Perodua Axia tops Trending Car Models list in Google’s “Year in Malaysian Search” 2014

Perodua_Axia_Advance_ 001

We look forward to Google’s annual ‘Zeitgeist’ for Malaysia at the end of every year, as it usually includes a report of trending car searches by Malaysians as part of the customised report Google does for each country.

Just to clarify what ‘trending’ means – it means search terms that saw the largest increase in the amount of searches over the past year, so don’t confuse it with ‘most searched for’. Because of what ‘trending’ means, the list is likely to be dominated by newly-launched cars.

1. Perodua Axia
  2. Proton Iriz
  3. Honda City
  4. Honda Jazz
  5. Proton Zaara
  6. Perodua Alza
  7. Mitsubishi Attrage
  8. Honda HR-V
  9. Peugeot 2008
  10. Perodua Viva

The list has been topped by a Proton for the past two years, but the chart-topper this year is a Perodua – none other than the Perodua Axia. Coming in second place is the new Proton Iriz. The last time a Perodua topped the list was in 2011, the year the second-generation Perodua Myvi was launched.

The list also has plenty of B-segment Hondas in it. The top non-national car is the Honda City, with the Honda Jazz following closely behind. The Honda HR-V, which hasn’t even been launched in Malaysia, is ranked seventh, which shows that savvy Malaysians pay attention to international car launches in anticipation of what might be offered in the local market.

There’s an unfamiliar name on the list – Proton Zaara, which turns out to be a 3D rendering done by someone named Rosdi Osman. The unofficial Zaara concept is a two-door hatchback that proposes what a next-generation Satria Neo could look like.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• intermilan on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:07 pm

To have Peugeot 2008 at No 9 and the solely European car in the list is hugely surprising..

Didn’t expect that at all. Trending online but sadly not in the real world.

Nasim should take heed on this. Suspect its the price that make it unattractive and out of reach of a lot of potential buyers. Nasim pricing strategy looking like an ‘own goal’ to me.

• What do u expect from naza? Ditambah lagi dengan kiki punya peugeot cdm25.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 11:52 am

From here you will witness again typical Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok comments.

A simple mod picture and a fancy name can always make the fanboys HIGH easily. While the Proton hybrids still years to be launched.

Cars good or not doesn’t matter, the fanboys are not going to buy the cars anyway. It is most important to keep the crowd HIGH (out of nothing achieved).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • Albert on Dec 17, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Same Lorr,I checked the latest stats for proton sales.Up to October 2014,they only sold 99,000 units.They will probably end this year with 120 to 125,ooo units.
          last year they sold 138,000 units.
          The Preve 2013 stocks (Discount of rm 14K)was only just sold out,can you imagine ,how bad Proton has performed,even with Iriz hardly seen on the roads.
          Toyota will hit 100,000 units this year.
          I think DRD might as well dump Proton and work with Honda to bring in some low cost model to fight perodua.It is downhill and massive losses again,due to everlasting perlindungan selama lama nya.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Mind your own business Same L0rrr. The least people like you are better for Malaysia and PROTON to go forward and continue develop. PROTON are welcoming value-added critism and improvement feedback but not blindly minded bashing from kiasu like you #apalagisamel0rrrmau

• rexton on Dec 17, 2014 at 1:24 pm

The search list reflects the low income reality of a Bolehland.

• spongewai on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Proton Zaara??!

3rd gen Satria?!

• No one must know on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:03 pm

I like Proton Zaara concept but the rear windshield seems to small for a driver to see whats behind them and omg the wheel is HUGE. Cheers :)

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Meh,only top in internet?Not proud of it.Iriz the best.When I compare my mother Picanto,my sister Jazz and my father Iriz,Iriz win.Iriz have better power,fuel efficiency,safety,and handling,belongs to Iriz.I have to say that Picanto handling and safety is OK,but the Jazz handling is crap!!Go Go Proton!

#MyFamilyIsChineseConvertToIslam

#ProtonThenNowForever

#USJ12

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
    • car-fans on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:35 am

Proton Fanboy (Official)- Here we talk about car – We dun wanna to know if U converted to ALIEN also. Pls stay away on Racist Matter.

Daih! Think lar – Can Iriz go to Globe Market ar ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Ananz on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:46 am

Iriz have better power?
      Jazz 118hp vs Iriz 107 hp and Iriz has a bigger 1.6L engine

Iriz better fuel efficiency?
      Rated economy on Carbase: Jazz 5.6L/100km vs Iriz 7.4L/100km
      Kerb weight: Jazz 1081kg vs Iriz 1185kg

Iriz better safety?
      At top spec both has 6 airbags and ESP but what about NCAP ratings.
      ASEAN NCAP: Jazz 15.58/16.00 vs Iriz 14.07/16.00
      IIHS: Jazz is a top safety pick 2014
      http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/vehicle/v/honda/fit/2015

In terms of handling Iriz will easily win the Jazz hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • No more Value on Dec 17, 2014 at 3:35 pm

U said Picanto lose, ok. Kia was never proud with their engine. U said Jazz lose to Iriz? What?? What again??? Jazz lose????????? You serious??? Jazz handling like crap??? OMG, OMG, OMG!!!!! I just can’t accept it. Honda should hired you to test drive their car. Keep it on and you might be the next michael schumacher

• Kuala Lumpur on Dec 17, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Meh,only top in internet?Not proud of it.Iriz the best.When I compare my mother Picanto,my sister Jazz and my father Iriz,Iriz win.Iriz have better power,fuel efficiency,safety,and handling,belongs to Iriz.I have to say that Picanto handling and safety is OK,but the Jazz handling is crap!!

