Mazda 2 launched: sedan and hatchback, RM80K to RM85K!

The Mazda 2 was launched hours ago at Prima Merdu’s third and latest showroom in Bandar Puteri Puchong. Available in two bodystyles – five-door hatchback and four-door sedan – the supermini is imported CBU from Thailand. It rolls off the Auto Alliance plant in Rayong, which will also supply us with the upcoming Ford Fiesta.

The B-segment Mazda is powered by a 1.5-litre MZR engine producing 103 bhp at 6,000 rpm and 135 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, figures that are slightly shy of the similar sized engines from the Vios and City. The DOHC 16v unit with Sequential Valve Timing (SV-T) is paired to a four-speed automatic; I was personally hoping for a manual version, which is available both in Thailand and Singapore, but no such luck for us.

You can choose between the standard V Grade and the sporty R Grade for both bodystyles. While both grades come with the same MacPherson strut front and torsion beam rear suspension, the R Grade suspension gets “Sport Tuning”. Front brakes are ventilated discs while rears are drums. The 2’s steering system is of the EPS variety. Opt for the R Grade and your Mazda 2 will roll on low profile 195/45 R16 rubber while the V Grade does with 185/55 R15 tyres.

Dimensions wise, Mazda’s little hatchback appears very petite. Width is identical with the Toyota Yaris and Honda Jazz down to the mm (1,695) and the 3,922 mm length is only 2 mm longer than the Jazz. However, the reason behind its svelte looks is the low roofline – the 2’s height of 1,478 mm is 47 mm less than the Jazz’s. While the hatch looks cute and pert, the same can’t be said of the sedan; that protruding boot just spoils the proportions. Its overall length of 4,263 mm is a substantial 132 mm shorter than the Honda City’s. Wheelbase is 2,490 mm for both variants.

What we can say for sure, for now, is that if you have tall family members or friends, this car is definitely not for you. My not too tall 175 cm frame managed to fit in with only two fingers widths of headroom to space to spare.

Equipment wise, the Mazda 2 comes with a leather wrapped steering with audio switches, split folding rear seats, ABS and two airbags. The sedan does not get the hatch’s ISOFIX child seat anchors and only the R Grade hatchback gets a bodykit. Prices are as follows (on the road, with insurance):

• Mazda 2 Sedan V Grade RM79,859.50
  • Mazda 2 Sedan R Grade RM82,937.50
  • Mazda 2 Hatchback V Grade RM82,111.50
  • Mazda 2 Hatchback R Grade RM85,189.50

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• great… tested and good.. consider this car and coming Vois… that is my 2nd new Mazda… maybe can get some discount! :)

• Comming Vios? I thought is was merely a facelift.

• loveyourdidi on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:57 pm

dude, he was referring to vois, not vios. dunno la which manufacturer produces the vois tho..

• Catherine on May 14, 2010 at 9:42 pm

well, I got the Madza 2 Sedan in Gey Mica. It’s really good and comfortable, i love it very much.i kno that i had the right choice. Don’t waste any money, select the Madza 2 and u ‘ ll kno the best of it.

• Shin3 on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Mazda ~ :)

• Amosai on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Aiyoyo..y they use Wira SE rims..kesian..

• ong chin aun on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Are you sure wire SE rim ? The Madza 2 sedan is rather big, whether under power or not . Also, the prize big high. and why no Manual transmission for M`sia ?

• tokmoh on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Aiyo, he just meant that the rims’ design looks like Wira SE’s rims, not necessarily mean the rims is the EXACT same rim with Wira SE.

• Amosai on Apr 06, 2010 at 2:01 pm

yalor yalor..i meant rims design..not Mazda bought 2nd from Proton Wira SE..XD

• buy the car n get wira se rims for free.

• Mazda beli rims drp proton dulu sebab stock berlebihan kut?

• ago87 on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:41 pm

Yalor,i also tot it’s from Wira SE rims…

• That is one nice looking car. But the hatchback version’s rims reminded me of the Proton Wira SE rims. The design is so identical. =.=

• kanasai on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:58 pm

hahaha. nissan layios better

• staff on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:58 pm

so… verybody… get your mazda now… for me… the price is Ok, affordable.

• car_driver on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:00 pm

the plastic look awful also

• wallstreet on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:43 pm

I think you should take a look at the real thing before you comment. The interior and exterior quality are far better than City and Vios..By the way, this car was voted World Car of The Year, I don’t think CIty or Vios can even come close to be compared…

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Are you blind?

• yeah.. the plastic parts look ugly.. 1.5cc but produce 105bhp only.. worse car ever.. xD

• Samdolz on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:27 pm

??? where got 1.5cc? kapcai pun 100cc…1.5 liter la ..u know arr what is cc ? dont comment if u dont know

• proton plastic look better

• i like it in red :D

• boingz on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:05 pm

Paul, can you confirm-that 6 cd changer is for hatchback only or also for sedan hi spec? TQ!

• proton on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:06 pm

i think ford fiesta looks better :)

• Wait for Fiesta. evnthough i booked mazda3, mazda2 look kinda odd for me.
      If I wanna go for this class… Ford Fiesta will be my choice

• not bad looking car but there’ll be people buying it :-)

• _Zephyre_ on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:07 pm

I don’t want to know how the Ford Fiesta’ll be priced after this.

• khaiStudio on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:08 pm

ugly i think..sorry.

• karipap on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:12 pm

hmm…from pictures the sedan looks ok. got to see the real thing

• lanwm on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:13 pm

zoom3

• richerjoe on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Paul, do you know when will the Mazda6 2010 facelift be launched?

• Hikaru on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Why does the boot of the sedan Mazda 2 remind me of a Proton Gen2’s back?

The hatch seems to be the one to go for as the sedan looks rather bland….but at 85k…my pick at the moment out of, vios and city would be City.

• sorry to say…
    but the interior look cheap & horrible..!!

• noname on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:22 pm

I vote the sedan for year 2010 most fugliest car.

• o-zon on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:26 pm

aik..mcm ni je ke?
    much better persona…

• agree
      by looking at the pictures…..persona better than this mazda’s…
      and maybe no glove box….and meter cluster is too simple.

• owh sorry I found the glove box already hahahaha

• subhero on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:54 am

i give my 100% agre.. persona better than this mazda. ..

anyway who is their target?.. makcik2? amoi2 kejer maxis,celcom,digi?

• kazos on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:39 pm

mmg lawak. Mcm x ada design lain mazda ni… mcm x siap jer..bahagian belakang &interior. mgkn last minute decision.. @ cut cost.. pi cari model lain laa… yg lebih nilai kpd wang

• only a four-speed automatic is available for us in Malaysia?!! I like a manual version too, why do we always get less choices to choose from? Why are we always behind Thailand and Singapore automobile market???

• WhyNoManualInMalaysia on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:55 pm

ya.. .i really wish we coud have more manual choices …. each time i ask the question to the car dealers, is always the same reply that there is no justified market for that and the next thing is look at me like a freak …. i really miss the good old day with AE and EK/EG …

• MBX Boy on Apr 06, 2010 at 5:01 am

err… coz malaysian cukai makes non local makes market to shrink?

• eposuer on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:34 am

if there is manual ver..do you really wanna buy this car?

• shawal on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:35 pm

A manual transmission would’ve been nicer & more economical, altho, its a bit too cute & small for guys to take them seriously, let alone drive around wit their buddies in,
    Mazda prolly has a target niche in mind…i think its ” privilidged post-high school daddy’s girl who just got their license “…which explains the absence of manual transmission..

• niuhje on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:39 pm

why dont they just make these cars 30-40k so everyone can buy… hmmmm Proton is sucking the life blood of this country’s motor industry! Why can’t the govt see it!!

• knoxx on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:46 pm

not proton fault lah.. dont simply blame… gov also tax to proton car too..

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:55 pm

they already done that,that’s why they create new saga,which is about that price,and it is the best selling car in January 2010 and February 2010,if proton is sucking blood,why people still buy proton,and you know Malaysian is actually buying Japanese 3rd world class car,example avanza,innova,vios,city…….and it’s cheap because it’s made in Thailand and Indonesia, you think you are buying made in japan Toyota?
      Haha,stop dreaming!

• yeah that blOOdy PRoTOn is suck!!!!!

• ugook on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:09 am

Gocreate you own country and live in it! Theres no such thing

• 100% agreed!

• akupunya on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:41 pm

WAIT!!

Wait for Ford Fiesta.
    Ford Fiesta will come into malaysia and it is better than mazda 2.

• Paul Tan on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:43 pm

Specs are inferior compared to Fiesta RM85k preliminary price and spec’s 120 PS 1.6 engine, 6 speed dual clutch, and ESP stability control.

• hafis on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:22 pm

wow, is it true, 85k for fiesta?

• Agreed…the soon to launch Fiesta is much better value

• pulltea on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Thanks PAUL. Good info so that buyers are more aware of the choices available for similar pricing.

Mazda, please buck up before Fiesta steal your sales.. :)

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:42 pm

First impression:
    Ugly smiley shit face,the only thing that I like is the tail light of the hatchback version,
    buy with that price,better get yourself a forte

• trav_da_man on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Here comes a new challenger for the B segment saloon!

• trav_da_man, new challenger in the B-segment? hahaha…i think you haven’t been monitoring the m’sian automotive association’s sales statistics. Mazda 2’s sales….where are yoooooooooooou?
      but serious note, I have a mazda 3 (red) and a civic (black). my opinion is tied on which car’s better as they have their individual appeal. my op on mazda is that dun bring in the sedan and just stick with the hatchback. much more proportionate.

• as for 1.5cc mazda2 really powerful. even it got sport mode also. i am comparing with vois.. M2 better. I like the engine sound, it feel like my Mazda6… GOOD !

• theanswer on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:51 pm

hurmm..the sedan look akward. the hatch looks cute. more ppl will buy the hatch since its cheaper than vios n yaris..but sedan ppl prefer city or vios.

• Toyota drivers are idiots on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Soon there will be no more reason not to buy those pricey Vios Dugong and Honda Shitty. I look forward to hear what Ford has to offer. Those fake carbon fibre instrument panel are fugly by the way.

