Mazda CX-3, MX-5 to launch Q4, CX-3 diesel undecided

2015-Mazda-CX-3-005

More on upcoming Mazdas for Malaysia – Bermaz sources have told our sister site InfoKereta.com that the Mazda CX-3 is expected to launch together with the MX-5 in the fourth quarter this year. Previously, we were told that the SUV could begin deliveries in August, and the roadster probably in September or October.

Recently, “tentative” specifications of a CX-3 1.5 SkyActiv-D diesel appeared on Facebook, leading us to suppose the oil burner could make it here. But the latest word is that Bermaz is still undecided on whether or not to introduce a diesel-engined CX-3 in Malaysia.

The company has been studying and considering diesel for our market for some time, even displaying a Mazda 2 1.5 SkyActiv-D Sedan at the Mazda 2 launch event. Fingers crossed that the decision will swing in our favour!

mx-5 02

You’ve already heard that our MX-5 is expected to get a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine and a six-speed auto, with no manual gearbox option. Unsurprisingly, the company finds demand for a manual too low to justify its introduction, the source said.

But here’s the really painful part: we’re told you won’t be able to indent/special order a manual from them either. Grey skies then, enthusiasts.

The Mazda CX-3 is apparently open for booking in Malaysia at an estimated RM120k-130k price range, with a plethora of equipment expected, including six airbags and a head-up display. It and our MX-5 should come fully-imported (CBU) from Japan.

Australian-market top-spec Mazda CX-3 Akari

ND-generation Mazda MX-5

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• JB_KIA on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:56 pm

what manual demand is too low??? was public survey made? No data no talk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • U think Mazda themselves dont have sales statistics?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • JB_KIA on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:32 pm

mazda3 mps is the only manual passenger car they have selling so far….with that minute sale fig they concluded that manual car cant sell?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Same L0rrrr on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:46 pm

The mx5 is for sport car wannabe.

Our 86 is for the real driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Obviously (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:59 pm

“But here’s the really painful part: we’re told you won’t be able to indent/special order a manual from them either. Grey skies then, enthusiasts.”

Why, why, why why WHY WHY WHY DAMMIT, BERMAZ, WHY?!?!?!??!?!!?!?!

• Dr Mamak on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:13 pm

A manual 2.0L MX-5 would have been sweet. And CX-3 is so much better looking than the drab HRV. Can’t wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • Uncle Legend on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Is there any chance to get Honda S660 ?
    Is great if we have more choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • seancorr (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:45 pm

I second that but the S660 is for JDM only so…have to look at grey skies too.

The upcoming S1000 however is made for markets outside of Japan so who knows maybe Honda Malaysia will bring that in since we’re getting stuff in which the rest of the world could not (we’re the only market who got our hands on the sedan Type R besides Japan).

• thepolygonal on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:17 am

Not sure why your comment is thumbs down. It’s a neutral comment.

Myself do hope the S1000 make it here with a mid range pricing. I suspect the new 2.0 MX-5 gonna be RM200k upwards like it’s predecessor.

• LOL which self-respecting petrolhead buys an automatic MX5

• Both car won’t sell.. Bcos msian r bunch of cheapskate, not willing to pay more for small car.. CX3 boot is like myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • seancorr (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:48 pm

It will sell…just not as many as the almighty HRV due to lack of interior and boot space.

I bet we’ll see more of the CX-3 than the 2008 and EcoSport combined on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Niche Player on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:09 am

Not everybody wants a spacious interior and boot space, which frankly is a waste of real estate since space is unused near 90% of the time. The CX3 outsells the HRV in Australia so I guess the space argument is a mute point. And I’m sure Mazda has done their research and they are not going to be pleasing every Tom, Dick and Harry in their approach. Others may have attempted to and they have ended up with bland cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • peter on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:36 am

To be fair, Mazda outsells Honda in Australia.

• Niche Player on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Actually both Mazda and Honda have almost the same number of dealerships in Australia. With all things being equal, Honda doesn’t have an excuse to use that handicap card.

• whyno3rdrow on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:11 pm

But we bolehland appreciate space more than crappy sporty looks

90% space unused but what to do when it is needed. Sit on the roof?

• W204 C63 AMG on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Even subaru outsells Honda in Australia.

• Ananz on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Australia market and Malaysia market is very much different. Mazda is much more popular in Australia while its the opposite here. Have you ever seen Mazda sales higher than Toyota, Honda, Nissan here?? Mazda is more of a niche market here so it is really not surprising HRV will outsell CX-3.

When you have 2-3 kids you would prefer a HRV but if you are single you probably would pick CX-3 its simple as that. Both cars cater to different market needs.

