Mazda 2 production begins at Rayong, Thailand

Mazda 2 Facelift

There has been talk going around for quite some time now on the possibility of the Mazda 2 being offered here in Malaysia, but this piece of news released by Mazda Japan today probably pretty much seals the fact that we will most likely see the cute little compact car on our shores sooner or later. This is because Mazda has started production of the Mazda 2 at the AutoAlliance Thailand Co Ltd manufacturing facility in Rayong, Thailand. The plant is a JV with Ford.

mazda2-inside

Mazda expects collective ASEAN sales to be approximately 20,000 units per year. It was not mentioned in the press release whether the sedan or hatchback version will be built but the images that accompanied the press pack showed photos of the hatchback. Not a reason to discount the sedan of course.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=547]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Han!h on Oct 08, 2009 at 9:58 pm

0ther compacts..beware!! =D

• nabill on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:05 pm

ive seen one already in one of those showrooms selling those ap cars…same color green…car looks kinda small bt wide…hopefully it will be sold at a resonable price……nah , screw that hope,its not gonna hapen !

• Salamander on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:06 pm

I've driven this car few times in Aussie. Handling quite good. Better handling compared to Suzuki Swift. But the interior looks quite plain.

• williaml on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:29 pm

Both hatchback and sedan will be available, launching before end of the year and delivery from early next year.

Zoom Zoom…

• bmpower on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:40 pm

I like mazda.

simple and clean design.

but.. it's not a cheap or fair price car anymore.

even in outside of malaysia. :(

but surely.. it's far away better than toyota.

• Karmatrix on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:44 pm

woo!

• lazyf on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:56 pm

Nice!!!

And i like it!!!

But the price in Malaysia???

:-(

• lambov12 on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:08 pm

looks like Ford Ka ..

• MBX Boy on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:51 pm

Very nice exterior! But interior too cute and simple. Need to improve n make look more canggih. Pricing should be like Vios (cause this Mazda is not CBU Japan), otherwise it will be a failure in Malaysia.

• farghmee on Oct 09, 2009 at 12:08 am

kawaii! :D

simple dashbd, i like.

mazda's older siblings design, i like.

• kaOne2000 on Oct 09, 2009 at 12:36 am

william…. what is the price? thanks

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 09, 2009 at 12:43 am

According to the October issue of Autocar ASEAN, the Mazda2 will be priced slightly above the Vios and City as Bermaz is hoping to place the Mazda2 on the premium compact segment, but it will definitely be below RM100K.

Personally, I don't agree with what Bermaz is trying to do, I hope they can priced it at least between the City and Vios.

• elww78 on Oct 09, 2009 at 12:56 am

No Proton bashing here? Lols.

• Paul Tan on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:04 am

aiyoh, don't start.

• Fridz (Member) on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:09 am

Ah..its got different front bumper.is it another variant for Mazda2?

Maybe it will be priced as Yaris..

• Paul Tan on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:12 am

I think there are two different bumper designs… compare the links.

http://paultan.org/photo/Mazda-2-Hatchback/P1J044… http://paultan.org/photo/Mazda-2-Hatchback/P1J032…

• Vezeroth on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:46 am

Smiley face n sad face? :P

• Nutty on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:50 am

In my opinion, the first one looks better. Looks sporty though.. I like the radio…..very very interesting 'roundish' design…

• KenLCK on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:55 am

please come to malaysia…

• KenLCK on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:55 am

at rm69k

• KenLCK on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:57 am

max at rm75K

• Gajen on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:23 am

if same price as swift…ill take this

• Fridz (Member) on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:25 am

Thanks Paul..i think malaysian are tend to choose the first one.very nice,looks fresh..

• Kambing Laut on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:36 am

If proton can design care like mazda did..

punch my face..

• tikus (Member) on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:41 am

Bermaz will goreng the price and sell at Jazz price.Just like Honda goreng Jazz,Premium Compact branding. Reality just a budget car in oversea.

• bobdbilder on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:48 am

Belting in the tranny = CVT

Integrated exhaust manifold.

Duratec or Ecotec?

Bermaz Auto

Hahahahaha

Good luck peeps.

• Ariff on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:20 am

not gonna be below 80k.just a wee bit below Jazz,i bet.I'm thinking of getting a Jazz,Mugen it and supercharge it to about 150hp.how much do u think it'll cost??

