Shortage of RON 97 petrol reported for the first time

RON-97-petrol

The reduction in the pricing of RON 97 petrol has seen an increase in demand for it, which has resulted in supplies running low – primarily in the Klang Valley and the east coast – over the past week, in some cases to the point of petrol stations running out of stock, according to news reports. It’s the first time a shortage of RON 97 fuel has been reported in the country.

The Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Ministry (KPDNKK) had been made aware of the situation last week, the Petroleum Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) said. The association added that at this point, stocks were on their way to returning to normal levels with all fuel providers, with only Shell reportedly facing a shortage of RON 97.

Shell Malaysia Trading confirmed that a number of its retail stations in the peninsular was experiencing a shortage of V-Power 97 due to an increase in demand, but said in a statement issued yesterday that it was making every effort to restore supply to the affected sites.

On November 19, the price of RON 97 petrol was reduced by 20 sen to RM2.55 per litre, and dropped a further nine sen yesterday (December 1) to RM2.46 per litre.

ron-97-rm2-90 038
RON 97 was priced as high as RM2.90 per litre in March this year.

The RM2.46 per litre price for RON 97 significantly narrows the price difference between it and RON 95, which is now set at RM2.26 per litre, which would account for motorists opting for it over the lower octane number fuel. In September, the difference was 55 sen per litre (RM2.75 for RON 97, RM 2.10 for RON 95).

The December 1 price revision for both RON 95 and RON 97 follows the Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism (KPDNKK) ministry’s announcement about two weeks ago that there would be no more subsidies for RON 95 petrol and diesel from December 1, and that their prices would, like RON 97 petrol, be derived based on a managed float system.

Globally, the price of crude oil – which now directly affects RON 95 petrol and diesel prices in Malaysia – is currently at its lowest point since August 2010, hovering around US$70 (RM237) a barrel.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely focus on the recent RON97 petrol shortage, with some users suspecting strategic stockpiling or price manipulation by operators and government policies. Many highlight that the shortage is driven by increased demand and limited refining capacity, with some asserting it reveals deeper issues like lack of transparency and subsidies benefiting cronies. A few comments discuss the technical benefits of RON97, such as smoother engine performance, better fuel efficiency, and reduced knocking, suggesting it’s beneficial for all engines despite some claiming it’s only for high-performance vehicles. There’s also political criticism, with opinions blaming government policies, subsidies, and corruption, often interwoven with off-topic political remarks. Overall, the tone blends frustration, technical insights, and skepticism over the handling of fuel supplies and pricing.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:34 am

Yeah man. Went to the pumps to refuel this morning (to fuel up RON95). Noticed that all the 97 pumps were out of fuel. But that station I went to did not sell Shell V Power Racing (VPR). So not sure whether VPR is also affected or not.

• Weeee on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:51 am

I always fill up VPR otw home at Shell near Jalan Duta toll. Oh sorry Jalan tunku abdul halim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
      • Same L0rrr on Dec 02, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Whatever RON 95 or 97 you pump, YOU ARE SUBSIDIZING the government.

Our fuel price should be much cheaper than that.

Bear in mind when international fuel price drop, Petronas also earn less. Who is going to cover the balance for government income?? Tax payers lar!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
        • Ripcord on Dec 02, 2014 at 4:48 pm

How much are we subsidizing the government? Care to share with us the calculation?

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:47 am

Big hole on 1MDB, BR1M,PKFZ, Highways’ compensation, Cow in Condominium singapore, dan lain2 lagi.

Petroleum occupied 30% of Gov income.
          Tax payer will be operated.
          Gomen will say GST come in the right time.

Thanks again 47% of Barang Naik supporter.
          Breakdown of 47% of them.

1. Cronies
          2. Katak Bawah tempurung
          3. Inconsiderate and selfish
          4. Short view.
          5. Buta
          6. Moron
          7. Mentally failure.
          8. Foreigner labour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • JB_KIA on Dec 02, 2014 at 12:06 pm

not affected here in JB but it is 40 sen (usually 35 sen) more than ron 97

• shhhh on Dec 02, 2014 at 8:36 pm

hurm increase demand; thus shortage?
      hurm another method or technique to INCREASE back the price (demand exceed supply)…
      typical; reduce price than declare shortage ; result PRICE BOOST….

