Petronas in Formula One – powering Mercedes AMG Petronas to two world championships in 2014

Lewis_Hamilton_F1_2014_Champion_31

The Mercedes AMG Petronas team dominated the 2014 Formula One season, sweeping up both drivers’ and constructors’ championships. With the 2015 F1 circus making its next stop in Malaysia this week after the first race in Australia (where the team made a strong start to the championship by scoring a 1-2 finish), Petronas recently arranged a press conference with the team – including its drivers, reigning champion Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg – to discuss the national oil company’s contribution to the team’s success.

Firstly, executive director of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport, Toto Wolff, dispelled any myths that the partnership between Petronas and Mercedes-AMG was a simple marketing collaboration, insisting that it brought real benefits to the team.

“Petronas’ role was hugely important to the success of the team,” Wolff said. “The whole technical and engineering team at Petronas understood what the needs of the new power unit regulations were. I can tell you that from last season onwards, the fuels and oils provided by Petronas provided a real competitive advantage for our team.”

Petronas Media Forum 2

With new F1 regulations cutting the number of power units allocated per season to just four, Petronas’ Fluid Technical Solutions (FTS) initiative – providing tailor-made fluids and services to the F1 team – is starting to reveal its benefits. The national oil company has a trackside laboratory that follows the team at every race, and the team elaborated on how the support enabled it to score a near-perfect reliability record last year.

“We are particularly proud about that lab, because it’s one of a kind,” Wolff said. “The more the rules tighten, and the more complicated things become, the more essential it is to find out early on if you’re running into trouble. These guys play a crucial role in identifying possible reliability issues – in the oils, for example, you can see debris at a very early stage. It enables us to make sure that we finish races and win.”

“What our lab support does is function like doctors,” added Petronas Lubricants International (PLI) COO Eric Holthusen. “The lubricant in the engine is like the blood in our bodies. When we take samples, we can tell if the engine is healthy or if something is coming. It’s even more important these days with the new regulations – where only four engines per season are allowed – that we can make sure that the engine stays healthy.”

Petronas Media Forum 5

With F1 cars being so fast these days, it’s easy to write Formula One off as an irrelevant “rich boys’ sport” that provides little in the way of benefits to the actual consumer. The team was quick to dismiss these claims.

“This is a proving ground for us and for Petronas,” Wolff said. “It is the fastest mobile lab, and the fuels and oils that we’re using in the Formula One car – and the technologies derived from them – we use in our road cars. We’re very proud to have taken Petronas and Mercedes from a marketing cooperation into such a high-tech development relationship, not only on the race track but also on the road.”

“If you look at what path engines have taken in Formula One and also on the road, they have been downsized, they have become turbocharged,” Holthusen added. “All that puts heat stress on the lubricant. By working in Formula One, we were already familiar with those conditions, and have developed Petronas Syntium for Formula One with technology that we call CoolTech. Now, the new Petronas Syntium with CoolTech is the lubricant that is in each and every Mercedes-AMG model that comes off the production line.”

Petronas Media Forum 3

This synergy also extends to the fuels – both the one that powers the F1 car as well as the one that is available to the regular consumer – explains Petronas fuel expert Chan Ming Yau. “The team that works on fuel technology isn’t limited to Formula One fuel, it also works on all our Petronas Primax range of fuels as well as our Dynamic Diesel.”

“This season, we launched our new Petronas Primax race fuel that enhances protection on the high-pressure injector system used in Formula One, as well as providing better combustion and drivability. In our Petronas Primax 95 with Advanced Energy Formula, you’ll see the same attributes – it cleans the engine for superior fuel delivery, creates a finer fuel spray for better combustion and energy release, and reduces friction for better drivability.”

Chan also explained that race and commercial fuels are not as dissimilar as many think. “The FIA already requires that the chemistries we use are compounds normally found in commercial road petrol – it prohibits the use of specific power boosting chemicals, for example. So they have the same chemistries, the same components, just different proportions, different compositions.”

Petronas Media Forum 6

Last year, Petronas announced that Lewis Hamilton would take on a role as its technical performance consultant – 12 months on, the 30-year-old Brit gave his insight as to how the arrangement has worked to benefit both sides.

“It’s been a real privilege to work with a group of people who are so goal-driven, so enthusiastic and determined to be the best – it’s a great thing that we have that in common as a team,” he said. “The engineers rely on the two drivers to give as much input and feedback, as our job is to go out there and push the car to the limit, which ultimately means putting the fuel and lubricants to the limit. We’re always pushing them to extract more, as we always want more power and we always want to go further.

“And now we’re under pressure as we have only 100 kg of fuel to finish the race, and we can’t always make that. So we’re really pushing them to exceed expectations and bring out new fuel that can go further for the same amount. Hence my job is to lean on them and extract the best out of them.”

