Jazeman wins Formula Renault 3.5 race in Monaco

The Malaysian flag flying high in Monte Carlo? Yes, that happened yesterday courtesy of Jazeman Jaafar with his first win in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series at the famed street circuit. The 22-year-old Petronas Talent Programme driver put in an outstanding performance, taking a lights to flag victory that lifted him to the top spot in the Drivers Championship.

With the who’s who in motor racing in attendance (the Formula Renault 3.5 Series is a support race for the Formula 1 main event, won by Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg), Jazeman had only one goal – to win the race after two podium finishes on his previous visits to the challenging Monaco street circuit.

Jazeman lined up in pole, and despite an audacious challenge from second placed driver and Jazeman’s Fortec Motorsports team mate, Oliver Rowland, held his ground for the lead. The Malaysian settled into a blistering pace and drew away from Dean Stoneman to take a commanding lead. However, a dramatic incident in the midfield caused the race to be red-flagged, with the grid of cars returning to the pits while the track was cleared.

The race resumed after a few minutes under the safety car for one lap before Jazeman retook the lead. With Dean still in second, Jazeman once again proved his mastery of the track, building a healthy lead and in the process putting in a series of fastest laps before taking the chequered flag.

“I feel on top of the world. It’s taken a while to come, but it feels absolutely fantastic to have won – and at the most iconic racing track in the world. When the red flag came out I got a bit nervous. It’s never good for the car to have to stop and start again, so you worry about possible technical problems from this. Thankfully the car felt brilliant and I was able to keep the pace up from start to finish,” Jazeman explained.

“What a fantastic weekend, I’m on such a high. To hear the Negaraku and our flag flying above me brought me close to tears – of happiness of course!” he added.

Jazeman now leads the Formula Renault 3.5 Series Drivers Championship with 49 points, one ahead of Rowland. The Series moves on to Spa Francorchamps in Belgium for the third round of racing and with this event being held next weekend, Jazeman has little time to enjoy his victory. Keep it up, Malaysia Boleh!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Areyousure on May 25, 2015 at 9:29 am

Well done! Not sure Malaysia boleh or not,
    but the Malaysian driver boleh!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
  • congratz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • lilytan on May 25, 2015 at 10:00 am

No champagne showers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 51
  • Congratulations and well done Jazeman. What a fantastic win that made Malaysians proud of your achievement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • GT3 (Member) on May 25, 2015 at 4:07 pm

It would be very nice to see and hear the Negaraku anthem being played there, with Jalur Gemilang being raised.

• Hor Shen Hau on May 25, 2015 at 10:32 am

Congratz Jazeman!!!We are proud of you!!!

#KeepItUp
    #MalaysiaBoleh

• very soon will be dato’ jazeman :D
    congratulation really well done

• Visitor on May 25, 2015 at 11:00 am

Congratulations my fellow Malaysian. Keep up the performance!

• Sarah on May 25, 2015 at 11:53 am

Malaysia Boleh!! Congratulations!!

• rally_fan (Member) on May 25, 2015 at 11:59 am

Great race jazeman. a fantastic achievement and you did it in style as well.. sideways with your rear tyre inches from the tyre barrier into the first corner from the start…. AWESOME!

• Kancil Hybrid on May 25, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Congrats Jaz. Hope u’ll be in F1 soon.

• Lpost on May 25, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Congratulations!

• well done…congrats…syabas…