• oldman on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:44 pm

There’s always good reason to buy Vios & City… reliable products and good after sales services possibly cud be the one..

• Toyota drivers are idiots on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:40 pm

My you’re one of those boring people

• redwings on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:03 am

Agreed…

• agreed..justifying their mistake.

• Road Thunder on Oct 17, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Boring but practical. You are the one who is gonna scream when a major Mazda part breaks down and the salesman/girl sheepishly tells you it’s gonna take 2 months for the import part to arrive from Japan. I know, cos I have a Mazda3

• Tiadaid on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:30 am

Reliable? Don’t think so.

• Hazriq on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Reliable? youre f—–n kidding me..

• bean maeko on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:14 am

dugong indeed…its so ugly hardly to tell which is front and which is end…even the real dugong itself prettier than vios…and some people proud to drive it! yaakhhh!

• Uncle Socks on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:12 pm

Vios ain’t Dugong la…it’s squidward from spanbob squarepants

• Peter on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Personally i prefer the hatch version which is voted the Car of the Year a few years ago…..As for the sedan version, i would rather choose a Vios instead….

No offence, but the design for the sedan version is very fugly……

Mazda is actually quite famous for its underpower and its poor fuel consumption compared to Honda/ Toyota,etc…….

• Toyota drivers are idiots on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Who are you to say that? Have you ever owned or driven any Mazdas?

• redwings on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:07 am

Go buy a mazda or borrow from a friend…and you will surprise on the fuel consumption… See how good the Mazda6 2.5 against Accord 2.4 and Camry 2.4..

• this is one of the reason i get M6 2.5 instead of camry2.4 and accord2.4. same price with better spec, petrol and design… i consider this is value for $$$$ M6 2.5. Good car !

• joebalok on May 02, 2010 at 10:10 pm

agreed…mazda absolutely good

• scouser (Member) on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:18 am

Baseless comment

• gigibaru on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:55 pm

The RED sport grade Hatchback looks so MUCH better than the normal green one in photos above, kinda made me wondering if it’s the exact same car lol. The front n rear diffuser of the RED one really well designed!

• farghmee on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:57 pm

the cars are kawaii-er than the girls :P

• Mysticmind on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:02 pm

teh tarik hook?

• mohsin on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:51 pm

menatang alah tu kat Giant ada la!
      RM2 je sebungkus! Ada 2 unit! Lepas beli sangkut la kat besi kepala seat!

• Uncle Socks on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Tapi hook teh tarik cap Mazda bro… bukan cap Giant. where to find in market. Ha….

• well put it side by side with our beloved proton saga… see which one is better?

• Leonardo on Apr 06, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Silly comparison! Different segment, price and specs la bro! Why don’t we compare it to the ‘hot hatch’ Vivia or best seller MyVi? As pointed out, it is within the range of Vios, City and even Forte 1.6.

• Maserati on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Sorry guys,dont just look at the picture and say this is a good car.And winning the world car of the year thing is nothing.You know why?

I test drove the sedan last week and all i can say is this car is a piece of crap.

For that kinda price,the interior plastic quality was atrocious,if you think Vios is lousy,wait till u sit in this Mazda 2,feels like sitting in a Malaysian made car.And no,you dont get the carbon fibre bits in the middle.Those are just for showroom cars.

Space is so cramped up that its feels so claustrophobic.Engine is rev happy and is noisy at high revs.

Specs are horrible,its just like a Mazda gave us a shell and an engine.

Handling is so so only vios or honda city fares so much better in this category.

So basically,sitting in this car really reminds me of the days when i sat in a Perodua Kembara.Its small,has cheap plastics all over,lousy engine,and worst of all ,the price is near a Honda City S Spec which is so much more well equipped.

Mazda pls,I loved your Mazda 3 2.0 but this Mazda 2 is really horrible!

• Agreed…i went to see the car at the show room, very cheap looking interior….hmmm, saga quality but at higher price.

• I think the plastics used are better than the Vios but yes, the rear is very cramped.

• intermilan on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:47 am

Thanks for such an honest feedback!

This place really need more inputs like this (to remain relevant and bring value to reader).

Would like to checkout & test drive the 2 also but most probably not going to.
      Skip it and maybe gonna try the Fiesta.

• mechanical (Member) on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:10 pm

not so bad..

most of the outside models always come with auto transmition, where is manual !!!!!

• bohtakchek on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:50 pm

they can’t offer the manual because of the price would be TOO low … there would need certain protection to our national product so to seems, but funny Vios J has manual price at RM76k OTR right??

• MoFaz on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:19 pm

now, even the absence of manual transmission on imported cars also because of Proton?
        ask the dealer la, stoopid!

• this kind of price? can it sell? Under power engine, 4 speed auto? The interior is too small!!! It cannot beat vios/ city or even P2 MPV, even cheaper P2 MPV offer better accessories and better engine….

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:36 pm

better buy exora la..

bigger interior..can ride up to 7 people

:lol:

• redwings on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:57 am

Wat wrong with 4speeder..u driving a 7speeder? Camry 2.0E n G spec also 4speeder.. paying also double of Mazda2 but no one complaint?

• fort minor on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:43 pm

M2 really disappoints me when i saw it at the show room.was thinking of recommending it to my mother in law who’s in the market for a hatch. but the interior quality (the gap on the glove box made it looks like it’s broken) and price really disappoints me. at this price range and quality, i think swift is a better choice. i now look forward for the new fiesta. hope that it will be a good option that is better than the swift. the initial specs and price that has been announced are rather encouraging….and for the M2 sedan, i think you’re better off with a forte.similar price, better quality, more bang for your buck, similar residual value (i guess), etc etc…..but hey, i’m a fortezens, so i’m rather biased ;p go see it for yourself guys.

• bohtakchek on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:00 pm

yeah…agreed with you. Forte seems to have unresistable value and finish … better feature car. at least got 5 years warranty la… till 2015 needless to worry loh… where most of KL people change car every 5 years.

it is not that market has no other alternative right … Korean car quality has improve, hopefully for the first few batches of car to be assemble by NAZA la… because after a few batch quality from them can be inconsistent you see. Want to buy good quality batch, get 2nd-3rd batch or facelift … by then most teething problem has been solve.

• fort minor on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:28 pm

forte only have 2 years warranty dude…..not 5 years.i wish it was for 5 years ;p

• profiler on Apr 06, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Are you sure 5 years warranty?? Naza gives 2 trs warrantly only la bro…. Maybe u r confused, it is hyundai that gives 5 yrs warranty

• That gap is actually a drop-in slot for you to drop stuff in without having to open the glovebox.

• fort minor on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:26 pm

i know it’s suppose to be a drop in slot for mags,but it just looks weird to me…kinda messy

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:47 pm

better wait for ford fiesta…similar price with 6 speed auto gearbox + 1.6 engine!

• Fridz (Member) on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:56 pm

From the photo, the dash looked cheap…the hatch is nice. but the sedan 2 is horrible.

How about Ford Fiesta?

• Toyota drivers are idiots on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:46 pm

I’ll have the Fiesta if interior space isn’t an issue for me. For that matter the Peugeot 308 looks tempting to me.

• Tiadaid on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:28 am

Peugeot 308’s very popular to the extent that the stock at Naza’s Glenmarie showroom is no longer available. The salesman’s expecting a batch in June, with a price increase.

• intermilan on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:45 pm

You mean book now and can only get your’s in June at the earliest?

I thought they always have this 2-3 months waiting list for the 308 (since last year) and should already ‘rammed up production’ to cut the queue…

Maybe Nasim don’t want to learn from experience (long waiting period) and just happy to maintain the queue and do nothing.

• elite on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:59 pm

imo vios with aftermarket bodykit still the best choice for peace of mind…2nd mazda2, 3rd forte, last city.

• Darius on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Just because its from “Japan” some will worship it, even if it looks like turd, made like a tin can, and way overpriced. Cant help these people LOL

The centre console looks like that Hunter-Killer robot from Matrix

• p4k4bu on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:16 pm

The design looks as “puzzling” as Proton’s…

I don’t understand the design “language” :(

But then…. it’s Mazda ;)

• _Zephyre_ on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:18 pm

If the Ford Fiesta’s RM75k-85k pricing remains (http://www.ford.net.my/fiesta/preview.html), the Mazda2 is in serious trouble.

• magic on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:27 pm

thumbs down.

• dinocomot on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:37 pm

tonggek personoid car. the hatchback is better. for sedan its rival is definitely persona in tonggek category i mean. heh

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:41 pm

what…why the rear wiper on the hatch is mis-aligned!!! it should be in the center so symmetrical appearance… for that I pass…

• Silvercar on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:46 pm

just to mentioned that the length of the car doesn’t really reflect the internal space. I used drive a vios which is having the same length as my friend picasso, but his car interior space is so much bigger. Perhaps, it is between the hatch and sedan design. The same here in MAdza, I feel that the space of the hatch is better than vios in fact.

• haha kelakar nyer rim…. cam wira 1.5 se…..
    start lar…..buatan2 plastik nih…patut gak leh drop rege ke 80k-s….

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:39 pm

This is the way it should go; manual.
    http://www.motorauthority.com/image/100214473_image33056-c

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:42 pm

compare to city or vios…this is much better

• meteoraniac on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:57 pm

definitely not worth 80k …

• Type F on Apr 05, 2010 at 8:01 pm

We’ll see Ford Fiesta then…

• Will car price going down next year?? If only i can afford the Mazda2 now :(

• nice…….. so the JAZZ n YARIS hav a bit of price difference…… still, expensive, but i think mazda will do well tis year…….

paultan…., any news on the number of bookings (prebook till today). hatch n sedan….
    just wanna see how much market share they will command……

• the sedan….. maybe some will like……hehehe

• keypad (Member) on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:45 pm

paul I just wanna say that in the future if you can organize the display of the pictures.
    currently you tend to mixed up the photos when you review 2 car on the same entry and sometime it’s difficult to tell which dashboard is belong to which car and things like that..

just my 2 cents

• trav_da_man on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Checked the car in one showroom at taman megah and i have mixed feelings on it. The sedan looked weird n awful and the interior is basic at best. I love the high spec hatchback but seeing that reminds me of a upgraded myvi. There is no EBD/BA and multi display meter which shows Berjaya is cutting this n there to maximize profit.

