Mazda CX-3 – new B-segment SUV officially unveiled

Hours after the first pictures of the Mazda CX-3 have been leaked onto the Internet, Mazda has finally let the cat out of the bag. Based on the latest Mazda 2, the new B-segment crossover made its world premiere at the Los Angeles Auto Show, going on sale beginning in Japan in the spring.

The exterior styling features a development of Mazda’s now-familiar Kodo design language, with a slightly more angular look than preceding models. There are chrome slats on the front grille, rugged plastic body cladding with chrome trim on the lower rocker panels, an aggressive downward character line sweep aft of the front fenders and blacked-out D-pillars that give an impression of a “floating” roof.

As we noted before, the interior is almost identical to the Mazda 2’s cabin, save for an undoubtedly higher seating position, some minor trim changes and different door card designs. The 2’s interior is one of the nicer places in the segment to sit, however, so it’s probably another case of “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”

Details regarding the CX-3’s mechanicals remain scarce, but it is confirmed that it will be offered with either Mazda’s new 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D clean diesel engine or the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol. A choice of between a six-speed SkyActiv-MT manual or SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmissions will be offered, as well as either front-wheel drive or the company’s next generation all-wheel drive system.

The CX-3 will be facing stiff competition upon its arrival on our shores, which is expected to be at the end of next year. The Peugeot 2008 and the Ford EcoSport have already been launched, with the Honda HR-V also slated to be coming next year. So, which one you’d pick – CX-3, 2008, EcoSport or HR-V?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ralliart on Nov 19, 2014 at 1:59 pm

That ‘ipad’ on the interior remind me of merc a250 dashboard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Hrv Honda on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:46 pm

The rear also reminds me of Kia Sportage.
      Mazda designers no idea already,copy kinchi design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 88
      • lordy on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Lousy SUV, drinks fuel like water

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 50
      • OMG…r u blind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • As a consumer, I personally don’t care and don’t mind if car manufacturers copy others. As long as they look good, so what is there to complain? Isn’t that the benefit for us? We’ll get the best of all things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Totally. And I really like the looks. The design looks like those in merc, audi, and bmw (that ipad part lah). Looks modern I think and the interior looks premium, but without the premium prices of merc, audi and bmw.

This CX-3 definitely has the sweetest spot in my heart right now. Was digging the Mazda 2 before, but it is too small compared to my parents’ 2013 Jazz (which is the one I’m using right now as a student). Jazz has bigger interior (which will result in more comfortable seating), but the interior looks of the Mazda 2 is more astonishing.

If the price is right I think this will be my realistically dream car :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:00 pm

1st pic makes it look very big,til u see the rear view ,looks small n tiny…looks aggressive ,bt somehoe the 2008 looks more family friendly,only the 4 speed auto is the drawback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:01 pm

The looks alone will bury it’s competitors. This is a hard to resist one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 4
    • Hrv Honda on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Buy Honda Hrv better,forget this Sportage copycat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 83
      • KKZOOM on Nov 22, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Whoever you are…. please keep the resentment to yourself. We readers reserve the opinion to decide what is the best. I believe you are at he wrong page…. I suggest to go to HRV blog and blah blah blah as much as you like. Can you do that?? Thank you

• KKZOOMTEKTEK on Nov 24, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Yes, please dream on your kongkek kuat zoom zoom power in your dream. Mazda is slow coach. that’s why can only dream of kongkek zoom zoom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • OMG…sexy baby CX3…i will wait for u…pls come to msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Mark Chong on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Very nice looking car. Hope this model comes with prefect shape, not like other Mazda-s, keep giving problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • spongewai on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:03 pm

i go for Honda HR-V aka Vezel for 1st, 2nd go for Mazda CX-3 and 3rd for Peugeot 2008 and last is Ford EcoSport

hmm, Renault Captur anyone?! and Juke also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • slk3879 on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:09 pm

I sure like to see more models being thrown into this segment, hopefully this can bring down the prices a little bit, sure can’t depend on Mr. Najib’s promise for a lower car price now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • ralliart on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Err..perodua nautica? Dun know this car still exist or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • mr1031 on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:00 pm

the HRV’s rear signal light is a let down to me..so it’s no.2 for me personally..

• slk3879 on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:05 pm

I guess it’s time for the leading Japanese car manufacturers to learn from their smaller brother on how to design a car!!

• mr. Logic on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:07 pm

CX-3, 2008, EcoSport or HR-V? All have awesome look.. let the price determine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • heybadigol (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Typo there in the last sentence. Shld be CX-3 not CX-5. In think the CX-3 wins in the beauty contest. The HR-V comes close though, but just lacks that sexy sizzle of the CX-3. The overall design looks very Infiniti-sh, sans the overlong front bonnet.

