Lexus RX – first teaser released, NYIAS 2015 debut

2016_Lexus_RX_001

Lexus has announced that the fourth generation Lexus RX will make its public debut at the 2015 New York International Auto Show – that’s about just over a week to go until the new RX debuts on April Fool’s Day.

They’ve also released this single teaser image which shows a high angle rear three quarter view, showing off the car’s prominent rear wheel arches and what appears to be a section on the C-pillar which helps create a “floating” roof design. It looks like it has an X6-like roof but it’s probably just the angle.

We’ve already seen the RX on test back in January. It was wearing a distracting swirly camo then, but the spindle grille on the front end can clearly be seen. Same goes for the rear wheel arch bulge.

With the new NX slotting in under it, there will be room for the RX to grow to match rivals like the X5, GLE and Q7, but it remains to be seen if that is what Lexus has done with it as the spyshots we’ve seen doesn’t really show its size relative to other cars on the road.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 21, 2015 at 6:59 pm

The ultimate legend that revolutinised luxury suv becomes even more legendary…an icon forever…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
    • Same Lorrr on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:22 pm

As long as it’s ToyotaLexus, it’ll have high RV

*RV = Regret Value / Rubbish value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
      • glory on Mar 21, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Lexus=Glorified Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
        • villagefarmer on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:50 am

Porsche=Glorified VW
          Audi=Glorified VW
          Jaguar=Glorified Tata
          Mercedes= This real undisputed luxury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • LexusFTW on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Haters gonna hate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • hahaha on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:22 pm

So funny to read above comments, Toyota/Lexus are worse than “jaguh kampung” phahaha1, even villagers dun appreciate and dun care.

ROTFL

• sa. bought his son proton on Mar 22, 2015 at 10:42 am

Sam son protob sure got RV.

• Yaa…legendary in coffin

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 21, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Lexus is the ultimate in Luxury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • lexusbiscuit on Mar 21, 2015 at 10:13 pm

What luxury? Plastic dashboard? Faux wood trim? Or biscuit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
      • iPhone on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:18 pm

I shall be not be extremist to compare luxury cars.

But u have to appreciate one thing:

LEXUS use Genuine Leather and only Genuine Wood Trims.
        LEXUS Hybrid uses selected bamboo to present a high class ECO friendly yet BOSS Class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • villagefarmer on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:19 am

What so special about wood, bamboo and leather? I hold them everyday

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
          • budakGua on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:59 am

dont jealous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • villagefarmer on Mar 22, 2015 at 6:36 am

Sorry it’s no gold, cannot appreciate nor jealous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • The Scrutineer on Mar 22, 2015 at 8:27 am

Hey villagefarmer…. Your village wants their idiot back….I think you should go. It’s ok you can go….we have enough idiots in this chat room to last us 2 life times….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • The Scrutineer on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:45 am

Hey villagefarmer…. Your village wants their idiot back….I think you should go. It’s ok you can go….we have enough idiots in this chat room to last us 2 life times….

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 22, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Budak is not jealous.

He was shown the Hilux 4 days ago.

Still in denial mode, tails tucked in between his legs. These sorhais will recover with a week

• lexusblindfan on Mar 22, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Only Toyota Lexus die hard fans see its luxury comes out right from their dreams

Pity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • LexusFTW on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:09 pm

haters gonna hate yo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • rennaisance on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:21 am

Blind fan gonna blind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:07 am

Kimchi Sonana/K5 owners think that they will be driving a luxury car when they first walked into the showroom. Right after they pay the deposit remorse sets in.

When they walk out of the showroom, the initial hailat surge sets in.

Right after filling in the first full tank of petrol after collecting the new car, they would wanna sell.

After having to park far far away at family gatherings, being denied promotions, they will try to advertise to sell online.

After 6 months of attempts, they will give up. Coming to my yard, I will show them the Hilux, they yell Hailat, I cut a cheque

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 22, 2015 at 1:06 am

lexus design direction might be polarising….but seriously they are all rather striking…if they can seriously keep this up they can be what audi is now (moderness) 10-20 years….without s-tronic or multitronic issues

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • sedition on Mar 22, 2015 at 6:37 am

Do they include lousy handling?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • BeemerFreak on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:04 am

What s-tronic and multitronic issues are you on about….Lexus will never be an Audi, BMW or Benz. It will always only be a trying pretender, now and in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • forrest the tree on Mar 22, 2015 at 10:11 am

Any info for the engine?
    I’m expecting something like 2500cc V6 twin turbo with abt 300hp.

• Jimmy on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Think of turbo, as a real example, in luxury market then you understand what message I try to convey.

Study the Infiniti as well then you understand even more.

Not familiar with Acura.