best rendering from Theophilus and it really looks real. Thumb up for Theophilus!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • this car will never get two tail pipes

• Nope. old design … next …

• eims perfume on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:21 pm

sorry theo,,this time it looks a bit wrong..

imho, front looks wide, rear look narrow. maybe if u make the rear boot wider, it’ll be a nice asz

rear door isn’t same like current iriz. no
    2 tailpipes.. simply no.. 1 real and 1 fake? no no..

other parts are just great..

• Gajen on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:26 pm

damn, it looks good!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Whenever a hatchback redesign to sedan…it is awfull…asking ah beng ask to weld other car bontot sticking at the back…Better design from scratch to have consistent flow design language.

• mukhlisz on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:30 pm

loved almost everything except for the rear design.

• mr. Logic on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Dear Mr. Theophilus Chin / Gregory Sze.. I hope you read my message.. can you render IRIZ to become mini-mpv similar size with Alza? I think the IRIZ front design will look perfect in mini-mpv shape..

• illogic on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Jangan…nanti Exora makan apa?

• mr. Logic on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:19 pm

it’s actually good for consumer to have more variety as we have power to break the monopoly.. for such a small family with 2 children they don’t need to buy a big MPV like Exora.. bigger size surely more expensive.. 2ndly it’s not compete again Exora but Alza..

• Nieko on Oct 04, 2014 at 9:08 pm

FYI Proton has already made two design of a mini Mpv ie it looks something like a cross between a Honda Modulo without the weird window line and another looking something like a Vauxhall Mokka or Ford B-Max yes they exist if you don’t believe me just just google it

• Not so brilliant actually.
    the Hatchback designs are usually very rounded with high tails, usually translates badly into a long body boxy sedan design

• Can Do on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:45 pm

OK for front, outdated and ugly for the back! Do something like a 3 series back and taillights. Subtle similarities will do, not an exact copy of the 3 series and I am sure people will buy. This looks like a bad copy of old Vios for goodness sake.

• Ong Chee Boon on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Don’t bash me guys, while i love the front Iriz concept design, the rear design made me think of VIOS old version rear.

That being said, design is the least concern for Proton right now. What Proton needs to take note are: Interior, pricing, aftersales, and most importantly, Quality Control and Quality Assurance (QC and QA)

• Pak Chiew Cheng on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Yes just like KIA. KIA actually beneath it still crap but exterior design improved vastly. They’re able to hide the weakness by using good design while slowly improving the quality.

And now both KIA’s design and quality is top notch selling 7 million cars (together with Hyundai).

• Nice rendering Saga 3 / Iriz sedan on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Kinda reminds me a bit of the current Mazda 2 sedan car …..but the rendering of the back is nicely done, inline with protong so call emas theme. The back looks also like a mini Subaru, nicely done.

Theophilus Chin, you should head over to China and design for their local car manufacturers, you will make a fortune, since proton is not interested in hiring you.

• It looks quite good actually. Brilliant idea Theopilus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Nice, I like it except for the rear lights. Rounded ones don’t match well with what the Iriz was aiming for. Should have the sharp edges and the hexa-ish back of the Iriz.

Can’t wait for next year. With rumours abound that Perodua is finally introducing their sedan, and with Saga 3 fast-tracked to launch, the sedan war will be HOT!

• Saga3makeit on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Good job TC. I personally like it and my mind started seeing the endless customization and modding possible with this. Proton pls do take it into consideration.

• Kamil on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Well this looks great..

• JoeRadzif on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Sekali pandang macam Vios…

• ohpoordesign on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:57 pm

No doubt TC is a very talented photoshop artist but he is no car designer. If this design was 10 years ago than I would say nice. The side and rear is too much the old Altis. Proton designers should look at 10 years to come.

• Pak Chiew Cheng on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:07 pm

2004 Vios design still relevant today. Timeless design.

• National car supporter on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Vios? cmon la.. that crap car is only good for taxi only for God sake!.. do you really think Vios / City a car to benchmark? 2 words for these 2 cars – Tin Milo!

• I don’t drive proton but i only bash them if they really launch a sub-standard car for Malaysian. But as for this, i think it looks OK, its a step forward for SAGA model, from squarish to more define on curvy look. Keep it up +1

• saiful on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Ape yg cantiknya. Depan cantik sebab memang ambil dari iriz. Belakang je dia design, tu pun so so je. Lain la kalo dia design baru lampu depan tu.

• darklord on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Sorry though. Not this time, does not seem like proton design language.

Looking at persona and preve, proton sedan bottom are short, high and big A pillar.

Best guess is how KIA done their Rio sedan.

