GST may not result in cheaper cars, says MAA

Driven_Web_Series_2014_Honda_City_vs_Toyota_Vios_vs_Nissan_Almera_003

The implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) in April 2015 may not result in car prices going down, the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has said, according to The Star.

“We are of the view that it is not correct to say that car prices will come down simply because the current 10% sales tax will be replaced by a 6% GST come April 1 next year,” MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad told the English-language daily.

“Under the GST system, there will be a different implication to businesses in various areas ranging from tax computation, collection, refunds, reconciliation and costing compared to the existing Sales and Service Tax regime.”

Unlike sales tax, GST is a transaction-based multi-stage tax imposed at each business transaction stage, the MAA said. “GST is levied on the supply of goods and services at each stage of the supply chain, from the supplier up to the retail stage of the distribution,” it said in a statement.

toyota-showroom

The association said that in the light of GST, vehicle distributors will need to review their entire cost structures and supply chain, besides assessing each and every one of their vendors and suppliers to determine their tax position. As such, those who have local assembly (CKD) operations will be affected most, it added.

Aishah also hopes for more clarity in areas concerning the motor trade, to help the car industry prepare for GST and give consumers a better idea of what to expect. She cited sales tax refunds as an important issue that should be resolved, preferably before year-end.

Last month, having conducted a price simulation, the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) predicted that on average, new car prices will see 1-3% drops after GST is introduced, and for used cars, average price reductions of 5-10% yearly.

Budget 2015 in a couple of hours from now! Will there be any light shone on post-GST car prices, will tax exemptions for CKD hybrids and electric vehicles be extended beyond 2015, and will petrol and diesel be GST-ed? Stay tuned to paultan.org for updates!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Simon on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Anyone who thinks car prices are gonna go down after GST is obviously 1)AN IDIOT or 2)UMNO MACHAI.

It is clear as day that GST will increase price of EVERYTHING in this country.

and we still have shoppers who think life will be easier moving forward. HA!

Buy your cars now, next year will be a major slowdown.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 10
    • Apple on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Even if the car prices goes up, nothing surprising about it also.. You can even expect car prices to go up by 20-30% and then when election is around the corner, G drops it by 10%.. Then ta-da! “Janji Dichapati”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Petrol increase 1.9 to 2.3
        Electric 15% increase & by tier
        Extra Administration Fee to Manage GST
        Cost/tax involve Manufacturer, supplier/vendor, trader, assembly house, transporter, distributor/dealer.

Unlike the Excise Tax at 75% onward which still the main contributor to OTR vehicle price under CKD programme; while Import Duty (30%) and Excise Tax (75% onward) for Imported vehicle.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 11, 2014 at 12:27 pm

It is all about tax, crony and money! Empty words like “Rakyat”, “Kemajuan”… are all Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok!

• Where is Najib's 30% Promise? on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Datuk Aishah should stop pretending. Before the Budget MAA said they did not know what the Budget was all about and hoped it was favourable to the people. This is pure lies. MAA is so rapat with the MITI people. Infact MAA and Aishah stands by the Minister in launches involving the Auto Industry all the time. MAA has become like a sort of department in MITI unofficially. So, Aishah, stop pretending that you don’t know what the Budget involving cars and its prices would be.

MAA is nothing but a joke and the kuli of MITI. Please MAA, time to speak up for the consumers and car buyers. Aishah used to be very good few years back fighting for the rights of consumers but after she got Datukship, now she is Pro government and Pro High car prices.

Instead of waiting for a higher post in MITI one day and your Tan Sri title, I hope Aishah can ask Najib, what happened to his 30% promise?

What is MOST important is…Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up!

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us? Has UMNO lied to us? BN is comprised of UMNO only as the other parties have no say and are just mere puppets in the coalition.

So has UMNO lied to us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • Terima Kasih BN! on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:08 pm

The fact is, it is the Malays that will suffer the most with the rise in fuel and also the coming of GST.

They form the majority in this country and they are the ones suffering the most. Recent survey indicate 2 million households in Malaysia are earning RM3000 and below.

