Volvo S90 to replace S80 – targets Jaguar XF, Audi A6

37469_Volvo_Concept_Universe

The successor to Volvo’s ageing S80 will bear the S90 moniker and is expected to make its public debut some time at the end of this year. Relying heavily on the Volvo Concept Universe of 2011 for aesthetic inspiration, the Volvo S90 is also expected to spawn an estate version, dubbed the Volvo V90.

Bases on Volvo’s Scalable Product Architecture (SPA) platform, the Volvo S90 will also share powertrain options with the Volvo XC90 – including its range of D4 and D5 diesel engines as well as the 400 hp/640 Nm 2.0 litre T8 ‘Twin Engine’ twin-charged (turbo and supercharged) engine with a plug-in hybrid setup.

All of the above appears to bode well for Volvo as the Swedish carmaker will be attempting to go up against the likes of the second-generation Jaguar XF, Audi A6, BMW 5 Series and Mercedes-Benz E-Class – a feat its S80 predecessor could never quite manage. With that said, Volvo has announced it has no intentions of trying to emulate its competitors strong points, instead focusing on hitting them at their weak spots.

37463_Volvo_Concept_Universe

“Volvo now has the self-confidence to go its own way – we have no interest in copying the German brands. We have our own values around exterior and interior design, safety, comfort and powertrain advancements that stand out for their own qualities,” said managing director of Volvo UK, Nick Connor, to Autocar UK.

With targets drawn out, speculations are running rife that a full-sized model, a Volvo “S100”, might be on the cards as the company looks to place the 7 Series, A8 and XJ in the scope next. Further justifying the S90’s (and hopefully S100’s) existence is Lex Kerssemakers, VP of product strategy at Volvo, whereby it was stated that though the segment is “contracting… the market is still big enough to give us a strong business case.”

GALLERY: 2011 Volvo Concept Universe

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• toiletvolvo on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:38 am

I dun fancy the hood cover design, looks like toilet bowl cover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:48 am

Low RV car, Wastre of money to buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • And they say Proton is “Volvo of Asia”. Proton is not even luxury…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • seager on Apr 15, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Wrong, the comparison is about safety, based on safety test. Nothing about luxury is mentioned

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Obviously (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:40 am

I hope they change their inspiration for the S90. I like Volvo, but when I look at this concept, I feel like someone just punched me in the gut. The front looks so dopey and the side look so bare…it lacks the sharpness and classy look that’s dripping from the XC90, so much so that this looks like a step backwards. I think they have another concept based on an evolved version of this one but I remember that one isn’t that better off as well.

They would do well if they based the S90 on a stretched version of the Concept Coupe.

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:50 am

Ah, here it is – The Concept You:

http://www.caranddriver.com/news/volvo-concept-you-debuts-in-frankfurt-news

It looks slightly better but not by much…

The more recent (around 2014) Concept Coupe and Concept Estate are much more beautiful by far…

• Jonn Dol on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:02 pm

For sure, the front face (and hopefully the rear face as well) of the new S90 should be more inspired by the Concept Coupe instead of the Concept Universe, as this is the latest Volvo design language which already employed on the XC90 production car. The family look has to be there.
        The only thing I reckoned, could be influenced by the Concept Universe is the general bodywork shape.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Greg outdated?

Since that concept, Volvo employed Thomas Ingenlath in 2012, Volvo’s future design language is closer to latest 2015 XC90.

New S90/V90 will look more like Concept Coupe/Estate like below:
      http://paultan.org/2014/02/27/volvo-concept-estate-details/

Except they’ll be 5-door instead of 3. Still, very hnnnnngggghh, and should also have the mighty Thor’s Hammer DRL hnnnnngggghhhhh

Greg, how dare you undermine Volvo. Way better than your Lexus and forever rosak German junks.

• Volvo’s problem is that their design language is getting more and more conservative aka boring while the industry is moving towards striking new designs, trying to lure the millenials to buy their products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Nah..to me they are not boring, weird and bizarre is more suited to describe their design

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:56 am

They are not going to sell many if they insist on it being a 4 seater only. Needs a 3rd/middle seat in the back. Otherwise, car looks ok, though not great. The pronounced rear cabin design looks like a RWD car. Don’t think Volvo has made any RWD cars since the late 80s or early 90s. Should be interesting.