• Weeee on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:52 am

I always fill up VPR for my bike otw home at Shell near Jalan Duta toll. Oh sorry Jalan tunku abdul halim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • dodgeviper88 on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:55 am

Wow, the government is really trying to make the rakyat suffer as much as possible eh? Now when RON97 is cheaper they make it more difficult to get. Just never ends

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 40
    • I’m not a BN supporter or what but come on, be logical. It’s an huge increase in demand and it’s not expected. I’ve been reading the comment section of paultan’s post and almost all post there must be political comments down there. BN this BN that, cronies this, cronies that. Come on people, grow up. Post about Ferrari, owww,, only cronies can afford. About Proton, owhh,, mahathir, about honda grace, owhh, excise duty. For godsake people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 22
      • Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:55 am

Fact is fact.
        Pls grows up.
        APs, NAP, National tax, Excise Duty,
        all related to automotive.

Paultan web related to automotive.
        Automotive related to AP,
        AP related to cronies,
        cronies related to G.
        G related to policy.
        Policy related to u n me.

Saw high, it’s fact!
        Ppl keep posting cronies, reveal the truth,
        educate/influence others to know truth.

53% of true malaysian are educating 47% of
        saw high ppl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • dodgeviper89 on Dec 02, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Yea man, its a government conspiracy I tell ya, now I can’t fill up my car with RON97. Hopeless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
  • wawasan on Dec 02, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Lets hope this is a one-off incident for the operators.
    The operators should adjust their stocks accordingly since the demand for RON97 will be higher then before.

• Not every car require RON97.
    Car does not require RON97 will only causes wastage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 18
    • What in the world kind of logic is this? barang naik’s law?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • I used to gain 550KM/tank for RON97. 600KM/tank for V-Power Racing. Now, it is 450KM/tank @ RON95. Not only it affect my car performance and fuel efficiency, it also reduce the life span of my car’s oxygen sensor. If I don’t change the oxygen sensor, it will create more emission into the air and also will damage catalyst converter. Now, who is going to pay for that? Think again before you say “Not every car is require RON97” I think you are referring to the ancient tech “Proton engine”. Inefficient.

• solo_wing on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:43 am

I thought removing catalyst converter gives more power to the engine? Most people who changed their exhaust system removes their catcon.

so why don’t u just removes the catcon to save some cost instead of replacing it?

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:33 am

you will know the benefit of higher RON fuel
      if u study well and practise well.

• truely malaysian on Dec 02, 2014 at 12:28 pm

So Porn Chuah was right about getting the economy going…

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:57 am

Porn chua jr getting chance to publish his
      “Talk east, Talk west”

• PM Rosmah on Dec 02, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Lepas ni kompom BeNgong naik kn harga ron97 dgn alasan rakyat mampu beli minyak dgn harga mahal…they will never drop the 95 price to cover petronas..kencana etc….diesel yg lg murah dr petrol pon diorng jual mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:39 am

Honourable ros..
      How many birkins , hermes you get today?
      Still many project pending your approval.
      Petrol card controlling system not done ..
      Nvm, we focus on properties la.

After that we can go shopping europe again.

• Hottuna on Dec 02, 2014 at 12:39 pm

RON97 got hijacked by someone
    Damn it!

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 02, 2014 at 1:21 pm

As expected, the rakyat responds positively by the recent announcement. This indeed is a big thumbs up to the current government’s decision and policy making. Good job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
    • Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:00 am

G’s true color not revealed yet.
      1. Remove subsidies for petrol/diesel
      2. Black box floating method.
      3. Profit gaining started
      4. Price reduce slow or after 1 month
      5. Price hike drastically immediately.

Dont for get this party of Barang Naik just started.

• gaviny on Dec 02, 2014 at 1:25 pm

lie, they locked the pumps to wait for higher pricing as these are old stocks, already they complaining they lost money because ordered petrol at 2.30 price now 2.26.

better close and disappear altogether these kind of buggers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Shortage my arse. The operators refused to sell then claimed it shortage. Rugi ma. Wait till ron97 goes up again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • RON 97 GTi on Dec 02, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Why spend 20 cent more for RON97 on ordinary car? It doesn’t do your car any good so stick to RON95 folks!

Leave the 97 for those who need it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • carazy on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Their money their choice bro.. We have been fueling RON97 for ages, until somebody decided to jack up the regular fuel in that time (RON97), and give rakyat lower grade fuel (RON95) for the some sort of cheaper price. I dont blame them fueling their tank with RON97, Its abt nostalgia, thingking of good ol days..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • I bet your GTI runs fine on RON95 also. Conclusion, you don’t need 97 also what? Leave to ppl who need it la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • BLT_Club on Dec 02, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Agreed.