Handling is also usually an area where Mazda is the expert at. But until all the cars are tested together, we won’t know for sure. Space might go to the Honda. Packaging is a Honda specialty. Anyways, can’t wait for a comparo for all the sub compact SUVs soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • chandran on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:08 pm

typo spotted… jonathan, I think you meant CX-3 (not 5), 2008, EcoSport or HR-V at the last sentence?

• Jeremy. on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Looks good! Hopefully will be priced > 120k! Then it will be one of the best seller! Can’t wait for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:14 pm

good luck to the ecosport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • noreasonwhy on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Jonathan Lee, do you meant CX-3 in the last paragraph?

• neutral on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:15 pm

mazda is really on a roll. the cx-5 looked dated the moment it was out due to the use of ugly looking old style head and tail lamps but i’m hopeful the facelift will look great along with a much needed updated interior. the new cx-3 is such a good looking car.

• mosar on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:23 pm

if..and this is a big IF..it’s CKD’ed and sold here at around rm120k (lower then CX5 rm138k)..it will outsold the competitions..not to mention 2.0 engine on a smaller body, will be a lively drive..

• WaJib on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Perggh.. Cantiq betul

• W2202B on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:32 pm

sporty cx-3 VS practical hrv..let’s see

• tryfoly on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Why does Mazda need that overlong front bonnet?

It’s simply not efficient spacing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Mazda Banzai!! on Nov 19, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Mazda is the Japanese counterpart of Alfa Romeo. Practicality is the last of the priorities with looks and drivability being first.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:08 pm

It just looks so much cooler, like a RWD car. But yes, not efficient packaging. As the entire engine is in front of the front axle, there’s not much stuff in between the axle and the bottom of the windscreen (maybe just small components). As a result, one can pretty much assume that legroom in there will be less than the HR-V.

• Individual on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:54 am

Mazda’s philosophy is simple. If you’re a driver and are an individual then go for Mazda. If you want utilitarian practicality then there is a plethora of others to go for. Why follow the crowd?

• Ananz on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:59 am

Mazda are good cars to drive especially for the single folks or those that don’t plan to start a family soon. However it will lose out in terms of interior space as can be seen it all its lineups now like the 3,6 and CX-5. Nice to drive but not nice to be driven in.

• Individual on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:04 am

By being individual does not mean Single.

Besides, as I’ve said there are other utilitarian and practical snore boxes to choose from that will meet family needs.

• mazda..looks nice..spec nice..actual drive and feel? worse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
  • W2202B on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:51 pm

sporty CX3 VS practical HRV..let’s see!

• W2202B on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:51 pm

sporty CX3 VS practical HRV..let’s see!

• handsome car

• ablood on Nov 19, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Shut up and take my money!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • HotDay on Nov 19, 2014 at 3:04 pm

This Cx-3. It looks so damn good in and out.

• applegreen on Nov 19, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Lets see if we can get HUD for Malaysian Market

• Am I the only one around here who thinks the headlamps look Lexus-ish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Clive on Nov 19, 2014 at 3:35 pm

“So, which one you’d pick – CX-5, 2008, EcoSport or HR-V?”

Cx-5 of course hahha. Typo error~

• Lovely car this. But with long bonnet interior space is sacrificed. Boot probably just touching 300 litres ( jazz 400 litres ) so no space for bulky stuff. Thought CX5 prices shud drop significantly with tax rebates for its EEV compliance say by 15k. That means the CX3 shud come in at 100 – 115k. Just my guess.

• HafizJoe Dorifuto on Nov 19, 2014 at 3:55 pm

My choice :
    1- Honda HRV
    2- Pug 2008
    3- Mazda CX 3
    4- Eco-Sport
    5- Nissan JUKE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • gaviny on Nov 19, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Needs to have flagship, 2.2 twin turbo diesel

• Macam Katak Bawah Tempurung on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:09 pm

CX-3, HR-V, Eco sport, 2008 are good car indeed.
    BUt once CKD, not only equipment level dropped, but also quality drop.
    After sell service mostly crap!
    Poor warranty claim, keep pushing, make customer frustrated that’s most brands’ dealer strategy!
    Makes you speechless…

• My pick is HRV with 1.8L engine.
    CX3 is damn good looking but look like a taller Mazda 2 with lack of space.

• W204 C63 AMG on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:20 pm

this thing is a jacked up “hot hatch”, if it does come with a sole 2.0 engine, that engine currently makes 162hp and 210nm in the mazda3. of course not polo gti or 208 gti or fiesta st fast, but this thing gonna be faster than a lot of cars on the road, 0-100 in sub 8 seconds? considering it’s light.

• Noticed how automaker creating new market segment / excitement ? These days you cannot rely on A, B, C, D etc segments anymore..

• satay on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:58 pm

toyota rush more value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 35
  • i mean the normal segment A, B, C , D..