• Blitz on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Aww, need to wait till August to see the Mazda cx 3? Sad… Crying right now T-T.. Pls show it earlier bermaz

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Dear readers, I don’t quite understand yesterday post regarding BioDiesel. Does it mean Euro 5 Diesel is actually BioDiesel or we gonna have 2 type of Diesel???? Can Paultan explain a bit in details. Sorry but my understanding towards BioDiesel is a bit blur!!!! Thanks to whoever explain it. Have a nice day!!!

• biodiesel is different from euro5, biodiesel is palm oil + petroleum, while euro5 diesel is diesel of a higher quality

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 10, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Then why BMW Malaysia issue statements and “looks” & “sound” worried about B10 Diesel? Since we gonna have Euro 5 Diesel, it shouldn’t have any threat to BMW cars, which I am puzzle?????? when I read from CEO Alan Harris, dated June 8, 2015 post.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Euro5 is not specifically referring to a particular blend of fuel. It is an emissions rating which indicates that fuels rated Euro5 will produce byproducts (pollutants) under a specific concentration. It doesn’t matter what formulation they use; as long as the end product is within the pollutant levels, that fuel is rated Euro5.

On the other hand, B10 refers to a specific kind of fuel. B10 refers to a biodiesel blend with 10% plant-derived diesel mixed with 90% petroleum-derived diesel. So, technically speaking, it is possible for a biodiesel blend to be rated Euro5 as well.

• biodiesel is different from euro5, biodiesel is palm oil + petroleum, while euro5 diesel is diesel of a higher quality

• thepolygonal on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:20 am

Which worries me on the CX-3 1.5 SkyActiv-D engine. If it goes B10 here… it might go B12 onwards in the near future. Wonder if the engine is made for that. We will need official statement from mazda.

• CX3 Q4?…aisey why so late…just sold my car today for CX3 next month that i oredi book…

• If CX3 delayed than people like me who are waiting for campact SUV will buy Renault Captur…Renault, faster i will transfer my CX3 booking fee for Captur…

• old dog on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Diesel cars in the market all suffered if B10 rolls out..not launching it a smart move.

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:02 pm

It is funny that…
    The CX3 is based on the Mazda2
    The CX5 is based on the Mazda3
    So the CX-3 is on par as the Mazda3?
    Or the MX-5 is related to the Mazda5 MPV?
    I wish that they would standardize their badging system.
    Then again it could be more confusing if it is the Mercedes badging system.
    Mazda is really on the roll lately with their cars lately.
    The high price of their CBU Japan cars is because of the poor Ringgit.
    Yes I would like to have the MX5 roadster in manual transmission.
    Maybe the grey importers will bring that in a couple more year time,

• Niche Player on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:11 am

Are you sure the CX5 is based on the Mazda3? Maybe check back in history and see which one came out first?

• nille on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:13 pm

It doesn’t matter, as long as it’s CX5, it’s crampy like mazda3

• Ananz on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Rather than which one came out first Mazda CX-5 chassis share the same platform with Mazda 3 and Mazda 6 in its new lineup using Kodo design beginning from 2012 onwards

• Nenek Kau on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:19 am

The rear door of cx3 looks much shorter than front door, which tell us that the rear legroom is small n crampy.

• therealmaserati on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:06 am

Dont bring in diesel cars!.

Yes it has good FC, but long run service is more expensive and diesel engines are crap when they are old. Tons of problems

• William on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:56 am

By next year you might ask grey importer to bring in, again the price would not be attractive at all.

• gaviny on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:00 am

say goodbye to any chance of diesel with b10 bodiesel, instead of euro5

• how is the maintenance cost of running a diesel car in Malaysia? Euro 2 must give a lot of headache since its sulphur amount is high

• small interior space, no armrest, rear design looks like old mazda2 hatchback

• Interested on Jun 10, 2015 at 2:24 pm

So CX-3 is based on something like a jack-up version of M2 instead of M3? Thought the Cx-“3” is referring to M3. Then possibly it may be a small-ish car like Swift size?
    Haih…thought of upgrading from my Swift soon.

• 18 inch rims on Jun 11, 2015 at 7:36 am

Highly specced with 18 inchers sports rim for sure..+ armrest + rear AC blower…

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 9:19 pm

Been trying to buy a new manual sedan or SUV with budget of RM150k. I’m not into GTI type of cars as they are too small & cramped. So a decent family car with manual drive is what I’m looking for. Ditch my auto & went back to Manual years ago as I still love playing with the clutch. So Madza & Honda doesn’t want my money. Its alright then I shall wait for a nicer proposition to come along.