There a mazda 3 parked beside the mazda 2 n u can see the earth n sky comparison esp in terms of the interior. Havent test drive it but i prefer the hatch more.

Even the salesman there is awful. Compared my toyota SA chap at Taman Mahuri, i now not regreting waiting for the mazda 2.

• Vezeroth on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:48 pm

if it was 50k it’ll sell well but 85k for that ugly thing is a rip off… save the money, buy a proton, you’d be happier…

• I don’t get it – Mazda3, 5 and 6 is so cool, but this Mazda2 is a dud. No wonder it is priced at the price range. Any more higher nobody will buy.

• towfx on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:04 pm

did anyone notice Gen2/persona steering there?

• apeng on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:38 am

yea lorr its stering similar to gen2/persona…
      its back also….much tonggek than persona….
      mmm……

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:59 pm

if only it had a manual box. still, a fun car to drive. crisp handling, nice engine. but still i would go for a ford fiesta, which drives even better. and cheaper.

• guanerrr on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:10 pm

This is World Car Of The Year (2008) awarded. Why so terrible? go to http://www.wcoty.com . I think should change to World Car Of The Year (2009) which VW Golf.

• rambo ramsey on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:11 pm

ramainya salesman Toyota ngan Honda. Takut ka?

My opinion: This car give people choice. The road is filled by Vios and City, its no longer nice (of course is better than P1 or MyVi, double muak). M2 hit just the right price for those who are in the market. For me, I need something more muscular for 2nd car, hence I’ll wait for Fiesta but my other half might just think otherwise!

• guanerrr on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:11 pm

This is World Car Of The Year (2008) awarded. Why so terrible? go to http://www.wcoty.com . I think should change to World Car Of The Year (2009) which is VW Golf or World Car Of The Year (2010) which is VW Polo.

• dukeKTM on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:19 pm

I like the girls though….anybody agree? :)

• "70 Plymouth Barracuda on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:46 pm

totally agree with you..why those people keep arguing about the design la, gear kurang la..enjoy the view dude! life is getting shorter..

• with this OTR prices.. i prefer Kia Forte!

• of coz even the price between mazda 2 and 3 is earth and sky too. this car is to enter the city-vios market. More choices for ppl with below 90k budget.

and for those ppl that only know how to say ” if it is 50k or 60k then only I buy and etc” shuddup and continue with your “whatever” car if you are not happy.

less choice bising. now got more choices also bising. balik kampung and tanam jagung la….

• waimak on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:39 pm

I must go and see this in metal first before I could write longer comments. For now I would say it’s a good move to introduce now considering there’s no new models in this segmen from honda, toyota, nissan or even proton!

• skiborne on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:51 pm

saw some of it at jln ampang, nice. preferably the hatchback of course. :)

• m2m3m6 on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Went to see the car in Kota Damansara, when i asked the SA why it has no engine temperature guage, do u know what his answer?
    He said now all modern cars do not have that anymore, only an indicator which show one blue light for cold and one red light for overheat. And all future cars going to follow.
    WTF, what a stupid answer……..

• HondaCT on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:56 am

fyi even 2004 city does not show temperature and only blue and red like what the sales person told u. its true.

• mohsin on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:50 pm

my wife’s viva 850 also got only blue and red light for engine temperature gauge!
        wah, viva oso same standard with mazda eh!
        Haiyoo!

• acerman on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:54 am

But the question is why?

• p4k4bu on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:13 am

Perhaps “easier” for average users.

Even if they put meters, an average users will only check if the needle is in the “safe” or “danger” (red) zone.

Some more, if the needle is more than half-way the scale, some users tend to worry and start asking “experts”: “My temperature meter aahh is more than half lah. Is that normal ka?”. Complicated lah like that. Different car has has different “normal” position. Some below half, some more than half. Put blue and red….. easy….

Just my 2 sen ….

Cheers ;)

• wallstreet on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:06 am

Yes, it will be like this in the future. Its in the City too. How many of you actually really look at every millimeter of the temp gauge? These days car dashboard is becoming like a 747 cockpit…Just light up blue or red, simple and make the meter more neat.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:05 am

yes most cars are like this now. No more temperature gauges. The Vios had it since 2003.

• Cynical on Apr 09, 2010 at 11:34 am

My dad’s 1985 corona has the temperature gauge since the stone age.

• The Loner on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:08 pm

For all your guys commenting on Mazda 2, especially for transmission and body style, let me share some of my comments.

For body styles, Mazda firstly intended to be hatchback in design, especially when you see JDM’s Mazda 2 (under the name Mazda Demio). From the first generation till now the car is hatchback form in Japan. Sedan body is only for market outside Japan.

As for the transmission why it is not available, the main reason you can get from the sales people and their product managers are terrible traffic jams here. Manual transmission is not feasible. But I can assure you that Bermaz only intends to bring all Mazda vehicles in automatic transmission in exception of Mazda BT-50. If you ask more, the people will start to avoid your question.

For extra information, go to Wikipedia and search Mazda 2, 3 and 6. These models have manual transmission available globally (inclusive of diesel engines).

• theanswer on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:37 pm

regarding the transmission, yes most of us knew that most of imported brand we get here got manual version overseas..in fact in overseas nissan latio got 6 speed manual. i dont think traffic jam is the reason why they didnt bring it here. malaysia i a big country compared to spore..but why spore got manual version for their imported brand? we even got long hway too.

• The Loner on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:48 am

To be honest my friend in Singapore, my comment on Malaysian car importers (those product managers) are mostly short-sighted, profit-orientated and follow US and Japan’s trend where CVT and automatic transmission are majority and ignore some of the drivers who are die-hearted manual transmission fans.

Just speak out personal reason for automatic transmission is main stream, easier to charge car owners on maintenance fee. lol

• theagree on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:46 am

yeap i agree…they even thot those who drives these cars are auntu and uncle or maybe girls who prefers auto tranny. the only manual tranny we get for imported brand is vios..lower spec!

• Rambo Ramsey on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:09 am

UMWT did try bring in M/T Corolla. What happen to its sales is that only 5-10 units monthly, and later goes down to 3-5 units. The spares and everything drained the company so they decided to ditch it. Furthermore market studies shows that for car priced above 70K, the preference will be auto except for hardcore driver. These hardcore only form less than 5% of intended market segment. Even Bimmer stops bringing in the manual 3 & 5 series whereas you can get that in the late 90’s. The trend goes along with US/Japan driver rather than European driver (UK).

• Tiadaid on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:46 am

Market demand dictates what’s been brought. Most Malaysians especially city dwellers who view cars as either a) a way to get from a to b, or b) as a status symbol, certainly prefers auto cars, since there’s less hassles in traffic jams. Die-hard manual drivers and petrolheads are in a minority. No point catering to a minority while losing out to the majority.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:27 pm

The automatic will be the main seller for all cars sold today – that’s a fact. But I’m not wishing for them to cater to “manual fans” at the expense of the main priority (which is to shift as many units as possible). Just bring in say, extra 100 units of the stick shift, I’m sure they’ll sell out.

If I were buying a Corolla, I’ll have it in auto too. But this is a small, light, fun to drive small hatchback, and I believe that a manual will be a nice fit. As it stands, I’m out.

• CocoBear on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:34 am

Is that the next generation of Persona?
    But why the heck does a hatchback cost more than a sedan?
    RM 82k for a petite hatchback? OMG………

• The Loner on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:58 am

It’s easy. Sales people will say hatchback is sportier and have more sporty accessories equipped, which are unnecessary and mostly are decoration. If really say aerodynamics, not much advantage gained from there.

It’s also slightly overpriced, compared to upcoming Ford Fiesta (current estimated price from Auto Connexion).

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:01 am

nope… hatchback is more expensive because of research on safety done on it…the material on the back has to be strengthen up to absorb impact from rear in the unlucky event…which in sedan is less worried because advantage of having long butt

and please don’t comment baseless-ly ..

• wallstreet on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:11 am

Surprisingly there are people still not aware that a Hatchback always cost more than a Sedan…RM82K for petite hatchback? I guess if its a Toyota and Honda, you will say owwwhhh…damn cheap la…

• nice looking..

• Anonymous on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:54 am

weird unusual dashboard

• redwings on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:13 am

Surprise with the speedometer…220km/h for 1.5l.
    Saw M.Grandis speedometer…only 180km/h… Are you sure this baby Mazda2 can reach above 200km/h… I doubt..

• My hatchback can go for 200km/h for sure. The speedometer maxed at 220km/h :D

• cybermaster98 on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:09 am

Well, hitting 200kmph for a 1.5L car is no problem actually. Even a 2003 Vios can. But im not sure about 220kmph though. Does the M2 have a speed limiter or something? If it doesnt i dont see why it cant hit 220kmph on a straight stretch without any obstructions on the road.

• I’ve consider waiting for M2 few months back, going back n forth between the over-bashed local Persona and M2….at the end due to $$ calculation, i stil opt for Persona. Been driving for the past 3 months, i got the SE version, feels good and everything was great, even drove to Ipoh for 1 day stay over trip n tour costs me just around 50-60 bux of petrol, n having auto cruise really can goyang kaki on highway. I wont say there’s no difference in QC for local n import cars, maybe a the risk of luck is lower. But for a price of 59k for my car with leather seat, auto cruise, 4 disc brakes, ABS/EBD, it’s really worth it. When i was informed via sms from the mazda sales of m2 launch, i was so eager to have a look, thought i may envy for the car….but turns out to be, a TOTAL DISSAPOINTMENT. The interior looks cheap, even the door sides are lousily design and mounted with cheap plastics, the size of the boot and the inside of car is so crammed, maybe bcos i’m a 6 footer but at least i can breath and move around in my car, or even i felt even more spacious in a Saga. For the price, i would rather recommend get Dugong or City if u’re looking for import car around that price, elsewise u may just opt for Myvi or even Persona. Ok, maybe some ppl may hav hiccups for their local cars, but hey, with an extra gap of RM30k, i hav more than enuf to fix n sustain it. Any car wil only last n good if u take care of it nevertheless, my dad showed me a good example for keeping his antique Saga for 18 years down the road still driving (i even went Cherating n back with it a year ago). Conclusion: I dont see the big deal in imported cars, not to mention when it’s even more unworthy.

