Honda HR-V 1.8L at 2014 Thai International Motor Expo

Honda HRV Thai Spec 1

Still revelling in the hype around its recent launch, the Honda HR-V is now on display at the 2014 Thailand International Motor Expo. Now, we bring you the live shots of the B-segment SUV on display. The HR-V goes on sale with a sole powertrain layout – a 1.8 litre engine coupled to a CVT transmission. Total power output is rated at 141 PS at 6,500 rpm and 172 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm.

Thai customers can choose from three trim levels with the entry-level S grade kicking things off, the E variant occupying the middle ground and the EL trim offering the most in terms of equipment. In the S version, Smart Key (keyless entry) with push start, electric parking brake, an ECON mode button, LED tail lamps, ABS, EBD, Hill Start Assist, Isofix, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), two airbags and the much-applauded Ultra Seats.

The E variant features LED headlights with daytime running lights (DRL), paddle shifters, cruise control, a seven-inch touch screen head unit (the S has a five-inch one), SIRI and smartphone integration along with two USB and HDMI ports. The fully-loaded EL variant adds on a panoramic roof, “tube style” LED rear lamps, a piano black trim for the interior and a total airbag count of six – additional side and curtain airbags.

Prices for Honda HR-V in Thailand begin at 890,000 baht (RM90,922) for the S, 975,000 baht (RM99,609) for the E and 1.045 million baht (RM106,761) for the EL variant. Also available for Thai customers is the option to load up the HR-V with a Modulo kit which includes larger 18-inch wheels and a bodykit along with a raft of accessories. The Honda HR-V should be en route for a Malaysian launch in the near future.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:59 pm

ugly dash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
    • Suffering rakyat on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Add extra RM30K price for Bolehland version here.

• Fire Ant Front on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Every car manufacturer now is launching and investing in Thailand. And this is despite Thailand having bombs, unstable economy and unstable Government. And Thai people cannot even speak proper English.

Goes to show how bad Malaysia is. FDI is ZERO. Mat Salleh don’t want to invest in Malaysia anymore as well as the Japanese.

All the car companies are fed up with MITI and the AP system, a system that protects only 30 cronies to get richer.

Now companies don’t want to CKD here because to get approval and proper AP permits is so hard because all the AP permits are sapu by the PEKEME pariahs who are stinking the name of Malaysia.

It is amazing to note that, nobody is investing or wanting to CKD here and they prefer our neighbour Thai which is full of bomb blasts and riots.

Is Malaysia that bad?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 80
      • kzm (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 6:11 pm

i think u better source of information bro..political newpaper or blog does not cut any more..giv 1 source say ZERO FDI n giv 1 source say no car maker open production plant here…my source is paultan so u can get all those info here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 36
      • kzm (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 6:34 pm

u all can thumb down as many u guys want..u guys just cant accept the correct info

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 28
        • Yes, he make the mistake saying the ZERO FDI.
          But that not the issue. The main issue is Thailand becoming Detroit of Asia. With unstable politics, floods etc, auto manufacturer still choose Thailand over Malaysia.

KZM, yes you can be pro government but please open your eyes a little bit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 33
          • kzm (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 1:39 am

im open my eye more than u do..that y i dont take part in politic n taking side..i oni support who give me better for long run not short run..
            Nobody want car make in boleh even u dont like it..y butt hurt cuz thai got that..3-4 car maker is trying make car in boleh do you even know that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
          • comeonlah on Dec 13, 2014 at 12:57 am

3 to 4 carmakers, is that something to b proud off?? Come on la, thats peanuts okay. Have you count how many carmakers in thailand?

• Talkok on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:39 pm

I just couldn’t help but envy the Thais. they are amongst the first to get the latest models in Asia with down to earth prices that people could afford. Over here, hell no no the govt. won’t even want to talk about reducing prices despite promising that they will & asked the rakyat to ‘trust them’. Everyday; whilst on the roads, you can see massive pollution from the lorries & the buses spewing vast amount of black smoke & soot. Yet we will only get euro 5 diesel & petrol by 2020 despite removing fuel subsidies now. Walk the streets in Bangkok; ang you will not see & smell the massive pollution that we have here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • VWfanboi on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Hope the pricing will not more than 100k when it comes to Malaysia. This is one of the best looking compact SUV so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • AVH (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Tough, got a sms from my local dealer few days back saying booking is now open for the HRV with a confirm January launch(january what I am not sure)…. He can’t confirm the spec except 1.8l only and promises “no more than RM125k”… so I’am guessing thats top spec.

• Newcomer on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Whatever car it is, please reduce it price, don’t care it’s dugong or P1 P2 or bla bla bla, please cut the price by half,DAMN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Honda King Kong on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:27 pm

The rear lights are not nice la. All other parts are stunning when I first saw it.
    Yes, it still looks good but no longer stunning because the new Mazda CX-3 has come out.

Too bad for those who like this car. They will have the 2nd best looking car.

And those who didnt buy yet, good. They can now compare with Mazda CX-3. They will have to say, the CX-3 beat this Honda.

Whatever it is, change the rear lamps. Every angle is nice , but why such lousy rear lamps??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • farhan on Nov 28, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Because if they let you design the rear, it will be lousier.
      You preferences are not ours.
      Dont have good thing to say? Then shut up!

Like youre gonna buy either one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Two words.
    Very Nice

• waterman on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:09 pm

very nice interior~~

• ya its nice interior, but still no changes which is plastic feel…

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 11:49 am

The HRV will sell in Malaysia, affordable B segment SUVs that are reliable have a presence in Malaysia, look at how well the Kembara moved. Plus, if I was looking at the Jazz, if the HRV was not that much extra in price, I’d go for the HRV on the basis that at least I won’t worry too much in our KL floods.

Interior looks decent too.

• Thai boy on Nov 29, 2014 at 9:27 pm

This car is already out on the streets in bangkok where i live the rear lights is particularly nice i would agree with those who say it’s not nice by looking at the above pictures if i’ve not seen it in person different models differ by led bulbs arragement and shadings

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:14 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Jus curious..is this a 2 door hrv?or 4 doors where there is a latch door near the windows.

• Leonardo on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:53 am

A good ‘Guesstimate’ of the Malaysian OTR price is usually between 30-40% higher than the OTR price announced in Thailand. That would put it in the region of RM117-126k in Malaysia.

• Peter on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:59 pm

nice

• Denaihati on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:41 am

1.8L variant should be more interesting, lot of torque. also looks much better than T Rush.

• andersen on Jan 06, 2015 at 3:51 pm

sorry im not a automobile fan here, maybe i do not know how the new technology in car works nowadays, but can anyone tell me how to open the rear doors from outside? because i looked very closely for like half an hour and i still couldnt find the door handle, can anyone answer my question thanks