Want to guess who the majority of the 2 million households are?

Still want to support UMNO?

Even Sultan Raja Nazrin has refuted Government figures and he proved that 78.6% of all EPF contributors earn Rm3000 a month.

Padan muka to all those BN worshippers.

In US, people earn 5x more than Malaysians but a CBU Japan Made Camry is only US$22,000. A very good D segment sedan. That is RM60,000.

Our Made in Malaysia Camry is RM180,000 despite it being CKD.

How they want to sell cars so expensive when the majority of Malaysians earn RM3000 and below?

Why hantam low earning nation so much until cars become 3x in price? RM0k vs RM180k (Camry)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
          • You should see Common Effective Preferential Tariff, Accord 2.4l in Thai also 180k. dun compare bolehland with USA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
          • Crazy G on Oct 11, 2014 at 10:05 am

Cannot compare la. Bolehland is 3rd world country like Thailand. Better compare with Thailand or even Vietnam. If compared with advance country, ppl will say u tak suke u keluar.

• Crazy G on Oct 11, 2014 at 10:11 am

One word to sum all these shit. BN is nothing but filled with a bunch of abormination that cant think straight.

Want M’sia to be high income nation in 2020? I bet 100% our bolehland wont be even in 2030 if the G and the rakyat (kampung folks) mentality still maintain. Go on with your “bersyukur” One day when ur kids have to go Indon to cari makan. You will say bersyukur sebab dapat kerja kat Indonesia. Tak pe, balik kampung saje.

• Dukun on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:57 pm

MAA now become Bomoh also kah?

• Low Budget on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:10 pm

We do not need bomoh to tell us the car price won’t go down with GST! GST is a multitier tax system, get it?

• LowBudget. Yes, GST is a multitier tax system but every tier (except the final end user) can claim back their previously paid GST. This eliminate the present tax cascading nature of Sales & Service Tax. For example, assuming the importer imports a product and paid RM100 Sales Tax on it. And if this product is being passed through 3 distributor with each distributor adding 20% profit margin, by the time it reaches the consumers, the RM100 tax would have snowballed to RM172. Many people like to listen to misleading politicians and don’t bother to understand and do their own calculation.

• Abu Sayur on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:44 pm

umno loves this sort of idiots

• To those saying GST will make everything more expensive. Presently a can of Coke in KFC is subjected to 10% Sales Tax PLUS 6% Service Tax. With GST, there is only one 6% GST. I think you can go do your own calculation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 43
      • Low Budget on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:15 pm

In simple maths, yes your drink will be cheaper, but the aluminium cans supplier will slap GST on coke factory, the sugar supplier do like wise, the factory that supply aluminium sheets to the cans factory also do like wise and so on… so you think it will still be cheaper? wait and see..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
        • Super on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:01 pm

tng belajar math dulu pakai sempoa.. tu yg x paham GST tuh.. hehe lol!

• LowBudget. This is where you are wrong like many other people. Coke can claim back the GST they paid for the aluminium cans and the sugar they buy. You can go confirm that with any qualified accountant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
          • Goh Jeng on Oct 10, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Well tng u can talk until your mouth froths, the people in PT still won’t accept and yapping about anything and everything under the sun as long as it is related to the bashing of the current G.

Maybe the trait was well embedded into their culture.

• speakout on Oct 10, 2014 at 10:35 pm

You can forget about the can, sugar price. When the government increase the sugar subsidy for 20 cent per kilo… the businessman will increase 20 cent per drink!!

• Heskey on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:48 pm

You can claim back the gst paid to your suppliers.

• OMG…MAAcibai & MAIcibai talk cock…

• Sam Looser on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Lol. Exactly. Nobody gives a shit what MAA and MAI has to say. Day and night talking kok oni.

• Naik boleh, turun tak boleh

• takNakP1 on Oct 10, 2014 at 10:21 pm

FIRST – of all is not polite to call people IDIOT.

SECOND – MAA uses the word “MAY” so it MAY also mean the price will not go up but maintain if it doesn’t drop.

