KL-Padang Besar ETS – still no approval from SPAD

KL12_120810_TREN_ETS

It looks unlikely that the Kuala Lumpur-Padang Besar Electric Train Service (ETS) will commence operations today – last Thursday. KTM had stated that the 329 km route would begin operating on July 1, in time for the Hari Raya balik kampung rush.

Two days ago, it was reported that the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) had not yet given the green light for the service – which was originally scheduled to be operational this September – to begin. Yesterday, the commission reiterated that approval had not yet been given.

According to Bernama, SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said the commission was still inspecting the Chinese-made ETS trains and the double tracks of the route, adding that SPAD will give its approval after ensuring public safety is assured.

He warned that there would be consequences if KTM decides to go ahead with the service. “We have told them already (the postponement of operation), but we have to take action if they flout the law. We need to inspect quite a number of their tracks and trains,” he told reporters.

In a separate statement, SPAD said that it was still working with the rail service provider “to guarantee the level of safety and comfort for passengers”. The regulator said it had conducted rail inspections for the Ipoh-Padang Besar and the Seremban-Gemas double tracks to identify safety issues such as checking rail conditions, signalling, stations and the condition of the rolling stock or train sets.

“Even though the Ipoh-Padang Besar and Seremban-Gemas sectors have been completed for full operations, SPAD’s observations show that the new train sets have yet to fully comply with the conditions. We recommend that KTM use the current ETS train sets for the operation of these sectors,” it said.

Earlier, SPAD CEO Mohd Nur Ismal Kamal had explained that KTM’s July 1 target date was based on the extension of the current KL-Ipoh service to Padang Besar using today’s Korean-made trains with a top speed of 140 km/h.

“Nothing has been finalised. We still need to complete the commissioning of the double-track. Even the new batch of China-made electric trains which can touch 160 km/h are yet to undergo full testing. So it will take some time,” he said. Last week, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said that KL-Butterworth ETS services would be ready by July.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sparcov on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:29 am

Current ETS speed top speed is 160 km/h already. Usually KL-ipoh it can touch 150 km/h at certain area.

What test?

• anonomos on Jul 01, 2015 at 1:11 pm

the report doesn’t mention all the details. current KL ipoh use class 92 ets. new one “not fully tested” is class 93

• hondaman on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:40 am

better be safe than sorry

• wahedenator on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:42 am

Hurry up SPAD.
    People are waiting.

• rigid on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:49 am

its not SPADs ball to kick off. the new ETS trainsets still failed FFR (free fault running test) throughout the stretch. do you want your train stuck in the middle of nowhere in the late night with no lights and aircond?

• Kenneth Fook on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:46 am

Delay due to “commission” still not able to be finalized.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
  • venven81 on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:46 am

whatever it is, public safety is the most important factor in any public transportation. please ensure that everything is up to standard before commencing operation. we are talking about human lives at stake so no fooling around please. don’t rush for operation just because want to meet target or deadline.

• Lpost on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:53 am

Why bought chinese-made ETS, bad product. KTMB prefer to buy ETS from korea but “clever” politician have made decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Drama Minggu Ini on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:57 am

Sure to approve lah. This all drama by SPAD. The ETS is a UMNO crony project, sure 100% get approval. Infact, even Albar’s relative might be having a huge share in the ETS contract

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • rigid on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:51 am

Even Albar got to be recommended by SPAD Rail Division to approve bcos the new trainsets still failed FFR test.

• Which is more likely? on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:14 am

So which is more likely?

KTM jumped the gun and prematurely announced Start of Operations without consulting SPAD? Maybe they wanted to hype up the train services or trying to cash in on the Balik Kampung surge.
    OR
    SPAD was dragging it’s feet and was slow doing their duty. KTM tried to force their hand by announcing the target date but ultimately failed. SPAD can still go on being lazy without committing to a date.

• donno on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:30 am

Spad is dragging its feet to protect the huge income express bus business owners will be getting for the upcoming raya. I am sure right after raya the approval will magically appear.

Spad, and everyone in the government remember you are working for the rakyat, not express bus owners!

• Biar la mereka test dulu betul2. Nanti dia buka awal2 dan kau naik train tu dan accident ko nak salahkan siapa pula? Sigh. Manusia.

• ETS Regularlist on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:40 pm

SPAD just do their job, ensure passengers to have safest ride pssible, It seems, there may some issue with the new train sets. Let them resolve the issues..no f please..behave…be patient.it’s ramadhan

• kzm (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 4:04 pm

NGO?

• joker on Jul 01, 2015 at 4:16 pm

SPAD=NGO? you just went full retard bro.. Never go full retard please..and i cant read your sarcasm either if u tend so.

• I think China goods cant compare with Korean or Japanese yet.

• Can someone tell me What time does it reach Taping both north and south ?

• KH Ong on Jul 11, 2015 at 5:48 am

We are slow in every way comparing with China. Can people work with urgency for the rakyat ? Why no pride in their job ? Need training and cultural change guys and see how far we are behind china.