Also for proton, i know u reading this as every bitching in this Web are fix in the Iriz, even the syok sendiri badge are address.

Please don’t repeat last year. The SS are launch to early and not address many of preve weakpoint. So wait 2 years, make it pretty don’t repeat preve saga mirror and SS preve back door backlash because want to reduce bit of cost. and fix everything that people bitch about when the Iriz is on consumer hand in the saga. B segment sedan is a most important in mesia and SEA. Don’t mess it up please :)

Next year, u should fix preve and SS. Put manual version on cfe, use VVT instead of iafm. If not have new engine. put supercharger on Campro and call it R3 for a while. Lotus know to make people love a car, they on topgear can make Jeremy love a shithole car after they done with it. Put it to your advantage.

I know Proton want to do export. But like everything, it got to go through reviewer to make people excited. Just follow the korean. The Samsung S series are the most powerful and reviewer loved it. But bulk of the sales are made of horrible overprice phone. Same at mitshu, Evo is great but most people buy a Lancer. It’s doesn’t matter if Lancer is not good as long as people think it’s can be turn into an Evo latter :)

So go to the UK. Supercharged ur engine (those sprintek u sell b4 coz lotus like supercharger for it emotions) send it to lotus for upgrade , used 6 speed manual and not cvt, edit the car Abit like those ethos(city car) you how. Told about the satria gti heritage. Make it go vroom vroom. Make the reviewer loved it. Than it would be easy to sell the waterdown version even with someone else engine in it.

Last time, from malaysia to Thai to aus no one like preve and ss. It’s cost effective but it no go zooooom, . Thus bad reviews leeds to bad sales.

• altiz on Oct 01, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Who cares supercharger when preve 205nm torque TURBOCHARGED engine are more than enough to smoke Altis, Ciic and Sylphy

Got positive comment from Thai review
      http://www.headlightmag.com/main/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=5088

• Uzair on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:29 pm

I’m not question Theo’s randering capability. but have you guys look at Suprima’s rendering by proton people. pretty awesome right? I bet they would have come out with some cool rendering to present to the management. (if they plan to replace current model). rendering is just one thing. They still have to consider other aspect, I.e vendor ability, cost of molds, etc.

• thgh (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:31 pm

This looks good too.

http://tinyurl.com/nbg5aru

• sagavios on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:35 pm

i saw vios backside!!!!

• Garfield (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Thanks Theo for imagining the new Saga. However, I’m more inclined to imagine the rendering above as the Persona replacement model (or any new name to designate this model as per usual).

Why? The explanation is as described above. Theo had to stretch the wheelbase of Iriz. Iriz is already at 2555mm and Persona is 2600mm. Persona is also the older model from 2007, the platform derived from Gen2 which was itself launched in 2004. Whereas the Saga is much smaller at 2465mm, but newer.

The overlapping of Iriz, Persona and Preve is however too close; with Preve at only 2650mm wheelbase and top-end Iriz more expensive than the base Preve. In my humble opinion, P1 should concentrate on facelifting the Preve and Suprima by enhancing the interior and engine lines.

The Saga should soldier on, albeit with fresher engines to make it more fuel-efficient, higher build quality, safer and better outlook to make it relevant to the times. The low entry price of Saga is needed by P1. Afterall, the market positioning was unaffected by Axia as the cheapest sedan. It was already selling better than Viva and lost only to MyVi.

Of course my points would totally be invalidated if P1 do replace Saga with a much better car AND at the same price point. Do otherwise at ur own peril P1…..

• In my opinion, proton will not extend the wheelbase of iriz to make a new saga. they didn’t do it for gen2->persona and they didn’t do it for preve->suprimau too. probably costs too much to extend it and apply for related parts like doors, exhaust, carpeting, etc.

My 2 sen (before GST) is that they will maintain the wheelbase and the roof height may be similar for a new saga.

• rosli on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:42 pm

designed outdated and sucks. shame on you.

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 02, 2014 at 4:38 pm

It is cringe worthy!!!!

Jeng Jeng Jeng!!!!Proton gained Cringe winner cup!!!

• Iriz impressed me, but now Saga, with the face of Iriz? are you kidding me? why don’t you called it Iriz sedan? what is the different with Suprima S with the face of Preve? At least years ago you called wira aeroback for the reason of the same car, but just hatchback-ed it.

• i have to say with malaysian taxation system this is great….but if compare international price this is not the worst but still at the bad side…

• Emrah Topçuoğlu on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Not in Turkey, Preve , exora , Suprima s and future Iriz Saga vs . Why in not Turkey ? Proton

• Garfield (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Turkey is a left-hand drive country. U would have to wait for that sir. Furthermore the car also need to pass Euro NCAP

• Sawwy on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Wait for what? Wait until Proton buy Euro-6 engine from Honda or Toyota?

