RM20 VEP fee for Singaporean vehicles entering Johor from mid-2015, Singapore to respond “in due course”

singapore-coe

According to a report by Sinar Harian, the government has decided that from mid-2015, the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) fee for Singaporean vehicles entering Johor will be RM20 (S$7.56).

Small change compared to the S$35 (RM92.63) VEP fee we Malaysians have to pay to drive into the island nation on weekdays between 2 am and 5 pm, but deputy transport minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi said that our fee will be imposed on inbound Singaporean vehicles every day, and all day.

Malaysian-registered vehicles currently pay zero VEP if they enter the Lion City on weekends, Singaporean public holidays, 10 business days per calendar year and between 5 pm and 2 am on other weekdays, although a revision of this is being proposed.

“(Translated) If this runs smoothly at the Causeway and Second Link, the government will consider implementing VEP at other national borders,” Abdul Aziz told Sinar Harian.

Bernama has reported, citing Channel NewsAsia, that Singapore’s transport ministry is studying Malaysia’s move and will decide on a response “in due course.”

VEPs are of course separate from toll fees – in October, Singapore upped its Causeway toll charges to match the increase on the Malaysian side in August.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Not sure what is the rational other than a retaliatory charge for Singapore increased their VEP fees. This would further discourage Singaporeans driving into Malaysia and as much as I don’t like certain Singaporeans’ driving etiquette upon entering Malaysia, this will surely affect Johor retail business owners and we have less tourism dollars coming into our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 26
    • fast5 on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:43 pm

You may be right, but current updated news more and more s’porean enter Johor.

Ringgit currency since drop record low in past 10 years(thanks to some brilliant idea by BN).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
    • Maserati(Official) on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Malaysian Government got no balls. So scared to charge high. It is only fair. the GDP per capita of Singapore is 5x more than Malaysians. That means they earn 5x more than Malaysians. If you are earning RM5000 here, the same person doing the same job in Singapore earns RM25,000.

Charging a Singaporean SGD7 is like charging them 7 cents. It is so small for them. But RM92.63 to a Malaysian is a lot of money for u.

I hope the Malaysian Government has some balls and fight for the rights of us Malaysians. Be brave. Just because you want Singaporeans to spend in Johor, does not mean you have to sell our souls to Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 22
      • Please go to Sinky n earn your 5x salary if u can. Dun think everyone work there can earn 5x compare to Msia. Give fact n not try to mislead others.

• Because most Singaporean are patron of Johorian Chinese retail or restaurants. With the implementation of this, the one affected the most is Chinese businesses. as usual G always want to stop Chinese from being successful But, too bad. have to try harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 82
      • …what a stupid comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
      • Lorat on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Really? Do you need to stoke racial hatred here?
        Sod off!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Wonky Chi on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:26 am

Agree with Lorat
        This is a typical frustrated racist donkey. If you hero worship Singaporeans sooooo much and have so much bitterness towards Malaysia and other races why not sod off to Singapore. Malaysia doesn’t need garbage like you. Let’s see how they will treat you.
        Often hear from Malaysian’s who scamper of to Singapore hoping the good life after a few years will craw back to Malaysia complaining Singapore treat them like crap and 2nd class citizens which is fair enough as most countries will protect their own citizen’s interest first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • slumber on Dec 23, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Affecting Johor Retail interest is one issue on its own. Try to think another way, local business cannot depends on Singaporean people, they will have to adjust their pricing to the level of local Johoreans can afford. You may not be staying or living in Johor Bahru, but locals have been suffering because of inflation caused by stronger buying power of Singaporeans. In another case or point of view, less Singaporeans spending in JB is actually good for local consumers.

• Sinkie on Dec 24, 2014 at 1:22 am

Johor locals did not suffer high inflation due to Singaporeans, it’s due mainly to the decreasing value of Malaysia ringgit.

KL is a good example, you don’t see loads of Spore cars in KL but why things in KL are still more expensive than in Johor ?

Inflation of housing i may agree because many Singaporeans buying house in Johor. But this is Malaysia government policy which allow foreigners to buy properties and not restricted to Spore buyers only.

The Malaysia government definitely can control property inflation via policy.

Blaming tourist for food or basic necessity inflation is very lame especially when the items are in plentiful supply.

• Kacang putih to the Singaporeans…pump on eround of petrol will save them more than this RM20 with the current exchange rates !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
    • JB_KIA on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:42 pm

I thought u wanted to mention that non-existent fuel subsidy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Facebook on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:44 pm

LOL~ I don’t think you know how much is the petrol price in Singapore & the risk for driving Singapore registered vehicle with less than 3/4 tank.

