VIDEO: Volvo S90 handling developed using simulator

The successor to the S80 was previously pictured in spyshots. More recently it was seen again in the form of a model car in China. Now, the brand is revealing the Volvo S90’s handling for the first time, but not in a conventional way.

According to Peter Mertens, Senior VP of research and development at Volvo, the S90’s handling was developed with the help of this simulator. Called the Vi-Grade chassis simulator, he says that there are only two others in the world – one in Maranello (Ferrari) and the other in Stuttgart, Zuffenhausen (Porsche).

If that’s any indication to go by, the S90’s handling might prove to be a worthy match against premium mid-sized segment sedans. “We use this at our secret proving grounds around the world to develop and then fine-tune the driving experience even before we have started to build the cars,” Mertens said.

In addition to the handling, Martens also noted that the brand has been investing much of its effort and money to enhance the Volvo driving experience. “We have employed the best engineers and are using the latest and greatest technology, to ensure that we really deliver something special and very distinctive.”

Sitting on the Scalable Product Architecture (SPA) the S90 is expected to have much of its aesthetics carried over from the new Volvo XC90, this includes the signature “Thor’s hammer” headlamps. Aside from that, it will also share the same 2.0 litre range of engines along with a T8 twin-charged plug-in hybrid unit as well.

GALLERY: Volvo S90 Spyshots

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing's better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that's designed and built for that purpose.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Volvo is a failure in Malaysia. The sales are so bad and going down further. Soon, the brand will be like Fiat and Citroen.

Once a success, now, after becoming a full China made car, Malaysians not willing to spend RM300k on a Geely in disguise.

Malaysians already know, every part is made in China now. Namesake only Sweedish car. But every single part is now Made in China.

Better you just buy a Geely than get conned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Volvo Cars is now reverse banana. White on the outside, yellow on the inside.

• sonyman on Oct 07, 2015 at 4:40 pm

sounds like jealous here….. i wonder who ?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Dumbass red bean army using fake DonkeyKong ID.. how lame… It’s okay, with no good ideas to contribute themselves, communists only know how to drag others down. This is how it’s done in China. Copy, pirate, steal, cheat, but don’t create anything original.

• Can it match Proton’s handling?

• sonyman on Oct 07, 2015 at 4:39 pm

its a very interesting way of making a car, Geely is seriously putting all the money into this baby, and its really showing results.

i wonder one day, Volvo driving dynamics will be on par with BMW.

• tokmoh. on Oct 07, 2015 at 4:40 pm

^
    Butthurts, butthurts everywhere.

• Volvo Cars are focusing on handling, but macais says good handling is syok sendiri. So Volvo Cars is syok sendiri…

• tokmoh. on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:15 am

Why yes, as the Chinese have gotten the safety, fuel efficiency, design, quality, packaging well sorted out, why not a little syok sendiri as the Ferrari/Porsche of China.

I await Volvo of Asia’s new powertrains, let’s see them measure out against Volvo’s drive-E powertrain. Gambatte!

• Are you kidding me?! Have you even been in a Made in China, China Branded, For China Market Only car?
          It looks big on the outside, but I almost broke my leg contorting my body to fit in the rear!
          And dun get me started on fuel efficiency and safety when it complies only to China standards. Thats like saying fake eggs, fake baby powder, fake rice is acceptable so cannot persoal!

• tokmoh. on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Oh, what’s wrong? At times like this, you’re not gonna call Volvo Chinese? Is it not one?

Hypocrite. Suddenly now u wanna call Volvo Swedish, yes?

Feel the butthurt this so-called “Chinese” car is better than your game changer Iriz.

• So they do ‘research’ by playing gran turismo 5? No wonder nobody buys volvos. I can count them with my fingers.