THIRD – the more they try to make the public think otherwise, it just doesn’t feel right. who cares if the public think the price will drop? THE CRONIES cares.

• Henry on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:19 pm

A car is just one of many products. So, basing on what you have said then prices of all other products will also not go down.

GST is not additional cost. Businesses are just collection agents to the Gomen. The consumer pays for it at the end of the line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Well, simple computation shows that you take 10% away and put back a 6% tax, you save 4%. All else being equal of course.

Price go up how? Car manufacturers all deal with bigger suppliers which will be GST. Thier input and output tax would be claimed/forwared to IRB.

So MAA as another lobby group for the car manufacturers are just saying that you should just be prepared if the price doesn’t go down….just another excuse to get manufacturers to make more money.

I though Najib Kor said, GST wont bebankan rakyat? Summore claim eating at mcdonals will be cheaper due to the abbolishment of 10% sales and service tax to the lower rated 6% GST? So same not apply to Cars? Why? hahahaha.

is MAA and MAI saying otherwise then? Everything will go up?? Better check with your big boss again before making another remark. Afterwards the BR1M mess will come and haunt you when numbers dont make sense.

Hint. Undeclared cost (hence no input tax to be claimed back from IRB) will directly impact the P/L… is this what you mean by higher cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • kapcai on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Actually its VERY simple only. Govt says very simple 10% sales tax will be replaced by 6% GST. Whether this “savings” will be passed on to consumers is up to the motor companies, not the govt. If UMW says that the 4% “savings” will be offset by higher labour costs etc, then too bad lah. Don’t simply blame the govt for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • James Poh on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:28 pm

To whoever says / thinks GST will reduce car price ‘simply’ by looking at 10% to 6% drop, kindly consider restudying comprehension skills and Maths (that includes the MAI guy).

Difference between GST and current Sales Tax : GST implementation is THROUGHOUT SUPPLY CHAIN!

Simple simulation of Sales Tax calculation, assuming RM10 item involving 3 supplier:

(RM10 + RM10 + RM10) x 110% [sales tax] = RM33

Now for GST calculation, which is applied throughout supply chain of 3 suppliers:

((((RM10 x 106%) + RM10) x 106%) + RM10) x 106% = RM33.75 [75 cent increase]

Please educate yourself. GST is designed to increase Government revenue through tax. There is no other logical reason for Government to go through all this hassle to implement GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • Wrong calculation:
          Simple simulation of Sales Tax calculation, assuming RM10 item involving 3 supplier:

(RM10 + RM10 + RM10) x 110% [sales tax] = RM33

Now for GST calculation, which is applied throughout supply chain of 3 suppliers:

((((RM10 x 106%) + RM10) x 106%) + RM10) x 106% = RM33.75 [75 cent increase]
          =========================================
          Correct calculation.
          Present 10% SST
          10+10+10 = 30 *10%SST = 33

GST 6%
          10+10+10 = 30 * GST 6% = 31.80
          The GST charged in the middle all claimed back (Output Tax – Input Tax).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
          • James Poh on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Any source to back up your calculation method??

Based on your calculation, there’s no tax throughout supply chain (contradicts with official’s statements).

If no tax impact, how does GST implementation increase tax collection (as claimed by Govt)?

• Super on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Bila ada GST, yg supply RM10 tu pun kena la add 6% GST.. apa la punya tng.. patutla math upsr repeat paper..

• James Poh on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Bro tng, I went through GST website. Yes they did state supplier tax is eligible to claim. Thanks for the info.

However question still remains, how does the Govt generate more income by implementing GST, if not by increasing tax volume?

• Low Budget on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Your last paragraph sum it up! We pay more, gomen untung more, for those who think 10%-6% = 4% price reduction, go and have your wet dream.

• James Poh. Google is your best friend. Or you can go confirm that with any qualified accountant. GST is indeed charged at every stage of the chain but they can all be claimed back except the end user aka The Consumer. Hence GST is also a Consumption Tax whereby only the final consumer of the product can’t make any claim.