How much can you save on petrol? In Singapore, the Ron95 cost S$1.5/L after discount which is equals to about RM4/L. So let’s say you pump 40L in Malaysia with Ron97 price RM2.46 equals to RM98.40. In Singapore it will cost you RM160. So you save RM61.6, but you have not minus off the VEP RM20, toll fees for both side around RM33. After all the calculation RM61.6-20-33 = RM8.4, they will save RM8.4. Who will spend 1-2 hours just to save RM8.4? You have not minus the petrol you spend to drive from Singapore to Malaysia. Usually those who drives in for petrol will goes around JB area for meals, but with this kind of savings who will still wants to waste their time? Of cos there will still be some of them, but definitely it will reduce a lot. Ever since the toll charges increase, you can see shops & eateries in JB has suffered lost of revenues.

But anyway, RM20 is too little. I was hoping it increase more RM50 or even RM100. Only with the higher price, people will realise what is the mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
      • mmmmm on Dec 22, 2014 at 7:37 pm

U pump fuel and buy groceries here. You will come here and benefit. Malaysian mostly stupid, only smart singaporean right? Hahaha. Provoke until our gomen reply. Please continue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • stranger on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Meh!!!
    Make it RM50 la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • So the Kiasus will retaliate by reducing their VEP to USD20 then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Don Juan De Marco on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Just build a proper Malaysia-Singapore bridge ok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Low Budget on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:10 pm

The Blue Print for the ‘proper’ bridge is still with TDM. Najib should make TDM the happiest man in Malaysia by announcing building the Mahathir Bridge and charge the Singaporeans US$50 VEP.

• Rm20 is nothing for Singaporean. Come here to fill up the gas and buy cigarettes, can easily saved more than that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • As usual, always target Singaporean car. LOL.. funny is our G. Singapore thou small, she has the ability to crumble our economy.. So wake up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • walau woi… how about for those Malaysian who owned Singapore registered vehicle ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Actually, there are quite a number of S’pore-registered cars which don’t belong to Singaporeans. They belong to Malaysians with Singapore PR status.

• Low Budget on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:13 pm

They also earn Sing $$$$$. Salary 5x more than Kuala Lumpur buggers.

• Like I said b4, if u think everyone work in Sinky can earn 5x than in Bolehland, pls find a job there. Dun mislead others.

• Lorat on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:45 pm

They already got lots of exemption when used in Sg.

• VWfanboi on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:41 pm

reduce the north south highway toll rates! and increase the VEP fee until RM 100 per car! Government should help rakyats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Car Fan on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:45 pm

No need to worry one. These stupid kiasu Singaporeans will still come over even with VEP as they have nowhere else to go on the Island. Also the cheap food, petrol, hotel etc… is far too attractive to give up compared to the VEP charges. As what NDs says just fill up their cars with petrol and also not forgetting their fat bellies will save them even more. After all most of them are kiasu so they will eat more when in Malaysia to make up the RM20 cost of VEP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • JB_KIA on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:26 pm

nowhere else to go…u must b kidding. Going Bangkok is faster than coming to JB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Car Fan on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:54 am

LOL. Most Ah Lian Singaporean won’t allow the Ah Bengs Singaporean to go to Bangkok as over there the Ah Bengs are looking for one thing only and it is definitely not food and shopping.

Let’s put it this way, got more variety and definitely cheaper than Geylang. So naive lah
        you.

• Calling ppl kiasu is the most stupidest comment ever. Go to Sg and see how ppl progress. PPl earning 5x but their productivity is also 5x compared to Malaysian.

Over Sg. Malay chinese and Indian live peacefully side by side. Here? Hmph… pui! The wealth Singapore has, it can buy over whole iskandar and Johor sultan can just meow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Stupid Hoo on Dec 24, 2014 at 9:01 am

You must really have a Tulan for a brain.

The point is most Singaporean’s are kiasu – they even coined the term themselves. If you can’t accept that fact well you must be a naïve person. 5X productivity, don’t make me laugh. Most local Singaporean’s are being screwed by their own government. The young generations are even thinking of leaving and migrating elsewhere. Life is hard for the locals in Singapore. It goes to show just how much you actually know about Singaporeans. They may earn more than Malaysians but cost of living is also significantly higher. Majority of the young generations there can’t even afford a house now let alone to save.
        Speaking of racial harmony in Singapore, don’t make me laugh. Their government suppress the Malay and Indians and other races in a strategic way (divide and rule). Look around the majority who are in the poverty line or in low end jobs are the non-Chinese there. How is it possible for a multi-racial country to have such a disparity when it comes to wealth and prosperity? Their entire economic and political strategy is highly geared to benefiting one race only and they don’t even deny that fact. Top it off Singapore is a joke, they say their national language is BM and yet they have an option for parents to op for their children to learning their mother tongue instead of their so called national language. What a hypocrite. It a damn joke that their national song is in BM and yet most of their citizens don’t even understands the words or meaning of it.