• longjaafar on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:41 am

Recently, there were some dispute as to what category the S60 is in. Many corrected me and said that the S60 is in the 5 series category, and not the 3 series. So here it is….the real 5 series fighter.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:50 pm

You can safely go ahead and tell those who “corrected” you that they don’t know much about cars so please stop pretending to be experts.. The S60 is in the same category as 3-series, A4 and C-class. The S40 (and now, V40) is smaller still, within the 1 or 2 series, A3, etc. range. Volvo doesn’t have a 7-series/A8/S-class contender.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:57 am

problem of the car…FWD

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 12:27 pm

I hope for safety’s sake not, cos 640NM may be too much for front tyres to cope with.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Volvo is available in every other market in AWD form, except for South East Asia. There’s AWD Volvos in North America, Europe and ANZ. It’s not just AWD for the top-of-the-line performance models, AWD is available for the lower models too.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:54 pm

i think awd isnt the answer, just ask any kid, many would love a volvo…problem is….they love the volvo 240 or 740 which are hooners favourite and are built like a tank….newish volvo’s are nice but lets be honest its a housewife car

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Ini… saya setuju, kasi u satu like.

It’s a bit sad when Volvo said they’re freezing Concept Coupe for now. That could have been awesome.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:58 am

The design is unique and rather unconventional, although not necessarily pretty. But, I think the production version will be more acceptable to the eyes. That said, I love the IKEA-styled interior.
    Can’t really accept it when he says they’re not trying to emulate the German competitors strong points and focusing on hitting their weak points. They should at least be on par with their German benchmarks in terms of the refined driving experience they offer and add Volvo’s strength on top of that. Wouldn’t it be a better package? Lets be honest, Volvo cars are safe and comfortable to drive, but not so fun for spirited driving compared to the Germans. I really hope they get the credit they deserve for their effort.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:36 pm

They can always get their Polestar division to make more hardcore version.

Volvo is right not to really prioritize driving dynamic, it’s never their forte, and probably never will. It’s a market for the Germans, and maybe forever will. Die die also people who look for dynamic driving experience will swore never to get non-Germans, even if they breakdown 3 miles off the showroom.

You won’t know comfort until you’ve been in a Volvo. Their attention to detail is quite amazing. They’d get professional chiropractors and health experts to design the most comfortable seats, the buttons are in the right place, logical and easy to reach, the ergonomics is just spot on. The interior is intuitive to use, well thought out, all the little most subtle thing you’d take for granted until you get into another car and realise they’re a bit… lacking.

Volvo should continue being what they’re comfortable as (oh the pun hohoho). With class leading Drive-E powertrain giving great power and economy, they’re sure to find more happy owners.

Volvo. For life!

• merchant on Apr 15, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Im confused. I thought it was s40-s60-s80 = 3series-5series-7series or Cclass-Eclass-Sclass ?

Why is the s80/s90 now the 5 series bracket? I specifically remmber the s60 being touted at being in that bracket. Even from volvo salesmen. Also they pushed the s40 on my neighbor many years ago, when he was deciding on a 3 series.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Volvo never had a 7-series/S-class segment car. The S80 has always been in the 5-Series/E-class territory. There is no such thing as the S80/90 “now” in the 5-series bracket, it has always been. Bad luck for your neighbor for not doing his homework before he went out car-shopping.

• It should be S60 vs 3 Series, C class and A4
      S80 vs 5 Series, E class and A6
      There is not flagship from Volvo yet.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Where is Theophilus Chin when we need him?

Sorry, the concept looks a bit off for me. Although the interior looks good, but the exterior needs serious redesigning.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Greg outdated la, or intentional? He’s been rustling a few jimmies, not surprised if this is his another attempt at undermining another brand not his fancy, this time being Volvo.

V90 should look like 5 door version of this:

http://paultan.org/2014/02/27/volvo-concept-estate-details/

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Front gril lost identity, must be designed by youngsters, modified for the sake of modification.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 15, 2015 at 4:41 pm

This concept is 4 years old….

Anyway, there will be a market for Volvos. Volvos have always been done right and would have done well had it not been messed up by Federal Auto here.

well SAAB buyers will have something else to buy….

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:00 pm

BTW, S100 seems very unlikely, Volvo sacrificed Concept Coupe to focus on more bread and butter models.

It’s mentioned before officially, Volvo’s main plan is to come out with S90/V90 next.

Then, the XC60/S60/V60 by 2018, and XC40/S40/V40 (BABY XC40!! HHHNNNNNGGGGHHH) by 2019.

• Josh Ling on Apr 16, 2015 at 6:24 am

i definitely think volvo is on the right track these days. no point in “copying” the formula of others’ success, because volvo has its own charisma and selling points, especially in the earlier days.