• Heskey on Oct 16, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Wrong calculation. Gst paid to suppliers at every stage in the supply chain can be claimed back from

• kangkong on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:09 pm

4G63T, you better go to attend some GST courses then only commend.

On first look it is simple as 10%-6%=4% saving. In actual world it will be over shadow by higher labor cost, and higher price products for those company which are not registered to GST.

And the worst is the heavy offence penalty will indirectly lead to higher demand of profit margin to cover the additional risk factor of the penalty.

• kangkong. How about this taken from a ACTUAL GST course booklet.

Before GST
        RM1000 + 10% Sales Tax = 1100
        110 + 20% profit = 1320

After GST
        RM1000 + 6% GST = 1060
        106 + 20% profit = 1272

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • Sam Looser on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:08 pm

That is what they want you to believe. Only showing you the surface figures. Not all the backend chain reaction. In the end gomen will blame manufacturers for the price increase when in fact it was their fault all along. Do you think the G want to go thru all the hassle and collect less tax in the end? Use you brain la.

• sam looser. Please don’t talk rhetoric. Like any taxation, please show proper mathematical calculation to back up what you said. Assuming you do know how to do mathematic and have a basic understanding of how GST works.

• Super on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:09 pm

mmg la direct calculation die mcm tuh.. how do u get RM1k in the first place?. U do not describe in details tghe multi tiers tax?.. After GSt, It no longer become RM1k.. After multi tiers tax imposed GST 6%, that RM1k may become RM1150.00

Then the calculation shud be
          RM1150 + 6% GST + 20% profit = _____?

• Super. What you describe is TAX CASCADING problem present in existing tax system. GST will eliminate this very problem. Go understand GST better.

• kangkong on Oct 10, 2014 at 11:38 pm

This is the prolem of our education system. The G has pshyco the students to swallow the books but do not know how to digest.

TNG may be a good example to memorize the whole GST booklet but is less of DHA in his brain. How about those business who are not registered to GST? Do you think they will reduce their profit to absorb the 6% GST? Where business man want to compensate the higher operation cost? Selling price is the answer!

You better go day dream for your 10%-6%=4%.

• kangkong. You are the perfect example who don’t try to understand GST and think it through for yourself. You are merely a parrot repeating what politicians tell you.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 11, 2014 at 11:50 am

Hahah.

I suppose my sarcasm has been lost in translation….go read my post again.

Of course I am aware that everything is going to go up a lot, especially for those that we currently buy products and services from that will not be GST liable, therefore there will be no input tax to claim back.

But implementation of GST over Sales tax will yield an immediate 4% discount. That unfortunately does not take into consideration what will happen to the base cost, either before or after the implementation of GST.

Obvioulsy everyone (including myself quite frankly) is going to raise prices as costs, will go up, cheifly among those, will be related to transportation. Our independent transporters and smaller time sub contractors will likely increase prices, which I can’t claim back as input tax.

We will see if car makers will raise prices before GST… if not. Go buy a car on the day it starts and get your discount…otherwise, prices will no doubt catch up again.

I’m personally forefasting at a rather allarming blanket 10-12% general cost increase after GST to the average consumner (no doubt also due to contributing factors from the recent fuel hike). Yes, i do know how GST works and how it will impact us. I am a trained Economist afterall.

• explorer (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:45 pm

ITC-Input Tax Credit (Claim) and Output tax will be claimed and paid to CUSTOMS not IRB.

• 1778T on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:54 pm

I guess it’s not as simple as that. You have to take into account the “increase in labour cost” (Highly doubtful there will be a significant increase anyway) versus the reduction in tax (let’s not forget manufacturer usually always sign a forward contract for most of their production material, which GST might not have been priced in). What most likely will happen is that manufacturer might choose to absorb the extra profit & just give you a few freebees so as to not offend the existing customers that have bought this year.

• gsuresh on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:24 pm

dream on la chraper cars..like azif ever gona happen..bullshit and lies about this for donkey ears already..enuf bout it..nauseating topic!!

• Low Budget on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Only way is for the Gomen to reduce excise duty impose on vehicles sold.