• takNakP1 on Dec 02, 2014 at 5:20 pm

i use to think so but after years with 95, vibration and knocking starts. Initially with 95 was ok.

So, after switching back to 97, vibration reduced, smoothness increase, power increase and knocking minimize or gone.

there are fine thing happening in the car engine that we may not see or feel until it get worst. since now 97 is only 20 cents different, better to use 97 than 95. If 95 is so good why won’t they first introduce 95 instead of 97 decades ago?

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:06 am

Actually.
      Ron97 is benefit for most engine.
      It’s regardless to performance or normal engine.
      All engine will drive smoother, leaner burn.
      Thus, most of the user will feel more kilometers, Quieter engine movement, linear power.
      Thanks to the higher RON to minimize earlier detonation.
      So regardless types of engine. Compression are higher.
      Power delivery linear.

• Sammy on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:04 pm

The price is a monthly float right?
    Price drop 9 sen but only available for 2 week of the month, then next month naik balik…

• I think they got plenty of R97 which were bought at higher cost so reluctant to sell now at lower cost.. rugi!!! That’s why Pump ROSAK!

• supplyvsdemand on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:14 pm

This another dirty trick played by the supplier (or maybe policy maker) to increase back the price of oil. When demand exceeds supply, price will naturally goes up up and away.

• Hahaha.. true enough.. try to look various pump station. RON97 is not available.. thought want to try it make some comparison with RON95 usage in daily basis routine… as some people claim RON97 give more mileage..

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:08 am

My B segment ride
      Ron 95 full tank runs 450-480
      Ron 97 gives extra 60-80km mileage.
      Which one serve better?

• Dr. Doom on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Today all shares and money goes down! Civilian suffering but oil only drop 4 cents? Drop 30 cents la.

• thomasNOTmyname on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Do you think that they might keeping the RON97? Until the price go back up?

• jinggo on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:44 pm

pity malaysian… always kena ‘kencing’ dengan Gov..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • kumar on Dec 02, 2014 at 3:03 pm

suddently the rakyat switched to 97 after the price went down? its more like storage instead of shortage.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 02, 2014 at 3:57 pm

I’m one of the culprits switching to 97.

Reduced my fuel pressure and increased timing advance. Car runs better and the actual difference in cost is marginal at worst since i get about 5-8% better mileage from 97 at my current tune. The cost difference doesn’t make running 95 feasible.

• BLT_Club on Dec 02, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Actually no point. It’s all physiological. If your car can run with 95 stick to it.

http://www.edmunds.com/fuel-economy/to-save-money-on-gas-stop-buying-premium.html

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 02, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Ah…right. In most cases… But who said anything about me driving a stock standard car? :)

The engine was built to run 97. Its just been detuned to survive on 95. Now its retuned back to Run 97.

By the way, old cars would benefit from 97. (Even though it says it can run 95) own a wira 1.5 auto? Those older protons are notorious for pinging with 95.

• 4 wheeler on Dec 02, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Don’t forget Bro,their fuel quality is not the same as Malaysia.Regular gasoline for them is equivalent to Ron 97 in Malaysia & not Ron 95.

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:44 am

Yes. their Ron95 are higher graded.
          Euro 5 min.
          We are using Euro 2 for both 95/97

• nabill (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Same case here… Slightly more mileage, bt not more power.. Doesnt justify da cost though… Bt i do full tank 97 for every 3 tanks of 95…

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 02, 2014 at 8:08 pm

On most cars yes. The power benefit might be marginal….

Running 97 allows me to lean out the air fuel ratio…so it used less fuel and the leaner mixture makes more power. The timing advance also gives a much punchier throttle response and more low and mid range torque.

On most new cars..none of these are adjustable. So its up to the engine management to decide what to do.

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:37 am

If 3 tanks 95 switch to 1 tank 97 will not feel 97’s efficiency.
        Because the mixture of 97 n 95.
        and the knocking sensor takes time to adapt the 97.
        Usually, user may feel more differences on the 2nd tank onwards of 97.
        However because of human being,
        after several time used to the 97, will numb.
        Anyway, IMHO, 97 is better for all ride.