• hukaka on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:02 pm

looks pretty nice.hope can having better build quality.

• jose jamalus on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:13 pm

cool ideas..it should be in all proton designers head..:)

• sad truth on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:25 pm

I see a lot of peoples give their opinions as to theo rendering which is a good thing. But sadly, a very few will give comments that will improve the rendering. A lot of the comments is much more to the bashing without giving an idea. Shows that us malaysian still have a loooong way to go to improve ourselves no?

• quality supporter on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:53 pm

BDSG for the BD and SG that haven’t waken up.

• imuranzo on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:02 pm

it looks nice,smart and very proton in a good way….seriously proton take this design from mr chin & of coz pay him for that…:)

• HONEST on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:05 pm

I totally agree. it looks nicer than iriz itself

• mmm pretty impressive… hope this car can be malysian #1 car…. but u oulls dh condenm bnder yg x berfedh lngsung…syng betul neee kira okey dh… klw x puas ht sngt what design sdn bhd lh weyy pstu tunjukk kn semua dsign ko cmner…bnyk ckp plak weyyy
    \

• mmm pretty impressive… hope this car can be malysian #1 car…. but u oulls dh condenm bnder yg x berfedh lngsung…syng betul neee kira okey dh… klw x puas ht sngt what design sdn bhd lh weyy pstu tunjukk kn semua dsign ko cmner…bnyk ckp plak weyyy
    *tp dpn tuuu ubh lh skit yer…nnti orng kt dsgn tiruu …nnti x beli plk…

• Pendapat Saja on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Pada aku ok la lakaran main2 dari Theo, hanya lampu belakang tidak perlu sampai kacau bonet belakang, Kalau nak dibanding kan Model dari Mitsu Attrage Sedan / Suzuki SX4 / Nissan Latio Sedan yang lagi tak menarik. Harap Saga 3 tak jadi mcm tue. Tapi ttg facelift Preve (terutama bahagian belakang) dgn Suprima (bahagian depan) mmg amat diperlukan dan tak lupa juga dashboard.

• Pristine on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Should I book Iriz or wait for Saga 3. Presently using 5 year old Myvi but want a change to Proton because of what they offer in the safety features and price below within budget for 1.3. Does not want to spend unnecessary for Jazz, Swift, Fiesta, etc.

• front lamp should be a bit smaller.

• Alex T on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:28 pm

I think Proton should retain the good ol names
    1. Saga was Malaysias first National car. This name should be given to the suprima/iriz if they think they are turning over a new leaf.
    2. Putra. This legendary 2 door sports coupe should be revived. Make it the sports car to own….inspiration from integra, Scirocco
    3. Perdana
    4. Satria
    5. Inspira

Stop reinventing stupid names like Iriz that sounds like Isis. Or suprima s which is actually an underwear brand.

We Malaysians grew up with these names. If u revive these names…..it will sell even better. Nostalgic feel to it. Unless u wanna be like Nissan. Is a Sentra. But they changed the name to Syphilis. Sorry. Sylphy . Be like Honda.

• likeaxxo on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Wah bila nk launch ni, aku nk seat blakang luas mcm almera, ada arm rest seat depan dan blakang, macperson kat blakng, harga bwh rm50k.

• 3 things that Saga needs to correct before coming wt new version:
    1. Sitting position
    2. Cabin noise
    3. Steering wheel position- not centered!

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 02, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Also gear position is not right and that makes my brother confuse to change gear

• So it was myvi rear for hatch n now try to b civic if sedan? Again..betulkah proton langsung tiada otak???!!

• shawal on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Theo got the rear spot on!
    Now its a matter of sorting out the front…

It still looks like a booted iriz…

If proton wants to get ahead it has to benchmark the vios for looks, city for practicality….
    Its a tall order but… U either get crackin or get lost

• dual tail pipes on a saga is a little over the top..

• mascaretaker on Oct 01, 2014 at 8:12 pm

lol at comments. there is a big different betweem making a design from scratch and remod an existing design.. espc what TC did by just patching the rear. or enlarging an existing model. if Msian impress by such act, the world will surely laugh

• GO GO PROTON!!

• off topic on Oct 01, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Woo hoo, another amateur photoshopped a car, big deal, idiots on Paul Tan so easily impress, waaaah like it’s a great deal..