• LowBudget. Yes, reduce excise duty and increase petrol price is better option.

• gsuresh on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:26 pm

dream on la cheaper cars..like azif ever gona happen..bullshit and lies about this for donkey ears already..enuf bout it..nauseating topic!!

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/10/10/gst-may-not-result-cheaper-cars-maa/#ixzz3FiVaVSJY

• Apple on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Even if the car prices goes up, nothing surprising about it also.. You can even expect car prices to go up by 20-30% and then when election is around the corner, G drops it by 10%.. Then ta-da! “Janji Dichapati”

• when ask what is the consequence of removing sales tax n implement GST, answer we get is “Maybe, Might, Possible increase or decrease” …

Implement something without considering or calculate the outcome..

Malaysia G WIN liao lor..

• Low Budget on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:25 pm

When the gomen give the people very vague and non commital answers, we know ‘Bo liao lor’. Barang mesti naik harga. People need to tighten their belts and eat less after April next year.

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:52 pm

wishful thinking to have cheaper cars

u can never go wrong for cars with better value, reliability and wide service network

which is what the korean carmakers don’t have …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • gaviny on Oct 10, 2014 at 1:52 pm

hearing the record skip, the record skip, the record skip the record skip

• PisangGoreng on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Apa ni! suka suka sebar harga kereta turun, kemudian sebar lagi tak berubah!

Apa jenis kerajaan ni… macam mana nak memerintah kalau sendiri tak pasti apa yg dubuat!

Kalau tak pasti, baik duduk diam.. minum kopi dan makan pisang goreng aje…

• Very stupid MAA…. Doesn’t know about GST, then talk like they knows everything.. The Part supply by supplier also have 10% Sale Tax & absorb by manufacturer before manufacturer issue final sale price. Now those Sale Tax has change to GST & this GST become buyer commitment & manufacturer didn’t absorb that tax anymore.. Here MAA & Manufacturer try to spin & playing stupid again not to reduce car price & make sure the healthy diff not moving out from their pocket to buyer… Malaysia oh Malaysia…

• MAA is trying to hoodwink the consumer. They are preparing to find excuses to not pass the saving to car buyer. Car buyers should be able to see through their lies.

• BN najib on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Cheaper car? Lol! Keep dream on Malaysian, we still got many things going to increase to fatten our BN members

• Silver on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:31 pm

It’s a lot more complicated then 10%-6% . Additional cost such as management cost as well as transportation cost and other unknown cost will be added on

• superdriver on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Very quick to point out it will cost more of the rakyats money despite the fact that we are paying extremely high prices for cars that are priced cheaply in other countries. Oh what a day to be at the receving end of the money.

We need a champion to protect us and our money that reacts as fast as this.

• hope car price shoot up . then only rich can afford . poor take bus/mrt . then rich people can enjoy less- jam ride .

• neemfa on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:37 pm

How many times rakyat kena pusing with “lower car price”..

• Low Budget on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:30 pm

They twist (pusing) the people heads many times already and the people are still hoping?
      Malaysians better pray the Gomen won’t default the world bank and end up like Greece.

• cendol (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:40 pm

But Ajib said GST is good for us people, it is like antibiotics, can cure sickness.
    GST will not burden the rakyat, says him.
    But one question for him is, where is the extra RM8billion from GST collection is coming from IF it’s not from rakyat???

• Low Budget on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Ha,ha,ha…. Good one.

• The extra will come from existing tax evaders or what they called, broadening the tax base. It will also come from many (not all) of the product which will see price increase. For the poor, the BR1M is supposed to offset these (similar to Singapore’s model).

• ThePolygon on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:40 pm

GST improves tax collection which increase government income… the money has to come from somewhere… manufacturers? Suppliers? All along the supply chain… yes and what would be their logical course of action?… they just pass the extra cost to the one that buys the end product… nobody wants to do a rugi business… they kena tax… just increase price to cover balik… that’s all… end game. Lets say for the finish product it passes through 5 hands… so 6% five times from raw material supplier 6%, transportation services 6%, manufacturer 6%, transport again 6%, gudang 6%, retailer 6%… so yes we only get 6% tax at the retailer… yes so correct… good luck.