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:17 am

Agree……
      Although I m not 4G63T owner..
      But,IMHO.
      No matter high or low compression engine.
      Later detonation, better timing, better torque delivery
      will do linear output.

With RON97, you will not gain more HP on your engine.
      BUt you do get more efficient burn, earlier torque, linear power delivered.

It’s well spend and value for your hard earn money.

• Since no subsidy for petrol, can oversea registered vehicles fill RON95 in Malaysia now?

• RON97 no longer just for the rich!!!

• It’s the Euro Grade that matters most, not much on RON. I’ll continue use RON95 even if both upgraded to Euro5.

• Not a big issue

• Cost price for RON95 in the regional market is approx RM1.80/L, while for RON97, its RM1.85/L. Compare that to the pump price and you kinda know how much we are subsidizing the govt.

FYI – go check whats the real meaning of RON – its simply the octane number, nothing really to do with power.

• Cbj,

You check how RON different affect in cumbustion. It is related to power.

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:24 am

Sawhigh republic!

On paper, the mass of energy RON95, 97 not different.
      But when comes to actual combustion, Ron95 has it drawback on pre ignition!
      Ron97 got lower pre ignition rate, therefore, you get high compression rate. Better and linear torque output.

Higher Ron rating will not provide you higher hp/torque of your machine.
      But it do provide linear engine output.
      For usual drive, what you need is torque!

Paper theory is correct,
      But we do need to consider actual/pratical condition as well.

• Well – point to make is that the actual difference in bulk pricing in the Platts market is only RM0.05/L. At that point, we might as well all pump RON97 only. The shortage will only get worse.

Not all refineries are tuned to producing RON97 in large volumes. Takes time to adjust.

• Tiger on Dec 02, 2014 at 9:10 pm

My 20 year old wira 1.5 doing well until chg to Ron95 last time, end up complete engine overhaul in just one year…showed how rakyat suffered under 95

• Coolguru on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:15 am

Actually as a consumer do you really knows you’re buying RON97? I sometimes think there is a high chance of making profit the dealers would mix some RON95 into it. Hey who would given that no one really knows what is being pumped… Unless otherwise proven and who will do that? Is there such device out there cheap enough for us to buy and test? I would buy if I’m a constant RON97 users.

• cendol (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:21 am

I suggest bring back RON92 like the good old days.
    Make it RM1.50 per liter.
    Thanks BN.
    Better still bring in RON88 like what they are using in Indonesia now.
    Their gas guzzler massive SUV also using RON88

• WE2020 on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:17 am

LOOKS LIKE EVERYONE ACTUALLY COULD AFFORT RON97 EVEN WHEN GLOBAL PETROL PRICE WAS HIGH BUT WHEN THEY CAN’T PUMP ANYMORE, THEY START COMPLAINING.

HENCE YOUR COMPLAINS ARE ABOUT YOU BEING AN ELITIST AND SECRETLY THINK YOU ARE BETTER THAN THOSE WHO PUMP RON95. IF WHAT WE SAY IS NOT FAIR, PLEASE ELABORATE.

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:46 am

Sawhigh republic. 2020 will not achieve with current gomen.
      No need to elaborate.
      Gomen playing fuel price to cover loss of those cronism project.
      Oil producer, exporter stop subsidy petro.
      where petrol subsidy gone?
      Where AP, Excise duty, National tax, sales tax gone?

Without transparancy mechanism control.
      You are fooled, cheated, being squeezed.
      Your hard earn money getting no value,
      Your life quality never improve,
      You are the gomen slave forever.
      Gomen will never work for you.
      Only work for cronies.

• carazy on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:23 pm

NOT SO LONG AGO, ALL CARS, MOTORCYCLE, AND EVEN LAWN MOWER FUELING THEIR TANK WITH RON97. NOBODY CARES!!. DONT COMPLAIN AND COMPARING PPL, EVERYBODY ARE CREATED EQUAL. BTW, DONT USE CAPS LOCK IN YOUR ENTIRE COMMENTS, ITS SEEM LIKE YOU ARE FROM MEDIEVAL TIMES HOVERING AROUND IN MODERN AGES.

• PiKayAr Biul on Dec 04, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Those commenting with their ass brain accusing the govt i suggest please use a bike and shuh away from discussing this topic.

Ron97 shortage is a clear evidence of business stategy of Shell Operator. Obviously they wanted to push sell the old stock 95 with new price .
    So PKR …ish mindset please suck some dick and fight your right to suck cock yea