Agree with some of the comments above, produce some ideation sketches, not just that, the one with prominent design language and with a consistent theme, think it’s easy to be an automotive stylist? Not only you have to have the creativity to create something from nothing, you also must be able to translate your design into 3D modelling using Class A or Class B surface modelling software which tooks many–MANY HOURS, like with a million of mouse clicks and command, have to battle software crashes and stare and the screen for days,
    Plus carved out a car out of clay, covered with epoxy, and paint it REALISTICLY.
    you think it’s easy?

that is Design…plenty of hard labor and elbow grease.

This…this isn’t design, it’s a way to attract attention from low lives who criticised PROTON but look up to other fugly design, just because they HATE PROTON, for whatever reason….

• S.roma on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:08 am

i love proton, but i disagree with u, why dont u come out with photoshopped design car, could it be any better than this?

• Car Enthusiast on Oct 01, 2014 at 9:46 pm

The rear looks like the uglier rejected design of the Mercedes Benz C-Class. If this will be the new Proton Saga, then it’s really gonna be sad and depressing.

• persona jmx on Oct 01, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Who is this guy? Nice design…

• Wilson on Oct 02, 2014 at 12:44 am

Am I the only one who think its rear looks like Toyota Mark X?

• Shahreza Shahrir on Oct 02, 2014 at 5:41 am

I think it’s not bad. It looks decent to me. I’ll buy that :)

• ai like on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:01 am

fugly? expect that this B-segment sedan will look like Audi, BMW? To this lower end cost sedan? Funny.

At least better than Polo Sedan, Mazda 2 Sedan, Fiesta sedan it’s good enough already. It’s their rival.

• SunnyLow on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:39 am

Are you kidding? Are you Proton salesman?
      If you are looking for cheap sedan car, please don’t compare it with mid range sedan cars..

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 02, 2014 at 4:33 pm

ARE YOU SEROUS MAN? Fiesta sedan is more beautiful than THIS PIECE OF POOP because Fiesta sedan has design of Ford Mondeo so thats okay!!!!!!

• S.roma on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:06 am

fiesta sedan looking good?

u must be blind, why arent there many fiesta then?

• Pristine on Oct 02, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Proton needs to concentrate on making its latest Iriz successful by sincerely providing the after sales support and listening to feedbacks. Honda did that for the launch of the first generation Civic in 1972 after all their earlier models met with lukewarm response. Since then it has not turn back and has won international recognition. I believe Proton can do it with the right attitude, right people and right management.

• Martin on Oct 02, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Good Design. However, quality of the car shouldnt be compromise. Reliability is critical to success factor for proton.

• I would buy this car anytime.
    Seriously – they should get rid of all the crap designers and start using proper car designers to shape the new Proton models. This model looks current and would appeal not only locally but internationally for sure.

• faz Harris on Oct 02, 2014 at 3:13 pm

its easy to redesign someone’s design and make it looks good. FYI, there is more than that..each design needs to make sure that it works out with the aerodynamics, power to weight ration and minimize the possibility of additional costs such whether it needs a new chassis or not. I would like to ask the designer to come up with his own design and state the all the design specs such as drag reduction data and costs etc. I will leave the designing to the competent designers that are employed. I have used many Protons and I will say this..it suits my budget and the non maintenance repairs are affordable.

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 02, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Ok, The rear end is ugly and uglier than Fiat Multipa. PLEASE FUKIN IMPROVE THE REAR DESIGN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BRHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Jatuh on Oct 02, 2014 at 9:22 pm

i just want to laugh when I saw the rear. Those driving this car can’t be taken seriously. Lol

• S.roma on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:03 am

What i think?

i thk its nice ! need some tweak at the rear car, big time !

• Jaguh on Oct 03, 2014 at 7:40 am

The rear…. It doesn’t look feminine or masculine…. Emm yes I’m looking for the word pandan. Lol

• anonymus on Oct 03, 2014 at 2:27 pm

i’m okay with the new the new saga 3. the design also perfect. i hope this new proton will launch soon..

• orangminyakenjin on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Ugly or beautiful is in the eye of the beholder. Enough said.

• osman naser on Oct 04, 2014 at 11:27 pm

theopilus chin is good but his design is not a fresh design. it is a makeover design on an existing design penned by proton in house designers. credit should be given when its due; so lets be rationale and fair.

• Mr Truthfact on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:59 am

Some might say is a good design and Some might say no. i believed when Proton (all automaker) did their design, they have to consider all aspect such as safety, the weight, balance etc. This is more than just copy people idea and redesign it…

• Personally I love the design. Realistic rendering! Good job TC.. After all proton design always copy here n there, so i dont see any wrong copying all the good aspects and putting them alltogether.. As long its a beautiful design overall n it looks better than all previous proton design imo.