• mohsin on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Agree with you, dude!
      My sister’s Gen2 CPS oso amazing! i’m envy with her!
      Like you said, certain features in proton cars are more worth it compared to imported one. I believe that majority of proton bashers are P2, T, H and M salesmen!
      Test drive and Safety first!

• Most of the time, you pay more for stuff you don’t see.

Using the Persona as an example. Compare the sound and action of the central door locks with any current model Korean, e.g. Hyundai i10. Heaven and earth if you ask me.

• nope, u pay for stuff u see and also stuff u dont see….and u total them up and compare for both. its not just abt the looks i’m comparing between my persona n m2 or even hyundai. if u ask me, i can hav the xtra cash to customised if i need better sound proof, alarms, or any other upgradables, including servicing the car for years down the road. N from my friends experience, they hav far more worst problems with Hyundai cars, i wont compare too much to the built or tech for City or Vios, cos those really has the size and built. To me, the m2 is just quite crappy in terms of the positioning of pricing, built, features and most importantly – size. Btw, from wat i know, Mazda 3 should be the same line with vios n city, but mazda in msia seems to put themselves too high line market (i know n i forgive the fact its fully from japan for costing wise) elsewise, i dont see m2 is really any worth buying comparing with my persona.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:02 am

The older Proton models were almost problem free. Its the models after 2000 that had tonnes of problems. But lately ive been told that Proton has improved on their quality. My uncle bought a Waja in 2006 and so far it has been problem free. But ive also heard many horror stories about Proton as well. (im one of those as well).

But i must agree with u that the Persona is quite a good buy for the specs u get. But just have to keep your fingers crossed that your car will have minimal problems. Most ppl in Malaysia have given up on Proton. So once u have given up even if Proton improves alot they will still stay away. Proton has done alot of damage to their image in the past 10 yrs with inferior quality cars so it will take another 10 yrs or more of serious effort from Proton to regain the confidence of Malaysians.

Most Malaysians who buy Proton now are buying not due to preference but because they have no other choice due to cost of foreign makes. Most of us here also started with a Proton and then moved on. Put the Vios and the City at say 60K for instance and ull see how many Proton showrooms become empty.

• Yeap, i agree. I dont bash malaysia as a whole (which a lot ppl does), i dont supports blindly too, i’m not stating proton is doing a wonderful job here, which they SHOULD have for all the yeasr being protected. I think the perception same goes to our local police dept, for years with the bribery thats been on n on, now they wanna change, its gonna take a decade of hardwork. Just like quote : it takes 1 day to crush the trust u built, but it will take u years to reconstruct back the faith (same goes to human relationships hehe…). But i do think even a bandit who was release from the jail needs to be given a chance. Since msia hav their own car, we shud make use of it instead of always trying to just hav everything imported (msia hav the tendency thinking the moon of other countries is always bigger). Take a look in the angle of economy, compare with a lot of countries, not all countries hav the chance of producing tehir own cars, n another fact, not every country everyone gets the chance to own a car or even to sustain a car (ppl complain abt petrol, car tax etc but didnt check the blind spots of some other countries). I just dont think msia shud bash proton, instead shud complain in a constructive way. Anyway, so far my car is good and i’m happy with it, fingers crossed that i’m not so unlucky, but in anything comes i just hav to b sure to get it fix, then it still can really last me good years just like my dad did to his old proton for 18 years. (serious, even my friend of a city owner is now drooling after sitting in my car…haha)

• nabill on Apr 06, 2010 at 2:25 am

i saw one jus now at the ampang showroom …seriosly it has a very low quality feel to it…. nothing feels solid….i like the hatch beter…looks sportier… the sedan looks so disjointed in design…like the rear is from a totally diferent car….

worst of all is the stupid pricing for wat u get….best of all is , go and see the car urself , it makes the waja and persona like a beter quality car ! and for 20k less !

• where is your speed? on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:22 am

errrr……..103bhp and 135NM torque??? Cukup makan ah? even Vios 109bhp also not enuf ler..Auntie car can lah..somemore 4 SPD tranny..if think abt fuel economy 5 SPD mah! Gear ratio too far apart…

• Smart Driver on Apr 06, 2010 at 6:37 am

M2 is very much different from other B-segment car like Vios or City. This car is the world car which was market all around the world. Not like City or Vios only some market in Asia. M2 design to match with world requirment where the design and specification meet world class requirement. When i test drive the car. The feeling like in other luxury continental car. With this price definately a good buy. I own Vios and City before. Thinking something different like M2.

• carlocaraddict on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:20 am

the mazda 2 hatch back and sedan was formally launched two weeks ago here in manila. the sedan is offered here with manual transmission. The hatchback was sold here since december last year but was formally launched two weeks ago. too bad the power folding side mirror was removed as a standard feature here.

• littleboy on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:21 am

when i see the center console……look like G2…..my goodness …..just like the ford fiesta last time…..worse…..rather go for 2nd hand vios……

• Neutral on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:25 am

nice looking car, an alternative to T and H brand for sub-compact sedan. The most important things that Bermaz motor must ensure good after sales services !!!!

• subhero on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:58 am

for me, to look the car is nice is the outside of the car. interior is no.2.

IF interior is better, but outside ugly. people still double think to buy. anyway the price also not so cheap. better go to honda city or honda FREED either to buy this.

for me, i dont go for this car. i dont know how mazdas can approved for this design.

• engine power/torque is weaker than fiesta 1.6 with powershift. hope fiesta 1.6 powershift can be priced around RM85k-RM90k

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 06, 2010 at 2:33 pm

aiyooo..auto connexion predict the price will be from 75-85k…dont encourage them to jack up the price laaa

• Rassan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:18 am

Nice hatchback!

• kerelbort on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:40 am

mazda might probably play the wait and see game with fiesta.. once fiesta launch they might bring in manual tranny to bring down the price to compete with fiesta. well… before you buy any of these car.. think of the maintenance bill later on.. juz a reminder.. ;)

• Bryan on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:00 am

Finally here! Been seeing it in Singapore for God knows how long.

• Bryan on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:01 am

But the sedan is ugly!

• Mayonaise on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:09 am

Paul, the Mazda2 we get here does not come with EBD (Electronic Brake-force Distribution). It has ABS, but no EBD. This is the info I got from Bermaz PJ Showroom.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:01 pm

We wrote our report based on the spec sheet they gave to the press. I just called Bermaz and they confirmed that EBD and Brake Assist ARE included alongside ABS

• keep on bashing on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:19 am

pretty or ugly is very much depends on individual.

good thing is people will have more choice rather than the T&H that flooded the road nowadays.

a cool breeze though~ :)

• James on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:32 am

Paul, correction. This Mazda has only got ABS but not EBD and BA. Sad but true, I think this will be the Achilles Heel of this car judging by the fact that most if not all the car that this Mazda is to pit against (namely, City/Vios/Latio) has got these features as standard…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:00 pm

We wrote our report based on the spec sheet they gave to the press. I just called Bermaz and they confirmed that EBD and Brake Assist ARE included alongside ABS.

• I wonder how is the consumer going to test Bermaz’s latest claim that EBD and BA are included. For all I know, they just pretend that it is because of all the fuss over the fact that they were omitted.

• James on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:37 am

The reason I said they were not included was because I check on the forum as well as went to the showrooms and personally asked 2 different SA from 2 different showrooms and both said that only ABS is available and not EBD/BA. This confirms what I read on one of the Mazda forum

• JohNNy RiCo aL-PoNsO on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:39 am

Which one should i buy :-
    – Honda City
    – Mazda 2
    – Waja replacement model @ Lancer (by Q3/Q4 ~ 2010)
    eeeeeeerrrrrrmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm !!!!

• waja lancer spec for c segment but price 4 b segment .ur money ur rules…….

• MoFaz on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:13 pm

probably we’ll see more Lancer than City on our roads…

• The Ford FIESTA comes out of the SAME Plant/Line in Thailand and is the same Platform as the Mazda 2, the Mazda 2 WON WCOTY (World Car of the Year 2008) the Ford Fiesta did not,

• Tiadaid on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:31 pm

WCOTY means nothing.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 06, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Tiadaid,
        I agree with u. WCOTY rates the car itself while there are many other factors that determine whether a car is really good. Besides, i think the specs are different from the ones given in Malaysia rite?

• haiya… when WCOTY acknowledge certain car that u don’t like, u say it means nothing ka?? then what for WCOTY???? how if WCOTY was given to any T @ H car??? u mesti kecoh.. itu camry sudah dapat best car u bising giler?? Why u don’t say it means nothing also???

• cybermaster98 on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:29 am

M,

Learn to talk without emotion then maybe ull be able to see the facts. As i clearly said there are MANY other factors which determine whether a car is a good buy and these factors are NOT taken into consideration by WCOTY. WCOTY only rates the car as a stand alone e.g specs, value, safety, environment, performance & style plus a road test.

The awards are intended to complement, not compete with those existing national and regional COTY awards, which are different in scope.

WCOTY does not take into account local pricing, after sales service, cost of maintenance, spare parts, resale value, service centre standards, distribution coverage, etc. This is all determined by local conditions which cannot be assessed at the world stage. But we as Malaysians will always look at these factors as well in addition to the factors that WCOTY looks at before we make a purchase. Ppl in US pay 25K for the best cars while we pay 200K so obviously we will be more choosy. (do not take into account the currency as this is a direct comparison)

Nobody is doubting the WCOTY awards in any way. But all we’re saying is that getting a WCOTY award is not the only determining factor in purchasing a vehicle. If that was the case why isnt Volkswagen the top selling non national car here in Malaysia? It has won numerous world awards in the past 3 years rite? Its because of these other factors not taken into account by WCOTY.

Cheers!