• albag on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:22 pm

beautiful mean design… Kia Sportage can saupei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:40 pm

HR-V looks to be expensive here and maybe this too since it only comes with a 2.0l engine but this does look better than the HR-V

• Berann on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Hopefully Mazda improve their quality in CX-3. For example, CX-5 really a good looking car/good specs/good price/Good handling/fuel efficient but a lot of minor quality issues. Nyek Nyek sound everywhere dashboard/suspension, Wind noise etc…(Plenty from CX-5 Forum) sad..

• My vote goes to the CX-3.

Looks extremely good and interior looks upscale too.

• sambalbabi on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:07 pm

anything with a DOHC engine and NON-cvt box, is a good buy.

• woosh on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:18 pm

CX-3 direct rival Mini cooper countryman

• Mika Volkova (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:05 pm

I vote HR-V. Hope HR-V is priced below RM120k.

• Confirm > RM100k.

• mango on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Interior quality looks pretty good with all the stitchings.. wondering hows the space like at the back? hope the price is decent as well..

• Shazamm on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:56 am

So lawa… and nice…Mazda designer now much better!!

• pupupu on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:16 am

definitely gon buy it if i had the money. ;love the angular look, it’s more bold modern. and has the sharp look. i love every inch of it. the maroon wine red colour really compliments this new mazda elements. you know what just take my money!

• it’s price will determine how cx3 would fare against 2008, ecosport and later HRV.. Ecosport has advantage of price.. 2008 maybe it family-design and although cx3 is all-round… if the price above 120K.. then it will be quite difficult.. coz bear in mind.. this is a small suv..

• abahko on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:16 pm

if bermaz motor could bring in the same interior finish & colour exactly like what are the photos shown here, i’ll place my order without hesitation seriously.

• FooF1ghter on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:37 am

IMHO, it looks much better than CX5 and CX9.

• AndrewM on Nov 21, 2014 at 11:53 am

If the price dips below 100k, it’ll kill the segment contenders. Also, full capital allowance for tax!

• Car-Fans on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Come and Vote :
    1. Honda HRV
    2. Mazda CX 3
    3. Hyundai ix25
    4. Eco-Sport
    5. Pug 2008

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/11/19/mazda-cx-3-b-segment-suv/#ixzz3JgP29A90

• One of the hotlist for 2015. Hope to see it asap.

Looking towards.

• japanmari on Nov 22, 2014 at 11:08 am

HRV is just ok looking suv, Sportage is nice looking but a kimchi , This one is great looking n Japanese

Clear winner this one.

• blaster88 on Nov 22, 2014 at 12:52 pm

hmmm….sexy looking car. Not much of a SUV guy but this has certainly caught my attention. Kudos to Mazda, I would certainly give it a good look! Did you see the other super sexy overload MX 5 at the end of the video? Apparently it has a 50/50 weight distribution! Awesome!!!!!

• Budak Gemok [dot] com on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:16 pm

wow..really sexy looking car..nice

• tiger on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Mazda Malaysia, when will u bring this to M’sia. Looking to get one

• lalaal on Nov 26, 2014 at 4:57 pm

wow this car looks great!!

• Saw the Mazda 2 hatch and sedan “that’s everyone been waiting for” and I thought it looks horribly ill-proportioned so I had my doubts about the crossover. I must admit though it looks a million times better having the wheels slightly raised plus a bigger fender flare. Let’s hope they bring in the 2.0L here, and pray the price would be reasonable! Would give the competition a run for its money on looks alone.

• curfewhours on Nov 29, 2014 at 11:17 am

Price estimation maybe between range RM 90k – RM 120k

• Mazda Kaki on Nov 30, 2014 at 1:54 pm

In other country yes, but u know lah, Malaysia apa pun boleh, Mazda CX-3 sure >130k – 140k. Mazda3 C-Segment now oso 138K oredy.

• Price range around that still can afford one..if nearly like mazda 3..I am sure Im dead.

• mazdafan on Jan 04, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Why must it be based on mazda 2? Why not mazda 3? CX3 is the name not CX2..

• I will wait for this car so hard.

• Kclim on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Everyone comparing HRV vs cx3. If I am not wrong HRV is 2 door car?

• Kclim on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Hi Car-fan, you missed out Mitsubusii ASX in your comparison list. CKD only rm118k le,..

• Hrv is 4 doors just tat e back door handle is at e top side

• BirdyMan on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:02 am

Really Love it, Zoom zoom zoom…. waiting for the arrival!!

• tiger on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Already cancel my M2. The light look can’t match the car.some more expensive. Looking forward of CX3. Will get this if the price less than RM120k. If more than that will go for HRV. Better value with 5 years warranty and unlimited mileage. Mazda 3 years only with 100k km.