Jaguar XE spied with E badge is probably not an EV

Jaguar XE-E 3

The automotive rumourmill went into overdrive earlier today because of this set of spy photos sent out by one of the European spy photography agencies we subscribe to. The focus was the blue E badge on the rear. We’ve seen Jaguars with S and R badges, but never an E badge.

Everyone assumed E meant some kind of electric or hybrid powertrain. But we think in this situation, Occam’s Razor applies – this is most likely the 163 PS 2.0 diesel eco-focused E-Performance variant that is rated to output just 99 g/km of CO2, a company car driver’s dream in the UK then?

Car companies have taken to producing special eco-focused variants of their cars. Often, these cars take an existing variant and tip the balance between efficiency and performance more towards the former. Engines get further reduced in size, final drives are tweaked to keep the revs extra low at the expense of acceleration, extra aerodynamics measures are applied, etc.

But having good emissions isn’t enough, you need to brand it. BMW has EfficientDynamics, Volkswagen has BlueMotion, Mercedes-Benz has BlueEFFICIENCY, and Audi recently introduced their ultra badge.

Jaguar’s E-Performance badge is something similiar. While the new Ingenium 2.0 diesel in the XE normally puts out 180 PS and 430 Nm, the E-Performance version does 163 PS and 380 Nm. But this along with other measures help drop the regular 2.0 diesel manual’s 109 g/km CO2 output to the 99 g/km we mentioned.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 20, 2015 at 7:46 pm

And spied with a missing “J”…?

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Jag knows bloody well that if they don’t capture the hearts of the UK company car buyers from the new Mondeo and Passat, and the class favourite BMW 3 series, they are dead.

Quite surprised they never had a company car edition in the past too, 99g/km is the company car buyer’s dream come true, since no London congestion charge! BMW’s EfficientDynamics 320d has been very successful, plus despite the detuned diesel, it’s enough for passing on the motorways, so that’s a plus.

• Jonn Dol on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:57 am

Problem is the Jag XE’s interior looks a bit drab and lacks classy finishing touches as its latest German rivals. Jag must do something about it..

• Jonn Dol on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:58 am

I mean the XE’s dashboard design.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 21, 2015 at 9:45 am

Sui Kwan Euro

• Sam Loo Ori on Mar 22, 2015 at 1:25 am

Only Tai Lan Ngong will buy this sui kwan no RV car. Rich people will get a camry or even Lexus ES.

• Diesel Power!!! on Mar 22, 2015 at 1:32 pm

For a jerk like Shit-Loo, u dunno wat is a Jaguar!!..

Plz dun compare it with ur toyo & laxus…it is on a different level..

If jaquar selling same price like a camry….i will buy it and wont care abt the RV..!!!

Shit-Loo is just a ah beng type