• ThePolygon. Your thinking is correct on the surface. To confirm, you have to go attend a GST course and then sit down and do proper calculation. After you done that, you will be surprised while many items likely to see price increase, there are some actually having reduction in price (assuming your seller didn’t tipu you). I suspect MAA is now trying to ‘tipu’ here

• Low Budget on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Some Small China Men suppliers will tipu, that is for sure. Some will bump up the 6% but will run away from paying the Gomen.

• LowBudget. MAA is now trying to ‘tipu’ you so that they don’t have to pass you the saving from GST. MAA is not small “china man” suppliers. That’s why consumer must be better educated and expose any lies from supplier who is trying to used GST as an excuse to raise price.

• explorer (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:39 pm

They cannot treat GST as the cost for their goods. Because any ITC related to the course or for the furtherance of business, they can claim. Depends on what type of supplier they are.
      Please read the guide on Supply. Look for it at gst.customs.gov.my
      go to resources & guides > specific guides > supply
      I suggest you to read the general guide first because you are totally in the middle of nowhere of gst world.
      Hope you will read the guide. Please.

• Halo Menteri Ahmad Maslan, itu hari kata harga turun?

• AVH (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:47 pm

R: So GST will result car price to be cheaper
    G: Yes
    R: Really?
    G: Pffft, NO!! Hahaha!!!…[counts money]

Its honestly really funny that they gave us such high hopes with the car prices a month back (during 9-11 no less) and than just hours before the new Budget being announced which will definitely include GST, they came back saying “Actually, about that lower car price….”

Well you know what they say, work hard to achieve a better life in Malaysia…. dont like it? than migrate la~, to where that you can find a better life I am not too sure.

• explorer (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:48 pm

The tittle : “GST may not result in cheaper cars, says MAA”

You guys think it is definite even though it says “MAY”.

How can you so sure? Funny la you guys…

• ‘ThePolygon’ ..GST going to implement next year . but
    seems u still not understand how it works . go attend course or buy some books

• as I said No GST for essential goods .
    for the rest of the goods whether car , house
    handbag etc, the price is base on demand and supply not GST . like car C-class or 3 series , they are selling like hot-cake , dealer won’t lower the price .Volkswagen at the other end , cannot sell , that’s why they offer a very attractive package . all this is demand-supply affecting the price not GST . as I said earlier , if u feel expensive , just don’t spend or spend less .

• Bunch of clown in Parliament on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:26 pm

MAA… Thanks for the joke. Luckily when you all said car price will drop by 1% ~ 3%. I didn’t believe at all. Looks like my skepticism paid off. Phew, MAA and bunch of BN crook. Your days on top are numbered. Remember to pack nicely before you all leave 4 years later okay? its ok, we rakyat won’t find you or kill you all like in the Middle East. We will be busy celebrating and feasting. After all, we Malaysian are peace loving people. If they are people coming to create havoc, we all know who are the perpetrator. Peace yo MAA..

May or may not, it doesn’t bother us anymore. If it really reduce. Good we can all buy cheaper car. If it increase and everything else also up. I will be glad as BN doomdays is even closer and higher chances to happen.

• ”James Poh” . u r stupid . don’t understand GST still want to simulate calculation .
    only end user pay 6% GST . seller can claim back , so GST is a B/S item not P/L item .

• Say whatever u want on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:30 pm

MAI said price will drop after GST becayse Gov want them to said so to lower the negative view of ppl

MAA said price might not decrease after GST because now nobody is buying car….yearly sales target is dropping…..

• idiotsallaround on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Even if companies are claiming for their GST, they will still impose 6% GST on their part. Think of it this way, if you can sell your product + 6% GST, and at the same time claim for the GST part, wouldnt it be like killing 2 birds with one stone ?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:14 pm

bla bla bla sick of u all la MAA

• cendol (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% car price reduction?