• orido on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:43 am

it will cost your dignity.

• hmm under 100k…above vios pricing. i say its around 90-97k.

right near the peugeot's territory.

though seriously, the pug took all the B segment cars and pawned their ass.

but still, this car is cuter. may appeal to the ladies.

• ammar on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:02 am

From all the reviews abroad, this is a real value for money car (until the Malaysia govt gets involved). But if they won't sell a manual version, I'll probably go for a larger Hyundai i30 1.6 Manual.

• MBX Boy on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:06 am

Paul Tan said,

October 8, 2009 @ 5:12 pm

I think there are two different bumper designs… compare the links.

http://paultan.org/photo/Mazda-2-Hatchback/P1J044… http://paultan.org/photo/Mazda-2-Hatchback/P1J032…
    ————————————-

Hold on Paul… I think there are more than two. The third one:
    http://paultan.org/photo/Mazda-2-Hatchback/P1J032…

DIfferent trims perhaps?

• volks2 on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:15 am

heard the selling price for sedan is RM84k, williaml,right? u surname, leong..right?

zoom zoom.

• kobealex on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:23 am

nice car!!!

n the center console looks like a long-faced mickey mouse :|

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:35 am

i bef you mazda give us the hatchback….peugeot pissed me off with that sedan

• stil mahal for compact car..

waiting for AP / auto policy review perhaps..

• maniam on Oct 09, 2009 at 8:22 am

if slightly above swift and below city price, this car will sell like goreng pisang..if price like jazz…than this car will frozen like fish in icebox kekekekeke

• azrai on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Thank you MITI and NAP. We missed this investment again.

• williaml on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:58 pm

Yeah, estimated price around RM84k.

Paul, the first picture link you posted is what we going to have soon, the latest refined version of Mazda2. The latest Mazda2 will enter North American market by 2010 too.

Current Mazda2 available in two version, Standard version (green color Mazda2 on top) and Sport Version, the Sport version (grey color Mazda2) on top comes with bigger 16' rims and sporty front grille.

volk2, yes, how you know my surname Leong? hehe.

Zoom Zoom…

• KeithDuckworth on Oct 09, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Is there a sedan version? I have not seen sedan version

• raybrig on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:58 pm

i think they can sell this mazda 2..nowadays they doing pretty well…i think most of the mazda car is better than T n H..i def will choose mazda 2 if we talk abt jap brand here…otherwise..for me..new ford fiesta is the best choice..already seen that in flesh..really2 nice…hopefully ford will bring it to malaysia…

• volks2 on Oct 10, 2009 at 6:45 am

williaml,becoz i bought car fr u b4, u really a good Mazda saleman,will recommend u to others.hahhahha

zoomzoom

• 78K for base 85K for sports premium… still ok la.

since made in thailand, not Japan-CBU.

sell more lor :P

• williaml on Oct 10, 2009 at 6:22 pm

Volk2,

Is it? Which model I sold to you?

RM84k for 1.5L Sedan, and Hatchback may comes from Japan so price definitely higher than Sedan.

Zoom Zom…

• nice car, hope it will not be over price here!

• shawal on Oct 11, 2009 at 5:11 am

Saw this car in a flesh, it looks amazing, bet its fun to drive in the city as a 2nd car, but in wont be that cheap

• heard local distributors have started to take pre-orders for this car.. expected to be at the high side compared to other compacts, looking at 90+ region..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:13 am

http://www.ozmazda.com/board/index.php?showtopic=…

this is good…the model tested in thailand is the hatchback..thank god u did not do a naza peugeot

• DeVildel on Dec 20, 2009 at 1:44 am

Hi Guys,

The Mazda 2 Hatchback is here in M'sia..

Only 1 and only here..Kindly email me at [email protected] for actual viewing of the car. Will be here for only a certain period..so guys, don't miss out the chance of being the only few who witness the real car..

Cheers

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 16, 2010 at 5:50 am

why no climate control

• Rear drum brake only? Why not Disc Brake?

Climate Control also important.

Why signal light is not at mirror area?

• Mazda price list

80k-86k!good value!my 2011 birth present :) Jojo i agree why rear without disc brake even though it’s only 1.5 =.=’