Here in Thailand people only want a good car like Yaris and Jazz.I am so happy to own a latest Honda Jazz.Price is 740000 Baht for Honda Jazz SV.Convert to MYR is about 73000 to 74000 MYR.

Malaysia people talk like this no wonder the country so poor and people there only can buy the car like Proton and Perodua.

• Kuala Lumpur on Dec 17, 2014 at 4:40 pm

This is what Malaysia people say:

Meh,only top in internet?Not proud of it.Iriz the best.When I compare my mother Picanto,my sister Jazz and my father Iriz,Iriz win.Iriz have better power,fuel efficiency,safety,and handling,belongs to Iriz.I have to say that Picanto handling and safety is OK,but the Jazz handling is crap!!

Malaysia people talk like this and the country always poor than Thailand.

Honda Jazz in Thailand is 555000 Baht Jazz S Manual and Jazz SV+ is 754000 Baht.

• Kuala Lumpur on Dec 17, 2014 at 4:44 pm

This is other Malaysia people say:

In terms of handling Iriz will easily win the Jazz hands down.

Like children,no wonder Malaysia people cannot buy Honda Jazz or Toyota Yaris like us in Thailand,they can only buy Iriz.

Honda Jazz in Thailand is 555000 Baht Jazz S Manual and Jazz SV+ is 754000 Baht.

• No more Value on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Come and see how much honda and toyota is on the road before you talk shit. or you trolling? Be proud to be a Thais but i will not sad to being a malaysian. At least our people don’t bomb our own country

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Hey bto,we are in Malaysia OK?I don’t want to know the Holy Shit Jazz in Thailand,it’s not important OK?Cheers.

#ProtonThenNowForever

• Kuala Lumpur on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Poor Malaysia people say this:

Hey bto,we are in Malaysia OK?I don’t want to know the Holy Shit Jazz in Thailand,it’s not important OK?Cheers.

That is why you Malaysia people cannot buy Toyota Yaris Honda Jazz like in my country.They only can buy Proton Iriz car like that.

Honda Jazz in my contry is 555000 Baht Jazz S Manual and Jazz SV+ is 754000 Baht.

• No More Value on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Kuala Lumpur, Do you need us to collect money for you to travel to malaysia? huh?

• Almera on Dec 20, 2014 at 9:28 am

Based on the top 10 most searched item in Malaysia Iriz is not even in the list!!! However Axia is placed at number 5. Even from this you can see how “popular” Iriz is. No wonder until now also can’t see any on the road except for showroom.

• protonhotie on Dec 17, 2014 at 4:15 am

the proton zaara ugly like @#$%!@#!
    like a goblin car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • sissy on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:18 am

Proton Zaara sounds rather sissy to me. We prefer Satria… not this female name… eeeeeee….

• nighttrain on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:35 am

Well, seems to me people are looking for a nice little low roof hot hatch, with massive grunt, for below RM70k. What the hell are these local manufacturers waiting for? Economies of scale?

• JoeRadzif on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:17 am

Please update me when Proton Zaara is on sale.
    Hope to get 2.0T underneath it…

• 2.0? Do u think they have 2.0l engine when their MPV also use 1.6 only. And cut your Petronas engine. Sell it to the market first then only you talk.

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Hey bro,eventhough the Proton Exora just 1.6 Campro CPS and CFE,the pperformance is like 2.0 engine.Toyota Vellfire,Caldina also take time to chase Proton Exora,can you explain to me why?Eh please ah,no need to critics Proton.I think you guys are getting stupid when you critics about Proton.Why?Because you are trying to say something bad about Proton eventhough the problem didn’t exist.Oh ya,maybe next Proton will launch the new Proton Exora with new 2.0+ engine and of course,New look.So,maybe after this new Proton Exora launch,I think the other MPV like the Vellfire can’t chase the Proton Exora already.Go Go Proton!!

#ProtonThenNowForever

• Super on Dec 18, 2014 at 2:37 am

‘Toyota Vellfire,Caldina also take time to chase Proton Exora’

haha.. u really make my day.. haha

#jokeoftheyear

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:47 am

Oh,you think I made joke is it?You so stupid,joke and normal speech also can’t beza.Why,are you looking down of the Proton 1.6 CFE and Campro CPS engine?Eh,if got 2.0+ engine in the Vellfire lso no use lah if suck to many fuel.Better Exora,fuel efficiency is very good.

#ProtonThenNowForever

• Super on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:04 pm

x payah sembang la psl exora CFE, CPS, JKR, JKP, CLM… bla.. blaa

Jiran aku punya exora engine noise really annoying tiap2 pagi. Bunyi mcm lori 1 tan..

Nak overtake Caldina puihh.. Myvi 1.5 pun belum tentu ko blh makan…

Brp sales Exore this year?.. may i know.. what??? not even 20k units…

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Bro,the Exora CFE or the CPS engine make a loud sound because of it’s fan.This thing happens because the fan capacity is very low.It’s not compatible with the Exora.Proton people has admitted that they have do mistake on the Exora model.But Pro

• Super on Dec 20, 2014 at 12:16 am

lagi ada hati mau smoke caldina bagai…

haha.. lu blh masuk Skool of lawak le bro..

• iriz in a way best efforts by proton to date

• Sammy on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Wahh. P2 has 3 entries… Eat this P1…