You talk about able to buy Johor Sultan and Iskandar don’t make me laugh. Do you know that Singapore Government kisses ass to the Johor Sultan, they even let him have police escort in Singapore because historically Singapore belongs to the Johor Sultan and Singapore still pay him royalty fees to him. So before you start talking crap make sure you know your history.

Plzzzz what a complete moron.

• Heard from a Sinky chinese fren tat Sinky Govt gives free education to Sinky Malay up to Uni level if they r able to make it up to Uni level as compare to chinese n Indian. U call it racial discrimination too? Correct me if my fren gave me wrong info pls.

• Stupid Hoo on Dec 24, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Btw
            I am not classifying or professing any form of racial discrimination but Hoo seems to think that only Malaysia has racial discrimination and SG is flawless with no racial discrimination.
            I am just putting things in its correct perspective; racial discrimination happens everywhere, it is just the degree and how well it can be concealed in various mechanisms and forms.
            Racial discrimination has been going on about its business long before you and I was born and sad to say will continue on long after you and me are no longer around.

• So much animosity here…..really sad. You guys do realise its the common people that pays the price when government plays these games, regardless S’poreans or Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:18 pm

They want tourists, but they create road blocks for China tourists and now they are creating road blocks for the Kiasu Singaporeans.

• Lorat on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:47 pm

I don’t mind as long as common people from Sg is paying (through their nose is better)

• Facebook on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:55 am

Ultimate losers still the people who works in JB, business become poorer who will suffer? Anyway, many of them still living in their wonderland. Just rise the VEP to RM100 or more.

• I can’t see the sense in this. Yes, you get more from the VEP, but would that extra be worth the risk affecting the Iskandar project ? It’s suppose to work like Shengzhen model, and how much have the government poured in to develop that place ? Geez .. actually the most affected by the VEP are the daily Malaysian commuters that drive in to work, not the day trippers that only go in to pump 1/3 tank of the petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Low Budget on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Iskandar?
      1st, the Arabs came and then run away.
      2nd, the real China men from China came and they run away.
      3rd, the Singaporeans came and now our Gomen is chasing them away.
      4th, Who ganna come to Iskandar next ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • cendol (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 6:16 pm

What Lee Kuan Yew warned to Singaporeans about investing in Iskandar is correct.
    Malaysian government policies changes faster than flipping a roti prata.
    Invest in Iskandar AT OWN RISK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Harry Lee is always right! Was top student in Cambridge. He is just as arrogant as TDM but brilliant in building up Singapore to 1st world level and not shy to pinch the correct resources from other countries, notably from the ‘rejects’ of boleh land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • 4G63T DSM on Dec 22, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Hahah… Once Singapore retaliates. Iskandar will die. Johorians working in Sinkieland will suffer.

Who will want to live in JB and work in Singapore?

How to play bluff when Singapore has all the cards?

Singaporeans won’t care less. Their currency makes the increase a minor annoyance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:27 pm

stupid kiasu

• Low Budget on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:23 pm

You refer to Singapore Gomen or Mlaysia Gomen or Ridhuan Tee Chuan Seng?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • somebody on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:58 pm

The majority of people travelling between on the causeway are Malaysians working in Singapore. And Malaysians working in Singapore will be most affected cause they use the causeway DAILY. These measures are meaningless to Singaporeans…

Once again Malaysians suffer…

• na bei on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:43 pm

No matter how much the gov charge they will still come to jb. The kiasu just cannot tahan in the tiny pigeon hole. Some more now the are being treated a second class citizen. The first class citizen are the pr from china

• What4 on Dec 23, 2014 at 12:32 am

Well, SG impose VEP to MY cars as a purpose to control the amount of MY cars that enters SG. I wonder how many MY cars would enter SG if there’s no such VEP imposed, probably swarming with cars and congesting the roads.

MY is a big country, and yet I still don’t understand why they need to impose VEP to SG cars too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • niterunner99 on Dec 23, 2014 at 1:40 pm

believe both sides Gov will increase VEP sooner or later. it’s more $$ to Gov, so they don’t have to think much by implementing such rules.
    Why you may ask: Becoz lots of citizens from both countries work & travel between 2 sides! there won’t be a day all traffic stops!
    so why should both Gov’s think so much!
    LEGOLand just open Star Wars exibit…sure hv SG folks go wan! no matter what VEP or pump prices!

• What a dumb move by the malaysian government. JB is nothing without Singapore. Let’s face it, johor is a booming state because of it’s position next to SG. Without this great geographical position, it would be just like kelantan and terengganu, backward and undeveloped.

• I think just close the border. I sense allot of sour grapes here. If you look at the causeway most of the time is very empty.

JB is nothing without Singapore. If it is not position beside Singapore there will not be any investment it will still be a Kampong