• guest on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:02 am

at last, finally arrived in mesia..old time in china lor..
    nway, hope for the quality in it..
    gudlak mazda..

• wilsbrother on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:00 pm

I saw this car yesterday , very reliable, very eye catchy for white and red. Booked for a test drive this sunday. But 1 thing i dun really understand is this car came without a glove compartment ain the center handbreak section, why?…and the rear sit abit low so make ppl diffecult to move out from the car and no USB port T_T . the rest is just Best. The best thing is 10k only services once ha.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:59 pm

The 10K service intervals has been there for some time with many car makes. I think even Proton also recommends 10K service intervals. Toyota is the same.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:23 pm

What do u mean by ‘very reliable’? Did u make this observation from the photos?

• wilsbrother on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:33 pm

I seen the car yesterday , is much better then what i expected, a solid interior and exterior, cooling air-con, nice cutting for all edges very fine cut for the interior plastic too. And check with the salesman each time service just around rm200 to 300. compare to T and H this is cheaper and lighter weight for full spec.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:43 am

Yes u could be right. But again ive not seen the interior so i wont comment. But please dont listen to salesmen about service costs. They are only refering to NORMAL service e.g engine oil, oil filter, spark plugs without any part replacement. The real cost of service comes from the MAJOR service and parts replacement. Even u walk into a BMW showroom they will tell u the service is a few hundred only. They are not lying but neither are they giving u the whole picture either.

Cooling air con? How did u determine that? By switching on the aircon when the car was sitting under the shade?

As a customer we should always be practical in our assessment. Do not be taken in by salesmen talk. They need to make a living so no salesman is gonna tell you the negative points of their product. Every car has its positive and negative aspects. Its up to us as the consumer to do our research and make the final decision on which positive and negative aspects we can or cannot accept.

Cheers!

• Hazriq on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:03 pm

VIOS >> 109PS at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,200rpm..
    Mazda 2 >> 103 bhp at 6,000 rpm and 135 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm
    Anyone can compare the price? i just cant find it anywhere..

• cybermaster98 on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:04 pm

wallstreet says:
    5/4/2010 at 4:43 pm
    I think you should take a look at the real thing before you comment. The interior and exterior quality are far better than City and Vios..By the way, this car was voted World Car of The Year, I don’t think CIty or Vios can even come close to be compared…

Where did u get your World Car of the Year info from? As far as i know the WCOTY 2010 was won by Volks Polo. Mazda 2 is not even in the top 30 cars who were shortlisted. The only Mazda is that list was the Mazda 3.

Anyway, i havent seen the car myself so i wont comment on the interior feel. But what i can say is the rear design alone will kill it. This Mazda 2 will NOT sell. Mark my words. It wont even do half as well as the Mazda 3. Even though the Mazda 3 had good specs and physical looks, its sale figures were mediorce. Wasnt even in the Top 10 list for non national car sales. But still i think the Mazda 3 is quite a good car except for the rear space. This Mazda2 however is a far cry although its pricing is competitive. I wont place any hope on this model making waves in Malaysia.

Just my 2 cents worth.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:11 pm

WCOTY 2008. Either way it wont sell in Malaysia unless the after sales service and distribution improves. The car on its own is good. But its the other factors that kill it.

• wallstreet on Apr 06, 2010 at 2:13 pm

cybermaster98 says: Mazda 2 will NOT sell. Mark my words. It wont even do half as well as the Mazda 3.

——————————————————————————-
      Errr……already received more than 400 bookings. Thats already more than Mazda 3 booking since launching.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:22 pm

We’ll wait for the official monthly sale figures to come out. All these ‘booking’ numbers are sometimes salesman talk only. I would never trust any verbal info from them.

But i did like the M2 when i saw the initial pics but now after seeing the real pics ive lost interest. Same with the M3. I was almost ready to buy when i sat in the rear seat and cancelled my plan.

• i think u tipu la… n better yet i think u have somting to do with either T @ H… When this mazda launch, u bising2 make noisy… I also saw your comment at Forte.. You always trigger maki hamun on this site..

• Cynical on Apr 06, 2010 at 6:57 pm

M, leave this faggot to worship his heaven-sent Vios. To him, that car is the bestest 4 wheeled motorized vehicle in the entire universe. All car makers should copy and paste the dugngness and lame-assed design of the Vios if they don’t want to close shop. All cars are inferior to the Vios McDugong. All hail the dugong!!!!

• cybermaster98 on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:36 am

Whatever i say is my personal comment and nobody can take that away. If u wanna fight lets fight facts with facts. My Vios is far from the best for sure but even though its 7 yrs old it excels in areas which even the Mazda 3 doesnt. Plus dont forget its only 50% the price of the Mazda3. Ill stand by all my comments which is why i do not change my nickname unlike some ppl here who change their names in order not to be bashed again in other forums. Read the comments in the Forte forum and ull see how some of those guys escaped when the forum got closed. Hope it doesnt happen here.

Anyway, lets keep our comments car related at all times. No need for personal attacks. So M and Cynical, if u cant adhere to this then take my advise and stay away. Nobody wants to hear your character assassination remarks so kindly keep them to yourself.

Cheers!

• Cynical on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Does your own self contributes to this ‘nobody’? Screw off man, I can say whatever I want. Quoting you again “Whatever i say is my personal comment and nobody can take that away”.

What’s with the “stand by my comments” crap? I would never want you to change your nick, no sirrie. Makes it much easier to spot a fag like you.

• amarz on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:11 pm

———————-
      The superb Mazda2, aka Demio in Japan, is now parked on the World Car of the Year throne for 2008. New king of the world Mazda2 won its crown over other top-three finalists Ford Mondeo and Mercedes-Benz C-Class.
      ————————–
      http://www.worldcarfans.com/10803201762/mazda2-wins-world-car-of-the-year-award

• cybermaster98 on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:33 pm

This is old story man. Its already 2010 now.

• amarz on Apr 09, 2010 at 8:25 am

at least you buy World Car of the Year, something to be proud and not rememder last time T & H win car of the year

• cybermaster98 on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:12 pm

Spec List for Mazda 2:

http://www.mazda-motor.com/mazda-2-specifications

• _xXx_ on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:23 pm

OK let me summarize…Mazda sux, potong jugak sux. The 4 girls up there are the best….

• p4k4bu on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:35 pm

I surfed Mazda Malaysia’s web and found:

“There is no official brochure, all you can see is available from the internet and the “unofficial channels”

More answers can be obtained from the Mazda showroom..”

LOL …. so “lazy” one…..
    They are not expecting it to sell well perhaps?

• Supertram on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:15 pm

The sedan R grade is on 45 series tires which is not comfortable-ish, but nice handling. For a small car it feel kinda underpowered, which is bad. Interior design is fresh n the finishing n material is not bad at all, but BETTER then Vios, dont take me word, see ( n feel ) for yourself. Additional accessories are 1k+ package which include skirting n ducktail spoiler, NO front n back skirting only left n right, which is weird. Add rm2.3k for “Mazda” embossed leather seats , black only but really nice looking.

At launching event, when i asked. Only 4 confirm booked thus far *smirk*

• think on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:16 pm

a good car with a slight downgrade..the 4 speed auto really spoils…consider the upcoming fiesta…….[…

• I must have read wrongly. Someone who literally kissed the ground that his Dugong rolls on almost bought a Mazda ? hmmm….

• cybermaster98 on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:49 am

My Vios is the 1st generation 2003 model and its problem free so far and performing well. So dont blindly assume that all Vios is DUGONG. I hate the Dugong look as well.

I dont allow emotion to affect my decision to upgrade my car. I look at all factors before i make any decision and so far i have yet to make any wrong ones. The Mazda and Korean makes all have great cars with really good specs. But its the after sale service and costs of maintenance that drives ppl to Toyota and Honda not to mention the reliability factor. So if somewhr down the road they can improve in these aspects im sure many Malaysians would consider buying non T&H cars.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:29 am

and for the guy comparing a persona SE to a Mazda 2? its the taxes. You should be comparing the quality of your persona to at MINIMUM the Hyundai Elantra, Kia Forte, Civic, Altis and the rest of the C segment.

There are no US/Canada prices yet but expect it to start where the Jazz/Fit, which starts from about 15k….(realistically about 23k fully loaded with taxes, basically OTR) that’s how cheap cars really are.

• AL-Penth on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:36 am

i think my g.livina is much value for money than this smiley face. :-)

• ard501 on Apr 07, 2010 at 7:44 am

xlma lg toyota gulung tikar udh d US..

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2010&dt=0407&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Luar_Negara&pg=lu_04.htm

• cybermaster98 on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:33 am

Please dont bring any articles from Utusan Malaysia into this forum. Its mostly nonsense. And by the way Toyota will NEVER gulung anything in the US unless they go bankcrupt or something. The same for GM. Only those who read silly reports from silly newspapers will believe nonsense like this. Go to international websites and ull see a better truth.

Cheers!

• salam on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:41 am

Talking about Utusan Malaysia writing nonsense, I would like to ask Cybermaster how many times he has read the newspaper? Has he read Autocar magazine it is even more biased. Most the winners of the categories are British. Talk about being bias.

• have to check it out in person

• ugly lol. tooo bulky for me

• Alifz on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:05 pm

If you want a car with Euro NCAP rate 5, then this car will beat Vios…hehe

• cyc3488 on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:13 pm

The interior design and console looks boring..

• Wendy on Apr 07, 2010 at 5:23 pm

I bought it…..an uncommon car to see compared to the amount of T & H which flooding the roads…At least M2 refreshing to the eyes compared to the common 1….
    As new Toyota Vios launched, a lot ppl complained it was d most ugly car too, but stil……crowded on d road….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:13 pm

i agree. so people. if u do not want this car on the road. say it’s pretty. you all do not often see alfa romeo’s on the road, do you?

• malowar on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Yuppp, IMHO, for foreign car price range RM75k to RM85k/90k, the choices has always been between T & H and perhaps several others. With this M2 and Fiesta sibling, these could add more options & alternatives to future car buyers, like me huhuhu ;-)

• Hatch looks nice.

You will still get a modern Japanese designed engine, that is by itself rather good.