• banda suri megawan on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:38 pm

New vehicle ownership scenario:-
    1) Buy new vehicle, GST 6%
    2) New vehicle registration, GST 6%
    3) Hire purchase, GST 6%
    4) Insurance, GST 6%
    5) Fix windows tint, GST 6%
    6) Pay toll, GST 6%
    7) Carwash, GST 6%
    8) Periodical vehicle service, GST 6%
    9) Refil RON97, GST 6%
    10) Refil RON95/Diesel, NO GST.

good luck

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Nothing new. All of us knows that GST will never reduce car prices. Moving on … Next …

• Chill people. If you guys really understand economic, then there’s nothing to be fear. Just cut down your expenses for half year or one year (just keep the money in bank for example), surely the government and those retailers will knee down to consumers and changes will be implement.

Of course common goods are unavoidable. Just make sure you feed yourselves and families.

What I found interesting in Malaysia is the habit of consumers who doesn’t fight for their rights. Let say buy a pack of sweets contained 24 tablets, but found out there is only 23. What most people here is they don’t claim for that 1 tablet because they scare others would say “only 1 ma, let it be la”. What I want to say is, you have the right and when you are claiming for that 1 tablet, you were actually protecting yourselves from being cheat. Sadly not much people are doing it.

Because of that attitude, retailers are taking the advantages on this. First 1 tablets, next maybe 2 and become worst gradually. This concept is apply for all as long as you are forking out money to buy something.

• A, you are right. Typical Malaysian consumer is a pathetic lot. Just because some politicians and businesses said price of everything will go up with GST, they simply believe. They don’t want to understand GST and do their own calculations to expose that myth.

• In short 10% sales tax are imposed on manufacturing cost/purchase cost now 6% gst is going to impose on the selling price which included the profit.

• Have seen invoice of Sales Tax charged at final selling price, same as GST.

• Albert on Oct 13, 2014 at 9:02 am

Some one told me only 13 cronilised companies given nod to market the GST software costing a one off rm 100K,for those with annual turnover exceeding rm half juta.
    If you make nett profit of rm100k in 2o14,all these sweat money will go to buy a must have software.
    EVEN the British great train robber could not think of this 21st century invention.

• Albert is talking nonsense. You can buy GST compliance software costing RM2000. But if you run a huge companies like PETRONAS or Maybank, of course you need much more expensive software. So please don’t go around spreading lies.

• Albert on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:11 am

Maybe the info given by friend is inaccurate.
        But Rm2000 for CD with software is pretty steep,dont you think so?
        Say 200,000 companies,this will amount to RM400juta.
        What if 300,000 companies….RM600juta.Hello,sir ,this is a MINI MEGA PROJECT.

• Albert. If you run a very small business, there is no law saying you can’t do your account manually. Similarly, there is no law saying you must use Microsoft Words to write a letter. But I do know some people use pirated software.

• Albert. Here is a list of GST accounting software. Far far far more than the 13 you talked about.

http://gst.customs.gov.my/en/ib/SiteAssets/Syarikat%20Perisian%20Berdaftar%20GST%20as%20at%2017092014.pdf

• Why Boleh car so expensive? on Oct 13, 2014 at 5:04 pm

http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/tax-changes-could-lead-to-cheaper-cars-20140827-108xjn.html

Read more la MAI. Other country’s governing body are helping their citizen to buy cheaper car while at the same time improve the country’s revenue. In Malaysia, as long as anything that can songlap, government will suap everything without hesitation.

• Malaysian car price is ridiculously high and petrol ridiculously low compared to Australia. It should be reversed.

• Kimsta on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Trying to find info on GST on cars since i’m buying my second car and selling my old one. I got my answer already, even 6% GST will be lesser than current 10% but overall with all the GST on car parts etc, car will definitely more expensive.

Meanwhile since everyone is arguing about GST, in my whole opinion, we should have implemented GST long time ago where there was no social media. With so many keyboard warriors around, there will be more negative feedbacks and positive. I guess our government is too dumb to think back then. Just suck it up, work hard and stop complaining.