Petronas Media Forum 7

All throughout the event, the team made one thing clear – Petronas makes the best fuel and lubricants in F1 today. “That helped us so much in winning races and being world champions last year,” said Nico Rosberg. “I’m very grateful for the quality of the products that Petronas has created and are delivering to us.”

The Mercedes AMG Petronas team will be hoping to do very well at this weekend’s 2015 Malaysia Grand Prix, this being one of its home races. It certainly would be unwise to figure it as a shoe-in for winning the race, but given its incredible form at the start of the season, there’s little doubt it’ll be the team to beat.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• OnlyOption on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Its pretty cool that you can walk up to your local petronas station right now and pick up the syntium 7000, the same oil use in ALL 45 series AMG cars in the world.

I guess most malaysian car “enthusiast” are confused as to justify buying these expensive oils like Liquimoly, Ravenol, Eneos (all of them NOT in F1) when you can support local product that just as good or better than the competitors. And from what I was told by some engineers, the cooltech EO will be the standard engine oil on all AMG cars (S65, E63, SLS or the GT) shipped out from Germany. If its good enough for them its good enough for my Myvi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 6
    • GT Fan on Mar 28, 2015 at 1:34 am

Many of these “enthusiast” don’t have a working brain to think for themselves. If the workshop towkay say “XYZ product is the best for your car” they will believe without question. Usually these people get conned twice – buying an inferior product AND paying a higher price for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • superbird #43 on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:39 pm

win on Sunday, sell on Monday….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • mat tongkol on Mar 28, 2015 at 12:01 am

Yeah where is the guys that always bashing malaysia product? İm proud of Petronas product.they are true champions.where is the supporter of the shell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
    • It is the superiority of the Mercedes engine that won them the championship. True that without engine oil it won’t be able to run but put shell into that merc engine, it’ll still win the championship nonetheless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 46
      • stopindenial on Mar 28, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Still living in denial? If p1 makes the engine, you say it’s the driver that won them, if bolehland has driver, you say it’s the God who gave consent to win?

Come on, every aspect has its own role. Small or big it’s there already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
        • 1. I did not deny petronas’s achievement (if i did sound like that, sorry bout that).

2. Why I have such comments was that the article/session feels like just a overboasting session to promote petronas’s product. Given the strict regulations of fluid’s being used by a f1 engine, there was no way to out engineer any other competitor in engine fluids. However, in no way I say that petronas fluid is bad, but it is no better (nor worst) than shell or any other company that’s providing lubricant solutions there. The “OH, IT”S BECAUSS PETRONAS THAT WE WON” shiet is becoz petronas dump a loads of money on the team, the team cannot afford to lose this courteous sponsor, of coz they have to say shiezzo like that. Or else, money gone babe.

3. I do have a personal agenda against petronas, this is political (happy now?) Now go take a deep look at point 2 and argue on that.

Extra 4. If p1 really manage to do that, i’m really glad that this company that’s being run by idiots did something that it’s worth to be proud of!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
          • jinggo on Mar 29, 2015 at 5:27 pm

sembang bukan main kemas, macam la kamu tu bagus sangat, banyak busuk punya hati..

• Fts support on Mar 29, 2015 at 6:25 pm

They are not talking sh*t. Earlier this year, Petronas’ President said that more F1 teams have contacted Petronas to use their ‘fluid technology solutions’ this season.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 29, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Shell went ahead and won MUAHAHAHAHHA

FORZA VETTEL FORZA FERRARI!!

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 28, 2015 at 12:43 am

nice to see the rakyat’s resources are being put to good use. now tell me how would this benefit the rakyat? more efficient engines?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 40
  • stop using rakyat word on Mar 28, 2015 at 11:37 am

Stop using rakyat that or rakyat this. And leave ur cheap politics outside of this web…. go n talk at tepi jln.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Nabei on Mar 28, 2015 at 2:17 pm

I am gonna put syntium 7000 in my nissan sentra and beat lewis

• Gaviny on Mar 28, 2015 at 8:54 pm

All marketing lah, when Ferrari were winning she’ll became best motor oil in the world , now not, when Renault winning total became best oil in the world and so on and so forth

• Funnay that primax 95 give s my car poorer milage as compared to competitors and syntium 800 causes my engine to knock and ping as compared to other brand. Not to mentioned its dex 3 gearoil could be the main culprit to why my gear bearings kaputed. This statement is entire ly my personal thoughts and experience

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • guest on Dec 30, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Petronas buatminyak lumba tapi pengguna kereta passenger tertinggal / diabaikan !

Petronas tak ada GF-5 5w30 . Primax 97 kalah kepada Shell 97 dari pengalaman hamba.

• guest on Dec 30, 2015 at 2:52 pm

I don’t know why Petronas seems to have neglected the passenger car market oils and transmission fluid.

• guest on Dec 30, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Paultan.org you go and dig Petronas now about GF-5 5w30 and Tutella Dexron VI .