• sepul85 on Oct 13, 2014 at 12:06 pm

I notice many said that Proton rear design is ugly. I wouldn’t say they are ugly but more like it takes time to look nice to your eyes. The Preve and Suprima is the best example. For me they don’t look interesting at first but it began to grow on me over time.

If ugly is your thing, then previous Vios face and current Almera butt is true ugly.

• Obviously Mr Chin just doing a favor and illustrated based on his idea. He dont even get a single cent from Proton (maybe he got), why everyone bashing at him???

• Mitsubishi on Oct 19, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Prefer if it is powered by a Mitsubishi or Mazda engine.

• ironman on Oct 19, 2014 at 2:28 pm

hmm..dual exhaust pipes interesting. i wonder what engine lies under the hood

• LexusG on Oct 19, 2014 at 2:56 pm

The idea is good, but please make more changes on design, no more case like Preve and Suprima S please, changed another ass and Ta-da! A new car.

• MXsomething on Oct 19, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Its not about the car….. i do enjoy reading the comments here, more popcorn please.

• nazjimee on Oct 19, 2014 at 3:10 pm

theopilus is a photoshopper artist… an automotive styling designer (industrial designer) is not the same as graphic designer… it is like replacing an aircraft engineer with a mechanic…

• BlackHearted on Jan 14, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Honestly, I think this design not bad, would give 7-8/10 it, for quality, have to wait hoop in and test it first.

Well, Thumps up and hope proton give us more surprise later!

• Well if you ask me, the car looks great and up to date for 2015. Also I’m still waiting for Proton to bring back a sporty hatchback such as the GTI back in the day. That would be great. Something raw and hardcore focused towards driving.

• someguyonthenet on Jan 14, 2015 at 4:47 pm

this actually looks desirable. With a car that looked like this and (i hopefully hope) a better reliability, why would anyone wants to get an Almera or Myvi?

• Chyan on Jan 14, 2015 at 4:48 pm

In all honestty, the front doesn’t match with a sedan body. It needs to be slimmer. Sure it fits the Iriz as a hatch but this? Needs a drastic makeover.

• Regina on Jan 14, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Looks good! How do we get Proton to notice these?

• SalSays on Jan 14, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Just make a new Saga model based on the Toyota Vios platform just like the Mitsubishi Mirage…it’ll look better…seriously

• A.R.M Yusof on Jan 14, 2015 at 8:50 pm

My professor here in UK is a car enthusiasts. He said Proton is not great but good enough..didn’t know why it didn’t work out for the company. The management need to change.

• SavvyKL on Jan 14, 2015 at 9:08 pm

IF Saga 3 base on Iriz, overall desgin TC design is ok, but headlamp need to change to more mature look, currently design more cute look, suite to Hatchback.

• Rahman on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Proton should hire Mr. Theophilus for designing new Proton model

• Jacky Chan on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Nissan should hire Mr. Theo to redesign thier Almera butt..

• jongos on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:40 pm

i think proton exterior design – judging from iriz – is not bad at all. the handling is also good. the fuel consumption is now within acceptable range (compared to lousy campro). the problem now is the transmission which is not refined enough. the CVT is noisy while the manual is ‘notchy’, IMO.

• REVEDI on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:01 pm

boleh saya tau tak…harga saga 3 baru …
    I punya basic 1520….muka 0 or 1000..

• nice and i love it,,,
    and interior please design and put a decent quality material,,,

and proton, please bring Suzuki Wagon R to malaysia market…

#praying

• zakwan on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:19 am

Design kete proton dah lawa dah cuma quality kne jaga la.. Engine 1.6 with turbo, Lotus Handling, 5 star ANCAP smua dh hebat dah.. Apa pun teruskan maju kedepan wahai proton~

• Alfian on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:59 pm

What I think of the rendering?
    It looks quite ok, not to say extremely brilliant.
    But I think proton might be heading in the right direction.
    Hoping for better things to come. :) Aminnnnn

• The most concern things is Proton need to improve their engine especially fuel consumption. The design for proton for a new various type of model are quite good but the problem are still same for fuel consumption.they need to improve to save more cent rather then pay a lot off money to spent off to fulfill the tank. Beside that,Proton also need to refresh their logo..Need some update for their logo tailly with their improvement on quality of the car. Iriz are good example for improvement in quality. So,thumbs up for that but the utility subject that need to be concern are upgrade the engine quality especially on fuel.. thank you..

• Nurul husna on Aug 27, 2015 at 10:34 pm

Smart model car

• Nurul husna on Aug 27, 2015 at 10:39 pm

How’s prices? buy this smart car..

• Protons on Sep 06, 2015 at 7:29 am

This is new Persona (persona R). But the back lamp is different.