• kslee on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:07 am

Now, this is overpriced. Get a myvi and use that 30k to pump ur tank or top up 30k and get the lotus neo R3.

• Toomanysourgrapes on Apr 08, 2010 at 10:45 am

Think shd take it logically. I have tested the car personally. Handling is much better than Vios. Maybe the horse power is lower compare to vios but Mazda2 weighted lighter than vios too. If you look at things logically, the car works better than vios. Of coz, people will start comparing resale value, i never expect we could make money from car. If wanna make money, go for property. Anyway dun feel good with toyota, the way they handle the massive recall. see below article. Another thing, since when Toyota Thailand is so good that ourbeat toyota US and Japan. When these 2 countries have massive recall on camry but UMW claimed that there is no problem with camry here. Who design the car and the parts? All Toyota Thailand do is copy from US and Japan. If these 2 region got problem, why Thai plant dun see problem. So they copy everythng except the defects? JUst think logically. The main issue is consumer rights here not well protected. so, why bother!!!

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100408/ap_on_bi_ge/us_toyota_recall

• GoMazda5 on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:38 am

Mazda2 is lighter than the Vios? What is the weight of the Mazda2 then? When ppl compare resale value nobody is talking about MAKING PROFIT. Its about minimising your losses when u sell. Only a fool will buy a car to make profit.

Dont worry about the recall. There’s alot more going on in the US regarding Toyota and GM than u know. There’s alot of politics involved. So just analyse the car for what it is. Leave the politicking to the politicians. No need for us to start commenting based on a few news reports.

For your info, the reason why Toyota Thailand said they are not affected is because the accelerator pedal was not supplied by the same supplier as in US and Europe. The car may be the same and the specs can be similar but the suppliers differ according to different regions. Its not about who designed the car or parts but who SUPPLIED the parts.

Hyundai also had a major recall involving 1 million vehicles last year. Does it mean we all stop buying Hyundai? If u wanna choose a car without a recall then choose PROTON. It has never had such a recall and it never will. So im sure thats the safest car for you rite?

Please check all the facts before blindly bashing Toyota or any other car for that matter. Its not the best car for sure but that doesnt mean it deserves any unfair comments from u or anybody else.

• MoFaz on Apr 10, 2010 at 9:54 pm

who said proton never recall? do you know google?.. go there and type “proton recall”
      you’re the blind basher here.

• of course PROTON never recalled… coz they don’t even know what goes wrong with the problems…

• mazda = must_die on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:19 pm

hmmm…. gooood.

better than new facelifted vios 2010.

• mazda = must_die??? So bad! Got pros & cons for each model of car actually.

• wochomi on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:54 pm

The Mat Salleh sabotage Toyota is it? Jealous wat…. Ford cannot sell. After the trick worked, Honda and Mitsu also kena..

By the way, lots of people here comment as if they can actually buy the mazda like it’s a tricycle. And to all those paper-spec-comparing nerds… go play your NSF series instead on your playstation.

• sauron on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:00 pm

i prefer the hatchback (and the girls).

• Chips's Fan on Apr 08, 2010 at 5:31 pm

“There is no need for those who have no interest or have a dislike for a model or brand to go to that brand/model’s section and post negative messages. If you don’t like a model or brand, just ignore the discussions. Why go and criticise others who like it? It’s not your money they are using to buy their favourite car.”

• KKZOOOOM on Apr 08, 2010 at 7:24 pm

I totally agreed to “Chip’s Fan” comment.
    Some of you ……pls grow up.

• In other countries M2 is priced about the same with its closest T and H competitors. Here M2 is cheaper; and that’s not taking into account Vios’s impending price hike, and City’s usual premium (and the stupid 5k service interval). So in terms of price its good. Will be slightly cheaper than the new Fiesta, but then again Fiesta is better specified. Anyway, long live the Mazdas and Fords; may you teach the T and H duopoly a lesson in not taking us deprived Malaysians for a ride!

On a side note, the bigger mischief maker is, of course, our politicians, who is forcing ‘the rakyat’ to buy inferior quality cars with high fuel consumption.

• I so agree with you.

If you’re a true driver, there is not much to choose from, if the P 1 and 2, T and H are not viable options.

• got a physical look at the car today @ 1 utama roadshow. no doubt the exterior look is a bit weird compare with City. but overall internal finishing is better and in premium quality compare with City. and don’t mention persona definitely as you can’t compare a 59k car with 80k car. all in all, it’s still a good preference for those opt for lower end japanese car. besides, this is assembled from thailand instead of buatan malaysia…

just my 2 cents :)

• cyberspace on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:47 am

I went to the roadshow, all i can say is moderate car as the specs not that wow…furhthermore i got my head stuck when try to enter the back seat..

• Test drove the R-spec 2 last Sunday. My comments:

1. I disagree that the sedan version is out of proportion like the previous City. It appears OK. The previous was horrible by the way.
    2. Awesome handling. Loved how it handled curves and sharp corners. You don’t get this in Vios, City and Latio.
    3. Even though it is sports tuned, the firm suspension still absorbs shocks very well. Comfort is not sacrificed at all.
    4. Cabin quietness – the best in its class.
    5. Dashboard design is strikingly B-segmentish. Its roundish design is something different though. Not sure if the design could stand the test of time. Materialwise, its plasticky just like most modern cars nowadays. I must commend the audio switches on the steering wheel that comes standard in all trims. I love the optional leather seats and upholstry.
    6. The price is already just right. I hope Bermaz will maintain the current price. I’ll definitely get one if they maintain their prices.
    7. The 2 is a driver’s car indeed. Hope it will break the B-segment monopoly.

• I just collected this M2 ride on Sat ! Im loving it !

The best experience was there’s no major defect when collecting the car. Only the some polish need to be done at the dirt area as im getting White color. The ride is excellent with very good throttle response. You definitely dont get this in T/H. I own a City & Civic 1.8s before. If to compare, City handling is not at par with M2. M2 pickup also very good. Only bad point i feel is top speed is only 150kmh.. maybe can go more after 1st service.. haha…
    The built is solid ! no eek eek or tik tik sound.. built quality for me is good..
    Excellent service frm Bermaz my SA. I definitely recommend this ride for ppl looking at 1.5 ride.. Peace..!

• cybermaster98 on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:17 am

(M2 pickup is very good)

Can i know what ure comparing against? The City or the Civic? What year models are those cars? The M2’s kerb weight is 1053kg and it has 103HP.

• minnow on Apr 14, 2010 at 11:42 am

wat the hell JY….are u blind or just plain dumb….Mazda 3 is comparable to Civic….Mazda 2 is shit car…interior worst than proton….size awfully small….very bad NVH….n totally empty car (no features at all) considering the price….n using drum brakes for the rear..omg…..

• Oh yes…one more note… while hi-speed taking in corner / overtake is very fun ! The steering is not too light nor hard but just nice.. it makes u feel more confidence with it compare to other.. test it yourself ! & u ll know the diff.. now i un why ppl say Mazda Zoom Zoom….

• cybermaster98 on Apr 14, 2010 at 1:46 pm

U feel more confident with the M2 compared to others? So wht is this ‘others’? Which car are u comparing against? If u ask a Kancil owner to drive a Civic he will say its a great car. U ask a BMW guy to drive a Civic and he might say its crap. Thats why u must always state your comparison benchmarks.

• Proton or Perodua should design this kind of model and sell it less than RM50K sure sales like hot cakes…

Maybe proton/ perodua can buy this model and produce a manual version…. less than RM50k is reasonable….

The Red one looks very nice… but RM85k? Mahal!!!!

• Dude,
    of course city la.. how can i compare to Civic le… iDSi 03 model..

• cybermaster98 on Apr 14, 2010 at 1:42 pm

Thats why la. Ure comparing with City IDSI…which has got poor pickup. City IDSI is about 1050kg and only about 90 HP i think. If u compare M2 with this surely u say the pickup very good. Go compare with Vios and then u tell me whether your M2 still very good pickup or not. Vios 03 is only about 950kg but has got 109HP. Its the power to weight ratio thats important.

When u say something is good or bad always remember u need to know your BENCHMARK COMPARISON.

• at last, people always compare. just choose car that match with our preferences. my car, my money.

• Oh, Master, your Vios again ar…Hmm, i kno ur Vios is god car for u….But for me, hmmmmm….

• cybermaster98 on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:21 am

Yes LA. The Vios is a good car. Not a great car though but still good. Its been problem free for the past 7 yrs and still smooth.

• Dude, since your vios so good.. wanna test ? who say citi have poor pick up ? u drive one ? u own one ? if u dont dont say so.. if you do, test it..
    haiz. i dont un why ppl here r so childish .. only look into ur own ride.. yeah ur own ride is the best la.. stick with it.. dont buy others..

• cybermaster98 on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:14 am

JY,

My wife has a City IDSI sitting in my car porch. And please dont claim that im lying because in earlier forums i had already said this. Which i why i have the RIGHT to comment on a Honda City IDSI.

Even a no brainer like you should be able to value facts. How can u possibly say a City IDSI has good pick up when it only has around 90HP and a car weight of around 1050kg? A Vios has 109HP and only 950kg car weight. Obviously the IDSI City has a poorer pick up compared to the Vios. Silly man!

If u wanna test please do come. I dare you anytime. My 2003 Vios will easily tapau your IDSI City. Over the years i have had many of these City drivers trying to race me on highways and at traffic lights. Most of the time i dont bother but sometimes ill just floor the peddle just to teach them a lesson. So far none of these IDSI cars have made it. Maybe u wanna be the first? Please do come. Lets put a price tag on the winner. Im sure we can find a safe spot to test out my theory. We just need about 1km of straight road.

HAHA! Whats your comment now?

• Fiver on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:22 pm

“Over the years i have had many of these City drivers trying to race me on highways and at traffic lights”

lol. this statement is just made me soil my pants with fear!!! talking high abt yourself like evryone wants to race with ure supercool vios. are you still in highschool or what? why not just say evry car on malaysian roads wants to race with your powerful vios and you can still tapau them? better not yet, you put up a booth on the roadside and ask people to race with your vios. ure a very ‘syok sendiri’ guy lorr.

your wife have a city idsi konon. if you hate the darn city idsi of yours why bother keep it? sell off la and buy another vios. dont say that you dont have money. owning a vios + city shows you have good income what? or you can just gather money when u race people with your lightning fast vios and then buy another one for your wife and let her also tapau other city idsi? “the husband-wife idsi tapau duo!!”

please sir, ure rants and comments here are totally nonconstructive and irrelevant to this page topic to a point that it seems that youre just trying to show off u have a vios and talk total bullshit. maybe u dont even own one, maybe u borrowed ure grandma’s car once and totally say that vios pwns the city idsi??! lol.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:42 am

Fiver,
          Ure really not very smart eh? I said my wife has a City. She thinks thats good enuf for her and its very economical. I do not determine what my wife does with her own money. She’s more than capable of managing her finances as i am with mine. But im sure if she does change her car it will not be another Honda.

As for your other comments, i make them based on my own experiences. I dont lie and neither do i exargerate. However feel free to think otherwise. As ive also said MANY times, Toyota isnt the best and neither is the Vios. But its gotten me safely from A to B and its problem free for the past 7 yrs. These are facts and facts cannot change. So far i do not know of anybody among my family members or friends with Toyota who have experienced any major problems. This again is another fact which u cannot change.

U must be another City owner who got tapau-d by a Vios on the road hence your reservations. As ive clearly mentioned before, most of the time i dont bother but sometimes i do floor the pedal. This doesnt happen on a daily basis but maybe a few times a year. Nothin much.

I speak based on facts of my own experiences. I did not ask u to accept neither deny them. I will express my views freely again based on my own experience. You are free to comment on them and refute them if u feel fit but do not ever classify my comments as bullshit. If they are irrelevant then prove me wrong. Otherwise, keep your silence.

Cheers!

• Fiver on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:04 pm

yeah, im not that smart, but still smart enough not to post all around paultan.org about how good my 7y/o vios is over and over again until a lot of people are fed up with your rants.

its just annoying how you defend your car, comparing with other cars and talk crap abt them. yes i understand your car is very reliable for this past 7yrs and such with good “power to weight ratio”, but please do keep those smack talk about other cars to your own fantasy. U dont need to insult other people’s cars just to make a point that your car fking rocks.

oh, and nope, im no city owner and i own a car that for sure your vios cant tapau any day :)

but hey, i admire your persistence, mostly fighting a 1 man war with your vios with people in this forum for so long.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Talking crap about other cars? Insulting? Why dont u prove a;ll this to me? Show me what ‘crap’ ive posted and the proof why u think its crap. As far as i know, i havent posted crap and everything i post comes with valid reasons.

Plus as ive already said many times (which u conveniently ignore) is that whenever i comapre its against a particular make or model while accepting that my car is indeed inferior to other makes or models in different aspects.

U assume too much. I only bring up the Vios as we’re mostly talking about cars in that category. Are u also assuming that i only have the Vios? U have alot to learn about analysing ppl.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Alot of ppl are fed up with my posts? Im fighting a 1 man war? Haha! Please do read up and quote all the comments which support me or are against me. Please do that first b4 u embarass yourself further. Its easy to quantify 2 or 3 posts as ‘alot’ eh? U have a problem counting? Need a calculator?

Its ppl like you who deserve to be bashed in here. if u were indeed driving such a high level car u wouldnt be spending so much of time on this particular thread. Take your own lies elsewhere. I did reveal in a previous thread my new car’s number plate. Would a WSP plate belong to a 2003 Vios? The guy who was supposed to ‘get the info’ failed miserably. U wanna go down that same path? Or maybe u are that same guy.

Dont judge me based on wht u think i drive. Im here to talk about cars and provide purely technical arguments which can be refuted and proven wrong by anybody here in this forum. Im open to constructive critism at any time. But kindly ensure its purely techical. So take your personal remarks and attempts at character assination elsewhere. If u wanna talk about cars then i welcome you.

Cheers!

• to cybermaster98,

u surely have plenty much of time, i can c ur determination on replying almost EVERY single post ppl write to u. i don’t know you but when i read your comments, i can feel the reason why some ppl don’t like u, no offence. cheers

• Isn’t is also 1.5 category? Haha u tapau all r? Gd for u.. I’m leaving this forum chat cause ain’t go anywhere but bias remarks. Hang on wz ur vios and concurred the ride dude..As I enjoyed my ride.. I ain’t salesman to put remarks on the ride but what I feel.. U can continue the great talk for it vios dude.. Cheers n peace !

• cybermaster98 on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:17 am

JY,

U have obviously extremely limited knowledge about car engines and the relationship with power. The 1.5L category is merely a classification. Its does not represent a constant value for engine power and performance. Each car within the 1.5L category will have different engine performance ratings. The actual pickup of a particular make is determined by the POWER : WEIGHT ratio. So if you have a low hp engine but a heavier car of course your car pickup will be poor.

In the case of the Vios, it has excellent pickup. It’s 0-100kmph pickup is rated as 9.8 secs (2003 model in ideal conditions of course). It had the best pickup among the 1.5L cars and most of the 1.6L category cars as well until the new City came along. But the Vios suffers from lower torque values. Hence once u load up the car the performance drops. But overall ive found it to be quite good till this day.

Hope this clarifies your confusion.

• Bravo mazda 2 !! u done a great jobs. T&H better watch out of it.

• mazda = must_die for the car on Apr 16, 2010 at 4:07 pm

JY,

No point arguing with this cybermaster lah. He is notorious in condemning other makes if you have browsed thru just only paultan.org.

All other makes are shit in his eyes, his Vios is the best, 7 years still the best. Even when other Vios owners are suffering from the quality and services (4 mth new but entered SC few times, till date yet to collect it). Not every Vios is good, he is just a piece of lucky shit.

• Mazda2buyer on Apr 17, 2010 at 8:19 am

Hi guys,

I am buying Mazda2 as second car since I hv owned a Camry. I think both are good car no matter Toyota or Mazda. And I was thinking for a good reason why shd I buy a Mazda 2. Not easy to justify la but finally I think of one reason, I just do not want to have same car with cybermaster – the world greatest Vios. I feel bad if I own same car with him. If he is buying camry next time, pls let me know. I will sell off my camry. My objective is just dun want to hv same car with him. LOL.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:31 am

Haha Mazda2buyer! Ure a funny guy. No prob mate. We should meet up for a drink sometime. Cheers!

• Kimizo on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:03 pm

mazda2 versus vios and city
    which is better?

• CarForLady on Apr 19, 2010 at 4:34 pm

M thinking of buying a car for my wife, she likes Swift, but I think Swift has ady on the road for sometime and it has no “freshness” to me, suddenly saw this mazda2, it looks good. Can sifu here recommend some “petite” models (budget under rm90k) to my wife? TQVM

• mr honda on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:23 pm

me s honda fans….me s city drivers.compare wit mazda 2 ,me think the mazda2 look better like honda city…but city most power wit mazda 2 .

• cybermaster98 on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:26 am

Mazda2 look better than the new Honda City? U must be blind. Im a Toyota fan but but no way is the M2 better looking than the city. Only Mazda salesmen will say that.

• DeVildel on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:58 pm

hi guys,

those who are interested in getting a Mazda 2, be sure do secure ur bookings now as intro pricing are about to end and prices will increase on 1st May.

happy zoom zooming

• wahedenator on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:11 pm

mazda 2 hatchback VS satria neo CPS
    which one better?
    :D

• anakin on Apr 20, 2010 at 6:21 pm

this car lebih sesuai untuk pempuan daaa. so mana2 lelaki yang end up dengan mazda 2 ni mesti diarang jenis Gurik punyelaaa…hahaha……prefer mazda 3 yang lebih sporty….

• Hatchback is much more propotional, sedan is quite funny. My advice is go for mazda 3 & mazda 6 if possible. Hatchback is a fun car but overprice. For this price you are paying, you got prentty of better choices in the market.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:03 am

JL,

I agree with u. Ive just seen 2 Mazda2’s on the road this morning and i would say that the Sedan’s rear end is the worst ive seen since the 1st generation Honda City. PLus its too high up and not streamlined with the front. The Mazda2 sedan is a definite no go. The Honda City still sold well despite its funny looks cuz it was a Honda. This M2 sedan will not have such luck for sure. I think Mazda really screwed this one up badly.

I havent seen the Hatchback on the road yet but im sure it will be much better.

• i’m buying my Mazda2. Its cool. i buy bcoz of its stylish look and more suitable for gal. haha.. buying it for my wife.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:25 am

Stylish definitely not. But maybe if its for ladies then it could be ok. But i doubt any guy would wanna be seen driving it. Its really funny from the back. It may look ok in the showroom but on the road u can see its lopsidedness. Not sure about the specs but that could be ok.

• I’m managed to get 1 too….

• Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Your wife could look like a pig to others but she’s stunning in your eyes. There is absolutely no need to call someone ‘blind’. Learn some manners.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 22, 2010 at 1:42 pm

1U,
      Only a blind person will say a M2 is better looking than the City. Thats my fact. I didnt ask u to accept that. Ure entitled to your opinion the same way im entitled to my observations. Learn some manners yorself.

• Kindly explain how a visually impaired person can judge a car’s appearance. I’d like to be enlightened.

• Lady_Vios on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:56 am

Vios is for ladies …..
        Design for ladies …..
        Driven by ladies …..
        That’s y, I owned a Vios….

• M2_owner on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:42 pm

cybermaster, dun waste yr time posting those negative comments here. i can said all yr comments are just rubbish and tat is my fact too, haha . think positive a bit lah!!

• Mazda2buyer on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:44 pm

1u,
    dun waste ur time arguing on all this. It’s ur money and u decide wat u want to buy with ur money. There are many negative comments here and some said Mazda 2 is car for lady. Why care abt this? I’m a guy,I owning a camry but I’m going to get Mazda 2. There is nothing wrong with this. I even own better car than camry b4 but I dun comment abt the smaller car is for lady. Furthermore, there are many people post negative comments and when u ask what car they buy, some can be driving proton, with 9 years instalment. So when u afford to buy Mazda 2, be proud. Anyway, I expect some will think I’m arrogant. Yes, I’m arrogant with the money I have. I afford to pay cash for my Mazda2. At least I buy with the money I earn, not others.

• zoom-zoom on Apr 26, 2010 at 3:35 pm

I own one (hatchback of course) at the moment and it’s pretty awesome to me :) Enjoying the privilege of being the rare few on the road before the next batch arrives.

• I just booked one. I believe that this car does its job pretty well. Has good enough pick up and smooth power output. Good handling too. Build quality is quite quite satisfactory. I test drove the others, Vios and City, somehow this car feels much better. Wins hands down on handling.Prob loses out on torque and acceleration…
    well.. It won my vote compared to the other two……..

• joebalok on May 02, 2010 at 10:21 pm

yes ur right…i own m2 sedan…nice driving experience….satisfied ….

• cybermaster98 on May 06, 2010 at 3:17 pm

What did u drive before this? As i mentioned many times before u need to know what ure comparing against. If u compare the M2 against a BMW it will be crap. If u compare against a Proton Juara then the M2 is luxury.

• didnt I say that i am comparing with the vios and the city…and this car turns out better….am not sinile enough to compare with a beemer…….

• cybermaster98 on May 15, 2010 at 9:16 am

Rave,
            I was replying to joebalok not YOU. Kindly read carefully before responding.

• joebalok on May 02, 2010 at 10:13 pm

beautiful…sporty…..

• buttonose on May 04, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Hey guys, im planning to buy one too. Want advise from someone own one. Hows the FC like?

• I bought a mazda2 hatch for the missus. I’m a biker, but I now find myself driving the car at every opportunity. Good fun car. Economical as well – rm60 carries me a bit over 400km, mostly town driving with some spirited driving (hey, blame the Mazda guys). Mazda is well known for reliability, so should be okay in that department. Biggest complaint – cheap looking plastics & upholstery. But I’m a fan.

• cybermaster98 on May 06, 2010 at 9:07 am

Yes Mazda should be ok. But fuel consumption depends on wht ure comparing against. My Vios for example goes for about 560km (city drive only) with 1 full tank (RM75). But then again, for new cars the FC only stabilises after a few full tanks. The initial readings could be very good or very bad depending on the make. Best to observe after about 6-7 full tank refills.

Cheers!

• buttonose on May 06, 2010 at 7:43 am

Thanks riz, appreciate your feedback :)

• Like i said earlier…..its a better bet than the vious or city

• cybermaster98 on May 06, 2010 at 3:15 pm

Better in some aspects only mind you.

• in comparing like to like…it is better…read my earlier comments…i said it out…there are certain aspects it looses out….I never said its the ultimate car…..mind YOU…..

• cybermaster98 on May 15, 2010 at 9:15 am

ure the one who needs to read carefully. Im responding to your comment saying that the M2 is a better bet than the Vios or City. Thats why i said better in some aspects only. Understand?

• You should read on chain of comments before jumping the gun on any one particular comment. When someone gives a comment, try o be proactive and not destructive, lots of people here have seen and driven the car and they felt its better and if someone feels its nice doesnt mean that they are blind.
            And when the compare withthe other makes, you go comparing with beemers….really uncalled for…….now … what you know of a beemer????You own one??
            I do and I dont need to compare the two……I am saying the M2 is a good car……………..

• cybermaster98 on May 24, 2010 at 11:05 am

U dont get me at all Rave. Im not comparing the M2 against a beemer. it would be silly. Im saying that we need to know wht we’re comparing against in order to know wht benchmarks are used. If a guy who has used a beemer all his life suddenly sits in a M2 then the M2 will be crap to HIM. But if he has used a Proton juara then the M2 is luxury. Thats all im saying. Im not comparing a M2 with a beemer on whatever terms. Got it?

• Catherine on May 14, 2010 at 9:49 pm

I use the Madza 2, it’s really light, soft and economic. I love it so much.

• Catherine on May 14, 2010 at 9:56 pm

My first used car was Madza, and now i choose the Madza 2 for my new vehicle. I kno that i had a right choice. It’s nice .. and —

• cybermaster98 on May 15, 2010 at 9:18 am

So uve only driven a Mazda? Just wondering how you would classify making the right choice when u havent driven / owned other makes?

• My_Mazda on May 24, 2010 at 10:41 am

Hi all,

Don’t be bothered by this cybermaster. He is a complete jerk. He is being very protective about his comments. He owns a Vios 2004. He cannot take critism. What he said is always “right”, you can comment but must be on his side, else he will haunt you the rest of your life.

To him, if any good cars that launched in the market, he will start to condemn it. Why? Because these cars will affect his Toyota business.

He is too much chicken. Toyota has quite a large share in the market, no one will snatch the business from him. We consumers just want more choices in the market for different likes, not just only T&H.

• cybermaster98 on May 24, 2010 at 10:59 am

Hi,

Just for yer info, i fight facts with facts. If you have comments pls share (with facts). If not it might be best to keep silent. For your info 1 of my cars is a Vios 2003 not a 04 model. I havent condemned any car as each car has its strengths and weaknesses. I just do not appreciate ppl saying a car is ‘best’ when they havent driven any other make. I havent said the Vios is the best either. I speak with facts and anybody is welcome to comment on my posts but with credible facts pls. No hard feelings yea.

Cheers!

• Al-Kasbar on May 25, 2010 at 12:07 am

Ok guys, time to be honest with yourself.

The sedan look every bit like a China car from the 90’s, admit it.

• The Sedan is not pretty, yep. But beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Update: the best mileage I have now is 430km for RM60. That’s approaching 13km/l. Mostly town driving, and I sometimes drive like a lunatic. Engine is silent, accelerating is good, handling is superb. Its inviting and addictive.

Cybermaster: if your writing reflects your state of mind, I belief you are in desperate need of psychological help. Otherwise, get a life! ;)

• cybermaster98 on May 25, 2010 at 2:38 pm

Yes Riz, im sure you know best. Try fighting facts with facts and while ure at it, do grow up.

• Hai, I’m buying mazda2. My first time buying a car. Car dealer told me dat d latest 9tears car loan interest is 3.5% for mazda by ambank. Anyone knows lower interst rate from some other bank for mazda? Hope someone can help me asap. Putting downpayment this 29th. Anyone? Paul? Danny?

• buttnose on May 27, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Hi Nur,

Ask the salesman whether he can get for u lower interest or not then u buy from him
      try other places b4 buying the car. Ask the salesman to help u, thts his job to find out which bank can give u lower interest

good luck

• Nur, im mazda 2 owner…I got d interest rate of 2.83% from Eon Bank.

• buttnose on May 27, 2010 at 3:02 pm

Yo ppl who dont like mazda 2, why the heck you trying to defend vios here. ? Im confused.

if u own one or wants more info then share it.

• Hey Ling thanks a lot for the heads up!
    It’s Wesak Day & weekend, so have to wait until monday.
    if u don’t mind, when did u purchase ur mazda2.
    hope to hear from u soon!

• Wats up on Jun 01, 2010 at 5:00 pm

lol why u guys getting crzy so much can not afford to buy m2? i test drive this baby to be honest…amazing handling fun to drive..better pick up…very nice lookin…. and some of you talkin bullshit sayin that shit spec.. :) lol same spec as T and H… why its bother you so much ??

bad about this car…since the car 2010:)

No arm rest,no usb and bluetooth…no side mirror light and back of the car look damn funny :))…other then that value for money..thats why i booked white sedan….

• LOL, Silly Malaysians, Asian aesthetic value are strange. Mazda 2 Sedan is superb, It looks like a sport car and I just got it for RM46,000 (AUD 16,990) for the 1498cc .. I think you are all paying costly for buying all sort of cars and having it downgraded. Malaysian average salaries sucks, and it’s a quarter of any EU or developed nations but you need two pay twice to buy a car. Malaysians are paying extra and get crappy deals instead we get the extras. No wonder you are complaining and I am not.

• Jon, please dun said like tt. As Malaysian, we have no choice!!! Else u think we can fight with govenment????? Somemore, we can’t choose the place we want to be born what…..

• mazda_power on Jun 16, 2010 at 10:14 am

You are Aussie?
      Then just be downunder.
      Big mouth.

• The “Down Unders” THINK (do you?) and that is why the government is under mercy to serve the public interest damn well. Or else “get lost” after the next election. The price level of decent cars are simply decided by you.

• Edit: the government = the Australian government

• Sweet lord, the nitpick and bickering here is practically mind numbing.
    Can’t we all just get along?

Anyways, just got my M2 .Sedan Satisfied with it. Granted not a perfect car. I only have this much a budget, so I will buy the car that is to my fancy within my budget.

The wifey likes it too. Probably will plonk in a M2 HB later.

• wayne on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:52 pm

which model of mazda 2 has stainless steel paddle and 6 in dash player?

• New Waja 1.8 between 75k and 85k,Mazda 2 between 80k and 86k!but i choose Mazda 2 at least it’s Mazda :)

• how was the mazda 2 fuel consumption? economical petrol car?

• Bangsat on Oct 04, 2011 at 9:08 am

Hi All, I’m a Mazda 2 owner for a year and i have to say that it’s a piece of rubbish! Rubbish design with rubbish stability. Tons of problems here and there. Regret buying it. Should have bought a Ford Fiesta instead.

Just for your info, the Mazda 2 Sedan is actually valued around RM30K only before our stupid government impose more than RM40K of excise duty on it! Definitely not worth buying.

• samposmen on Oct 07, 2011 at 2:00 am

love mazda2 handling. but for fuel consumption for me not economic.

• hello…need advice about m2 sedan…
    its 4speed right..so,how about the long distance..petrol???maintenance???
    can someone that really2 used this car give reason that m2 sedan is good.. & if not give me a good reason…
    TQ all… ;)

• Hello all.. I wan to ask mazda2’s owner bout this machine.. Is it a good car..? Maintenance wise..? Quality wise..? For those who have been using this car for a while can pls give a comment.. Do this car give alot of problem or just fine..?

Thinking of owning a new car.. Just need to decide which one is beter… Thx..